Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Camera settings - Croke Park

• 23-02-2007 10:54pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭

Im a very very poor photographer and Im lucky enough to be heading to the Ireland rugby match tomorrow in Croke Park.

I have this Samsung Camera.. http://www.samsungcamerausa.com/productdetails.asp?productid=37

Can anyone tell me the best settings to use tomorrow to get decent photos??

The floodlights will be on, so Im assuming I should turn the flash off. Will I just leave the camera on automatic (which sometimes means dark photos from a distance) or is there a manual setting I should have it on?

Thanks a lot and sorry for the short notice!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

You ah, uh...

Unless you're at the sideline you won't get much by way of interesting photos unless you turn it upon the people around you, methinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭rymus

What Fenster said... It'd be nice to have a little more zoom but eh... what fenster said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,362 ✭✭✭Trotter

Im happy just to have normal stadium photos.. I dont mean Im after pitch photos, just general.. nice clear .. "look where I was grandchildren".. kinda photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

Trotter wrote:
    Im happy just to have normal stadium photos.. I dont mean Im after pitch photos, just general.. nice clear .. "look where I was grandchildren".. kinda photos.
    Then probably leave it on auto. Try outdoor mode if it has one, look at the pic on the display (good trick is to zoom in on the pic on display, gives u a better idea) and if you like it stick with it. I would say that with the flood lights a auto or "P" would be a good idea but maybe try outdoor. I very much doubt night would be a good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Fionn

good advice on the auto dont expect too much tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Enjoy the match.....

ENGLAND, ENGLAND, ENGLAND!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Dont ever use the digital zoom............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Enjoy the match.....

Ireland 43
    England 13

(*simpsons voice) Haha !

Ps Trotter post up some pics when you get the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

Morlar wrote:
    Ireland 43
    England 13

BAM!

Enjoy the match Trotter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

I have piccies from the match but as I have no zoom yet, they are all from a 50mm prime. Will throw a few up when I get a chance :)

Still smiling like an eejit here :D

In the words of Miley... HOLY GOD. What a night. The atmosphere in Croker was like nothing I've ever experienced. The seats were great.. high up in the Davin stand, just behind the posts.

I settled on Auto without a flash and from looking at the screen on the camera, theres a couple of good ones. Some of the other ones might be a bit blurry, especially the ones where I tried the digital zoom for the laugh. I'll shrink them down and they might look well as a background for my phone.

Im still in Dubland at the mo but will post up the pics tomorrow night when Im safely back in the bosom of Munster ;)

Fair play to all the supporters anyway.. God save the Queen was respected as it should be, and our national anthem got the vocal backing that Ive never heard the likes of at ANY soccer match. Looking forward now to seeing the match on TV.. I have it recorded at home.

Thanks for all the photo tips, hopefully I'll have a couple of decent ones here tomorrow night.

Yep Trotter it was a once in a lifetime experience. Was up on Row Z in the Hogan stand to the left, great seats. Still smiling here.

Here is a link to some of the photos I took.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gandalfirl/sets/72157594554507767/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

gandalf wrote:
    Yep Trotter it was a once in a lifetime experience. Was up on Row Z in the Hogan stand to the left, great seats. Still smiling here.

Here is a link to some of the photos I took.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/gandalfirl/sets/72157594554507767/

Some great shots there - also the funniest caption of the year
    "Godfrey is young Johnny playing today......."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,764 ✭✭✭Valentia

Good stuff Gandalf.

I was pi$$ed off though. I thought we could have scored another 30 points. Anyway, feck France.

Yeah couldn't help myself, there was another English fan sitting just behind him rabbiting on about St. Johnny that was getting on my wick so this is dedicated to him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i was stewarding at the match so i'm not able to bring my 400d but i did have my little cheapo camera

Not too bad for a dodgy camera!!!

Croker Photos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Some great shots all round for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Fenster wrote:
    Some great shots all round for sure

I agree!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭bennyx_o

I agree!!
    I'll also agree, some real nice shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Cal

I found that my auto setting an a Canon Ixus 60 lead to some blurring. But the video was quite good. But had to be downsized for youtube:(

Cal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭leinsterman

Enjoy the match.....

He He He HE HE HE

HAR HAR HAR

Ho Ho HO HO HO

Chortle Chortle Chortle Chortle

Guffaw Guffaw Guffaw Guffaw

Ye we're beaten senseless by ze happy people from pixieland ... such as this -
    403715347_372930da7d_m.jpg

Oh ...and yes I was there to ... but nothing special from my K800i, just proof to future generations (this one will be talked about in the same way as Munster beating the All Blacks ... in ten years I guarantee there will be at least 1 million people claiming to have been amongst the 82,000 or so) -

403714975_bc346607b7.jpg

... I met an Englishman after the game who informed me that he has been to nearly every England game since the late 60's and never before has he heard chants of "easy ... easy ... easy"

Lots of dejected Englanders around us as well.

The Ole Ole Ole chant got the hairs on the back of my neck standing on end, the place was vibrating with it.