Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your opinion on these two military portraits

• 16-02-2007 5:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭

Which one do ye guys/gals like the most just can't decide
    392180795_723e112153.jpg392180763_c07a3668cc.jpg

both shot with E1 at the dublin camera club studio.

Seb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Is it just me or is it getting very Waffen SS around here recently!!!

I prefer the colour one, you need blue eyes with a uniform like that. What would be interesting is converting everything to B&W and leaving the eyes blue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Xios

Is it just me, or is his baby smooth skin very unsoldierly? I want an eye missing and big gapping scar running up his cheek to his brow!
    1st one imo too.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 51,675 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i think it works best if you drop the saturation by roughly half - best of both worlds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,624 ✭✭✭✭Fajitas!

I'm gonna go for the colour one at the moment...BUT...

I think a bit of dirty grain on the second, and a bit of burning in detail could make it a lot more gritty, and powerful.

But I could also be horribly wrong....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,775 ✭✭✭Sebzy

Ta all

Have 49 shots from the hour shoot to process and will be going quite dramatic on some.

yea gandalf I think the whole Waffen SS may be my fault and crazy shopping weekends in London(Camden Stables) dont help.

Anyway have quite a backlog of shots to get through and some with machine guns and knives so brace yourself. Any day now I'll go back to shooting puppies and classic portraits but not today.,.,.,.,.,

It's fun to be evil :)

Well I suppose its good you haven't mixed the machine guns and knives with the puppies and portraits !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Backtoblack

Xios wrote:
    Is it just me, or is his baby smooth skin very unsoldierly? I want an eye missing and big gapping scar running up his cheek to his brow!
    1st one imo too.

lol He'd be more suited to an advert for Clarins! harhar!
    Why are his eyes so dialated? is that something to do with the flash?
    Dust on his face might be good or a bitta mud like imo! :p

Had him standing in front of some quite strong studio tungsten lights at the start and the pint of bulmers may have helped a bit.

Ok right so next time I shoot one of these things again the model is going to be asked to kip out in the cold and eat only garbage heheheheh. Anyone want to do a shoot with a realy bad hangover that should do the trick too.

Seb.

lol Yeah like any good actor! Get him into the role! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭Dara Robinson

As it is I love the colour one. The blue is great
    Fajitas! wrote:
    I'm gonna go for the colour one at the moment...BUT...

I think a bit of dirty grain on the second, and a bit of burning in detail could make it a lot more gritty, and powerful.

But I could also be horribly wrong....
    But I took Fajitas' idea and went with it. What you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭mikeanywhere

Colour is good but prefer the B&W one as it keeps in with the theme. I also think the light is too strong on face so it needs toning down a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Colour one for the win, their is something about the eyes that is not captured in the b&w one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

Cracking photo, Seb. I burnt the bright part of the soldiers face, worked my bleach bypassy magic, painted back in his eyes, cloned out the earring (it was distracting :[ ), added noise and burnt the background:

392389884_f43cebbbc5.jpg

Ok the more I looked at the the more I felt there was something missing. And then Eureka I copped it :)

Sorry couldn't resist :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,763 ✭✭✭Fenster

lol

Ok I actually did what I suggested earlier.

gandalf wrote:
    Ok I actually did what I suggested earlier.
    :D lol That's freaky!!

Yep I think I'll call it Zombie Nazi Pirate from Hell :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Whoah, whats with his eyes? Was he on speed or something?

gandalf wrote:
    Yep I think I'll call it Zombie Nazi Pirate from Hell :p

I'm not going to look at any more! I'll have nightmares.
    To the Z-machine. Good night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Hope its okay to make this one a bit more sinister, Sebzy. :)

392180795723e112153ct1.jpg

Jaysus its the T1942 !!

Oh come on

Friday night and your all not drunk tut tut tut.....

Well i'm looking for that feckin badger who stole the newspaper when I was in the fridge.

Seb.

Naw have a chest infection and I am on half the shagging anti-biotics in the chemist !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Fionn

I had a go at this too,

i hope you dont mind!

i thought he needed a haircut, and something done with those mad eyes

german.jpg

With such a shiny helment, reflections do have their advantages.

This is me bored 19778143a3645264124b353723102l.jpg

And Fionn's right about the hair, the model is totally wrong for this kinda shoot... [edit]

Fionn wrote:
    I had a go at this too,

i hope you dont mind!

i thought he needed a haircut, and something done with those mad eyes

german.jpg

This hat suits him. He looks cute even..
    Does the poor chap realise he is live on the net, being dressed up and scribbled on by the boardies artists?? :) lol

Xios wrote:

Xios your comments are quite offensive to both me and my client. Quote "drugged up nazi"
    I understand the previous comments were made in a light hearted fashion but there is no indication in your post.

Seb.

Sebzy wrote:
    Xios your comments are quite offensive to both me and my client. Quote "drugged up nazi"
    I understand the previous comments were made in a light hearted fashion but there is no indication in your post.

Seb.

Sorry, just my awkward sense of humour, i was just trying to tie all the posts in this thread in a summed up way. If only text could show sarcasm :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭localchap

I'd prefer BW one, the lighting setup is a bit weird as for studio shot.