Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork city VS Dublin city

• 21-02-2007 3:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭

I'll be moving to either of these once I get my degree (in Computing with multimedia). I'm sure these merits have been discussed before but I'd appreciate the advantages of each from those more in the know than myself.

Influencing factors would include (as well as jobs in the multimedia sector) :
    entertainment - gigs (I like metal, rock and the like)
    general safety
    accomodation
    the people (yes i know that's not very specific!)

And just what people think about both places in general, the good and bad things about both. I've been to both lots of times obviously and find Cork more homely but still having all the perks of a thriving city. I do feel like something of a sheep in Dublin. I'm hoping a few things will be pointed out here that I wouldn't have thought of otherwise. Living in kerry at the moment btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Honestly this isn't the place to look for a serious answer, but since this should prove amusing and moving a copy to either or both of the specific regional forums won't generate a lot of debate (more likely it'll only give you one side of things) so I'll leave this here.

Personally, I think the best way of looking at it is to ask yourself a simple question. Do you want to live in a capitol city, with the associated problems (traffic, loads of people, expense) and benefits (better services, loads of people, more jobs) or a second city with the associated problems and benefits (good but not great services, a lot of people but really not that many, expensive but not that expensive, traffic but not that much traffic etc).

I think, myself, that you are either a capitol city person or you aren't and if you you'd prefer Dublin to Cork, you'd probably prefer London to Edinburgh, Paris to Marseilles etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭GAA widow

i've lived in both cities - there's plenty to do in Dublin, great city once you know people living there. also, if it's your first job and all you might as well live it up a bit and broaden your horizons.

After a couple of years the sensible part of me found the cost of living in Cork to be far cheaper and therefore could afford to do way more than i could in Dublin.

Also, if you want to go home to Kerry on the weekends it is far less hassle and less time consuming to travel from Cork than Dublin - i have less than fond memories of sitting between carriages on overcrowded trains on a Friday evening or sitting in traffic queues on the way out of Dublin.

Good luck with your decision!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Backtoblack

Pros and cons with both. I'm from Cork, living in Dublin.
    Traffic in dublin is a pain, it really is.. but there are a lot of pros too.
    I love dooblin at the moment anyway. Cork can get very town-y after a while. More to do in Dublin & more choice of everything too (gigs, jobs etc)
    (Cork still rocks though, never let it be said !) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

nesf wrote:
    ...you are either a capitol city person...you'd prefer London to Edinburgh

Hahahahaha.

Sorry for laughing.

Why am I laughing? Edinburgh is a capital city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭Unpossible

thats the first thing that poped into my head too.

I'd pick Cork, but then Im from Kerry and if I move back to Ireland I want to be close to my family (as its the main reason I would move back).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

Being from dublin id have to say go for dublin
    the traffic may be bad if youre commuting far outside the city - like past the m50 or something but if youre clever you can avoid traffic completely... or even get a gaff along one of the major railway lines into the city and yer sorted

way more jobs, gigs, more cosmopolitan place, less chance of seein same faces every time u go out

bad things are probs its a bit more smoggy and the air will be pretty stinkin most of the time and people would probably be more inclined to knock you out of the way on the street as with most large cities

dont really know many advantages of living in cork to be honest! theyve got an airport i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭Agamemnon

I'm from Cork but living in Dublin these days. If it's jobs in multimedia you're after, you're better off looking in Dublin. There's more in the way of gigs as well.

On the downside, the costs of living and accommodation are very high so you'll need a well-paying job to enjoy your life up here. Be careful where you choose to live as well - the dodgy areas of Dublin are unbelievably bad and commuting can be a nightmare.

Cork city is big enough to give you the freedom and options of a city but not big enough so that you'll feel lost if you're new. You'll also be much closer to Kerry for trips home. Even getting from Dublin to Cork can be expensive. A 5 day return on the train is now €61.

I'm enjoying it up here so far with plenty of new pubs and clubs to explore but I'll move back to good ol' Cork eventually. Good luck in your search for a job OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Another thing to note as well is Dublin Airport is fairly handy for weekend trips. Not sure how big Cork airport is, but it has less Ryanair and Aerlingus destinations than Dublin. Just something to consider.

Sure all things said, why not try Cork first and you can move on later if you want.

Slow coach wrote:
    Hahahahaha.

Sorry for laughing.

I claim the defence that it was 4 in the morning and that I was tired. :o

Perhaps saying "first city" might be a better way of putting it, I dunno.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

nesf wrote:
    I claim the defence that it was 4 in the morning and that I was tired. :o

Perhaps saying "first city" might be a better way of putting it, I dunno.
    Yes. First city.
    Cork is the capital of Munster, like Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Thanks to all that replied.

It definetly is more straightforward travelling to and from Cork alright. I have a few friends living in both places so I wouldn't have to start over so to speak - thankfully as I'm not the best as letting people 'in' so to speak. When it comes to gigs, the Cruiscin Lan in Cork seems pretty good. I'm going Saturday for a Decapitated gig, in April for Amon Amarth and in between to see some band whose name I can't remember. :o Though whenever I check out gig listings in Dublin theres a few bands I'd like to see playing every friggin' week. If anything I'd be worried about going broke..

Was in Edinburgh a while back, going again in a few weeks, and it seemed like a really great place. I like how the city is more compact than the average.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Really depends on what kind of person you are tbh, I'd personally be comfortable living in either but I would be worried that I'd get fed up of Cork after a shorter time than Dublin, given its smaller size(the city), the fact you'll run into the same people night in night out etc.

