Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

28th Jan 18.30 vs. Dr. Kenneth Noisewater (availability & result)

• 22-01-2007 1:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭

Jan 28 Boardeaux -v Dr. Kenneth Noisewater 18.30

Lads, please post in this thread by Wednesday confirming if you can, or can't make this game. If you're not gonna know for sure till later in the week, please post to let us know what the chances are you'll make it.

This is our first game against this crowd (last one postponed due to the hurricane) and it's our chance to get back to winning ways. If we don't give away sloppy goals and continute to string passes together like we did when we had the ball against Boca Plate, we'll create enough chances to win this game. Hopefully we'll have a healthy squad available to make that happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Will be there.
    This will a tough game, Noisewater only lost twice, both to Boca Plate and both 4-3 - which means they scored 6 times against Boca in 2 games.
    They'll be handy enough but if we don't gift them goals I'd be optimistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,325 ✭✭✭Q_Ball

will be there.

3 so far. maybe we should keep a running count ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭LoBo

Count me in!

That makes 4.

you're in a bad way if you have to get someone to count for you :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭MrJones

i'll be there as well for sure.
    Had to go home last weekend. Brian.

Right that's 5. C'mon lads keep count tis not that hard ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Ill be number 6, I will have done all the overtime necessary by Saturday night this week.

Sorry again about yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Quball15

Still 6,
    I'm unfortunately going to miss the next 3 games...i'm going to Japan on Wednesday. I'm raging about missing the games, really want to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I'm a maybe. 75% sure Ill be there.

Ill confirm on Wednesday.

EDIT: I'll be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

i'll be there. thats 7.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Gileadi

ill be there,

ill also let darren count me so i can see the witty remark

that makes 8 and you can get a witty remark when you start scoring :p

[edit]
    and i mean on the pitch, dont mix up your p's and b's....
    [/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 343 ✭✭kaizersoze123

I'll be there, I guess that makes 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭emc2

I'll be there so that's 10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭Mikie

Sorry lads.

I don't think I'll be there.

Best of luck.

If things change I'll let you know but for now I'm out.

Mikie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Bootsy Collins

Hi lads,

I didn't realise it at the time, but I seriously hurt my left shoulder during last weeks game when trying to make a save (think the ball went wide on that occasion for the record). Anyway, I'm restricted in how much I can move it at the moment, so wouldn't be able to play if the game was this evening. I'll be there on Sun. regardless if I'm fit to play or not, but hopefully It'll get better during the week. Will let yous know before Sun.

Bernie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭BlackWizard

I'm a maybe. 75% sure Ill be there.

Ill confirm on Wednesday.

Ill be there at 6. Unless people stop on the m50 every 100meters for no apparent reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭murtagh

Hi lads,

I didn't realise it at the time, but I seriously hurt my left shoulder during last weeks game when trying to make a save (think the ball went wide on that occasion for the record). Anyway, I'm restricted in how much I can move it at the moment, so wouldn't be able to play if the game was this evening. I'll be there on Sun. regardless if I'm fit to play or not, but hopefully It'll get better during the week. Will let yous know before Sun.

Bernie

Bernie, any progress with the shoulder?
    Do we have a replacement/volunteer/stand in keeper just in case?
    Peter was handy enough in goals during one of the training sessions. Is he still involved/available?
    Peter? If you're out there, give us a sign!
    Alternatively... Colm, do you know the story with Peter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Bootsy Collins

Goodish news.
    Shoulder is a bit better, first time since Sun. night that I've been able to move it a bit more. Hopefully another couple of days and it'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I'll be there (traffic on the M50 meant I didnt get home from Liverpool till 6 last week)

If the situation gets desparate and bootsy cant make it/has to go off, i'm willing to do a Jagielka. I'll bring my glove sin case.

Joe is skiing until saturday, but I'd say he'll be at the match on sunday.

LoBo wrote:
    Joe is skiing until saturday, but I'd say he'll be at the match on sunday.
    Hopefully not on crutches :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Looks like we should have 14 tomorrow if Joe makes it.

No word from Lepo - Simon, any idea what the story is?

Lads, as we didn't manage to get a training session in this week we really need to meet up as early as possible tomorrow to go through our setup at set-pieces. if everyone can get there for 5.45, and 6pm at the latest, it'll let us get a decent talk on what everyone needs to do on the set-pieces (focusing on this as we were poor at set-pieces last week and it's a pretty straight forward thing to put right).

joe will be there alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Looks like I might miss out. Have a horrible dose of flu. Took nioght nurse earlier and went for a sleep, still feel crap. Wouldnt be so bad but for the ear ache. I'll see how I am inan hour or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

I dont think you were as bad as the result suggests, poor conditions for a match for a start, the third was a bit dodgy and the fifth was unfortunate. No 2 played well but once he started arguing with the ref the whole teams heads went down, which was a pity because it looked like he was really driving the team in the first half despite the pressure experienced.

