Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kelly Jones in Vicar Street

• 02-02-2007 12:13am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Kelly Jones (from the Stereophonics) is playing Vicar Street on Fri 30 March, tickets on sale next wednesday. This is an Aiken Promotions event.

Strange that he's on his own? Whats up with the 'phonics anyway? Have been waiting a while for them to come, but is this the closest we'll get?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

The Stereophonics are working on a new album which is due for release later this year. Kelly has also recorded a solo album and is promoting it.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,578 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

i seen the stereophonics in sept 05 in the point they were amazin. Im thinking about going to this. The song Jayne is on the Live from Dakota

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

kead1987 wrote:
    Strange that he's on his own?

Not the first time he's played VC on his own, I was there in 2000 when he previewed JEEP acoustically and have to say it was an excellent gig.

Joined that night by Noel Gallagher for a few songs too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭sonofsam

anyone got a presale password for this ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 Insaneirish

sonofsam wrote:
    anyone got a presale password for this ??

Called Vicar Street no code
    Called V2 Label no code
    Called Ticketmaster code :-)

Code is change

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭CK.1

Did this go on sale today (Tuesday)?
    Internet Onsale Info
    Onsale to General Public:
    Tue 06/02/07, 12:00

Internet Presale Info
    Presale:
    Start:Tue 06/02/07, 09:00
    End:Tue 06/02/07, 11:55

AIKEN PROMOTIONS PRESENTS
    KELLY JONES

VICAR STREET
    DOORS 7:30PM/SHOW 8:30PM
    FRI 30-MAR-07

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Yeah they went on sale yesterday, not today as advertised in certain newspapers. Anyone in the Stereophonics circle would have known this though. All his other gigs in the UK are sold out but I think there's still some left for Vicar Street.

Really looking forward to it! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭MayMay

Only 2 days to this gig, looking forward to it :D Who's going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,200 ✭✭✭kensutz

Just heading to it now

Why are you going in so early? Oh are you coming up from Waterford, that might explain it.

Looking forward to tonight! Read the Guardian review and sounds like a great night is ahead of us :D

Yeah coming up from Waterford and can't wait. This will be number 34 seeing him (sterophonics)

34? Wow thought I was doing well with my 7 times! Thought it would be sold out but there's still tickets available. Hopefully there'll be a good crowd. Set list looks good too, he plays about 5 Stereophonics oldies along with the solo stuff. :D

That was one BRILLIANT gig!!! Second row, happy days! He was so funny too. Really great night.

Did anyone catch the name of the girl on before him? I really liked her voice, pity some muppets ruined it for her.

What a gig. The girl I think was Claire Feeney who was supporting. She was cool for putting whoever it was in their place. Kelly was awesome as always, roll on Cadogan Hall next week

Catherine Feeney I've been told now. Yeah fair play to her. Great voice too. Photos up on my Bebo, the first group of photos if ye wanna have a look. What a gig! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

Love the photo's Claire. It was a great gig, I was up on the balcony, great view. Delighted he decided to play some stereophonics numbers in the second part of the set.

Don't suppose you heard the fool who kept trying to sing 'A Thousand Trees'? He was standing beside me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

semi decent from jones on friday, nothing spectacular and too many muppets in the crowd for my liking

Love the photo's Claire. It was a great gig, I was up on the balcony, great view. Delighted he decided to play some stereophonics numbers in the second part of the set.

Don't suppose you heard the fool who kept trying to sing 'A Thousand Trees'? He was standing beside me.

Ha ha yeah I was up the front and I still heard him! There were a lot of muppets in the audience in fairness, two next to me aswell, annoying as hell! Kelly didn't seem too pushed though, thought he was on top form, loved the comedy intros to all the songs, very funny. F***ing Moose?! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

"im going to have to take your details just in case youve been up north and killed some prostitutes" was the line of the night for me

Helix wrote:
    "im going to have to take your details just in case youve been up north and killed some prostitutes" was the line of the night for me
    Ha ha yeah! I wish I could hear all the intros somewhere again, was so hard to hear some of them with all the muppets shouting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

In fairness Claire I think his thick Welsh accent had alot to do with a few of his intros not making sense!

There was a group of lads from up North seated in the front row at the very edge (on Kelly's left). They were absoloutely hammered! One in particular had a black leather jacket, kept on standing up singing, he was trying to talk to me afterwards in the bar and couldn't string a sentence together. Tried hitting on every women in the place. The lads must have been on the beer from fairly early on!

In fairness Claire I think his thick Welsh accent had alot to do with a few of his intros not making sense!

There was a group of lads from up North seated in the front row at the very edge (on Kelly's left). They were absoloutely hammered! One in particular had a black leather jacket, kept on standing up singing, he was trying to talk to me afterwards in the bar and couldn't string a sentence together. Tried hitting on every women in the place. The lads must have been on the beer from fairly early on!

I was stuck next to them! They were all hammered but that fella in particular was off his head. The bouncer kept telling him to sit down or he'd kick him out. If only :rolleyes:

Still with all the muppets shouting it was well worth it. I decided to hit Ebay for a ticket for Cadogan Hall on Saturday.

kensutz wrote:
    Still with all the muppets shouting it was well worth it. I decided to hit Ebay for a ticket for Cadogan Hall on Saturday.

Ah nice one, enjoy! :)

I always have the past 33 times ;)

He was superb!!! What a fantastic night!

Roll on the Stereophonics tour this year! :D

Couple of clips up on You Tube.