Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open Sat Sunday 11th February 4pm New Ross Co Wexford

• 05-02-2007 10:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭

Hello all, hope you are all well!

Seamus (Caesars Palace) asked me to inform ye all that there is gonna be a huge satalite for the Irish Open this Sunday @ 4pm

Contact Seamus @ 086 8527081

300 + 30 Freezeout

10,000 starting stack with 30 min levels throughout.

There will probably be 5/6 tickets up for grabs due to massive interest and there are already 2 tickets in the pool due to satalite winners over the last month

Reg is at 3pm and cards in the air at 4pm
    there will be 30 +3 sats running from 2pm aswell

Will also be a good overlay with the likes of Rithie (Fish with Chips) Lawlor and Nicky (I am good at this really) Power on the Guest List

Rumours have it that phil ivey is commin over to try and get revenge from bops - playin 10$ HU (best outta 3)

New Ross is a beautiful town in lovely costa del co wexford for all you ignorant folk - thats next door to scummy waterford and below smelly kilkenny (would you like me to draw ye a picture??)

I better be a good boy and put all the crap in before Lav has a sh*t fit...

1. Who is running the event (organisation, society etc.)
    Caesars Palace
    2. The purpose of the event (charity, commercial etc.)
    Commercial
    3. Date and Location of event
    Sun 11th Feb New Ross Co Wexford
    4. Registration and Start time of event.
    Reg 3 Start 4pm
    5. Any prerequisites (member of club, society etc)
    Members Only (Free)
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number (in advance, at the door etc.)
    At the Door - Max # 150
    7. Type of Tournament (Hold'em/Omaha etc Freezeout/Rebuy etc.)
    NLH FO
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc.
    9. Cost of registration
    + 30
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund
    100% Payout
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    2 Tickets Guarenteed
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels.
    NA
    13. Starting Chips 10,000
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts.
    NA
    15. Blind levels
    25/50 50/100 75/150 100/200 150/300 200/400 etc etc (no antes)
    16. Blind timeframes
    30 mins
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash (free entry to other tournie, merchandice etc)
    All Tickets & 1 prize of cash remainder if applicable
    18. Are there going to be dealers - and their level of skill
    Yes - good
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules
    dunno!!
    20. Is there a tournament director
    Yes Seamus Aldridge
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say.
    TD has final say (unless bops has a problem with that!!)

Phew! - that was tough!

I hope to see ye all there and look forward to taking all your money on the cash tables after i win my ticket :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

bops, can you post a contact number for the cardroom? thanks.

is it one ticket per 3500, or is there expenses or is it just 3300 no reg or...!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

Each prize is 3,500 as far as i'm aware (it's 3,500 this year inc. reg. isn't it?)

I edited post to include phone # (duh me!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,433 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jeff, we travelling for this?

also please stick your name down if you intend on comming (info for extra dealers/cocktail sausages! ect- thanks)

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    Jeff, we travelling for this?

Jeff's welcome - but you're barred Lloyd!

bops wrote:
    Jeff's welcome - but you're barred Lloyd!

If you simple country folk don't want my fishy donation to the prizepool it is very much your own loss.

since you put it like that you've obviously more than welcome ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    If you simple country folk don't want my fishy donation to the prizepool it is very much your own loss.
    planning on multi-tabling the open? :)

he'll prob go el busto in level 1 so he'll have 9,425 to donk off in level 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

hmmmm interesting didn't know it was on, so good to see your confirmation my attendance. Hope i can last longer then the three hands on my only previous visit. Lovely club but having to listen the that whinging fcuken wexford accent all day is gonna be a nightmare, must ask Masters for a loan of those things he stole from a building site

nicnicnic wrote:
    hmmmm interesting didn't know it was on, so good to see your confirmation my attendance. Hope i can last longer then the three hands on my only previous visit. Lovely club but having to listen the that whinging fcuken wexford accent all day is gonna be a nightmare, must ask Masters for a loan of those things he stole from a building site

lol a whole 8mins last week to get sucked out by richie lawlor of all people :p

i put you on the "guest" list - you're the satelite king and can't not turn up!!

