Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[REQUEST] Cheap Bike?

• 22-02-2007 5:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭

I'm cross posting this in the cycling forum as well!

Anyone know where I can pick up a cheap bike in Dublin? I need to pick up one for commuting to work every day, and funds are a bit tight at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Halfords have a few but they all seem to have suspension and suspension on a cheap road bike will wreck your head (all it does is sap your energy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

Merlin Car Auctions run a "no reserve" bike auction on behalf of the Gardai every so often, I think it normally takes place at Kevin Street Garda Barracks.

They sell off all the unclaimed stolen recovered bikes, you can pick up a decent bike very cheaply.

Don't know when the next one is due, but you could try enquiring with Merlin on 01 8010700

invest4deepvalue.com

• Subscribers Posts: 16,663 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

halfords have the subway commuter range 06 on sale from 250. great commuting bikes, with no suspension and road tyres. the subway one got 10/10 in cycling plus last month although that was the 07 model.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

I have a bike in my shed I got for my cycle to work but moved jobs soon after so it didnt do much mileage. Been sitting in my shed for 2 years now and the tires went down. Its nothing special but can be you're for €85 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭PaddyofNine

6th wrote:
    I have a bike in my shed I got for my cycle to work but moved jobs soon after so it didnt do much mileage. Been sitting in my shed for 2 years now and the tires went down. Its nothing special but can be you're for €85 ;)

What kinda bike is it? Gotta pic by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

£54.94 (€81.88) delivered?
    Or two slightly better ones (15-speed, alloy rims) for £129.90, with helmets and locks thrown in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭green123

wow this seems like a great deal
    have you or anybody else had any dealings with this company ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Not personally, but a neighbour bought four bikes from them for his kids and he says they were grand — better quality than the equivalent cheapo bike you'd buy in Argos/Smyths, etc. And he cycles a fair bit himself, so I'd expect him to know the difference...