Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BSG, Season 3, Episode 12: Rapture [SPOILERS]

• 22-01-2007 8:02am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭

Took its time didn't it?
    well there it is and now i have to go to work :(
    Shight i hate 9-5 i think i better get back to night shift Monday mornings depress me way too much when there is a BSG on my PC that i haven't seen

Rate This Episode 42 votes

10 - This Is Why I Watch This Show
    0%
    28%
    VenomdeRangedGerardKeatingMisterAnarchySuaimhneachUser45701stakeyTyrsisheliosAnCapaillMorred daveHEATZ 12 votes
    23%
    gandalfCloverIvanScruffGoodshapeMr EthelordofcheeseDurastvnutzIompair 10 votes
    28%
    ButcherOfNogYakuzaPraetorianMemnochVokesPugsleyStarkc0y0temonkeyfudgeKhannieBernsmurfie 12 votes
    9%
    Ri_NollaigmcgovernTerrorFirmeraidan_r 4 votes
    4%
    Johnny StormTCollins 2 votes
    2%
    Jack B. Badd 1 vote
    0%
    2%
    youcancallmeal 1 vote
    1 - A Few More Like This And Ill Stop Watching
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

Sorry to be pedantic :D

Its just called Rapture, there's no Rapture part I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

So one of the final 5 is a recurring character, eh? They seemed to imply it was Starbuck, but i think that's misdirection; Leoben seemed fairly sure she was human

Sorry to see Lucy Lawless retired as a regular cast member, she was doing so well too!

Caprica 6 on Galactica now, wonder how that is going to pan out? (It *is* 'Caprica' 6, isn't it?)

Erm, yeah, heading Earthwards, woo! :)
    Looks like we won't be seeing much more of the Cylon base ships interiors from now on;
    I'm basing this on what happened when they destroyed Pegasus; the podcast said part of the reason was that they needed the studio space for the base ship interiors.
    Now that the plot seems to be moving away from the cylons, my theory is they're going to introduce some new scenery (Earth? Too soon maybe?:) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭chalkitdown1

Fantastic episode. :D So many things happened. It was thoroughly entertaining.
    My bet's on Tigh to be revealed as a cylon. You heard it here first, folks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Aye, there's good reason to think that one's true, alright.
    One of the 2 reason's I thought it was starbuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

Damn I love this show! What a great episode! I best use spoiler tags as the op forgot to put "spoilers" in the title.
    I was nearly putting my hand through the pc screen to try and get them to move the camera and show the face of one of the final 5! It was such a great scene,I really wanted to see who it was! They are hinting at starbuck,which would be interesting,but it might be a red herring. It doesn't look like it is Balthar anymore does it?

I was also sad to see D'Anna go,Lucy Lawless has been great but obviously she could only do so many episodes. She is in "cold storage" so technically not dead,they may be able to bring her back later in the show.

Caprica 6 and Gaius are now on Galactica,which should be very interesting :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

SofaKing wrote:
    Sorry to be pedantic :D

Its just called Rapture, there's no Rapture part I.

Fixed
    tvnutz wrote:
    Damn I love this show! What a great episode! I best use spoiler tags as the op forgot to put "spoilers" in the title.

And... Fixed

What a great episode, for the first 1/2 i couldn't see where everything was going to go but the end pulled it together so well it was amazing. Id say that what igy said is right we will be seing less of the cylons for now but i don't think t hey will move onto earth likly to be a few good "fleet" episodes coming up. Cant wait to see how six on galactica will play out and i think baltar will say that he pulled out the datonaters and killed the 2 cylons to try and somehow save himself.
    Next episode is called "taking a break from all of your worries" sounds like a nice chilled episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Damn good episode !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,836 ✭✭✭Vokes

"Welcome home Mr. President" *thwak!* :D

But first thing's first, I called it in our last episode discussion...
    SofaKing wrote:
    Also, check out the Eye of Jupiter mural in Starbuck's apartment...

http://en.battlestarwiki.org/wiki/Valley_of_Darkness

Foresight by the writers or just co-incidence?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=52507763&postcount=13 :D

Is Starbuck one of the Final Five? I hope not. Ditto with Baltar - esp. Baltar, as his patheticness and desire for self-preservation are all the more believeable if he's human.