The accent aint too bad in new ross - we're very close to you - it's the wexford town accent that gives me a headache - squeaky fkrs

as for mdwexford - his accent is just fubar!!

can i be on the waterford team nect year please??

bops wrote:

the way I'm playing ATM there will be a place up for grabs anyhow

apparantly myself and lloyd are like some sort of travelling circus poker troup!

lloyd, my thinking is if i can scrounge together near 300 profit by sunday i'll definately play. my thinking also is i might play if i scrounge together a 300 loss. i have been planning on giving at least some sat a go, and given that both the SE and jackpot require a spend of approx 200, i think this game, with 10k stacks and 30min blinds might be better value. what ya reckon?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭AKQJ10

ditpoker wrote:
    apparantly myself and lloyd are like some sort of travelling circus poker troup!

lloyd, my thinking is if i can scrounge together near 300 profit by sunday i'll definately play. my thinking also is i might play if i scrounge together a 300 loss. i have been planning on giving at least some sat a go, and given that both the SE and jackpot require a spend of approx 200, i think this game, with 10k stacks and 30min blinds might be better value. what ya reckon?

this game sounds much better, more tickets will be up for grabs and say you manage to fluke it you'll have finally got to play a 10k starting stack in preparation for it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

bops wrote:
    lol a whole 8mins last week to get sucked out by richie lawlor of all people :p

i put you on the "guest" list - you're the satelite king and can't not turn up!!

The accent aint too bad in new ross - we're very close to you - it's the wexford town accent that gives me a headache - squeaky fkrs

as for mdwexford - his accent is just fubar!!

:p

you're inviting all the sharks down to your little pond eh, do you not want an Irish Open ticket?? :confused:

are you sure you'll be allowed out for this bops........:D :D:D

ditpoker wrote:

I think this is the best option as far as Sats go. The emporiium will be one ticket for every 12 aswell - but with a faster structure on a weeknight. If you are up for this I will head down aswell.

mdwexford wrote:
    :p

you're inviting all the sharks down to your little pond eh, do you not want an Irish Open ticket?? :confused:

are you sure you'll be allowed out for this bops........:D :D:D

sharks? meh - easier to play against than the 20 donkeys registered so far - by a fking mile buddy!!

...I'm currently still grounded, but I have a cunning plan!!

any joy last night? many for the tourney?

I'm gonna make a final escape attempt tonight for clonmel - do you fancy babysitting??

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    I think this is the best option as far as Sats go. The emporiium will be one ticket for every 12 aswell - but with a faster structure on a weeknight. If you are up for this I will head down aswell.

and if you win the ticket you give it to me for 50% of my action!!?!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

How long is the drive from Dublin to New Ross?

shoutman wrote:
    How long is the drive from Dublin to New Ross?

depends! 90 mins - 2 hrs

Take coast road down through arklow gorey and enniscorthy (N11)

or

Take N7/N9 if your out around the red cow and come on down through carlow

http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/

tinternet is a great yoke!!

ditpoker wrote:
    and if you win the ticket you give it to me for 50% of my action!!?!?!?

No. Bops - will the cash alternative be offered by the cardroom, or must I take a ticket on the day?

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    No. Bops - will the cash alternative be offered by the cardroom, or must I take a ticket on the day?

I can't see why not Lloyd, but I'll find out for you tonight for sure and let ye all know

bops wrote:
    sharks? meh - easier to play against than the 20 donkeys registered so far - by a fking mile buddy!!

...I'm currently still grounded, but I have a cunning plan!!

any joy last night? many for the tourney?

I'm gonna make a final escape attempt tonight for clonmel - do you fancy babysitting??

thats probably true.

72 or somethin for the tourney, ppp special came 3rd. i only got there about 1am, lot of cash action last night, bout 7-8 tables on the go.

goin up early today, leaving in about an hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

how many tickets would you expect to be on offer here.

Do you realise you are clashing with Big Slick in Dungarvan (Co Waterford)

kakak1 wrote:
    how many tickets would you expect to be on offer here.

Do you realise you are clashing with Big Slick in Dungarvan (Co Waterford)

hard to say...i'd guess min of 4 max 6/7

there's a 100 quid tourney on somewhere around here a couple of nights a week - this is a different ball game imo

you gonna hobble along??

bops wrote:
    hard to say...i'd guess min of 4 max 6/7

there's a 100 quid tourney on somewhere around here a couple of nights a week - this is a different ball game imo

you gonna hobble along??

always good at the limping, hope to be there, crutches & all

kakak1 wrote:
    always good at the limping, hope to be there, crutches & all

There is no limping permitted at MY table - be warned ;)

I'm going to a tourney in New Ross tonight (not a bad little tourney - 50 FO with 40+ runners if anybody lives nearby)

I'll find out how many are reg'd so far and if you can exchange tickets for cash then. If anyone has any more Q's i'll find out for ye tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

bump

30 somethin red'g so far...

Because of the Croke Park match tomorrow, K O 3.00pm, I've not decided to play yet.

Realistically what time do you intend starting at, after the match which should be about 4.30pm ?

Please don't have us down for a 4pm start & then not start until after the match. Surely a 5.00pm start makes sense

it will start directly after the match due to popular demand! - you can watch the match here and play a sat at the same time if you wish!

