Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scirmish

• 23-01-2007 3:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭

How hard is it to organise a scirmish down here?
    What do you need exactly, is it just landowner permission?
    We may organise one down here soon for members of this board etc.
    Even 10 or so people would be good craic surely, drinks optional...

Sound good or does it take more than just the basics I mentioned?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

im absolutely and utterly dying to do something like this mate, the main thing realy is the land [do you have suitable land per chance ?*gets hopes up*]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

it would take more such as ensuring nobody will sue should they get injured for a start. and letting the law know would be heandy depending on where it is as if sombody should see lads with guns in a forest/field and call the station youd get a shock when you hear armed gardai shouted at you.

A lend of a big warehouse or aban' farm would be ideal for an indoor game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

Well obviously the most important thing you need is land :D then the landowners permission. After that you would need insurance. As current Irish law stands a person could still sue a landowner is they were injured on their premises even after signing a disclaimer. Some sort of safe zone would be required as well as somebody to marshall the event. It would also be a good idea to inform the local garda station as we don't want them getting reports of armed men (or women equality in all areas and all that :D ) and showing up en-masse armed to the teeth with .......... uhm ........ plus 1 joule weapons :D

Crud you got there before me Spitfire, hey wait a minute shouldn't you be out keeping the streets safe for us ordinary civillians.
    Pfft never a cop around when you need one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

I'd say we'd be pretty safe and the land owner would be safe If a member of this board knew them, ask a relative etc.
    I know I wont sue, I've worse injuries from soccer than Id get in a field.

Also plus one joule joke above, v funny....:)

Multi joule weapons you could say!

NOIP do you have a bike? I was reading another post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

yea same as that , so who's got the land i ask?

Motosam wrote:

Well thats all well and good but what if in the worst case scenario you fall impale your head and a particulaly sharp blade of grass and die, whats to say that your family won't
    Also plus one joule joke above, v funny....

Well with all the bad jokes i make I think i was due :D
    NOIP do you have a bike?

Yup but she doesn't like me to call her that in public .................what she prefers to be called a chopper..............perverts :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

Yes, very good point N.O.I.P.

Or what if you fall, break your back in some horrible freak horrific fashion, putting you in a wheelchair for the rest of your life which then forces you to sue to pay for electric wheelchair, stairlift, house-conversion, and general living costs etc... as you may not be able to work again.
    How many of you get full sick pay? How many of you could afford to be off work for more than a few weeks if you break a leg?

Or what if someone bring a mate along one day that doesn't know you or the landowner and they decide to sue?

Or what if some member of the public happens to wander onto the land ( doesn't even matter if they have the landowners permission or not ) and get hit in the eye and sue?

What if someone get's their car scratched / dented / stolen whilst parked there and they decide to sue?

What if some looses something or gets it stolen and they decide to sue?

And the landowner isn't always the one that can be sued.
    When it comes to things like this, you're best of thinking of worst-case scenarios, not best-case.

You'd need:
    -Land that's out of view to the public
    -Landowners permission ( get it in writing! )
    -Insurance
    -Inform the Gardai of your intentions for the land ( by registered / recorded post. And keep a copy yourself. Give them maps, names, everything. So they can never say they weren't informed if there's ever an 'incident' )
    -Inform any neighbouring residents of your intentions for the land. This is especially important to discuss with them if you intend to use pyros and they have livestock.

And these wouldn't go amiss either:
    -Trained first aider. At least one at all times, but the more the merrier.
    -Well stocked first-aid-kit.
    -Couple of fire extinguishers if there's even the remotest possibility of pyros being used.
    -Putting warning notices at any points the public can gain access to the area.
    -Rules. Inc FPS limits.

And you'd very quickly find yourself needing a generator if there's no power.
    Running water and a toilet are also good, but not essential.

