Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This weekends matches

• 01-02-2007 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭

Hi folks, I know there is a gambling forum but I was looking for any inside information regarding this weekends matches so as to have a little bet. For instance I think Monaghan are good value to beat an injury hit Roscommon team minus there St Brigids players @ 5/6, maybe likewise Kildare to beat Armagh minus their Crosmaglen players@ 15/8. Any help greatly appreciated.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Cavan to beat Meath by two points in Navan. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭easytiger!

I think he was looking for impartial advice:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 500 ✭✭✭hawker

I'd agree with you regarding the Monaghan price. However Kildare are missing the Moorefield contingent so that nearly the fact that Armagh are missing the Cross' lads. However 2/1 seems a good price. How good or bad are Cavan? They seem to be a decent price too at 11/8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 angry

They looked remarkably good against Derry. Very free scoring. Admittedly that Derry defence has looked very ropey so far though.

hawker wrote:
    I'd agree with you regarding the Monaghan price. However Kildare are missing the Moorefield contingent so that nearly the fact that Armagh are missing the Cross' lads. However 2/1 seems a good price. How good or bad are Cavan? They seem to be a decent price too at 11/8.
    Cavan, I believe have one of their strongest panel's since 1997. On their day, they could beat the majority of the teams in Ireland bar the top three imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Cavan, I believe have one of their strongest panel's since 1997. On their day, they could beat the majority of the teams in Ireland bar the top three imo.

Are you joking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

PORNAPSTER wrote:

:) I'm not sure about that Porn. Cavan would be lucky to be considered in the top 16 in Ireland TBH IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭38141

Anyone know if this is live on any radio station tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Well, Cavan did beat Meath today. 1-2 to 0-7. Fair play to them. Already some danger for Wicklow:)

P.S Should we do a Leage Thread for each weekend, leave betting out of it, just for discussion? Something like "NFL/NHL Round 1 Matches" or something

Results
    03 February 2007
    Cork 2-07 - 1-12 Donegal Páirc Uí Rinn
    Dublin 0-10 - 0-11 Tyrone Croke Park
    03 February 2007
    Meath 2-07 - 0-13 Cavan Pairc Tailteann, Navan

Thought that Cavan result sounded iffy. Good win for Donegal, not too many teams take points in Pairc Ui Rinn. Same old problems for Dublin, lacking a few smart heads to take the sting out of the game when they lose momentum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 REBEL CORK

Yerra watchen Cork sometimes would break your heart so solid from the back but the forwards letting us down, same story for a couple of years now.

ANXIOUS wrote:
    Are you joking?
    No not joking. If you count Tyrone and Armagh in the top three, we have already given them big scares in the past two or three years. I believe this team is good enough to beat any team in Ireland on their day. Whether you like it or not. Cavan totally dominated yesterday against Meath with 14 men, due to a ridiculous refereeing decision and only drew as a result of two very fortunate goals in the dying seconds of each half. A bit more luck and Cavan are on the right track.

Lemlin wrote:
    :) I'm not sure about that Porn. Cavan would be lucky to be considered in the top 16 in Ireland TBH IMO.
    And why is that Lem? Because of the 12 injuries to our first team players last year and having to play with our second string team against Down? People always seem to forget that. Look at Tyrone last year, they were terrible. Did anyone give a damn? No, because they were missing half of their team. So they are still rated as a top team.

Cavan with their strongest team out could give any team a run for their money. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,656 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ok, I obviously got an latest on that Cavan match, thought that was the final result. My bad. Perfect score for wicklow then:D

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    And why is that Lem? Because of the 12 injuries to our first team players last year and having to play with our second string team against Down? People always seem to forget that. Look at Tyrone last year, they were terrible. Did anyone give a damn? No, because they were missing half of their team. So they are still rated as a top team.

Cavan with their strongest team out could give any team a run for their money. Simple as.

I'd like to agree with you Porn but I can't. I think Cavan would be lucky to be seen as one of the top twelve teams. Last year, even with injuries, Cavan lost to a poor Down team and then an even worse Kildare side.

Cavan have to prove themselves this year. Its no use going back to two years ago when we drew with Tyrone and subsequentlygot a hiding in the second game. You're only as good as your last match in the GAA.

I think the potential is there for the county to start doing well but success comes from youth and our minors have hardly been setting the world alight. Although I'm hoping the All-Ireland success of Virginia College could lead to something.

