Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alternative to Mondello track day

• 18-01-2007 2:36pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭

Hi all, looking for a bit of input here. My mother in laws b'day is approaching, and ive often heard her say she'd love to fly round a racetrack (i think fly in her mind = 30mph :D ), or drive one of those huge Volvo/Terex dump trucksthat kinda thing.
    Personally i havent done Mondello, but would like to. The basic trackday at Mondello is E250, not too bad as there will be a good few of us chipping in for the pressie. If mondello wins out, then cool, i'll book for myself as well and do it the same day. Im just wondering if any of ye out there have done a "vehicle" day with a difference. Were living in wicklow, so ideally i'd be looking for things close by (would consider mondello close by, an hour or so in the car)

Cheers

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,029 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Track day (where you bring your own car) or race driving school (where you use their single seater rovers)?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,421 ✭✭✭tc20

Sorry kb, should have qualified the mondello exp as the race driving school, the basic (Clubman) package is E250. Mate did it before christmas and said it was great craic. You get a briefing, couple of laps with instructor driving, then you driving a rover 25. Another briefing, and then your in single seaters for a number of timed laps. Full details on http://mondello.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭cormac_byrne

What about 4x4 offroad driving

Extreme Ireland are in Wicklow

http://www.irelandxtreme.ie/index.php?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=308

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

I did the driving school in mondello and an off road driving day. Both very good. I did the one thats one up from the clubman, whatever it's called, and it was worth the extra few bob. I was just getting the hang of the car when the other ones had to get out, so I was glad of the extra laps. Next I need to save up for Rally school Ireland!

Thanks guys

cormac - i was up at Macreddin village one day with herself and saw a couple of those orange defenders from Extreme Ireland pull in for lunch. If it was my choice id plum for the mondello, but we'll see what else shows up here.

biro - is there much of a waiting list at mondello? lets say i rang up tomorrow wanting to book, would i be told next available class is march? not that i mind, just curious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,805 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I just booked the clubman, next available date was 4th March

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭SGKM

I doubt that you'll be able to get anywhere to let her drive a Moxy! I'd say that the closest thing to that in Ireland is the JCB Fastrac driving experience:

http://www.topgifts.ie/mall/productpage.cfm/NewTopGifts/d4x4jcb/83324

Its something different and I'd consider doing it myself!

Thanks for the replies everyone, it looks like Mondello will win thru. Her b'day is in 2 weeks, so i'll let you know how we get on.

@ SGKM - that JCB Fastrac looks the biz, im considering doing that one meself