Insurance would be your biggest problem to start with. But to start with, it's mostly the landowners problem. If he's happy to let you use his land with no insurance then you're flying.
    If money changes hands with the landowner ( ie - if you're renting the land ), then that changes things and you'll be just as legally responsible as the landowner if anything goes wrong. Also, if you charge anyone else to use it (rentals), again, you'd be legally responsible as you'd be seen to be 'running' the place in a commercial capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

Disregard the pyros bit cos they'd obviously be illegal down here.

Ah yes. Good point. Was forgetting myself.

A fire extinguisher still wouldn't go amiss though. ;)

I dont think Spitfire would skirmish without the pyros...he's seems just a little TOO fond of them!

Ooo what type of cruiser?
    I could do with a nice v twin, more relaxing than a cbr.

Sounds very complicated, how about a few of us reckless types just organise something small then, jesus bloody insurance is the bane of my lifes pursuits, cant afford to insure bike or car.
    Now this.

What happened to a sense of danger in life.

Motosam wrote:
    Ooo what type of cruiser?
    I could do with a nice v twin, more relaxing than a cbr.

Yeah very relaxing mine never goes anywhere :D
    Its a 650 Dragstar I'll send you on a pic at some point if you like
    Motosam wrote:
    What happened to a sense of danger in life.

Didn't you hear they revoked it? See kids this is what happens when you don't vote

The physical danger is still there even if you have insurance.
    It's just the financial danger that's eased. ;)

Well If someone gets a piece of land suitable we'll have to take the opportunity. I'd like to give airsofting a shot soon enough, or paintballing.
    Not up to going to predator or anything yet though, but would definitely go to something more local in gud aul dubolin

Can you not read?! We just told you its basically impossible and you say stupid things like that. We're heading up on Saturday week and hiring a bus to get us there, all you have to do is drag your lazy ass outta bed.

If you try skirmish on land where people can see you, someone gets injured, etc you'll ruin airsoft for everyone so just dont bother.

Whats your problem?

And i doubt its impossible if you get landowner permission, it was a discussion about the subject of whether it would work or not.

And its not laziness if you've got a busy schedule.

I dont think anyone agrees with you right now, dont get yer knickers in a twist.

Well you wont get somewhere soon man. Its gonna take a very long time to get anything done down here, because the legislation doesnt specifically mention airsoft at all.

Therefore making it shockingly easy to ban if people who arnt bothered getting a day off work get in trouble running around the countryside uninusured with what look like automatic weapons.

As for having a busy schedule...lol, dont talk to me about a busy schedule. Im 19, go to college(studying Psychology), have a son and work 5 days a week in the evenings...yet in the months notice we gave everyone about the shoot in Predator on the 3rd I got a day off, its not that hard.

Seriously, if you are actually serious about airsoft go up to Predator and give it a shot. Dont skirmish illegally and get airsoft a bad name or even banned(again I might add). And before you say its not illegal, did you ever hear of "disturbing the peace" and Im sure theres a few others. For example: What if someone drives by where your skirmishing and a stray bb hits their car and they get a fright and crash the car? I can see the headlines. "Youth causes accident by shooting car with Airgun", ask Casper or any of the other lads from up North what the press will do if they get a chance. It doesnt have to be the truth, just close enough.

As for it being nearly impossible. Read Caspers post again and then think about how long its taken Barrage in their inqueries about Airsoft insurance...and they know what they're doing cos they're insured already for Paintball!!

Sorry if any of that seems harsh, I just feel very strongly about this and dont want people rushing into something and ruining this. Alot of us have put a hell of a lot of time and money into this (ask Spitfire how much of his hard-earned cash he's spent!)and dont wanna see it ruined.

No, don't ask spitfire how much he invested as i could possibly cry.

And as for pyros, they are a very useful tool.

Harekin wrote:
    ask Spitfire how much of his hard-earned cash he's spent

Yeah I was with you till this, he is a cop so if you think about it its really our hard earned cash he has been spending :D

if thats the case then who do my taxes pay???? :P

@ harekin,

No worries thought it was just an unprovoked dig.

