Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

so how did u play this wknd?

• 19-02-2007 12:04am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭

so played in the 15 hole club comp, (h/cap 10)

started with par, then missed 4 4 footers for par in a row, pissed off. one of the holes nearly drove par4,15yards from pin in 1, duffed 2 chip(s)! next hole par 3, 7iron to 4ft, missed!next hole par 5 50 yards from pin in 2,thinkin of gettin it close,,,,, heavy and left it short!

3 points from next 4 holes,angry,very angry. nailed a drive next hole, got me thinkin positive.parred last 5 holes. nice day out all in all, careless golf!!

25 points in the end, and some how I'm happy enough, very strange. Guess when i focussed, I played my game. Move on, next week I'll be better, guaranteed, few lessons learned.

so how was everyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

played in club competition. stableford 18holes.

had 20pts on front nine with no score on one hole, was pretty happy with that. then came the back nine and a paltry score of 13pts.

quite annoying considering how well i played on the front nine.

my short game and putting just completely fell apart. im going out to change my putter this week. ive had enough of this crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Played well enough on Saturday in tubbercurry but shít on Sunday in Bomore (Rosses Point).
    Played with my dad. I'm not a member of any club so I just "tip around" every weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

Got in a sneaky 9 holes with the old fella on Sunday afternoon. In brief summary I was happy - 17 points. When you go into details though -

It included a 9 on the 3rd (Par4) and 2 double bogeys on par 4's after putting myself in a position for "a chance of a par", but a definite bogey. It's amazing how simple it is to turn an easy 5 in to a sickening 6!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭shapez

Terrible!!! Was dying with the flu which added to the frustration when I hit a bad shot.

But, it's only a game, enjoy it. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

played in open four man team event on Smurfit course on sunday morning, group in front took 25 mins to get their 2nd shots hit, they spent the entire time looking for one guys ball, in a 4 man event with 2 scores to count and 3 players in the fairway we felt a bit angry especially as a ranger had already told them to hurry up, but they insisted on taking their time, it took 3 hours and 45 mins to play the front nine thanks to the 4 ball in front, needless to say we didn't play too well ourselves, we were frozen waiting around so much, at least the guys behind us were sound as we spent most of the day talking to them waiting for the gang in front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

thats a bloody nightmare. i hate it when people hold up play like that.

i got a half day from work yesterday cos i was "sick" so i grabbed the clubs and headed down to my club to play a round on my own. nothing better to do and feeling AOK after getting sick in the office.

was on the 12th tee and there was a fourball of women playing across to the 17th green which is fairly close to the 12th tee. got hit in the shoulder with a stray tee shot. no warning. im pretty sore this morning too. massive bruise on muscle above collar bone.

was having excellent game on my own until then. as they were walking up to the ball, no apology or even a acknowledgement of what had just happened even tho they seen it.

i went ballistic at the group of them and the snotty nose little b1tches tried to deny anything happened. that all changed when they seen the mark on my shoulder.

full report going to club secratary regarding this incident. wouldnt have bothered except for the tone and attitude of those women.

im just glad i didnt get it in the head.

i got a half day from work yesterday cos i was "sick" so i grabbed the clubs and headed down to my club to play a round on my own. nothing better to do and feeling AOK after getting sick in the office.

was on the 12th tee and there was a fourball of women playing across to the 17th green which is fairly close to the 12th tee. got hit in the shoulder with a stray tee shot. no warning. im pretty sore this morning too. massive bruise on muscle above collar bone.

was having excellent game on my own until then. as they were walking up to the ball, no apology or even a acknowledgement of what had just happened even tho they seen it.

i went ballistic at the group of them and the snotty nose little b1tches tried to deny anything happened. that all changed when they seen the mark on my shoulder.

full report going to club secratary regarding this incident. wouldnt have bothered except for the tone and attitude of those women.

Holy Crap!! And I thought I had a bad day!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭GreenHorn

Haven't got out for a game in two weeks... :) I'd give ANYTHING to be held up by a painfully slow fourball or hit in the loaf by some oul biddy's tee shot... :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,618 ✭✭✭milltown

I'm the same. Can't seem to get a game in for love nor money. Every spare day for the past few weeks I've had a game booked only to have to spend the morning ringing every course in a 25 mile radius trying to find one that wasn't frozen shut. After a lovely sunny weekend spent not golfing I was looking forward to 9 holes with my mother yesterday. Dull but dry in Lucan, so obviously tipping it down in Rathfarnam (Balinascorney). We trudged around 7 holes, got soaked and called it a day.

But I have high hopes for Thursday week. I have been given a 2 ball on the Palmer course at the K club as a late Xmas pressie. If I wake up and my windscreen is frozen I'm going straight back to bed to cry for the day. The following day my clubs are going in the buy and sell.

milltown wrote:
    I'm the same. Can't seem to get a game in for love nor money. Every spare day for the past few weeks I've had a game booked only to have to spend the morning ringing every course in a 25 mile radius trying to find one that wasn't frozen shut. After a lovely sunny weekend spent not golfing I was looking forward to 9 holes with my mother yesterday. Dull but dry in Lucan, so obviously tipping it down in Rathfarnam (Balinascorney). We trudged around 7 holes, got soaked and called it a day.

But I have high hopes for Thursday week. I have been given a 2 ball on the Palmer course at the K club as a late Xmas pressie. If I wake up and my windscreen is frozen I'm going straight back to bed to cry for the day. The following day my clubs are going in the buy and sell.

:D:D lol :D:D

Well I'm hoping to play Sunday, and if not, I'm playing next Thursday even if there's a feckin Tsunami in Killeen (an admittedly unlikely occurance)...

