Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lunch hour - what do you do?

• 16-01-2007 3:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭

A lot of my work colleagues do my head in during the day, and lunch hour the thing to do is go down to the canteen. But some of them wreck my head during the day so I sometimes go home/gran's (she lives up the road) or go up to the shopping centre just to get away. Nobody else does this.

What do you do for lunch do you just go to the canteen or what do you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

We have no canteen so usually take lunch at my desk and browse boards.

If I need to clear my head I go out for a walk and have lunch when I come back.

If people in work are pissing me off I go have lunch in my car, then go for a drive or walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Archeron

Just munch the lunch and browse boards, or if I'm feeling claustrophobic, go for a drive or try to battle my way to Liffey Valley shopping centre to look at over priced pap that I have no desire to buy.

One girl I used to work with used to actually lock herself in a toilet cublicle to eat her lunch and would stay there for the whole hour. Weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

I used to go to the canteen and read a book. When you're reading a book you become invisible...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

Eat lunch, drink coffee, smoke cigarette, sometimes walk on the beach.

Connemara rules :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭Busterpuss

go to the canteen then go for a walk down thomas street to see the great sites that are: Frawleys, Lidls, Spar and the 2euro shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

I work in a small village just outside Cambridge...

95% of time I sit at desk, browse the net and eat lunch
    5% of the time I go to the pub, have pub lunch and a single pint of Guinness (lunchtime drinking is a big feature of English working life :confused:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

r3nu4l wrote:
    (lunchtime drinking is a big feature of English working life :confused:)

Always wondered about that. I wouldn't fancy a pint at lunchtime myself....unless I had a half day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

These days I spend about 30 mins (15 each way) briskly walking from my office to the nearest shopping centre and back and have a quick bowl of soup when I return. I rarely get a full hour for lunch. Trying to lose some of the Christmas 'baggage' and I also find it better to get completely out of the grounds for a while and clear my head. I don't get that feeling when I've been sitting in the canteen for the whole break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Crucifix wrote:
    I used to go to the canteen and read a book. When you're reading a book you become invisible...
    Unless it's Catch 22 in the Henry Grattan.

Work: stick at my desk, it gets really quiet and i can eat and read in peace... if it gets too much, there is a balcony on the 4th floor.

College: If im on my own ill try and find somewhere outside to sit down or keep doing whatever work i was doing in the labs. If im in a group it can vary, Canteen? The Hub? Anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I've only half an hour for lunch and spend 10 minutes of that in a queue in the canteen. So, it's merely a matter of bolting down my food and heading back to work almost immediatley.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

I prefer to take my lunch when nobody else is on for some peace and quiet, I can't stand rubbish small talk :) I get a sub from Quiznos and eat it in our canteen and read whatever sh*tty magazine us there. On my half hour break I get a yoghurt or something small in Tesco and I browse all the clothes shops to see their new lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

my 'lunch' hour is usually at 3 in the morning so i just watch the tv and have something to eat, im usually on boards but it takes its nightly snooze at around 3 for half an hour or so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Rhyme wrote:
    if it gets too much, there is a balcony on the 4th floor.

Suicide is never the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I either go home, when I have a lift, other than that, I eat at my desk and read the paper. We have a canteen, but I don't eat in there, because its too crowded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭1huge1

Well im still in secrondary school but i thought id add my 2 cents
    At lunch I eat in the canteen then walk around the campus talking to friends thats generally how it goes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

When working I usually bring a lunch with me. Usually I'll eat it at the desk, but sometimes in the canteen, depending on where I am working. Also depending on where I am working, the weather or if I have to do something, I night go out for a while. Going home is never an option as I am always working in locations that are not close to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Usually get a sandwich from the O'Brien's bar in the canteen, and go upstairs to my desk and surf the web while I eat. Unless there's something good at the hot counter, when I may get that and sit in the canteen with my colleagues.

Other days I may meet my better half and get something in town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭abetarrush

When I started, I used to go the Square and have my lunch there, cos all the staff are silent in the canteen, and it was kinda awkward. I hate sittin in silence with a room of 10 people, but lately Ive broken the silence and nowadays everyone seems to chat, so I use the canteen

But most of the time I have a mag and my music in case a silent day pops up

Oh yeah, I have lunch also :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Rhyme wrote:
    Unless it's Catch 22 in the Henry Grattan.
    lol

work: ill grab my sambo from my locker, go to the staff room, make a cup of tea and sit there for the hour reading book/magazine/paper/chatting to workmates

college: don't really have a lunch hour, just head to computer labs and surf for a bit!! or the library if i reealy need to catch up on stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Eat a sandwich while reading a sh*tty magazine and then go smoke my brains out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