So it looks like the focus is going to shift mainly now to Starbuck. Also great to see Leoben back (don't think he appeared in the last ep, did he?), so hopefully there'll be some more stuff with him and Starbuck, as everything between thoes 2 has been riveting so far :)

Also, I wonder if Le Prez / Adam will let Tigh get his mitts on Baltar to coax information out of him - i bet Baltar is in for a world of pain.

Some great visuals once again with the sun going nova (which has probably used up most of the effects budget for the next couple of episodes).

P.S. Liked the nod to the mini-series where Caprica broke the baby's neck but this time stopped Hera's neck from being broken

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Very good - very frustrating too with the Final Five. Let's say it's Starbuck - she marries Lee at some future point. She takes his name and that ties in with the whole not trusting Adama line from from S1 :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

Damn it's good to be back! :D

Nice to see Baltar grow a set of balls again, if only for a short while.

It's almost like a reset episode, so many pieces are back in place, familiar yet now with different motivation, different experiences and I reckon we are in for some claustrophobic episodes on Galactica for a few weeks yet.

Loved it; but then that's probably more to do with missing it so much than the episode itself. Lots of unanswered questions remain, lots of possibilities, but the best bit is that it still has an 'edge' to it.
    "Welcome back mister President" indeed. Damn it's gonna be great having Chip-6, Baltar and Std-6 back on the ship :rolleyes:

Roll on next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Back on top form ,excellent episode,they really crammed alot in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Berns

Did anyone catch who Starbuck was referring to at the end???
    When she said some1 had said she had a destiny or sumfin. Could she have been the chosen one that shoulda been in the temple, or yes as people have suggested one of the final five.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Enough plot points in this one to drive the rest of the season (the final five, the baby, Baltar on Galactica, the path to earth, Starbucks painting....)

Can't wait to see where they go with this.

(Oh, and the thread title says "SPOILERS", so there is no need to spoiler-ise your comments unless speculating about future episodes).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,920 ✭✭✭AnCapaillMor

Berns when she was interogating yer man on Season 1, he pretty much said that she'd a destiny. Got to say just when i think this how can't get any better, it blows me away.

I'm thinking tho, which sharon is on galactica now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,289 ✭✭✭Talisman

Was there any reference to the D'anna Biers Cylon model disappearing/sneaking off the fleet in a previos episode? Because if there wasn't, they now know that the pesky reporter that they gave unrestricted access to Galactica is a Cylon skin job. Now that the model is boxed it's not particularly relevant.

On to more important matters...

The scriptures say something like the one who leads the way to Earth does not live to see journey through, at the time Laura Roslin was convinced that she was The One because of her terminal cancer.

MAJOR END OF SEASON SPOILER AHEAD...

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED...

DO NOT HIGHLIGHT THE SPOILER...
    *Starbuck went back to Caprica to get the for the Arrow of Apollo artifact to open the Tomb of Athena.

*She was drawing the Eye of Jupiter from the time she was a child.

*According to Leboen she has a Destiny.

Katee Sackoff's name is not in the opening credits for the last three episodes of the season.

:eek: I warned you!

Now that Caprica Six and Baltar will be sharing the cell formerly occupied by Sharon. Do people reckon they'll spawn the love child that Head Six was talking about when she said "a Cylon child will be born here"?

"Forgive me, if only I had known..." - Tigh or Anders has to be the one of the five that Three spoke to. For me it makes the most sense as Tigh is the only one of the main characters to have suffered at the hands of the Cylons during the occupation, and Three tried to kill Anders in the rubble of the collapsed cafe on Caprica.

I'm thinking tho, which sharon is on galactica now.

Its the Sharon who on on caprica for season one.
    It is NOT the model who shot adama and in fact i have a feeling she is boxed aswell the 6`s will box her for threatening to hurt the child
    Talisman wrote:
    "Forgive me, if only I had known..." - Tigh or Anders has to be the one of the five that Three spoke to. For me it makes the most sense as Tigh is the only one of the main characters to have suffered at the hands of the Cylons during the occupation, and Three tried to kill Anders in the rubble of the collapsed cafe on Caprica.

Interesting idea but. It is a human she has interacted with, i don't think it could be Tigh tho, but at the same time it would make sense.

Im thinking Geta someone she interacted with on new caprica allot but could have never known.

