Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Live Player of the Year 2006

• 14-02-2007 8:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭

Vote plz.

Remember it's for Best Live Player.

Who is Boards Live Player of the Year 2006? 103 votes

Roundtower
    0% 0 votes
    LuckyLloyd
    33% 35 votes
    Flushdraw
    7% 8 votes
    Smurph
    8% 9 votes
    Carigeen
    10% 11 votes
    NorwichFanRob
    3% 4 votes
    MrPillowTalk
    4% 5 votes
    pppspecial
    0% 0 votes
    Padraig Parkinson
    4% 5 votes
    Flipper
    5% 6 votes
    Bops
    4% 5 votes
    Daithio
    2% 3 votes
    HectorJelly
    3% 4 votes
    OllieBoy
    0% 0 votes
    5starpool
    0% 0 votes
    phantom_lord
    1% 2 votes
    mickste
    0% 1 vote
    kpnuts
    4% 5 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I got a vote and it wasn't me!!! Yay for me. I didn't even see the nomination thread for this, must be going blind.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Trust me it was there with all 17 nominations. I think boardsies want to constantly remind me I'm only a mod and can't create polls with more than 10 options. Cheers for putting it up Luke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

5starpool wrote:
    I got a vote and it wasn't me!!! Yay for me. I didn't even see the nomination thread for this, must be going blind.
    It was me...... you can give me that €50 next time im in the fitz........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

Confession time, Martin logged onto boards, from home thinking he was logged in as RX8 and voted for me but oh no, I had logged on last night, so in case the mods think im a twat, I did not actually vote for myself, im not that sad (yet). If i could vote again I would vote PPP Special,

Thank you.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

smurph wrote:
    Confession time, Martin logged onto boards, from home thinking he was logged in as RX8 and voted for me but oh no, I had logged on last night, so in case the mods think im a twat, I did not actually vote for myself, im not that sad (yet). If i could vote again I would vote PPP Special,

Thank you.
    You must think we use black magic. I don't know about the others, but I can't see who voted for who either so confession wasn't necessary.

Also, did Martin go back in as RX8 and vote for you again? I think you should be disqualified!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭smurph

I don't know but with the Big Brother is watching syndrome, etc.,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

lol im ahead of Padraig Parkinson, Hector, and Mr Pillowhead!!

Vote for Bops
    He's the man!!

who put me in this yoke?? cheeky ****ers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

Kpnuts, is the most popular player in the world :rolleyes: , and cashed in the WSOP main event. Shocking omission imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

Between Smurph for consistency, Roundtower for his WSOP performance and LuckyLloyd for the GJP win in my opinion. I went with Roundtower mainly because of the amount he won, but also because it was the biggest tourney he'd ever played, with alot of added pressure etc, and he completely smashed it up.

I'm actually a bit embarrassed that I'm on that list, I'm down overall live this year:o. Online has kept me above water, but I think the online POTY thing is a bit of a joke, because nobody can know.

EDIT to say that despite that Rob is a deserved winner of the online POTY, we all know he's been winning consistently for the last year, so fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

between flipper pppspecial and flushdraw for me, flipper by a shorthead and a nose got the vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

kincsem wrote:
    Kpnuts, is the most popular player in the world :rolleyes: , and cashed in the WSOP main event. Shocking omission imho.
    scratch me and stick in kp laf?

or just take me off full stop :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

its flushdraw for me as he's had a good few wins this year..... [although he doesnt deserve my vote:p ]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

hmmm tough one this, some good performances with some new TV stars at the pokerstars (including Vera). However, how can you look beyond that young roundtowers WSOP performance

Flushdraw would definitely be next vote if i had one, impressed with his finishes in the big ones. good girl Sharon

Where is the Chief? He was nominated
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

He's not a boardsie tho is he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

I voted for LuckyLloyd myself. A lot of good players with good performances on the list but Lloyd is probably the most improved player of the year. His GJP win showed how far he has come as a player, and he followed it up with a nice win down the stix and another couple of deep finishes in €300+ buyin events. Things looking good in 2007 for the big man..nh gg wp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

There were alot of great performances this year as always, (congrats to all the nominees) but I think, as the results are showing, Roundtowers' performance in the WSOP was incredible and he's a deserved winner.

Although I think certainly Lloyd would get the most improved player. He's made some great strides, not only in his results but also his posting on this board (all I really have to go on due to lack of playing Live with the other nominees who don't post strategy).

I think it really shows the value of posting on this board, (no disrespect Lloyd). But it really is so much more valuable than just reading, so any lurkers out there reading, get your hands dirty, run the gauntlet, take the crap, grow a thick skin and improve your game immeasurably.

Can we have a most improved poster catagory next year (or this year) as I think there would be alot of good contenders and I think it would be a fun catagory too, we've seen alot of posters improve alot during the course of the year.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Padraig Parkinson surely showed the greatest form repeatedly going deep throughout the year it seemed (plus at the WSOP... 4 cashes wasnt it?)
    Gets my vote! :)

DeV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

I went for Roundtower his play impressed me in Vegas, I think that Parkinson had a blaster year obviously, but he isnt really a boardsie is he? I know hes posted a few times but not regularly.

Edit: lmao at my inclusion, just noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Flushdraw wrote:
    I voted for LuckyLloyd myself. A lot of good players with good performances on the list but Lloyd is probably the most improved player of the year. His GJP win showed how far he has come as a player, and he followed it up with a nice win down the stix and another couple of deep finishes in €300+ buyin events. Things looking good in 2007 for the big man..nh gg wp

Your forgot to include his biggest win in the Jackpot €20 freezeout 2 weeks ago, come on it is every poker players dream to take that one down!!

Btw Rob gets my vote for performance in world series, victory in Scarborough (I think) and also runners up in JJP heads up championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd