Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possibly buyin a rekord...

• 08-02-2007 6:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭

I'm goin to check out a rekord with a 2 litre nissan diesel engine on sunday, which if (actually probably should say "when") buy it will bring my garden's current population of cars to a citroen van, 2 granadas and a broken fiat marea!
    Anyone got a rekord? had one before/have any thoughts on them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

I haven't seen one of those in God knows how many years.

My uncle had a red one back in the early 90's, it was a diesel estate model. From what I remember of him saying, it was a fairly relaible car, although rust ate through it.

What condition is it in? Any pictures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Watch out for suspension top cave in, they nearly all suffer from this as a result of the weight of the engine. Especially the original diesel models. I used to brace them by welding a bar from shock mounting top to top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭ds20prefecture

My dad had 3, all the last pre-omega shape - a 2.0 Berlina, and two 2.0Ss. I remember them as being a bit cramped but comfy and a pleasure to drive compared to the Marina and Metro that were also knocking about at the time. A lot of fun on wet grass, when you're 14.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

junkyard wrote:
    Watch out for suspension top cave in, they nearly all suffer from this as a result of the weight of the engine. Especially the original diesel models. I used to brace them by welding a bar from shock mounting top to top.
    Fuuu*k!! Sounds dodgy, how i identify this problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,575 ✭✭✭junkyard

Fuuu*k!! Sounds dodgy, how i identify this problem?

Firstly check out the bonnet gaps if they're iffy your in trouble, the camber of the wheels will look off too. There's a good chance its been braced already, you'll see the bar across the top of the engine when you look under the bonnet.

Sort of like a crude improvised strut brace type of thing? Like a home made version of the competition strut brace i had on my sierra.
    If this problem you described has happened, can it be fixed?
    And would it have been able to pass the NCT with the cave-in problem? As this car i'm thinking of buyin passsed it's test last year and i'm thinkin if the front wheels were at funny angles and the suspension/mountings were dodgy that it would have failed....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭MercMad

Yeah the strut tops were terrible, in fact it was the whole inner valence where it meets the wing ! The Rekor,Commodore,Royale,Viceroy,Monza and Senator were all the same in this respect.

Big mileage eaters though !

The old 2.3 diesels used to have two 12V batteries, one on each side, 'cos they could be a bugger to start from cold !!

Bought it this mornin anyway, well pleased with it. Scruffy on outside with a bit of rust but nothin serious. Good and solid mechanically with good nissan diesel engine conversion. Good strong brace bar in the engine bay so no strut cave in problems. Drove it back up from mallow to limerick and around limerick city for a few errands. Really comfortable car and miles of space inside, which is good because i'm a big basta*d at 6ft 2 and 20 stone ish.
    Has confirmed that there was good reason to my childhood obsession with rekords. Now that i finally have one years later it's great, must get more of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭atlantean

Has confirmed that there was good reason to my childhood obsession with rekords. Now that i finally have one years later it's great, must get more of them...

If you are looking for parts or info the lads over on VxOpel should be able to help you out ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

pics please

atlantean wrote:
    If you are looking for parts or info the lads over on VxOpel should be able to help you out ;)

Thanks, will check that out

3ps wrote:
    pics please

Sorry for long neglect of thisd thread, pics soo!!! I promise (just gotta get hold of my sister's camera, and she's in kerry, i'm in limerick, so waitin for the opportunity...), it looks like sh1T
    so dont expect anythin pleasant, but it's basically solid and gos fine, which is all i need.

And i've actually spotted another one. A red-ish, 2.3D estate, which i'm going to investigate further tomorrow, dont know if it's for sale yet, but i'll pull in and ask... hope i dont get shot or anythin, i've had some dodgy reactions when i've gone into places askin abou old cars, but i suppose in fairness in todays world it's understandable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭3ps

we don't mind the condition!

When I had my W123 200T I had one fellow call to the door looking to buy it but he wouldn't name a price and just wanted me to say I was interested in selling it. He wouldn't leave me alone.

I parked it in behind my other car that night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

AsphaltRisin' just remember the old saying ''Its old, but it'll hold!!''

-VB-

3ps wrote:
    we don't mind the condition!

When I had my W123 200T I had one fellow call to the door looking to buy it but he wouldn't name a price and just wanted me to say I was interested in selling it. He wouldn't leave me alone.

I parked it in behind my other car that night.

That's an anoyin one alright... I dont react well to that sort of thing myself, thats why I had every intention of offering him several hundred euros in cash if he'd felt like selling it, but as it turns out he wasnt there! Argh!

attempting to put pictures up.....

It looks better than it is

rekord2.jpg

rekord1.jpg

rekordengine1.jpg

rekordengine2.jpg

Old school baby! :D

Are you planning on restoring it?

If i could afford to i'd definitely do it, but at the moment I'm payin for a Ford Sierra P100 Pickup and also have to fork out for a new head gasket, rad hoses, diff and clutch for a granada that i also have, which i managed to blow up while havin a bit too much sideways fun...
    As soon as i've the P100 collected and changed to irish reg i'll sadly probably end up lettin "The Tank" (as my rekord was know in it's previous home) go. Hopefully to someone who'll want to restore it.

I'd nearly buy it from you. Although the parent's would probably go mad adding another car to the relativly short driveway.

well when i goet my pickup sorte dout finally i'll be putting pics up of it, then you'll know that i might want to sell the opel. If you do decide in a month or so that you'd like a rekord i might be wanting to sell it. Will have to see how things go though

What was the original engine that was in it do you know?

I do indeed. 2 litre 4 cylinder CIH engine, same as rear wheel drive ascona 2 litre and 2 litre manta. It could be converted back again easy enough i'd say, car's solid enough, needs 2 doors though because they rusty and there's some rust in boot floor but it's not too bad.