User45701 wrote:
    Its the Sharon who on on caprica for season one.
    It is NOT the model who shot adama and in fact i have a feeling she is boxed aswell the 6`s will box her for threatening to hurt the child

What i was implying was that the Zylons could've done a swictharoo, her memories are downloaded and transferred after death(helo said she'd resist but there was no gurantee), it might be a different sharon or a reprogrammed original mammy sharon with a sleeper side to her. just throwing that thought out there. It was a great epsiode but ended a bit too perfectly something has to frack up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

I thought BSG was having trouble finding something interesting to do for the past while.. they made up for that in this episode.

Got a lot done in this one, and left plenty to be explored before the end of the season (and beyond probably).

Sorry to see Xena get put into storage. She was a good character.

Very excited to see Baltar back on Galactica.. and Caprica Six should make for some interesting times ahead.

Not really a big fan of the Leoben / Starbuck story.. but we'll see. I really hope she's not a Cylon -- but it's great to have that mystery back again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

TmB wrote:
    (Oh, and the thread title says "SPOILERS", so there is no need to spoiler-ise your comments unless speculating about future episodes).

It didn't say spoilers when the thread was posted,the OP only changed it after I mentioned it,so people were using spoiler tags just in case :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Wow - what a relief to have BSG back :D

Anyway since everyone has already pointed out all the great things about this ep, I'm going to stick to what I'm good at and carp on about some of the bad things ;) :

The ending was very lazy. "Lets have everyone who appeared in any jeopardy in this ep get out of a Raptor" :rolleyes: It reminded me of the quick-wrap-up endings of a bad ep of TNG

The CGI of the Toasters in the ground battle was well dodgy.

Starbuck "I love Lee, I hate Lee" - pass the fnckin' sickbag :mad:

OK another good thing -
    Dee was pretty good this ep, the action scenes suited her. Personally, I am glad to see the back of Xena and am glad Balthar is back on Galactica. He's at his most entertaining when he is interacting with Adama, Tigh, Laura, IMHO.
    That is all. :p

I agree about the ending and the CGI Toasters. The one that got shot in half (I think) on the planet surface looked woeful.

Nearly always disappointed when the Toasters show up, actually. They just don't have the menacing presence that they should have. Always just standing, looking around, thinking "hmm.. I'd love to do a bit more in this scene, but I really can't afford to. Already over-budget, don't you know".

Makes me wish they had found a way to make convincing guys-in-suits.. might have meant a more unfortunately 'human' shape to them, but at least they'd actually be able to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,067 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

I'm not entirely sure why but I thought that episode was extremely boring hence me giving it a 3. Probably cos so many questions were posed but none answered. At least it can't get any worse than this for the rest of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭Scruff

Heretic! Get thee nehind me Satan!!!

I'm going to have to watch this episode again, it felt like i was only watching it for 5 mins before it was all over.

Agree that we probably wont see the cylons for a while, they'll be licking their wounds now that Galactica seem to be holding all the aces with Hera and know where the eye was pointing to.
    The ending was very lazy. "Lets have everyone who appeared in any jeopardy in this ep get out of a Raptor" rolleyes.gif It reminded me of the quick-wrap-up endings of a bad ep of TNG
    yeah thought it was very rushed.

Toasters looked well dodgy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

I've been thinking about
    that encounter between yer wan (Xena) and the final five
    and I reckon I've come to two possible (and wonderful) contenders for the
    one she spoke to and asked for forgiveness.

In my humble opinion, it has to be either
    Tigh or El Presidente herself
    - which would really screw things up when they find out :rolleyes:

Loved it. Can't wait for the next one. Bring it on!!

Although I will admit to being totally confused about the
    images in Starbuck's apartment and the whole been there, done that before theme
    . Perhaps someone can explain that one to me, 'cause it's driving me nuts :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

c0y0te wrote:
    Although I will admit to being totally confused about the
    images in Starbuck's apartment and the whole been there, done that before theme
    . Perhaps someone can explain that one to me, 'cause it's driving me nuts :p
    Tis good stuff but the plot holes are increasing and I fear they are making it up as they go along.

Id say its Geata or Tigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

Rant warning:
    User45701, IIRC you're the very guy who wanted the original series of BSG from 1978 spoilered to protect your delicate sensibilities. Would you ever please have a bit more care with the spoilers yourself? Thanks.
    End of ranting.