Think i'll hit the range today actually... groove in them bad habits some more! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭J.R.HARTLEY

that sounds painful rick, hope theres no lasting damage, i've noticed a massive drop in ettiquette in the last few years, i've been hit and nearly hit myself with no warning and no apology from the golfers in question, i think the game is going to hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Trampas

Guess you wont be telling them in work happened to you ;)

Trampas wrote:
    Guess you wont be telling them in work happened to you ;)

Remnds me of the joke about the Priest who skips mass one Sunday morning and sneaks off to play golf by himself... God, watching this, guides his crisp 7iron straight into the cup on the Par3 fifth hole... St Peter says to God, "What ye do that for, he should be punished, no?"

God replies: "Yeah, well who's he gonna f*cking tell??" :)

that sounds painful rick, hope theres no lasting damage, i've noticed a massive drop in ettiquette in the last few years, i've been hit and nearly hit myself with no warning and no apology from the golfers in question, i think the game is going to hell.

IMO J.R I think this is due to people having too much money and keeping up with the Jones's in the modern day Ireland. I've been playing golf for the past 15 years. I'm only 28, and you're right there is a serious decline in ettiquette, common sense/courtesy and manners on golf courses these days.

Golf is a game, a very honorable game at that and people need to act to keep it that way.

(Maybe this could open a new tread and hear what other people have to say?!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭delboy159

I'm only at golf a couple of years and one of my biggest fears/concerns was that I'd insult somebody or miss some obvious rule of ettiquite. In my first few comps I was more worried about stepping on someones line than whether I 2 putted or not!

As I got into the game I have been shocked how ill mannered people are. Be it pitch marks not repaired, not shouting fore, I've even found cigarette butts on greens, never mind slow play...

Glad to hear you guys are disgusted by this because I was starting to think it was the norm!!!!

delboy159 wrote:
    I'm only at golf a couple of years and one of my biggest fears/concerns was that I'd insult somebody or miss some obvious rule of ettiquite. In my first few comps I was more worried about stepping on someones line than whether I 2 putted or not!

As I got into the game I have been shocked how ill mannered people are. Be it pitch marks not repaired, not shouting fore, I've even found cigarette butts on greens, never mind slow play...

Glad to hear you guys are disgusted by this because I was starting to think it was the norm!!!!

Of course your always going to get the ill mannered people in every club. So, it's never going to be perfect. It is becoming a lot more apparent these days where people do not respect the game and golfing ettiquette.

Getting back to Ricks comment. I would certinley ensure that there is some action taken towards what you experienced on your round.

I was in a similar situation when I was playing with my Mam a few weeks ago. We were teeing off and a guy had sent his 2nd shot on the hole beside us to within 2 foot of me. He didn't shout, did nothing. I teed off and waited until he came down for his ball so I could have words.

What he did was a first for me, he put down a 2nd ball on his fairway and chipped it onto the green. Casually walked on. At this stage we had to move on. As I was half way up the fairway I saw him coming over onto the tee box and picking up his ball!!! Couldn't believe it!!

delboy159 wrote:

Absolutely couldn't agree more.

Like yourself, I'm only playing properly about three years and spent 18months worrying about making mistakes, coughing in someone's backswing, talking too loud, stepping on someone's line or some other infraction of the laws of ettiquette...

That was, until I realised just how little most other people seem to worry about it! A real eye-opener I must say, people I knew well and who had been playing for years but just, and there's no other way of putting it, seemed to have no manners! As for people not repairing pitchmarks, that kills me. I play in Killeen every week and the greens are a credit to everyone who works there, but I find myself staggered at the amount of unrepaired pitchmarks every time I go out.

As regard the stray balls flying everywhere - reminds me of when I first start driving: Didn't realise how many dangerous people there are out there!

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Played in a fourball on Sunday, my first outing for 3 weeks... seem to be playing only once every 3 weeks since Christmas - hard to get any rhythm going but at least it's something...
    Smashed opening tee shot and followed it up with a 3-wood onto the green, then 3 putts for a par. One bogey, one birdie on the front nine, on both par fives in two and 3 putted them both (second one from only 20 feet) so out in level par.
    Bogey, bogey, double bogey start to the back nine (yippee).
    Two more bogeys and then holed my first ever iron shot to a par four (on 17), sinking a 90 yard gap wedge. I called it a peach in the air, it pitched 6 feet from the hole and just babied up against the flag and dropped.
    So played to my handicap but there was the usual mixture of good, bad and ugly in there.
    There's always the next day.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

stringy wrote:
    so played in the 15 hole club comp, (h/cap 10)

started with par, then missed 4 4 footers for par in a row, pissed off. one of the holes nearly drove par4,15yards from pin in 1, duffed 2 chip(s)! next hole par 3, 7iron to 4ft, missed!next hole par 5 50 yards from pin in 2,thinkin of gettin it close,,,,, heavy and left it short!

3 points from next 4 holes,angry,very angry. nailed a drive next hole, got me thinkin positive.parred last 5 holes. nice day out all in all, careless golf!!

25 points in the end, and some how I'm happy enough, very strange. Guess when i focussed, I played my game. Move on, next week I'll be better, guaranteed, few lessons learned.

so how was everyone else?

yeah so big improvement.

bad start bogey, double bogey,par double bogey. finished front "+6" but playing well. Bogey 10, birdie 11, then 6 pars and finished with birdie back 9 "-1". Delighted with way I was hitting ball, only 5th game in 2007 due to injury so swing has finally got going. Happy, roll on season start in March.