I like both, but I'm happy living in Dublin. Theres absolutely loads to do (socially), the place is riddled with pubs and clubs and theres gigs/comedy nights/etc on each and every week. Your chances of seeing the same people in the same places are much, much slimmer here.

Sure enough, it is more expensive here, but we're also better paid generally up here. Property is very expensive, but with the affordable housing schemes, and places being built on the brim of the city, it shouldn't be too much of a problem given that we've a superb public transport system. Also, you can get a nice place for rent in the suburbs for pretty cheap, depending on where of course but if you check daft.ie you'll see theres some pretty good deals there.

The traffic is only really a problem in the inner city, and on the way into and out of the inner city during the rush hours, but again, our bus service is about 400 times better than Corks and we've also got two LUAS lines and the Dart running deep into both sides of the city.

Regarding general safety, the place is fine. Avoid the known bad areas (which every city has) and you'll be fine.

The people are great, very diverse city with plenty of sub-cultures. Sure, there are some knackers, but they're present in every city in this country and theres little or nothing that can be done about it. Avoid them it'll be grand.

Anyway, decisions yours. Both are great cities, but Dublin has a lot more to offer imo, especially to young people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

sensible answer
    I lived in Dublin for 6 years but I'm now living half the time in Dublin and half in Cork. Dublin is great for variety of Entertainment and for the airport but it is ruder than Cork. Cork feels more like home even though I've spent far less time there. You're obviously younger than me though and Dublin is probably the best option at this stage of your life.

less sensible...
    Girls in Cork do wear very very short skirts though if that is your thing :-)

rb_ie wrote:
    Property is very expensive, but with the affordable housing schemes, and places being built on the brim of the city, it shouldn't be too much of a problem given that we've a superb public transport system.

Have you ever actually had to commute? Most of the people I know up there who have to are less than happy with the public transport (mostly from either an overcrowding or reach aspect, though there are plans to extend the networks which should help with this). Property prices in Dublin are just insane though. I get scared when I read the property listings in the papers. Though I don't think it's an issue that'll affect the OP. I imagine that he's planning on renting. :)

nesf wrote:
    Have you ever actually had to commute? Most of the people I know up there who have to are less than happy with the public transport (mostly from either an overcrowding or reach aspect, though there are plans to extend the networks which should help with this). Property prices in Dublin are just insane though. I get scared when I read the property listings in the papers. Though I don't think it's an issue that'll affect the OP. I imagine that he's planning on renting. :)
    Yep, commute to work every day. Only problem I have with is that the LUAS can get crowded at times, other than that its a fantastic service.

I also commuted to school every day on the buses for years, again, no problem except for the overcrowding the odd time. However, I was going to school in the city centre, so obviously the traffic was a problem.

Admittedly, I only have to travel from the southern suburbs into the city centre, and the LUAS is only a 15 minute walk from the house and a 15 minute walk to the house...but I'd hardly call that a commuting problem.

There are some shíte bus routes though, such as the 75, but most that go into the city centre are grand. Theres also loads of routes, so perhaps the buses may be infrequent, but most areas are served.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

nesf wrote:
    Though I don't think it's an issue that'll affect the OP. I imagine that he's planning on renting. :)

Yep.
    And hunnymonster, short skirts you say...nah I wouln't be interested in that kind of thing. ;)
    A friend of mine lives in the financial district and was pretty nervous after the shootings there a while back. Although I guess they were purely gang related which is 'better' than random attacks on the public or muggings etc.

Den_M wrote:
    Yep.
    And hunnymonster, short skirts you say...nah I wouln't be interested in that kind of thing. ;)
    A friend of mine lives in the financial district and was pretty nervous after the shootings there a while back. Although I guess they were purely gang related which is 'better' than random attacks on the public or muggings etc.
    The shootings near the IFSC? Yeah, shook the whole area I think, but tbh, there are some very, very rough areas around that part of Dublin. They've put some beautiful apartments and totally redone a certain amount of the area, but it wouldn't have changed anything regarding some of the scum that live locally. There is some great areas in the city centre to live, but down by that area, again, quite rough.

EDIT: Its the capital city, we've a massive population and organised crime gangs such as different mafias, Irish criminal gangs (whos names I can't recall at the moment) etc. but its very, very easy to avoid trouble. Stay out of it and you'll be absolutely fine, its when you get involved in gangs/crime that this stuff may happen you...like anywhere else I suppose.

rb_ie wrote:
    Admittedly, I only have to travel from the southern suburbs into the city centre, and the LUAS is only a 15 minute walk from the house and a 15 minute walk to the house...but I'd hardly call that a commuting problem.

Ah, sorry, I should have been clearer, I meant from outside of the city in. :)

nesf wrote:
    Ah, sorry, I should have been clearer, I meant from outside of the city in. :)
    Ah I see, well, it really depends on where on the outskirts you're living, some areas are well serviced and others are not. Hopefully this will change in the near future, as you said theres possibly plans to improve on this so hopefully they'll come into affect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Slow coach wrote:
    Hahahahaha.

Sorry for laughing.

Technically Edinburgh is not a Capital city. Edinburgh is merely a city of the country known as the United Kingdom. London is the Capital of that country so Edinburgh is at most a regional capital like Cork is to Dublin. Until such time as Scotland is a sovereign state of course.