Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wii Update - Voting Channel

• 14-02-2007 2:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭

Just went home there for lunch and saw the friendly blue light glowing at me so downloaded the new Voting Channel (can't remember the exact name for it). It is exactly what it says on the tin. There are questions up and you vote for 1 of 2 answers. Nothing groundbreaking. Bit of a throw away feature having browsed it for 10 mins. Anyone else had a go of it yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

saw it was flashing this morning but didnt have time to look at it

what are ye voting for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

poxy questions on it like: How do you like your eggs? Boiled or Fried.

That literally seems to be all there is too it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

'tis a bit of fun, and not much else.

still, it's a freebie and i get the feeling that these things are just nintendo playing around and seeing what they can do with the wii's online services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

still, it's a freebie and i get the feeling that these things are just nintendo playing around and seeing what they can do with the wii's online services
    I'd say that's it. I'd love if they asked some relevant questions too that may relate to future VC releases and such (eg. 'which version of <game> do you want to see released' etc...)

This might also have something to do with Nintendo saying that their Wii Pokémon game will be their first online game and that online development kits were released to certain developers recently.

Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

I updated and there were no extra channels afterwards, is this channel somewhere else?

Check the shop (software area) like with the Internet Channel.

The Wii Update just picks up the new firmware update.

you have to download it from the software section of the Shop Channel. It would be good if Nintendo used it as a medium to get our opinions on versions and other things like that they release on the shop channel. I doubt they will but I do like that idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭SNL

people can input questions and maybe they will be used so keep just asking ninty related questions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 52,406 CMod ✭✭✭✭Retr0gamer

I vote for 60Hz roms, Radiant Silvergun and Castlevania Rondo of Blood on the VC!

Retr0gamer wrote:
    I vote for 60Hz roms, Radiant Silvergun and Castlevania Rondo of Blood on the VC!
    <3

Although i'd settle for Mario Kart (SNES), Super Tennis and Roket Knight Adventures for now :3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,464 ✭✭✭Kristok

Its probably never going to work and cost the hard working game players a fortune in storage fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

man, sleeping is wayyy better than eatin!

Yea I voted for sleeping as well. A nice lie in to miss breakfast is almost a daily routine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

I like my eggs boiled,
    I like eating waaaay better:)
    And I had to go with Dogs over cats.

The questions suck to be honest.
    I hope people overwhelm Nintendo with actual questions relevant to computer games.May make them actually realise as good as all this random free stuff is, we actually want something that's seriously worth while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Gizzle

Maybe they're laying the foundations for some kind of MMO shooter where two teams of of Wii owners fight online to the death for those ideals that they hold dearest. Such as boiled or fried eggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

if they can do nearly well as gamefaqs do for coming up with questions
    gamefaqs have come up with a new question like every day for years now on their poll
    fair play to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,762 ✭✭✭smokingman

Thought this was pants when I heard about it and well, it still kinda is.
    However, the interface is pretty slick and it's interesting to see that most countries south of the equator prefer cats for some reason...

I'm apparently 224 m distance from popular opinion...
    Herself is only 60!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

LOl, this could become very good for nintendos market research in the futrue if they use it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭slayerking

I don't get the distance from popular thing? Im 62m apparently!!!:confused:
    Anyone know what it means?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

Just downloaded it now and its a bit of a waste of time on Nintendos behalf, which they could be using to create better channels. Still, its a bit of fun - and another feature to use the Miis.

I dont see any questions about eggs or sleeping/eating. I voted on whether i believe aliens exist or not! And whats more important, love or money?! eh..MONEY!!

Man its tough to post using the Wiis internet browser. It took every ounce of me not to use txt speak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

I dont see any questions about eggs or sleeping/eating.
    Those questions time periods have expired.
    Man its tough to post using the Wiis internet browser. It took every ounce of me not to use txt speak!
    Your effort is much appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭Stalfos

It's not that hard to post using the wii-mote i think. The only thing that annoys me is when you click "." it's wait about half a second and sticks ".com" after it.

I personally dont think the voting channel serves much of any purpose at all then to waste a bit more time downloading it and using it for about 5 minutes longer than you should.
    I'd rather see nintendo try to come up with an intstant chat program, that would be alot better i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

I think it's great - just a bit of fun really. Sleeping ftw.

True though, it would be nice if they were suggestion polls instead of just random questions.