Obviously I wont be running round like a fool, have had a bb for a good few years and have avoided trying to shoot anyone so far ha.

I'm in college with architecture all week til' usually 5 or 6 if I'm lucky, sometimes half 10, and I work saturday.
    If I could I would, though I've a motorbike to sell before I'll buy an aeg and then try to make the time for a scirmish.

Just because I ask questions doesn't mean I'm clueless as far as the way of the world. Odds are I'll meet every one here eventually and I look forward to giving it a go.

I think if you discussed the matter with the local superintendant we could get sound advise on southern events, probably based on paintball rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

Motosam wrote:

I think if you discussed the matter with the local superintendant we could get sound advise on southern events, probably based on paintball rules.

Clearly not so wise in the way of the world:D

Right back at ye, theres nothing illegal about owning a bb gun so why not ask what would be the best thing to do event wise?

A lad I know had a mini-moto confiscated for riding on the street and just went in to the station, spoke to the guy in charge who I assume is called the superintendant or something else I'm not a guard, and it was returned pretty much immediately.

The guards prefer to see people with a hobby than kicking the sh1t out of each other in the street... :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

See the problem is, most gardaí, including Superintendents seem to be totally clueless about this. Personally I'd rather wait till there was more general clarification worked out with them before I start going down asking about organizing events.

Patience! If you really want to play that much right now or any time in the close future head up to Predator. It's not like its over in England! It's a two and a half hour drive up north. No big deal. If this bus trip up works out (which it will) then I'm sure it can be arranged again sometime. Plus it's only €26. And on a Saturday. You really have no excuse :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭sidneyreilly

Motosam, I have a lot of experience of Garda Superintendents re: firearms and things vaguely "firearmsish" . Hop over to the shooting boards and you will see a taste of it whilst bearing in mind that the "excentricity's" of some supers is not solely confined to true firearms. I'm not even going to start going into examples because they would border on the "off topic".

O1s!n is correct, go up play a few matches, get experience of the sport, form a club or an association, be informed. Later, approach the relevant Garda as a mature comittee, armed with litterature and facts regarding the sport, a safety statement, your rules and how you will enforce them. How you plan to manage the match. Who you are. Educate them, console them that you are in fact legitimate sports people and not IRA recruits or hitmen drilling.

(Paintball had this stigma in the early days of it in Ireland, I recal having to fill out a form for the gards just to play it many moons ago.)

This is what the supers want to see. Follow this and you will be grand. Do not go off half cocked into the super! This will go completely against you.

@oisin, I work saturdays! Give me time I'll make it to an event!

I see, has anyone tried speaking to them since the law change specifically about airsofting? I assume so but how did it go? I don't yet own an aeg so I might be inclined to make a casual inquiry, or would that also be a mistake?

I'll try not to get everyone arrested :)

Who is pressing the issue at the moment? Is it really that close to being banned though?

I'm not looking to snub anyone who has put alot of time or effort into bringing airsoft to the south or have dealt with the guards before I'm just trying to understand the legal situation for myself and what it would actually take to have a scirmish.

So thats just to anyone offended at my apparent ignorance.

Just dont go near the Gardai for the moment, and certainly dont go on behalf of Airsoft in Ireland.

Also dont question Oisin...he is infallable now...lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,605 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

You work Saturday? well, the last skirmish I was at was on a Sunday. They play then too. So, maybe the next time we head up could be that day. Seeing as a lot of people seem to work Saturdays. Basically anyway, it could work. You just have to want to put the effort in. Believe me, it's worth it. You'll realize the second you first open fire on someone with an AEG.

At the moment there is a boards member engaged in talks with quite a lot of big wigs around where he lives about the sport. I'm not really at liberties to say any more. But believe me, it IS being discussed.
    Harekin wrote:
    Also dont question Oisin...he is infallable now...lol.

Damn right! :D

I'll try that, you can rent aegs anyway cant you.

Id hardly try to represent anyone else's organisation just because I put up a few posts now would I.

I'll leave it to the lads who know best!