Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway man gets too obsessed with Shrek.

• 01-03-2007 10:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭

http://www.galwayfirst.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=114&Itemid=391
    Lonely man brought donkey to hotel room, court told

A man who was found dressed in latex and handcuffs brought a donkey to his room in a Galway city centre hotel, because he was advised “to get out and meet people,” the local court heard last week.
    Thomas Aloysius McCarney with an address in south Galway was charged with cruelty to animals, lewd and obscene behaviour, and with being a danger to himself when he appeared before the court on Friday. He was also charged with damage to a mini-bar in the room, but this charge was later dropped when the defendant said that it was the donkey who caused that damage.
    Solicitor for the accused Ms Sharon Fitzhenry said that her client had been through a difficult time lately and that his wife had left him and that his life had become increasingly lonely.
    “Mr McCarney has been attending counselling at which he was told that he would be advised to get out and meet people and do interesting things. It was this advice that saw him book into the city centre hotel with a donkey,” she said. She added that Mr McCarney also suffered from a fixation with the Shrek movies and could constantly be heard at work talking to himself saying things like “Isn’t that right, Donkey?”
    Supt John McBrearty told the court that Mr McCarney who had signed in as “ Mr Shrek” had told hotel staff that the donkey was a family pet and that this was believed by the hotel receptionist who the supt said was “young and hadn’t great English.”
    Receptionist Irina Legova said that Mr McCarney had told her that the donkey was a breed of “super rabbit” which he was bringing to a pet fair in the city. The court was told that the donkey went berserk in the middle of the night and ran amok in the hotel corridor, forcing hotel staff to call the gardai.
    McCarney was found in the room wearing a latex suit and handcuffs, the key to which the donkey is believed to have swallowed. He was removed to Mill St station after which it is said he was the subject of much mirth among the lads next door in The Galway Arms.
    He was fined €2,000 for bringing the donkey to the room under the Unlawful Accommodation of Donkeys Act 1837. Other charges were dropped due to lack of evidence.

Unlawful Accommodation of Donkeys Act 1837 BWAHAHAHAHAHAAHA :D:D:D:D

this is pure comedy gold hahahahaha!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

ROFLcopter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭il gatto

Have you verified that in any way? Sounds like b@ll@cks to me. I'd assume it's a skit, but stranger things have happened.:D Not to me, mind. It's nearly convincing, apart from the "super rabbit" bit, and the fact that the receptionists name was "Legova" :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

Unlawful Accommodation of Donkeys Act 1837

Surely there is no such thing, maybe Unlawful Accommodation of Animals...but Donkeys?..surely not...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

OP must not have read the surrounding stories in this new free paper in Galway. It was contained in a section full of fictional stories including Stan Collimore joining Galway United and a call for water to be banned as it causes urination!!!! Still funny tho! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Donkey = Super Rabbit :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

lmao. That's the kind of stuff you want to read on a thursday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

il gatto wrote:
    Have you verified that in any way? Sounds like b@ll@cks to me. I'd assume it's a skit, but stranger things have happened.:D Not to me, mind. It's nearly convincing, apart from the "super rabbit" bit, and the fact that the receptionists name was "Legova" :)
    Not verified, Im not from galway but im assuming that galway first is an actual newspaper?

even if its not true its a damn good read :)

Femmy wrote:
    Surely there is no such thing, maybe Unlawful Accommodation of Animals...but Donkeys?..surely not...
    i have no idea, i would have thought not but im not really bothered enough to look into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,332 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

this however, does appear to be true:

http://www.mlive.com/news/bctimes/index.ssf?/base/news-8/117231576565120.xml&coll=4

so remember - just because the dog is dead, doesn't make it legal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Was about to post this.. funny stuff! :D

My favourite bit:
    She added that Mr McCarney also suffered from a fixation with the Shrek movies and could constantly be heard at work talking to himself saying things like “Isn’t that right, Donkey?”

basquille wrote:
    Was about to post this.. funny stuff! :D

My favourite bit:
    :D yeah i though so too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

It's not true but still pretty funny...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Got an email with this in it for some reason.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

If it was true that Sun would have all over its front page.

Or maybe its back page

Rio Ferdinand in gay shocker with Galway man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,939 ✭✭✭mikedragon32

He was also charged with damage to a mini-bar in the room, but this charge was later dropped when the defendant said that it was the donkey who caused that damage.

Brilliant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Good find. I was expecting a certain other Galway resident in the headlines but..not this time. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

and handcuffs, the key to which the donkey is believed to have swallowed

LMFAO :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

its all a bit oirish.

i want to know what happened to make them introduce that law in 1837

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

i thought april first was next month :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

The court was told that the donkey went berserk in the middle of the night and ran amok in the hotel corridor, forcing hotel staff to call the gardai.
    FFS they checked the donkey in :eek:

Ireland is the new America.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Rabies wrote:
    FFS they checked the donkey in :eek:

Ireland is the new America.

Everyone does realize the story is a hoax....right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

Thats some good stuff. Like an Irish version of the Onion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Last week they had that Stan Collymore was gonna play for galway after he had seen the excellent Park and Ride facilities in galway :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

The Irish version of The Onion.They should have called it "The Potato" though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭BrenC

lol, by an act thats almost 200 years old,

HavoK wrote:
    Everyone does realize the story is a hoax....right?
    No. The internetty doen't lie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭niamh1975

oh my god, hoax or not this is one of the funniest things ever. Thanks for livening up an otherwise dull night in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

i thought april first was next month :D:D

It is.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

according to today's tribune more than 50 US TV stations ran this as a true story at the end of their TV bulletins as well as appearing as a true story on news sites in UK, Germany and US!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

daveym wrote:
    according to today's tribune more than 50 US TV stations ran this as a true story at the end of their TV bulletins as well as appearing as a true story on news sites in UK, Germany and US!

Lazy journalism. Rooting through the internet for sensationalist stories and not trying to verify the facts. If what you say is true, then that is pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

Galway First's followup.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,617 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Blowfish wrote:
    Galway First's followup.

hmmm, looks like the tribune basically just rewrote that article..