Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Long distance relatonship..... HELP!!

• 21-01-2007 3:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭

Yeah, so i need some help, advice, anything! I live miles away from the girl i love!!!...
    Here's my story.. i'm in love with this scottish girl, she loves me a lot too. We're both awesome. Everything is perfect for she lives in scotland and i'm here in dublin! We speak everyday on msn and i call her every week.. but it sucks! We cant be together! I've got college here which i cant leave and she's got a mom and two lil brothers she cant leave. Alteast not for a good while...

This really sucks. I dont wanna give up on her.. she's awesome!! We're both awesome. She's the nicest person i've ever met and i wouldnt leave her for anything... She's not gonna give up on me either.. But it's just tough and hurts..

So people... anything u can help me with....... :(:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 443 ✭✭cork1

try aer arann costs about 80 quid and have you there from dublin in about 45 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Scotland really isn't too bad OP. Try 3,500 miles away like I did (me in Ireland and herself in US). :) We are happily married nearly 3 years now after doing the long distance thing. I was very lucky though as things don't end up that way the majority of the time.

If you both want a relationship then find a way to make it work but make sure that you BOTH want it, don't want either of you to get hurt if something goes wrong. Best of luck. If you want the longer version of my story or other advice, feel free to PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

I've got a couple of questions.

Are you an undergrad or post-grad

Where is she in Scotland

How long have you been together?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭geminilady

Dont let her go. Love should keep yee strong.Always make an effort wit ur r/ship to keep it going. I know this couple he was from my local area and met a english girl now there married. Dont let the distance thing get to ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I've got a couple of questions.

Are you an undergrad or post-grad

Where is she in Scotland

How long have you been together?

Ahmm.. i'm undergrad.. freshman in coll.
    She lives near glasgow
    and we're together for 5months now.. sort of.. We met in sep and then the love slowly came in over time...

Thanks for all ur support.. Yeah, i'm gonna fly over to scotland next month. Ryan air has some real cheap flights. Its just its not very easy for her to come over to see me. Its not very easy for me to go over either. We havent told our parents bout this.. we aint gonna for a while... someday when things get fine she says she'll move over to dublin. Its gonna take a few years till she can, but we're gonna wait. This is too good to give up on.

I'ld be travelling over just for a day though, like go in the morining and come back by night. So u guys got any ideas what we can do in that much time...? like places we can go and things we can do... I wouldnt wanna waste a day just wandering aimlessly around town with her....

Ruu wrote:
    Scotland really isn't too bad OP. Try 3,500 miles away like I did (me in Ireland and herself in US). :) We are happily married nearly 3 years now after doing the long distance thing. I was very lucky though as things don't end up that way the majority of the time.

If you both want a relationship then find a way to make it work but make sure that you BOTH want it, don't want either of you to get hurt if something goes wrong. Best of luck. If you want the longer version of my story or other advice, feel free to PM.

wow its really cool and inspirational that u pulled thru with her. How long were u guys away from each other and how often did u get to see her??

We both are really supportive to eachother in this. We always only make decisions we both agree on and we agree on everything. She's the best girl i could ever get! I feel really lucky to have someone who understands me that well and is really suportive of me. We're not gonna give up on this. we cant.
    Thanks guys for ur help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

If you're an undergrad it makes it relatively easy for you to spend half the year in Glasgow which should make things easier. Her being near Glasgow is also a bonus, because like you say, Ryanair do some great deals.

Is it Faith who is in College in Edinburgh? Maybe she can point you in the right direction for looking for summer work in Scotland.

Can your girlfriend not arrange accomodation for you so you can stay longer than a day? It puts a lot of presure on a relationship to cram it all into short periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'I did the long distance thing, just make sure that the two of you want the same thing, as I did it for 6 mths, I put in alot of effort, I went over every second wkend (lucky I could afford it) but after the 6mths realised I was putting everything in, so I really hope it works cos it seems hard for you when u have only have the day when you go over. I don't regret any of it I had a ball visiting London every other weekend Best of LucK!'

I dont think i'ld be working over summer in scotland. Although i'ld get to see her more often during summer.
    I can stay in a hotel or bnb in scotland but as i've got coll here, it'ld hafta be short day visits most of the times... i can visit her once every month if not more... Although i'ld probably hafta skip coll to go over to see her cuz weekend flights are usually expensive..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

wow its really cool and inspirational that u pulled thru with her. How long were u guys away from each other and how often did u get to see her??

We both are really supportive to eachother in this. We always only make decisions we both agree on and we agree on everything. She's the best girl i could ever get! I feel really lucky to have someone who understands me that well and is really suportive of me. We're not gonna give up on this. we cant.
    Thanks guys for ur help.

Quite the fairytale story alright and hope you both end up well out of this too.
    We were apart a little over 2 years but I was lucky to be making a good bit of money so I got over there 2-3 times a year and was on business too. Its great that you both agree and are supportive of each other. We just worked through the rough times, keeping busy, sending letters, email, phone, etc. and built up lots of memories from my various trips there. It made us very strong.

We often look over all that stuff now and realise how lucky we were. A good idea might be to make a little diary for both of ye of some sort. We wrote letters in this blue book and kept sending it back and forth, then when we met up we read the letters to each other. Ah thats just my sappy, romantic rubbish. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Ruu himself and his wife are a case of showing that it can work. If both parties put enough effort into something for a real cause, the cause here being the love for each other, then it will work.

OP, since you chat on MSN and ring every so often, that's good. It breaks the lack of communication barrier.
    My suggestion is that the two of you should organise some weekend breaks together between here and Scotland. Make the best of your time together with one another.
    Remember, putting the effort in will return results.
    Good luck. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,989 ✭✭✭patrickc

how did ye meet in the first place? good luck with it.. I had much the same experience once.. she lived in uk me here, saw each other every 6 weeks r so, but we split up not due to disctance..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

your relationship sounds beautiful and i don't see why it shouldn't work :) it is of course tough on the heart, but your keeping in contact should help this. you can do it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

i would recommend you both invest in a microphone & earphones & set up skype :) (got mine in tesco for 5.99) chat for free with her! discovered the wonders of skype recently, so much better than msn for keeping in contact :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

I'm a little confused as to why you're keeping this from your parents? Surely if they knew it would make it easier, you could go over and stay with her rather than just for one day and visa versa???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

I wouldn't let the Irish sea get in the way of your relationship.
    My gf is living in Vancouver at the moment. Met her in Australia and I don't think it's going to work. I'm fairly sure if I get over there to her, it will be to say goodbye.

Good luck!