Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you been to an airsoft skirmish yet?

• 19-01-2007 1:19am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,594 ✭✭✭✭
    Master of the Universe

I think it was Ditpaintball who mentioned a poll about this a little while ago. Just thought I'd throw it up and see what the results were. (plus I want to try and figure out this whole poll thing ;) )

Maybe I should have done this after the 3rd.
    !

Have you been to an airsoft skirmish yet? 19 votes

Yes and I loved every minute of it!
    0% 0 votes
    Yes and I didn't care for it.
    26% 5 votes
    No, but I plan on attending one soon.
    0% 0 votes
    No, skirmishing is not my thing. I'm a plinker ;)
    73% 14 votes
    No, I do not play, own or have anything to do with airsoft (?!)
    0% 0 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

Cant see you getting many people picking the last option. after all, why else would the be in this section of the board?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Still for the sake of completion, it's good to be there ;)

I haven't been to one, going on the 3rd though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,594 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Cant see you getting many people picking the last option. after all, why else would the be in this section of the board?

I've seen stranger things on boards.ie.
    People always give out when you don't have that option.
    Note the (?!) at the end of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Not yet but I think I will,

Get to see face to face the people I've been talking to here.

First tho I want to sell my bike and when I've got a grand in hand I'll get the agm m14 and go to a scirmish. :)

Whats the basic requirements gear wise? I've a basic pair of perspex goggles and a beanie hat, and green clothes, would that be enough to join in?

Danke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭Harekin

You could go wearing pink and yellow if you wanted, its entirely up to you! As long as you have the basic eye protection and a 1<J gun then your fine!

Master of the Universe

Motosam wrote:
    Not yet but I think I will,

Get to see face to face the people I've been talking to here.

First tho I want to sell my bike and when I've got a grand in hand I'll get the agm m14 and go to a scirmish. :)

Whats the basic requirements gear wise? I've a basic pair of perspex goggles and a beanie hat, and green clothes, would that be enough to join in?

Danke

If you can, try and get a good pair of boots. Preferably ones that have about 9 to 10 lace holes. So you can tie your trouser ends into them and not get covered in mud. That's something that drove me mad. Currently trying to break in a new pair ;) They're getting there.

Also, If you can invest another €30 or €40, you could get a nice tactical vest to keep all your fancy bits in. Not as necessary as boots.

Something else I want to get are some knee pads. Constantly kneeling in cold mud wasn't the nicest thing in the world.

Oh and some decent gloves. I dont know about everyone else but I found there were a lot of prickly things on the ground at predator. Speared my palm a few times.

And some nice fluffy ear muffs too right? get over it you sissy. the women up there complained less.

Let me guess who the 4 who voted yes are...Me, NOIP, Spitfire666 and Oisin...yes?

Edited because i posted without thinkin what i was writing......Never mind.

Yeas, we probably are the 4 who voted yes.

Master of the Universe

And some nice fluffy ear muffs too right? get over it you sissy. the women up there complained less.

Sissy? That could be construed as a personal attack. You'd wanna watch yourself. :p

Hopefully after the 3rd that number will have at lest doubled. ugh. I'll have to put up a new pole :eek:

CONSTRUCTED as a personal attack, it was CLEARLY a personal attack.

Ban him, quickly before he incites a rebellion!! ;p

Master of the Universe

CONSTRUCTED as a personal attack, it was CLEARLY a personal attack.

You know, correcting someone when they are correct makes you look like an idiot.

con·strue Pronunciation (kn-str)
    v. con·strued, con·stru·ing, con·strues
    v.tr.
    1. To adduce or explain the meaning of; interpret: construed my smile as assent. See Synonyms at explain.
    2. Grammar
    a. To analyze the structure of (a clause or sentence).
    b. To use syntactically: The noun fish can be construed as singular or plural.
    3. To translate, especially aloud.
    v.intr.
    1. To analyze grammatical structure.
    2. To be subject to grammatical analysis.
    n. (knstr)
    An interpretation or translation.

Master of the Universe

Harekin wrote:
    Ban him, quickly before he incites a rebellion!! ;p

I think I may have to... don't need him making everyone else all uppity! :D

oh Spit, just in case you feel like correcting me again;

up·pi·ty Pronunciation (p-t)
    adj. Informal
    Taking liberties or assuming airs beyond one's station; presumptuous

Who's correcting anybody? i just don't like authority figures.

You used to be cool man.

Master of the Universe

i just don't like authority figures.

Says a member of the Gardaí? Oh the irony.

o1s1n wrote:

WHER????? :eek:

:D:D:D:D:D

o1s1n wrote:
    Spitfire was quite thoroughly burned with that one...oh Lord so burned!

Harekin wrote:
    Spitfire was quite thoroughly burned with that one...oh Lord so burned!

I wasn't burned, do you honestly think i didn't see how ironic that was before i posted it? it was intentional. :rolleyes:

Master of the Universe

I wasn't burned, do you honestly think i didn't see how ironic that was before i posted it? it was intentional. :rolleyes:

Quite

o1s1n wrote:

Quite

:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p:p

LIGHTNING wrote:
    A member of the Gardai! Quick lads get that killer whale back to seaworld on the double!

Why? i know a place will pay good money for one of those..... Mr wongs.