PS nothing personal and I usually enjoy your posts.

Rant warning:
    User45701, IIRC you're the very guy who wanted the original series of BSG from 1978 spoilered to protect your delicate sensibilities. Would you ever please have a bit more care with the spoilers yourself? Thanks.
    End of ranting.

PS nothing personal and I usually enjoy your posts.

Sorry i said
    User45701 wrote:
    Id say its Geata or Tigh
    im just guessing that it is either of them just a guess, Tigh because of what happened to him on new Caprica and Geata well i don't know why just a guess, who knows it could even be billy or Elen...

The topic title also warns or spoilers so i am not trying to start a disagreement but i thought it was ok to post away as long as it is not spoilers about a future episode.

sry anyway johnny

Hasn't Ron Moore said that the Cylons are not based on exisiting humans? I think that rules out Tigh as he has a history with a lot of people on the ship.

Although maybe that doesn't apply to the final five, or they've just changed their mind.

Maybe it's Billy :)

from Three's reaction it was someone "You... I had no idea, so beautiful" or something similar so im not so sure about Starbuck maybe she is the chosen one same as Baltar and its her destiny to kill him or something very strange and unexpected like that.

god i cant wait to take a break from all of my worries should be nice, chilled and relaxing

Goodshape wrote:
    Maybe it's Billy :)

thats not so silly, i was thinking the same thing myself.

it would defiantly effect el prez and Dee as well if he was a cylon

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

At first, I thought it was starbuck, it seemed the most logical choice. Her destiny, combined with her blatant knowledge of the symbol not withstanding, she has been brutalised repeatedly not least of which was when she was kept at the internment camp where they tried to impregnate her and whatnot.

But I've since dismissed that idea as the character has too much history, is too well rooted and developed to just be a cylon.

Then I thought, Colonel Tigh. He has suffered the most at the hands of the cylons, from what we've seen and she did seem quite emphatic about her apology ;) But then, pretty much the same reasons as I dont think its starbuck crop up. Too well developed, too human to not be, is my shortest answer really...

But yeah, Anders, he seems like quite a good candidate. There is no really overwhelming reason why she would apologise but that can always come later and there is always the "forced into a guerilla life style for several months and then tried to kill him personally" to contend with. Plus him being a cylon would create the most conflict and be the most interesting. It would also tie in alot of things.

But yeah, I look forward to it either way :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 HEATZ

id guess its anders or dee as that clears the way for the silly love story bit with apolo n starbuck ???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Whats going on with the CGI these days? It's definately on a downwards spiral - alot of the effects in this episode were very poor, not overall for a tv show but definately in comparison to earlier episodes. The part in particular with a Cylon on the ground getting shot at was terrible, it looked like a cheap shot from a game...

A decent episode though. Can't wait to see more interaction with Baltar above all else.

**** the CGI HavoK.
    Its bsg im happy with storyline and dialog

ye I was thinking who does Deana/Three/Zena know well enough to say
    "You - I had no idea"
    Then
    "So beautiful"

Baltar
    Geata
    Tigh
    Starbuck
    Anders
    Adama
    El Prez
    Dee (this one is a steach in my view)

who else? who did she have interaction with on new caprica and on galactica when she was the reporter

Did she ever have an interaction with Billy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Oh don't get me wrong, it doesn't bother me and I enjoy the show just as much. It's just a shame to see it getting weaker when it has been so fantastic in the past....like the espisode where the Cylons board Galactica, that was a fantastic one, with incredible detail. Episode 12 had undetailed, bland Cylons without any real enviromental or other effects, basically they looked extremely out of place and it takes a bit away from the realism, again, especially when they used to look so great.

ill agree they used to look savage like when you send or at the end of lay down your burdens (season 2 finale)

Well all we have to do is wait 7 weeks and see what this episode looks like in sky HD and then we can decide how much its gone down hill.

Its quite possible they are saving money for season 4 because they fear a reduction in funds due to a droop in ratings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Thought that was one of the best in a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

gatecrash wrote:
    Thought that was one of the best in a while.

Me too. I thought the first part was better, but really enjoyed it overall (as did my wife). I think I gave it an 8.