Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martials Arts classes on southside

• 31-01-2007 9:59pm
    Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 933 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I'm looking for a list of martial arts classes anywhere near Dun Laoghaire (the southside will do).

If someone could recommend a class, I'm mainly doing it to get fit cos going to a gym bores the crap out of me. My wife is a gym instructor who teaches Body Combat and a few of those other types of classes that are basically no contact martial arts workouts, so I'm looking for a class we can both join.

Our preference would probably be to find a kick boxing club, but we are open to suggestions if any of you think we would enjoy something else more.

Dar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Goldfinger

If it's kickboxing you're specifically after, Glen Heenan does a great class in Loughlinstown leisure centre on, I think, Tuesdays and Thursdays at eight.
    Also up the road in Leopardstown, there's Liam Whelan's club in the Westwood domes on Mondays and Thursdays, and Ciaran Kilmurray's on the Kilmacud Rd in Stillorgan on Wednesdays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭silat liam

Hi.

I know it may be a little bit furthur away, but you are more than welcome if you like to come along and try a Cimande Silat class. There are classes every Monday and Wednesday 7.3Opm in Firhouse Sports center, just off the M50. Details can be found on our website www.silateurope.com

Liam

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 933 ✭✭✭dardoz

Goldfinger wrote:
    If it's kickboxing you're specifically after, Glen Heenan does a great class in Loughlinstown leisure centre on, I think, Tuesdays and Thursdays at eight.
    Also up the road in Leopardstown, there's Liam Whelan's club in the Westwood domes on Mondays and Thursdays, and Ciaran Kilmurray's on the Kilmacud Rd in Stillorgan on Wednesdays.

Well I live in Cabinteely, so Leopardstown would be ideal. Is that part of of Westwood gym though? I'm not really interested in joining something that forces me to pay a full gym membership. I just want to pay for the classes.

Does Liam have a website with some info?

silat liam wrote:
    Hi.

I know it may be a little bit furthur away, but you are more than welcome if you like to come along and try a Cimande Silat class. There are classes every Monday and Wednesday 7.3Opm in Firhouse Sports center, just off the M50. Details can be found on our website www.silateurope.com

Liam

Thanks man, but the video on ur website kinda put me off. It looks a bit too much like a pisstake of martial arts waving your hands around and dancing. No offence intended, I was just laughing watching it. I'm sure it's fun, just not really what I was after.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dardoz wrote:
    My wife is a gym instructor who teaches Body Combat

Whats 'Body combat'?.

And here's one for you.

http://www.fiannagym.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

dardoz wrote:
    Thanks man, but the video on ur website kinda put me off. It looks a bit too much like a pisstake of martial arts waving your hands around and dancing. No offence intended, I was just laughing watching it. I'm sure it's fun, just not really what I was after.

You know if you've nothing nice to say, your better off saying nothing. A 'thank you for the offer' would have been much more mature.

Jon wrote:
    You know if you've nothing nice to say, your better off saying nothing. A 'thank you for the offer' would have been much more mature.

I apologise if it sounded that way. I wasn't trying to sound bad. By saying something made me laugh I'm not trying to insult him. I was just implying it looked more like something fun rather than something serious.

Mairt wrote:
    Whats 'Body combat'?.

And here's one for you.

http://www.fiannagym.com/

Body Combat

Thanks man. MMA looks a bit too hardcore for my wife. I don't think she's enjoy getting elbowed in the face. Mind you neither would I. As I said, my amin reason for doing it was for fitness and enjoyment, not to start fighting competitively, thats why we were leaning towards kickboxing. Correct me if I'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

dardoz wrote:
    Body Combat

Thanks man. MMA looks a bit too hardcore for my wife. I don't think she's enjoy getting elbowed in the face. Mind you neither would I. As I said, my amin reason for doing it was for fitness and enjoyment, not to start fighting competitively, thats why we were leaning towards kickboxing. Correct me if I'm wrong.

What makes you think Kickboxing will be easy and less competitive?.

