Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs over 21's policy!!!

• 25-02-2007 5:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭

I went out for a few drinks last night and when i went to get my first drink i was asked for id, no problem there she then said that i was 19 & not allowed into the upstairs part of the pub because she said its over 21's only and also that they had a no "tracksuits" & "runners" policy up stairs. I was in jeans, shoes, t-shirt and had a retro football top on hardly track suit and runners.

We were going to have one pint downstairs and head up when all the gang had assembled but couldn’t after this, what’s the legalities of this over 21 nonsense? she also said they had to be strict because the garadi were out in the town what the hell has that got to do with me I’m 19 for god's sake this isn’t bloody America!

Only a stupid little thing but it annoyed me none the less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Management reserve the right to refuse.

Also, search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

Maybe she just didn't like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

What aidan said..... just go somewhere else, it's not like Ireland is short on drinking places...... ring your friends and bring them too. If your friends wouldn't leave then I'd hardly call them friends.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

dceire wrote:
    We were going to have one pint downstairs and head up when all the gang had assembled but couldn’t after this, what’s the legalities of this over 21 nonsense? she also said they had to be strict because the garadi were out in the town what the hell has that got to do with me I’m 19 for god's sake this isn’t bloody America!
    Like people have said they can reserve the right etc, but I'd say the garda bit was bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭dceire

Lump wrote:
    What aidan said..... just go somewhere else, it's not like Ireland is short on drinking places...... ring your friends and bring them too. If your friends wouldn't leave then I'd hardly call them friends.

John
    Its not a pub that i drink in often and we did head to another pub after we had that drink, its just a pain that’s all!

And on the whole "right to refuse entry" thing i can respect that for the sake of keeping undesirables out but the law of the land says 18 is the minimum age to drink & there basically saying no we make our own rules and i didn’t get the fact that its ok to be under 21 at the bar downstairs but not upstairs there's little or no difference between them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Underage drinking is rampant in Dublin, I know of some pubs that had to ban Heelys :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

It is, as far as Im aware the management *can* refuse the right of admission for any reason but I always felt like the over-21 one thing was just used to keep "troublemakers" out (ie. if you look dodgy, sorry lads, over 21s tonight). I think over 21s is ridiculous, but local Dorans and Doyles dont succumb to that bull****, so I'm happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭wba88

if it is over 21's do they have to display a sign saying so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm 31.
    /points and laughs at people who can't get in somewhere because of age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

wba88 wrote:
    if it is over 21's do they have to display a sign saying so?

doubt it, i'd say as long as they have the sign saying "we reserve the right to refuse..." then they shouldn't need any other signs.

Terry wrote:
    I'm 31.
    haha your all old and stuff! On your last legs if you ask me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

DonJose wrote:
    Underage drinking is rampant in Dublin, I know of some pubs that had to ban Heelys :D

That very nearly drew tears...

Terry wrote:
    I'm 31.

But... but .. but .. I thought you were 18.

Woah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA31Y2003S25.html

Publicans can refuse to serve over 18s alcohol on age groudns if they wish. This lovely government of ours ammended the Equal Status Act 2000 to allow this single form of discrimination. Bastards.

Publicans must, however, display a sign to that effect.

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

Publicans are (and so should they be) entitled to have their own policies in operation on their premises. They are also legally enforceable insofar as if you don't move off the premises, you can be moved by the Gardaí.

They do need to have a sign up though. However, if it just applied to the upstairs part, it could have been at the top of the stairs.

Also, people under 21 must always carry ID with them onto licenced premises. The corollary of that is that if you look under 21 you also need to carry ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭rogue-entity

18 is the minimum age.. pubs/clubs/offies can raise the age if they choose and sell to only over 21s, it is entirely legal, though a royal pain in the ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

There's a pub in Rathfarnham with an over 23's policy methinks, a pub can play it however they like really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭yevveh

There's a pub in Rathfarnham with an over 23's policy methinks, a pub can play it however they like really.

Really? Which pub? My local was Revels til they revamped it, now its more of a middle-age thing. I believe its over-21s though the head barman knows us so he has no problem.

