Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Indicator light on solid

Options
  • 31-01-2007 10:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭

Hi Guys. This is my first time on this forum, so be gentle! I bought a 01 VW Polo in December, and all has been going fine until this morning. When i went to use my indicator, it didn't flash on/off as usual, but rather stayed lit solid. I reckon this can't be the safest thing ever, as it might look like i just have my lights on, and one's not working. Would anyone have any idea what could cause this. I don't really want to bring it to a garage, because my tax is due this month, and i still owe a fortune on my credit card since xmas! Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I reckon your indicator relay is kaput. On some VWs this is part of the hazard warning switch, but on a Polo it could be behind the dash, on the right hand side, below the steering wheel and just above your right knee - if you know what I mean. It just plugs out and you plug another one in.

What happens if you turn on the hazard switch? And where is the hazard switch located?

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭bking

The hazards stay on solid too. The hazard switch is on the centre of the dash, above the radio.