Sticking the 3 litre straight-6 from the Monza/Vauxhall Royale into it would also be a good idea! :D

I assume the gearbox is from a Nissan aswell?

well yes, and no... seeing as the 3 litre six is very long and need a fair bit of work to get in there, it's been done though. Woul dbe much easier put in a 2.2 or a later 2.0i omega engine, or somethin like a manta engine or an XE 16v would be decent in a rekord. They love them over in germany and in norway. Lots of them converted to Astra GSI motors and many tuned 2.2igls models around, plus the occasional 3 litre, even saw a 24valve lotus carlton powered one in austria!

Actually now that i think of it i saw a lovely senator 3.0i of the same vintage as my rekord today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

This car was popular in South Africa, they were still being built until I994.

G Luxel wrote:
    This car was popular in South Africa, they were still being built until I994.

Cool, didnt know that. Weren't they sold as some sort of Holden in australia as well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

australia is full of em.

as they say, only coke and milk come in 2 litres;)

holden manaro gto is a savage car, but with all the talk of climate change, its not a great buy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

Cool, didnt know that. Weren't they sold as some sort of Holden in australia as well?

Yeah, opel record was the holden commodore in Oz. We had a 2L Record D estate running up to '86, with a german import Mantra and a gold Monza in the yard not quite sure why...... parts probably. The record is still about, not running but doubt it's good for much as was a much older model than yours.

Classic, can still smell the fumes from the dodgy boot seal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭TJJP

TJJP wrote:
    had a 2L Record D estate running up to '86

ps. Rekord D (or mark II) wasn't a diesel.... 2L petrol, misleading name badge...

There was a Holden Commodore driving around Galway in the late 80s. Looking at the plates at the time, it appeared to be a new import for someone. I last saw it in Claremorris before 2000. Where it went after that , i dont know. Other holdens I spotted here were their version of the Ascona from 1982, a Zafira, virtually the same as the present model except for the badge, 2 corsa's again identical to an opel but different badge, an 1990 Corolla badged as a Holden Nova and an NSW regd Frontera.

G Luxel wrote:
    There was a Holden Commodore driving around Galway in the late 80s. Looking at the plates at the time, it appeared to be a new import for someone. I last saw it in Claremorris before 2000. Where it went after that , i dont know. Other holdens I spotted here were their version of the Ascona from 1982, a Zafira, virtually the same as the present model except for the badge, 2 corsa's again identical to an opel but different badge, an 1990 Corolla badged as a Holden Nova and an NSW regd Frontera.

Nice, would be pretty cool to get a commodore from down under, would be like havin an even cooler rekord.

G Luxel wrote:

I've seen a good few Holdens around Ireland aswell, a few Holden Barina's (one older model that was actually a re-badged Suzuki Swift and a few others that were just Corsas). There was also a Holden Astra going around Tallaght for a while a couple of years back.
    Nice, would be pretty cool to get a commodore from down under, would be like havin an even cooler rekord.

I'm sure if you were determined, you could import one. The lack of crap weather down under means FAR less rust. Although it would probably a bit expensive....

Oh yeah, of course it could be done, but even though it'd be nice i couldnt be bothered really, next on my list is Capri...

A later type commodore, similiar to the 89 Senator, was for sale on ebay about two years ago in Wales. The car was imported in the 90s I think but the asking price started at I50 pounds. I dont know if it sold or not...
    The Commodore I spotted in mayo was an 88 reg but it was the previous model as a new Commodore appeared in Australia that year. It was white and I think it had an external sunvisor. There were headlight and grille guards fitted, made from see-through plastic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭nodger

I'm goin to check out a rekord with a 2 litre nissan diesel engine on sunday, which if (actually probably should say "when") buy it will bring my garden's current population of cars to a citroen van, 2 granadas and a broken fiat marea!
    Anyone got a rekord? had one before/have any thoughts on them?

My dad had one until 1989... IIRC, it was a 2.0L Rekord Berlina. Wine coloured with nice velour upholstery. Reg was 445 WZE. Would like to see it again,

Nice... They seem to be a well remembered car. My one, although battered and a bit shaky is still a formidable yoke on the road.
    I'm toying with the idea of importing a Luxus model, (hopefully automatic) with all the the toys from germany if funds allowed.

Daewoo_PIC_075.jpg

The car was also built as a Daewoo Prince in South Korea and featured the quarterlights and complete front section from the Senator, again probably up to I993. The Rekord in South africa is known as the Opel 380 CDi so is fitted with a 3.8 litre V6 or V8 engine.

If anyone remembers the Rekord C from the mid 60s which had a sort of coke bottle style, then if you lived in Brazil or Argentina you could still purchase the car up to I993...... this time fitted with the front of the 87 Rekord to make the car more modern...........

My Rekord is now for sale, need to free up some space and cash for a new project.
    I'm askin €400
    Nissan Diesel engine.
    It's in county limerick. Scruffy and needs some tidying but it's solid enough and should tidy up well. Have a few spare bits for it too. Has brand new rear tyres and has NCT until Jan '08.
    PM me for number if you think you might want it

My Rekord is now for sale, need to free up some space and cash for a new project.
    I'm askin €400
    Nissan Diesel engine.
    It's in county limerick. Scruffy and needs some tidying but it's solid enough and should tidy up well. Have a few spare bits for it too. Has brand new rear tyres and has NCT until Jan '08.
    PM me for number if you think you might want it

Damn, I'm so tempted! But lack of space is a main problem.

Ah you know you want it.....

I know I do! :p The parent's would have a canary if I brought back another car to the driveway!