My 2c from the sidelines if anyones interested, I think you need to push up more on goal kicks, the keeper could easily kick to and beyond the half way line but there was only every one player in the oppositions half, and when you played it on the ground you got better results than humping it in the air

Some rather poor "action shots" from the game taken just before and after the 2nd goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,032 ✭✭✭FrankGrimes

Thanks for that Nutzz - were you the guy in the brown/beige coat? Were you there watching another team or do we actually have a real life supporter??

I think no.2 was Keith (Draupnir on boards), and you're on the money that he gave us a good organised base at the back and played it out of defence well.

Again, the scoreline is harsh on us, we've been getting punished ruthlessly when we make mistakes, but in fairness, we're making mistakes we shouldn't be. 4 of the 5 were just momentary lapses of concentration, with there being a few of us sharing the blame for the 2nd from the corner. Was it the 3rd or 4th that was the end of a good dribble - can't argue with that one - it was the only one we should really have conceded.

Think it was more running out of steam than heads dropping at the end, again, we were within touching distance going into the last 10.
    Goal-kicks were something we had focused on before the game and we drastically improved our win-rate on them, though I agree we need to send more runners in for the flick-ons. There's progress on the calling front, but we need to just get louder all across the pitch so that whoever has the ball knows exactly where their options are without looking. Letting a roar as you go up for a header puts the other lad off and helps get the aggression up, and we need a bit more controlled aggression.

I enjoyed this game more than any other, to the last 10 at least, as I can see real progress with our shape, and we did play nicely at times, and were just one bounce off that greasy surface of a man getting on the end of a through ball several times. Des is also right that we need to get back into the habit of shooting more often, some will go in, and others will force them to change the way they're defending.

Bit by bit I think we're getting there - there's been improvements in several areas and players and I think it'll be interesting to see how we get on against Templeroan next week. I stayed behind and watched them for a bit and don't see any reason why we can't beat them if we keep the heads switched on and play the ball we're capable of when we have it.

Was a much better performance than the last 3 or 4 I thought. The first 20 minutes after second half we were all over them, we just didn't manage to convert possesion into chances, but that'll change if we start shooting a bit more. Only 1 of their goals was decent. The other 4 were mistakes by us (2 shockers by me in goal). Looking forward to the mid-week session.

Outside view always welcomed. ;)
    Letting a roar as you go up for a header puts the other lad off and helps get the aggression up, and we need a bit more controlled aggression.
    Jules I think aggression is the word of the day, we need to toughen up a bit. Yesterday they had 3 very good players in the middle (little redser, the guy in yellow Liverpool gear and the fella in black top) but they were physical feckers too and they didn't mind getting stuck in. They caught us at a quick corner for one of the early goals, that's something we learn from. Fair play to them they caught us napping. The only other creditable goal was when yer man beat about 4 of our players and scored, while you have to give credit for a great goal you have to look and ask how exactly did he beat so many players so easily. I mean he wasn't that good.

Defensively, I would suggest when opposing team are on the ball we just take a look around and pick an unmarked player and follow him, always staying goal side. There is no offside, so you can drop and give yourself a few yards on him if he's pacy but if he get's the ball you should be in his face making life hard. Hassling him does not mean lunging in with a tackle, this is a different game to 11-a-side grass. What you should be looking to do is make your man use it or lose it, only when you know you can win the ball should you stick a foot in. So many times yesterday we were jumping in and they had the players to show us up. I'm only saying because I've played both Centre Forward and Centre Half in the past and there's nothing strikers love more than an over zealous defender. If you get at him and he passes, so be it. I was always told that you can't stop them passing the ball or whacking it but what you don't want is them running at you. Chances are, unless they're Brazil, you can force them into errors by simply applying pressure and keeping the player off his good foot! If he's a left winger, force him inside onto his right and vice versa.

When attacking yesterday I think we could have had a couple of decent chances if not for some pretty poor 1st touches. I think there were at least 3 occasions when the ball fell to one of our players in great positions and the first touch was either absent or else took the ball too far ahead giving it back to their defence. That's not singling anyone out, but an issue to be addressed nxt week, some warm-up exercises might be a good idea.

That's me done anyway ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

Thanks for that Nutzz - were you the guy in the brown/beige coat? Were you there watching another team or do we actually have a real life supporter??

that was me alright, i was looking through here and realised you play only five minutes away so i thought i'd pop down had have a look. must wear lucky coat next time :D