...known the way these yokes go it will be nearer to 5 anyways imo

this sucked :mad:

42 runners, 3 tickets and some cash for 4th, 5th and 6th

i bubbled when i shipped my shortstack with A-A and got cracked by Q-J, i was playing ninja poker from level 1 as per usual lately

the guy in 6th had A-A cracked by 10-10 aipf in a 90k pot

and Richie Lawlor busted in 5th when his A-Q got cracked by A-10 aipf in a 170k pot

sick final table, no justice at all

mdwexford wrote:
    Richie Lawlor busted in 5th when his A-Q got cracked by A-10 aipf in a 170k pot

WTF were both thinking this hand the A10 is shocking but TBH the AQ is as bad,why play a pot for all your chips pre with AQ with 3 seats five left and sitting comfortable, beggars belief.

I'm not having a dig here Richie but you just shouldn't be risking your chips even being a 70% fav because if you don't play the hand your in my opinion a bigger fav the 70% to get a ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

nicnicnic wrote:
    WTF were both thinking this hand the A10 is shocking but TBH the AQ is as bad,why play a pot for all your chips pre with AQ with 3 seats five left and sitting comfortable, beggars belief.

I'm not having a dig here Richie but you just shouldn't be risking your chips even being a 70% fav because if you don't play the hand your in my opinion a bigger fav the 70% to get a ticket.

You speak the truth Mr. Power but we've all hit the self destruct button at one time or another.

carfax wrote:
    You speak the truth Mr. Power but we've all hit the self destruct button at one time or another.

and me more then most over the last few months:)

Who called who? If Richie figured his opponent was weak and put him top the test with the AQ figuring he was ahead if called - that is ok IMO. Calling with the AQ would be really bad (getting all - in with A10 is so unbelievably poor - where to begin??:confused: ).

It is still horrendously unlucky having said that. Hardluck to Mick aswell. Poker is a sick, sick game.

Hi all

It was a good tourney last night, thanks to all for turning up and congrats to the 3 local lads who won the seats (God help 'em in the Irish Open!)

ul richie & mdwexford, but sure that's poker!! :eek:

I had a horrid tourney, but enjoyed a juicey cash game with sideshow luckbox :rolleyes:

there will be sats for the cork festival, the wsop :eek: and maybe another for the ppp open.

cya's all soon

bops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

nicnicnic wrote:
    and me more then most over the last few months:)

Ah come on now Seve......Don't be trying to cod us all.....I'm sure Richie knows he has sinned but you make a very good point IMO.

By the sounds of things it was go to the bar time, come back when its over and collect your ticket.

it went something like this

blinds 3000-6000 i think, average stack 80k.

the A-10 guy makes it 30k to go, Richie comes ott for 90k, the guy thinks for a while and then says the famous fishy quote "go on sure ill gamble" as soon as i heard this i thought uh oh. guy flips A-10 of diamonds, Richie has A-Q of hearts. flop comes 2 diamonds, turn diamond, ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

It went like this, Guy raise to 25k or 30k im not certain leaving 60-05k behind and im in the sb with AhQh and decide to just take this now (this guy has shown no willinness to play any pots up to now any time he has been re-raised he quickly folded) so when he calls and shows Ad10D im sick even though im a fav)

Too many muppets

mdwexford wrote:
    it went something like this

blinds 3000-6000 i think, average stack 80k.

the A-10 guy makes it 30k to go, Richie comes ott for 90k, the guy thinks for a while and then says the famous fishy quote "go on sure ill gamble" as soon as i heard this i thought uh oh. guy flips A-10 of diamonds, Richie has A-Q of hearts. flop comes 2 diamonds, turn diamond, ugh.

FFS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

sure if you dont get your money in behind in this game ud never win anything

The guy who donked richie is awful but v lucky all the time.

in level one a good solid player made a decent raise. The player in question rrai...

the solid guy showed KK and said i know you don't have AA but i know you've got an A, so not not risking it coz i know u'll hit :eek:

...probably a good laydown :D

when i was shortstacked, the guy in question kindly doubled me up calling my all in with Q6 - i won suprisingly!! - ATs to thay guy is the nuts.

Personally, i wouldn't have got involved with the AQ there, considering that you have a decent stack, were a much better player than the 4 others, 3 tickets, and he had put in 1/3 of his stack pf. I wudda just tried to see as many cheap flops as possible, anyone can beat anything aipf.

...in saying that you made the right move, you were ahead etc etc...

did you kick over the table on purpose (you little bitch!!) ???

bops wrote:
    in level one a good solid player made a decent raise. The player in question rrai...

the solid guy showed KK and said i know you don't have AA but i know you've got an A, so not not risking it coz i know u'll hit :eek:

...probably a good laydown :D

O Rly???

LuckyLloyd wrote:
    O Rly???

... i know lloyd, horrid laydown - i nearly puked!!

but you gotta give him 10/10 for his reasoning!!!!

...i would like to make it very clear (due to the rumours on the go) it wasn't me - i might fold there if he showed me the aces ;)