TBH, when I worked as a bouncer, we used the "Over 21's, Private Party, No Runners" excuse enough times to keep scum out of the pub...... maybe the bouncer thought you were scum.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

It is a pain when youre under 21, but after 21 it can be nice cause you dont have to feel incredibly old in a club surrounded by people who are barely 18 (or younger).

im 22 (nearly 23! :( ) and i so much prefer going to places that are over 21s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

This happened in ennis about 2 years ago: all but what must have been 2 pubs started refusing anyone who was underr 21: the crackdown came swiftly that not one of these places had a license to that effect. This needs to be on display at the point of entry, I believe. Any standing dress code is usually kept here too (but I dont think its mandatory)

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,781 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

About two years ago (possibly three), a door policy of anything older than over 18s was in force by law. Then the legislature realised they'd made yet another boo boo. This time, though, they actually did something about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Dunno what's she's on about with having to be strict cos of the Gardaí..... You're either over 18 or you're not. She evidentally believed that you were over 18. The >21 thing is just the pub's policy, nothin to do with the Gardaí.

edit:

...AFAIK.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭Beekay

I remember around a year ago, me and my mates all went to go in somewhere in town and when we got to the doors,first guy got in who was 19...then bouncer realises that there are 8 or 9 us wanting to go in and suddenly says the place is over 21.........i don't think he passed maths..:D :D:D:D

common door procedure: 9 lads? Who do you think is going to let in a mob of 9 guys?? Cant take the risk that all 9 of them could possibly defend one another and start trouble: thats a lot for any security force to handle.

Next time go in waves ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭markk06

Why is it that every sunday/monday a thread appears, usually on afterhours where people are questioning decisions made by door staff? In my opinion your best bet is if you are refused just deal with it and walk away.

ROAR- Right of admission reserved

If you dont get in maybe its just because you are a skanger.

I get in cos I work there...I love the bewildered looks when I stroll right through the bouncers and the cash desk :)

Lump wrote:
    TBH, when I worked as a bouncer, we used the "Over 21's, Private Party, No Runners" excuse enough times to keep scum out of the pub...... maybe the bouncer thought you were scum.

John
    thanks for that but as far as im aware im not scum, i dont look like scum, dont act like scum and dont associate with scum & all the people i was with are well respected regulars and the barmaid said that she did recognise me from being in there before but just needed to double cheak my id!

dceire wrote:
    thanks for that but as far as im aware im not scum, i dont look like scum, dont act like scum and dont associate with scum & all the people i was with are well respected regulars and the barmaid said that she did recognise me from being in there before but just needed to double cheak my id!

I was only suggesting it might be the case.... I don't know what you look like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

So if the publicans can discriminate on age grounds and if I bought a pub/club could I ban anyone over the age of 25? to insure there were no desperate older women or grannysnatchers? Or does it only work like you can only ban people under a certain age?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I find it ironic that in the USA you can enlist in their military and die for their country at 18, but you cannot have a beer until 21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,568 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

dceire wrote:
    haha your all old and stuff! On your last legs if you ask me :D
    Yeah well, the problem is nobody did.

Now here's a fiver for a coke and some crisps, the rest of us will be in the grown-ups section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭HelterSkelter

They can only refuse you with the over 21's rule (or any age rule) if a sign is clearly displayed stating that this is their policy. If no sign is displayed you can take a discrimination case under the Equal Status Act. This is the same act travellers regularly take against publicians and get a few grand for their trouble. Check out www.equality.ie for more info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

DonJose wrote:

what sort of person over 18 would wear Heelys?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Howl at the Moon is over 23s, so is the Odeon. Not sure which pub in Rathfarnham is over 23s, the Orchard maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Crucifix wrote:
    Like people have said they can reserve the right etc, but I'd say the garda bit was bollocks.

The Gardai were out in force on Friday and Saturday night this week. I have never seen a better garda presence in the capital. THere were suprising a lot of pubs by walking in and ID checking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

slipss wrote:
    So if the publicans can discriminate on age grounds and if I bought a pub/club could I ban anyone over the age of 25? to insure there were no desperate older women or grannysnatchers? Or does it only work like you can only ban people under a certain age?
    Actually they did refuse a man a while back on the grounds he was too old, somewheres in the country. He sued them for discrimination and won!
    Now here's a fiver for a coke and some crisps
    Ah back in my day that would have been three and sixpence and still have a ha'penny farthing left over for the cinema, a trip to Dublin and emigration papers to the UK, as well as newspaper to thatch the cornflakes box with. And that were luxury!

I find it ironic that in the USA you can enlist in their military and die for their country at 18, but you cannot have a beer until 21.

TBH I got back from NYC last week, and while I look over 21 (I'm 23) my friend gets ID'd in England (He's 21 now). No of us were asked for ID anywhere. I was always under the impression that america were hard asses. However point taken about getting shot in the face for your country at 18.

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

My local has three bars in it. The small back bar is where all the older regulars drink.
    About two years ago someone stuck up a OVER 50's ONLY sign on the door as a joke....

But the regulars inside not only loved it they laminated it:D

It's now a respected house rule if (you know what i mean )