As for yesterday's game, what did Crowe do to get sent off? I was just taking my place on the terrace as he was ordered off. Reminded me of Pearse McKenna two years ago against Armagh. I asked a few people I knew after the match but none were quite sure.

I don't know about Cavan totally dominating either. They did well with 14 men but were lucky that Meath left their shooting boots at home. They were woeful in front of the posts. At times they'd get down to the Cavan end and start pasing it around until they lost it as if they were afraid to shoot.

The second goal was a real sucker punch though. Cavan deserved the win. Hopefully there'll be a big turn out at Breffni next week.

I never said that Cavan were world beaters, I said that on their day Cavan would be a match for all but three of the top teams in the country.

Now I'm not saying that we have a top 16 team, but they are there or there abouts in my opinion. Those results last year were a sign of Cavan's injury crisis at the time, same with Tyrone's early exit from the championship when they had their injury crisis.

I am not comparing Cavan with Tyrone as a team. What I am saying is that by that logic of a team only being as good as their last game, should it make Tyrone say 10th favourite to win Sam having been knocked out out so early last year? I don't think so.

My predictions for this year is that Cavan will achieve promotion to Division 2, beat Down and Monaghan. They will be beaten by Derry and might win one or two games in the back door. All going well, we could make the Ulster final and win the division 2 league, but that would be a little too much to ask imo.

As for the Crowe sending off, he was right in front of where I was standing and I certainly didn't see anything. No one else around me saw it either, one guy I was talking to afterwards said it was all handbags stuff between himself and the Meath man he was marking. Extremely harsh sending off but as everyone (Cavan and Meath fans) saw yesterday, the referee obviously had an opinion of himself and was an absolute disgrace.

Aside from the debate on Cavan's relative merits, plenty of interesting results today. Good wins for Mayo, Louth and Kildare, Westmeath beating Laois and lots of turnovers in the dogfight divisions 2A/2B, Westmeath beating Offaly, Clare winning in Carlow, Monaghan in Roscommon. Pride of place though goes to Waterford for beating Wexford. Rise up the Minorities!

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I never said that Cavan were world beaters, I said that on their day Cavan would be a match for all but three of the top teams in the country.

Now I'm not saying that we have a top 16 team, but they are there or there abouts in my opinion. Those results last year were a sign of Cavan's injury crisis at the time, same with Tyrone's early exit from the championship when they had their injury crisis.

I am not comparing Cavan with Tyrone as a team. What I am saying is that by that logic of a team only being as good as their last game, should it make Tyrone say 10th favourite to win Sam having been knocked out out so early last year? I don't think so.

My predictions for this year is that Cavan will achieve promotion to Division 2, beat Down and Monaghan. They will be beaten by Derry and might win one or two games in the back door. All going well, we could make the Ulster final and win the division 2 league, but that would be a little too much to ask imo.

As for the Crowe sending off, he was right in front of where I was standing and I certainly didn't see anything. No one else around me saw it either, one guy I was talking to afterwards said it was all handbags stuff between himself and the Meath man he was marking. Extremely harsh sending off but as everyone (Cavan and Meath fans) saw yesterday, the referee obviously had an opinion of himself and was an absolute disgrace.

I'm expecting Cavan to win promotion alright. Anything less would be another disaster like last year.

For the first game of the League, the team certainly looked good and the lack of wides was a definite positive. I'm looking forward to next week's game against the team I think could be the surprise package of the Division, Wicklow.

Cavan did well though. There are few other teams (I'd actually say none) in the Division who will go to Pairc Tailteann and get a draw so its not all negative.

A report of the match is available here for any interested parties:

http://www.hoganstand.com/cavan/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=72253

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,111 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Great win for The Deise footballers over Wexford.
    Ladbrokes had them at 10/1!!! And so did I :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭squire1

Waterford beating Wexford has to be the result of the day. I wouldn't say too many took them at those odds, fair play.

