Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lost in Translation

• 17-02-2007 12:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭

Meet Gee Bag, a rapper based in the UK. Link.

The other obvious breakdown in communication is when you as an American how the craic is.

Any other interesting bits where you say tomato and they say tomatoe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

That cracked me up.
    He will never be taken seriously in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Poor old Gee Bag :(

I checked out his forum and it has something like 15 posts. From my brief look most of them (from people with names lik 'oh my jasus' - Irish I presume) were insulting him by cleverly using his name as an insult. Still, it made me laugh... the gee bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Despite the name I actually quite like the song 'None of them'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hah, good find.
    Never mind tomato, people do get confused when I say rubbish. "Do you mean garbage?!?!" *hits wall*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Terry wrote:
    That cracked me up.
    He will never be taken seriously in Ireland.
    Lol,think he'll be taken seriously anywhere?! Bar non-English countries of course...

Good find Connundrum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

What did you say about me :mad:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

connundrum wrote:
    Meet Gee Bag...

Hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭baztard

yo yo yo homey dog home boy!!

yo im grabbing me nuts
    while im looking at me muts
    id love to **** him up them up the butts

I like to keep my dobermans cock
    stuffed deep in my sock

yo yo yo uh uh uh uh pop a cap in yo ass yo

your such a ****in gee bag
    im gonna make you lick my ball bag

WOOOOOOOOOOORD NIGGA!
    ****IN GEE BAG

From Gee Bags forum. Classic lyrics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

I worked in a hotel in the states 2 years ago. The electricity had gone in 1 of the rooms so I went into the back room and asked manager for a torch. She looked at me like I had 2 heads. I soon found out that torch has differant conotations to them. Note use the word flashlight if your ever in the states or you maybe arrested for attempted arson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 799 ✭✭✭Schlemm

referring to the rear part of a car as the 'boot' seems to cause mass confusion stateside...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭badgerbadger

they pronounce words differently like pasta and salsa
    and they have diferent slang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

connundrum wrote:
    Meet Gee Bag, a rapper based in the UK. Link.

Hahaa. i hope it is pronounced like gee and not jee

Edit: Mitsublishi Pajero. From what I'm told, pajero is Spanish for chicken choker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Hows about the Ford Pinto, which didnt do terribly well in Latin America, because 'pinto' means 'small willy' :D

Or the toyota MR2 which had to be changed to just MR in france because its name sounded like 'sh1t' when pronounced by the frenchies :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

My Spanish friends' jaws are forever dropping at the name of the Mitsubishi Pajero, which means t0sser, or wank3r!

Mitsubishi make fine cars (I drive one) but you'd think they'd invest in a dictionary, especially given that the name is supposedly, eh, inspired by the Spanish for bird (pájaro). Could they not have got it right?

Unsurprisingly, the 4x4 in question is called the "Montero" in Spain. That just happens to be the street in Madrid that's best known for prostitution! Hehehe, they just can't win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,811 ✭✭✭runswithascript

baztard wrote:
    From Gee Bags forum. Classic lyrics

LOL quite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Ruu wrote:
    Hah, good find.
    Never mind tomato, people do get confused when I say rubbish. "Do you mean garbage?!?!" *hits wall*

Don't get me started on people coming in and asking me for refuge bags (they mean refuse!)

"Refuge bag ya say? Who are ya hiding from?"

....and its not from "package a crips" knacks either. Most of the time its well dressed, well spoken, seemingly educated people!

Calibos wrote:
    Most of the time its well dressed, well spoken, seemingly educated people!

How dare they, you should belittle their education as we all know you can take the high ground here because it takes alot of education to work at the local Centra! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

haha i've jsut been laughin me face off readin them posts! ur man is clueless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

What i'm wonderin' is how the op managed to stumble across a rapper called Gee Bag;)

Are you implying it takes one to no one? Because I certainly am :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Great Thread :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

What, exactly, is a Gee Bag anyway.

Makes no sense.

A bag for carrying a detachable gee in?

A bag to put around a gee?

A bag for many gees?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

seansouth wrote:
    What, exactly, is a Gee Bag anyway.

Makes no sense.

A bag for carrying a detachable gee in?

A bag to put around a gee?

A bag for many gees?

well, who knows?!

He is pronoucing it G-Bag (why didn't he just call himself this :eek: )

And a 'G' is slang for $1000, maybe its something to do with that...