One girl I used to work with used to actually lock herself in a toilet cubicle and would stay there for the whole hour. Weird.
    Would have thought that was more common among men?! ;)

Sorry ... never could resist temptation! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Suicide is never the answer.
    I really should have worded that better... i meant fresh air :S

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

walk on the beach in connamara for lunch? jesus you are jammy, that would be savage.

if i my on th south side of dublin city i like to stroll into st stephens green, sit on a bench, have a few smokes and just chill and watch da world go by. alternatively hang around the quays, just look at whats going on. if on the northside, line dance my way through the hussle and bussle of henry st or check out collins barracks museum.

or just walk round dublin looking for famous places, i am not originally from dublin, so the place is still bit of a novelty for me.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I rarely ever set foot in the canteen at lunchtime, usually I go for a walk or have a browse in the library. Although some of my colleagues/socialites get offended by this, assuming that I'm a snob/loner/"we aren't good enough", etc because I don't have lunch with them. But mostly because I deal with the public all day I just need to get a bit of space for an hour. It's sad that I have to get labelled as a weirdo because of someone else's insecurities. Besides all they ever do in the canteen is sit and bitch about everyone who isn't there, talk about how much they drank the night before, etc. Gets really boring after a while.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

i agree i was the same in college, they also ask questions about them selves and put themselves down only waiting for you to assure them thy are great (some of these were lads)

sure ya some them almost 24 hours a day, assuming that you would be going for a few drinks/food/cinema etc after college, as interesting as they maybe ya would get bored and run out of things to say to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭strychnine

I usually go to subway for the sub of the day, except on a tuesday when its meatball. Then i go to the stupid snackery in dit where i listen to home and away and eat the melted chocolate bars they sell there.
    They also sell frozen paninis with no way facility to heat them. Yummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭:|

These days I roll over and go back to sleep :|

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I rarely ever set foot in the canteen at lunchtime, usually I go for a walk or have a browse in the library. Although some of my colleagues/socialites get offended by this, assuming that I'm a snob/loner/"we aren't good enough", etc because I don't have lunch with them. But mostly because I deal with the public all day I just need to get a bit of space for an hour. It's sad that I have to get labelled as a weirdo because of someone else's insecurities. Besides all they ever do in the canteen is sit and bitch about everyone who isn't there, talk about how much they drank the night before, etc. Gets really boring after a while.

Same as, nothing worse than trying to have a bit of peace and quiet to hearing the moany Michaels. :)

I work for myself so I don't have to put up with that carry on anymore but often go into town to meet the wifeh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Grab food in the RCSI canteen or in O'Briens and chill out in the park, so perfect in summer! Unless it's raining which ruins everything. Sometimes I go home like the OP, just to get away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Sometimes go to the canteen, or if I wanna be alone I'll go somewhere else and read a book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Canteen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

walk dun laoghaire pier followed by lunch at desk overlooking dun laoghaire pier. if the weather is any way decent swim in sandycove or the 40ft

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 nightfox

Walk over to the Spar, then back to work to eat lunch, then a smoke and a coffee before back to work.

There is feck all else to do in Citywest for lunch!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

I usually have stuff to do on lunch , pay bills , fill in forms for various things , pick up stuff so generally if I dont have something to do Ill have a look around the shops grab a roll and eat that at my desk when lunch is kind of over or just about over.

I couldnt stay in work during my lunch , come 1 I need a break and a bit of air so Im off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭Naked Lepper

used to go to the canteen for about a year and a half with everyone.. seen many new people come and go to the table, once i got my car i started driving home for lunch (i only live down the road) - mainly because i wanted to drive the new car at the time but even now i still leave the building for lunch, the odd time that i do go to the canteen it just does my head in, too noisy and crap food etc

rather have some quiet time alone. nobody else really leaves the building on a daily basis but i dont mind being the odd one out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 flanger20002003

Used to go for a walk with the other people in the office when I worked last summer. Canteen food was rubbish, so used to get a wrap in Insomnia, walk down to the pier and stare at the shimmering water wishing I didn't have to go back to work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Does nobody eat out for lunch? I usually meet up with some of my cronies and go on the skive for an hour or three.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

the only days that i eat out for lunch is when the suppliers / management are paying. at least once every two weeks which is nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Either out to one of the local pubs that do food, down to the shop to pick up a sandwich and back to the office 'canteen', go for a swim or quite increasinly this month home for a cheap lunch and to do some laundry or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

at the moment, check email to see if any job updates, then have a wander around the shops to see if can see anything nice, have a natter, and basically just get out of work for a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Go to the canteen to get my eats on. I usually go for a walk in the summer though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭hamsterboy

Collect gf and drive to beach and have soup out of a thermos.....ALWAYS TASTES BETTER