Why does every thread on here turn into a debate about Cavan?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Great win for Westmeath over Laois btw in the fog maybe we should get everybody to smoke at all our matches:)
    Also great wins for Leitrim and Waterford and the Micko and Paidi factor with wins for Wicklow and Clare which leads me on to this:
    Am I right in saying the bottom four in Div 2a and 2B will not have the back door option next year and will go straight into the Tommy Murphy Cup? This could get very messy, say for instance and especially after yesterday's results Roscommon finished fifth in the league and then beat Sligo in the Connacht semi-final how would that work, the idea of the Tommy Cooper Cup was to free up club weekends but it would mean that Roscommon wouldn't be available till July, and if by some chance they made the All-Ireland Semi-Final then they could be playing on the same day as the TM cup final. This was meant as an example and not to antagonise anyone, likewise Offaly and Wexford could finish outside the top four and go on good runs in the championship. The whole idea of using league placings to determine Championship seedings is a way of getting interest in the lower runs of the league but is it correct?

squire1 wrote:
    Because everyone seems to be up in arms any time anyone suggests that Cavan even have a half decent team. I'm just defending the point I have made.

Well done to Waterford on beating their neighbours Wexford. Good result, just goes to show that the Sligo and Cavan wins weren't a fluke. They might be on their way up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

At the Mayo v Kerry in Castlebar yesterday. A good performance from Mayo but not great. Kerry as always looked a little slow after the winter, still a few interesting things though.
    Donaghy played at midfield and he did nothing except get sent off (in the wrong admittedly). Kerry also look in trouble in the full back position, Austin O Malley gave them a though time even though I've seen him play way better.

For Mayo we seem to have found a full back in young Kilcullen, he destroyed Quirke even though he was giving at least three inches would have been interesting to see him against Donaghy. BJ Padden played well enough at centre back to merit another look, I'd say he'll start there in Championship. T Mort also played really well and looked hungry. Overall very good defensively from Mayo but the forwards will need to improve by at least three points from yesterday.
    Also the ref was shocking he dished out a huge number of cards in a pretty clean game and slowed it down horrendously.

Fair play to Leitrim, Waterford, Wicklow, Clare and Kildare on some very good wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

I agree, the ref handed too many cards but sti quite happy at Mayo's performance. Kilcullen is a brilliant asset to the team and Austin O MAlley was a credit to himself. Lets just hope they will keep it up!

squire1 wrote:
    Waterford beating Wexford has to be the result of the day. I wouldn't say too many took them at those odds, fair play.

Because there are two Cavan supporters on here that are interested in discussing their team. Maybe other supporters should follow suit ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭The Rooster

patmac wrote:
    Am I right in saying the bottom four in Div 2a and 2B will not have the back door option next year and will go straight into the Tommy Murphy Cup? This could get very messy, say for instance and especially after yesterday's results Roscommon finished fifth in the league and then beat Sligo in the Connacht semi-final how would that work, the idea of the Tommy Cooper Cup was to free up club weekends but it would mean that Roscommon wouldn't be available till July, and if by some chance they made the All-Ireland Semi-Final then they could be playing on the same day as the TM cup final.

You are correct in saying that the bottom four in Div 2A and 2B will go into the Tommy Murphy Cup in 2007 after they go out of their province. They will not play in the qualifiers.

However, there is an exception. If one of the "bottom 8" make it to their provincial final, then they avoid the Tommy Murphy Cup and go the same route as any other provincial finalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

Lemlin wrote:
    Because there are two Cavan supporters on here that are interested in discussing their team. Maybe other supporters should follow suit ;)

Make that 3 :D
    But seriously though. A word on the referees performance. He must have taken between 15-20 names during the course of the match. Don't know why Crowe was sent off either.

From reading comments on some of the other games and recalling the O'Byrne cup final between Dublin and Laois, I'm afraid that there's a new refereeing initiative in place, which thretens to completely slow down the pace of the game as 4 out of 5 fouls warrants a ticking for the offending player. The old quick free kicks could be a thing of the past if this keeps up.

Aside: Either Lemlin or pornapster see the Meteor during the game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

You are correct in saying that the bottom four in Div 2A and 2B will go into the Tommy Murphy Cup in 2007 after they go out of their province. They will not play in the qualifiers.

However, there is an exception. If one of the "bottom 8" make it to their provincial final, then they avoid the Tommy Murphy Cup and go the same route as any other provincial finalist.
    I wonder who replaces them? 4th in division 2a or 2b or will they play off?

Aside: Either Lemlin or pornapster see the Meteor during the game?
    I did indeed Dubh. I thought it was actually a firework going off over the stand at first. Most of the terrace was like "what the...", then it was followed by "wow, deadly". But all I can say is, it is a pity it didn't hit the ref.