Maybe alittle of that Cardio Kickboxing then?...

dancers.gif

dardoz wrote:

Thank you dardoz for your reply. I was only offering an opportunity for you to come and experience what we do, as you were asking. There was no need to write what you did, when someone was offering something. A quite refusal would have been ample. By the way I been teaching a group of ex army guys who now train as bodyguards, and will be in Europe this summer teaching close range combat to secruity agencies, and they didnt seem to think silat was a "pisstake" of martial arts, anyway the clip is just a demo, and if you give you a laugh, than I glad you got some enjoyment, the art bring great happiness to all.

silat liam wrote:

Thank you dardoz for your reply. I was only offering an opportunity for you to come and experience what we do, as you were asking. There was no need to write what you did, when someone was offering something. A quite refusal would have been ample. By the way I been teaching a group of ex army guys who now train as bodyguards, and will be in Europe this summer teaching close range combat to secruity agencies, and they didnt seem to think silat was a "pisstake" of martial arts, anyway the clip is just a demo, and if you give you a laugh, than I glad you got some enjoyment, the art bring great happiness to all.

Well tbh, you've kinda stirred my interest now. Would it be possible to come along and have a look at one of your training nights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭FiannaGym.com

Hi Dardoz,

Just to clarify, MMA "competition" is very tough, but the "training" doesn't have to be. For the most part MMA is a fairly relaxed, skill developing affair... When training for a fight, increasing conditioning and intensity is important, but for the majority of people MMA is a fun, VERY safe and enjoyable sport for people of all ages.

That said, there are no women in Fianna, and no couples. Maybe kickboxing in Westwood would be more you thing. Eitherway I hope you enjoy what ever you find!

Peace

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

in fairness liam's video looks ridiculous and everyone i've know who has seen it found it funny. some found it funny in a david brent dance way the others found in scary in the "is this supposed to be self-defense way". if liam can't accept fair critiscm of his martial art performance he shouldn't put videos up on the internet for the general pisstaking public to see. i've a couple of videos of myself in competition on youtube. of course they're highlights and not me getting the **** kicked out of me but they're there for anyone to see and comment on.

dardoz, like a lot of people, you've got a couple of conflicting ideals for selecting a martial art probably hugely influenced from the rubbish that gets shown in the media.

Your criteria

Fitness
    Lady friendly
    Pay by the class
    Something serious
    Enjoyment
    Not Hardcore

If by something serious you mean something effective you can rule out the majority of martial arts. However, by not hardcore you mean you don't want to do any sparring, you can rule out all the effective martial arts.

I reckon you do Judo or BJJ - grappling martial arts that don't involve strikes but are cardiovascularly intensive. If you don't like that you should do TKD because it's fairly social, gender balanced, limited and restricted sparring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

Kev, links to your youtube vids we want to pisstake please

in fairness liam's video looks ridiculous and everyone i've know who has seen it found it funny. some found it funny in a david brent dance way the others found in scary in the "is this supposed to be self-defense way". if liam can't accept fair critiscm of his martial art performance he shouldn't put videos up on the internet for the general pisstaking public to see. i've a couple of videos of myself in competition on youtube. of course they're highlights and not me getting the **** kicked out of me but they're there for anyone to see and comment on.

dardoz, like a lot of people, you've got a couple of conflicting ideals for selecting a martial art probably hugely influenced from the rubbish that gets shown in the media.

Your criteria

Fitness
    Lady friendly
    Pay by the class
    Something serious
    Enjoyment
    Not Hardcore

If by something serious you mean something effective you can rule out the majority of martial arts. However, by not hardcore you mean you don't want to do any sparring, you can rule out all the effective martial arts.

I reckon you do Judo or BJJ - grappling martial arts that don't involve strikes but are cardiovascularly intensive. If you don't like that you should do TKD because it's fairly social, gender balanced, limited and restricted sparring.

well. What am I looking for?

I would like something that uses a lot more energy than TKD. I did that as a kid, and unless its changed, its mainly standing there kicking and punching. I want something that it tougher 'cardio-wise'.

I would like to learn to defend myself better, but I'm not so much interested in competing in competitions if you get me. Thats the element of MMA that turned me off. I'm doing it for enjoyment, not cos i want some lad elbowing me in the nose.

