Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

11th Feb 17.30 -vs- Brompton Recruitment (Availability...and can someone get a goal?)

• 05-02-2007 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭

Who's gon' be there - who's not?

Keep the running total, and Joe - don't post twice this week.

Well, I think we definitely have to keep the new system, it worked very well.

Comments on that?

Check out the opposition here - why haven't we got a website?

http://www.brompton.ie/

Also, I want to say well done or congratulations or whatever to Jules and Shay - yesterday was both their 10th Start in a Boardeaux Jersey. Well done lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

I'll be there next Sunday. That's 1.
    New system means we are alot more compact. We didnt score but we are creating more chances + lot better defensively.
    Brian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kaizersoze123

I'll be there.

2 so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

I'll be there too so that's 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

Ill be there. Half an hour before hand too. So thats #2.
    edit: #5 :)

We have our website http://www.boardeaux.net/ :D

But it doesn't allow us to use any databases and since I haven't got much web
    creativity there is nothing I can really do with that. To me its just a picture :confused:

Even what I did do isn't great, even if we could pop that onto the boardeaux.net site.
    It just lacks the creative edge :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

I'll be there. Did they show up for their game yesterday? Worst case is we can get a very good training session in if they don't show.

The Ireland vs France rugby game kicks off at 3pm, so factor that into your plans. If you're gonna be watching it maybe watch it near to the pitch cos we do benefit from having people there a full 30 minutes beforehand. If you're waiting around for the kit or dressing room you might as well start getting your stretches in.

Perform as we did against Templeroan and we will win this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Jules #6.

I'll be #7.

Am I still the last boardeauxian to score?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

I'm in - 9

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Joe, I think that makes you number 8 :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

I seem to be having a lot of trouble with this counting thing:p :p

I'm #8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Im in. 10 is it? :)

I'll do my best to chip in with a goal des. I feel one coming on. I did half think of shooting last night when you said it before I went for a cross.:)

A bit of 35 yard lurking when we have corners might do the trick for the ones dropping out. Might add a Lampard-esque 4 deflections on the way through for effect. :D

BTW. The upkeep of the wiki page seems to be lagging, no new match reports or anything

Oh noes we can't even count.

I had to edit my post twice to get it right...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kaizersoze123

Stekelly wrote:
    Im in. 10 is it? :)

BTW. The upkeep of the wiki page seems to be lagging, no new match reports or anything
    I guess you've just nominated yourself for that job :) Nice one we have a new reporter lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

I'll be there,ill see about what happened lepo later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I'll be there too. Whats that, 12?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Cheers lads,

Will be there.

Mikie

Mikie wrote:
    Cheers lads,

Will be there.

Mikie

It is your destiny Luke :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Bootsy Collins

I'll be there too. That's 14, or if Joe is counting, 47!!

Hoping to see 14 faces today ;)

I'll be there alright. Took a couple of knocks playing yesterday and Thurs so I reckon I'm about 80% fit. Might well be able to run it off.

Stekelly wrote:
    I reckon I'm about 80% fit.
    80% up on last week :D:D:D
    sorry :o

Well done everybody.

much needed win under our belts, even if it was only a friendly.

We are scoring again, which is a great bonus for any football team.

That goal that Joe scored was the best one we've gotten by far. Well worked passing move, great cross and the headed finish was brilliant.

Well done too to Darragh for the hat-trick.

Im thinking I might have shin splints. Never go thtem before so not sure, getting pains on the side of my legs at kind of mid shin level (inside of my leg) even though all i did was stand in goal tonight, when i got hom and sat down, they got fierce sore.

whats the procedure for shin splints? rest?

either way, ill be limited to playign in goal on tuesday.

On the goalkeeper front, do we have a regular goalkeeper? (one that isnt me i mean:) ) dont feel 100% comfortable in the role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

you did grand ste, stay on your line and you wont go far wrong! seriously though, cheers for jumping in at short notice. Bernie should be back next week.

That was a pretty fun second half. Got a good deal more of the ball in that game :)

Fitness went to the dogs at the end. :( Closing down went out the door with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Yeh, nice to get a win under the belt and see a bagful of goals going in.

Second half was a dramatic improvement on the first where we were sluggish due to lack of warm-up cos of the delay, and just assumed we’d stroll the friendly. I wouldn’t have played the full game, definitely not in the centre, if it was a league game, though am confident not doing any impact midweek this week will have the shins well rested for next Sunday. Thankfully, we snapped out of it and played some much better stuff in the second-half. Good to see some of the strikers getting rewards for their tireless effort in recent games by bagging a few here. For the most part, I think we were much improved in terms of taking on a shot when it’s an option. We’re winning more headers and 50-50s too, good signs of progress. And as I said, the movement and passing for Joe’s goal was excellent, a great move going from left full across the defence to right wing and then one forward feeding the other with a lovely cross which was well finished. 2 months ago we’d never have scored that goal, regardless of the opposition, so fair play all round lads – we’re definitely heading in the right direction.

Against better opposition we’ll still need more aggression and assertiveness, particularly up front, where Des was spot on pointing out you’ve gotta come to the ball, protect it, and then worry about what to do with it. Too many times we were caught standing waiting for it to come, allowing a defender to get the foot in.

I also counted at least 4 shouts of ‘Leave It’ which the ref let us away with – that’s down to a lack of concentration and will cost us some stupid free-kicks in future if we don’t sort it out now.

And fair play Ste – solid job in nets.

Ste – shin splints are generally caused by over-pronation in the foot (google it), legs compensating for work not being done by the back putting too much pressure on the legs, or in my case both. Proper orthotics (custom-made from a good physio) make a big difference in dealing with over-pronation. Rest does help, as does compression –tying a towel round the feet with a pillow in between, ice, massaging the shins and ankles downwards, hot baths, and anti-inflammatories. It’s a progressive injury and gets worse the more impact the shins have to take – running on hard surfaces is a no-no. It’s a very strange pain that is difficult to understand for anyone who’s never had it bad, but make no mistake – when it’s bad it’s a serious injury (andy cole used have big problems with it), so look after it as above. When I did my vertebrae in I managed to play through the pain for a good while, but the back not doing its work gave me monster shin splints. In the end I actually couldn’t walk after just a warm-up –physio said I was literally days away from a stress fracture. Moral of the story is shin-splints can be managed, but if you overdo it it’ll cause major problems.

When I hurt my knee a while back, I got shin splints on the same leg after the
    injury. I ended up in hospital because of the shin splints. I remember being in the
    car on the way home trying to explain the pain. At that point I thought I just
    fractured my shin. But then I had fractures before and this was worse. It got
    to the point where even laying down was hurting it. I lost feeling in my toes.
    That's when I went to the hospital. Lucky enough I ended up just taking some
    anti-inflammatory and icing it for four days. Then the doctors (4 of them) decided
    not to go ahead with the operation. Took 2 weeks to get off two crutches and
    onto 1. Another month and I could walk fine again. I'm still nervous about doing
    certain things on that leg.

So really, it was my shin splints which f**ked up my summer and then because
    of the loss of muscle my slightly damage knee got worse.

I've had dislocations ,fractures and torn muscles. Nothing is as painful as a bad
    shin splint. :(

My experience might be close to the worse case scenario. But if it makes you
    feel any better, there is nothing doctors can do for you :D You have to look
    after yourself , which is horrible. I had to skip dinner and lunch one day because
    I couldn't walk about the kitchen.

What is that acronym, RICE? Rest,Ice,C and Elevation. I can't remember C :(

Compression

I'm getting that shivery feeling reading about these shin splints thingys.
    eugh :(