I think it might be a condom. You'd first thing a rubber is a bag for the cock but it's kind of a bag for the gee relatively speaking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Don't forget all the promotional material that was never released for 80's computer giant Wang....Apparently they had a warehouse full of 'Wang Cares' merchandise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I think there was a rapper or rap group called The Nonce. :o

Sure they didn't flog any records in the UK.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

4Xcut wrote:
    What i'm wonderin' is how the op managed to stumble across a rapper called Gee Bag;)
    dusf wrote:
    Are you implying it takes one to no one? Because I certainly am :p

Ask me arse, ye gee bags :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A few years ago, a member of some UK band in the US told the audience that he couldn’t half do with a fag. Needless to say, the audience became very quiet, until he explained that where he came from, it meant cigarette.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Aparantly the Triumph Acclaim couldnt be released in Germany as the literal translation of the name was "seig heil!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Lads do ye know nothing ?

A Gee-bag is a stanatry towel, a female hygine product, also known as a jamrag, Think of the bodyform ad and replace the word with Jamrag or Gee-bag and you have the idea. It's a gee-bag before it gets sullied and a jamrag when it is used.

A scum bag is a used condom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Wow.

Them sanitary towels aren't very bag-like though. Not the ones I've seen anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Thaedydal wrote:

A Gee-bag is a stanatry towel, a female hygine product, also known as a jamrag, Think of the bodyform ad and replace the word with Jamrag or Gee-bag and you have the idea. It's a gee-bag before it gets sullied and a jamrag when it is used.

I always thought a Gee Bag was just some nosey aul'one? It is around my way anyway.

I suppose it could be related to the American slang Douche Bag. {Used for hygienic maintenance of Ladies bits}

What gets me everytime is that someone probably discovered this guy by typing rude words into a search engine. Boredom is priceless :)

Someone mentioned the Mitsubishi Pajero....did anyone ever hear the rumour that Mitsubishi misspronounced the Starion?

It was released in a line of cars named after horses around the same time as the Colt and I think the Lancer as well. But I'm no car expert so I'm sure I'll be debunked on that.

Japenese pronounciation of Stallion would sound like Starion :p

seansouth wrote:
    Wow.

Them sanitary towels aren't very bag-like though. Not the ones I've seen anyway.

Back in the when the term was coined sanitary towels were not the envlope thin sleek descrete with wings as they are today.
    They didn't even stick to your knickers they were 2 inches by 4 inches of cotton which was 1/2 an inch thick in a string hamoch you attched to a sanitary belt was like a suspender belt and had hooks that hung front and back to hold it in place.

http://www.mum.org/sussmith.jpg

When finally they did get adeshive pads they were still made off the same large bulk of cotton and looked like this.

http://www.mum.org/nwfrpd71.jpg
    http://www.mum.org/nwfrpd2.jpg

Which was a bag with a lump of cotton in it which you stuck to the gusset of you knickers and wasn't that aborbant. Hence a gee-bag a bag of cotton for under your gee and when it was soiled or bloody it became a jam rag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Hard Larry

Altogether now....

'Its my Life!...Its my Life!'

or even

'Whoooooaaaaaa Bodyform....Bodyform for yooooooou!'

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Thats very informative thaedy.
    Thanks!

Tis always funny the stuff the people don't know cos of the gender differences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

You have sanitary towels, we have the offside rule.....seems fair.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Thaedydal wrote:
    Tis always funny the stuff the people don't know cos of the gender differences.
    Clueless indeed we are. But also willing to sap up all handy information relating to the opposite gender. Its just a pity that some of it isnt released more freely!

The-Rigger wrote:
    well, who knows?!

He is pronoucing it G-Bag (why didn't he just call himself this :eek: )

And a 'G' is slang for $1000, maybe its something to do with that...

Yo G means Gangsta. G.

I thought gee bag was a bag o gees. I wonder where the word gee came from? I know it also means butter in Indian, Always gives me a giggle in restaraunts.

Nothing like a bit of gee on toast tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭darkskol

From what I heard the word "gee bag" comes from the irish word "gaoth" bag which basically meant to call someone a windbag :p

hm. So a gee fart is a windfart?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

boreds wrote:
    Yo G means Gangsta. G.

I thought gee bag was a bag o gees. I wonder where the word gee came from? I know it also means butter in Indian, Always gives me a giggle in restaraunts.

Yeah, check it out:

"Ghee can be reheated for deep frying or drizzled over dishes like a syrup or sauce"

It's never quite so good reheated I find...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Excellent.... :D
    American sitcoms using 'fanny' is another one...

Hmmmm...
    boreds wrote:
    hm. So a gee fart is a windfart?

So in America a fanny fart is a normal fart :confused:

Wierdos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Thaedydal wrote:

We also used to say gee pad for this. Must be a variation.

Clueless indeed we are. But also willing to sap up all handy information relating to the opposite gender. Its just a pity that some of it isnt released more freely!

There are still taboos and periods and what goes with them are still one of them.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

connundrum wrote:
    Hmmmm...

So in America a fanny fart is a normal fart :confused:

Wierdos
    Queef they call it...