The only reason I thought kickboxing, is cos my brother was UK champion a few years back and the gloves looking a hell of a lot more padded than the MMA ones, lol.

dardoz wrote:
    well. What am I looking for?

Dunno. Go try MMA and see if it's as you expected it to be.

in fairness liam's video looks ridiculous and everyone i've know who has seen it found it funny. some found it funny in a david brent dance way the others found in scary in the "is this supposed to be self-defense way". if liam can't accept fair critiscm of his martial art performance he shouldn't put videos up on the internet for the general pisstaking public to see..

Hi Nothing compares

Just to clear this up so there no misunderstanding, the video on the website is not me, it is of my teacher Pendekar William Sanders who is 60+ in that demo. I dont see many people in today's world who can move and have the agility, speed he has, for that age. When you reach that age and can move with that skill, than you can make a judgement.

At the end of the day we all judge the things we do as right and what other do as wrong or stupid. The video is on the website so that people from other silat styles can see what the movements of our style are like, they are many styles and sometimes when I communicating with other silat players a picture speaks a thousand words. I really dont really care if some people think it looks like david brent or whatever, because they would never really would understand what silat is in the first place.

At the end of the day it doesnt stop me doing silat and it doesnt stop people who have a geniune interest in learning silat, to get in contact with us and start learning. There are many things I see other people that to me are totally childish, but they love doing it and thats cool.

The only reason I replied to the opening remarks, was that I was just offering at the start an opportunity to come along and train thats all, and that the remarks return were abit out of line. The matter has now be sorted and everyone is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭bjj-fighter

Silat Liam,

Where do you do classes in walkinstown.Its just cos thats where I live and I'v never herd of it being here.Im not interested in going,I was just wondering.MMA is for me:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Try boxing!

I would like something that uses a lot more energy than TKD. - yep

I would like to learn to defend myself better, but I'm not so much interested in competing in competitions if you get me. - yep. you can learn the techniques, and then if you're so inclined you can punch a bag all day, using energy, but still becoming a better fighter

Don't ask me where there's a gym that'd suit you, cos I'm tryin to find one for myself :D, but the bloke who replied to my thread there said that there's one in Dun Laoighaire.

One of the other conditions that is very important is that I don't want to pay to be a member of a gym. I just want to do classes somewhere.

I wouldn't actually mind boxing, but I would be more into a martial art.

Does any1 have any info on that Glen Heenan guy in Loughlinstown leisure centre?

I wouldn't actually mind boxing, but I would be more into a martial art.

Boxing is a martial art, one of the worlds oldest.

It sounds like you'd be better suited with some sort of cardio kickboxing xlass, a bit like aerobics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

Glen Heenan can be got at 0863993095, classes are Tues and Thurs 8pm
    If you want to try BJJ you are more than welcome to come to Next Generation Fighting Academy, also in loughlinstown leisure centre, Classes Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and MMA. Thursdays "Fight Class" is so tough a cardio workout that you can have a months membership free if you can complete all the exercises. As yet no one has done it. :D

any info on rates or memberships for fees for these different classes lads?

Glens Kickboxing is €8 per class or there is a monthly rate too I think. First class free at Next Gen, If you make that fight class and pass the test you get a months free :D Other than that its €65 per month for up to 4 classes per week, plus use of sauna, steam room etc.

Are both these in Loughlinstown Leisure Centre?

Glen Heenan can be got at 0863993095, classes are Tues and Thurs 8pm
    If you want to try BJJ you are more than welcome to come to Next Generation Fighting Academy, also in loughlinstown leisure centre,
    Are both these in Loughlinstown Leisure Centre?
    Seriously? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭DAVE_K

Thursdays "Fight Class" is so tough a cardio workout that you can have a months membership free if you can complete all the exercises. As yet no one has done it.

this should be changed to
    Thursdays "Fight Class" is so tough a cardio workout that you can have a months membership free if you can complete all the exercises......and not go home with a shiner
    As yet no one has done it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭john kavanagh

Seriously? :rolleyes:

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,577 ✭✭✭Colm_OReilly

A day in the life of a mod:

I come home, and think of some light browsing to pass the time to dinner, I'll go on boards I see.

Hmmm, that southside ma thread is long enough, I'd better scan it again.

Jon, Liam, quite crying and whinging when someone's rude on the frigging internet.

Jon, the most mature thing to do is not point out what's immature and mature. Yes, I get I'm doing that now, under no pretenses of maturity.

Liam, kev's right, if you can't take criticism don't post links, and don't retort with oh yeah army guys do it. To quote a little girl in Little Miss Sunshine, "that's silly".

It's the goddamn internet! It's not important.

Cop on, all of you,
    Colm - Wishing I could ban people for idiocy.

shut up mr important :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 159 ✭✭bugs90

Going to give the MMA a go, mostly for the cardio value...not so sure about the getting punched in the face with what look like pretty lightly padded gloves:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Dar. I'd suggest kickboxing or Muay Thai. I know you said the shins thing put you off when you and I spoke, but my shins are grand. If you're not training to fight, it's an amazing cardio workout. (edit: The reason they use shins when kicking is that there are more brittle bones in your feet, and they do toughen up, but wouldn't need to if you're just training for exercise / self-defence).

I'm always bollixed at the end of a class, I've lost weight and toned up since you last saw me (I've altered my diet a reasonable amount too though, and work out outside the classes to build up strength).

bugs90 wrote:
    Going to give the MMA a go, mostly for the cardio value...not so sure about the getting punched in the face with what look like pretty lightly padded gloves:confused:

do people really have the notion that during their first class of MMA they are going to be fighting with elbows and full force punches to the face?? new guys at SBG go through a 3 month intro course before they do any type of sparring. as for sparring with MMA gloves or elbows - that would be only after about a year or so of training AND ONLY if you are set on competing. the majority of guys just train for fun/fitness, its a small % that actually go on to fight competively.

if you are training somewhere that full on sparring with MMA gloves goes on on a regular basis for beginners my advice would be to leave - whoever is running the class has no idea what they are doing and someones gonna get hurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

To go back to the original request for MA clubs near Dun Laoghaire, there are TKD classes in Stillorgan if you want to try that.

11:00 Saturday
    St. Laurence's Community Centre (Behind the Mill House Pub)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Wyverne

you could try freestyle TKD / Kickboxing club in stillorgan, tho its kinda far, but we do get students from dun laoire,

its not standard traditional TKD which i agree can be static and punching and kicking into mid air whilst in a class format, it does include aerobic and an-aerobic workouts with conditioning.

classes are tuesdays 7 - 8pm (workout kickboxing class)
    and then on thursdays 7-8pm (more traditional tkd)

try a tuesday class, its free for the first week, thereafter its 40 euro a month to train.

if your interested pm me and i'll give ye directions and more info.

new guys at SBG go through a 3 month intro course before they do any type of sparring.

really? that sounds rather dull? what would you be doing for 3 months then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭ColinJennings

really? that sounds rather dull? what would you be doing for 3 months then?
    Learning the basics. You cannot just jump in and start sparring. You need to learna few fundamental techniques before you spar. I would have thought a grappling martial art like BJJ would have done something akin to sparring while learning it - John's '3i' technique being a good example of this - but to let people loose just doing thier own thing without any fundamentals is just dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

...don't retort with oh yeah army guys do it. To quote a little girl in Little Miss Sunshine, "that's silly"...

Actually it's not. If he had said the boy scouts do it, I would agree but when members of the armed foces consider a system/delivery method good enough to trust their life with, it adds a certain amount of weight to the argument. Let's not forget the huge furor when the video of the marines training in bjj was posted. Many people paid testament to the relevance of the training because the USMC had chosen it as their preffered method of self defence.
    ...It's the goddamn internet! It's not important...

Are you kidding? What's more impotrant than scoring points against faceless internet opponents:D

really? that sounds rather dull?

it would seem quite a number of people would disagree and find our training methods both interesting and FUNctional

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 legendaire

it would seem quite a number of people would disagree and find our training methods both interesting and FUNctional
    Yes I agree with John. I do MMA in Galway and it is brilliant for self defense and general fitness i would highly reccomend it if there is a club in your area that does it