Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Money for the toilet guy?

• 15-01-2007 2:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭

Had a good night tonight in a place I'd never been before. Was very surprised to see people throwing €2 coins into the dish of the guy who hands you paper towels (that you could get yourself).

I'm sorry people, but I just couldn't justify giving this man €2 for handing me paper towels.

Is it me or is it necessary to have a guy there at all? And if you think he should be there, what do you consider a fair amount to leave in his dish - if anything at all?

Before anyone asks - No I didn't take a mint or a spray of anything!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

oh.... holy..... ****.....

/gets toaster. runs bath.

Groundhog day AGAIN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Rabies wrote:
    oh.... holy..... ****.....

/gets toaster. runs bath.

Groundhog day AGAIN.

I take it this has been discussed ad nauseum somewhere else. Sorry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

No... havent seen this here recently at all, am open to correction of course.

I've often wondered why those guys stand in bathrooms doing that job, is he mostly a security guard or watching for drugs or... aftershave guy?
    You pay extraordinate prices for drinks (yes even nonalcoholic ones) in this city (I eman Dublin:) ) so I don't see why he shouldn't take some of your money as well! It's got to be a bit of a humiliating job, i usually pay cos I feel a bit sorry for anyone who comes here to work in a bathroom watching rich Irish kids get drunk. Hmmmmmmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

There was uproar when Planet Hollywood came in (to Dublin that is) and decided to get people in for the toilets but not pay them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

done to death!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Few months ago (probably more recent ones too) here another here. Same comment by phantom in one of the threads. :)

Ruu wrote:
    Few months ago (probably more recent ones too) here another here. Same comment by phantom in one of the threads. :)
    lol. :) what are the chances..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

at the end of the day ( or night ), the guy is working for free, trying to keep the jacks in a busy club clean, as well as having to put up with countless drunken gob****es.

so cut him a bit of slack and give him a euro or two everytime ya visit the jacks, its hardly gonna kill yis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭mukki

wow you must have money left over after buying the rig in your sig, some of us can't afford to go out much, and when we do we try to keep the spending down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

mukki wrote:
    when we do we try to keep the spending down

Then stop going to poncy bars where there's someone in the jacks handing you a towel to dry your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Used to give money but now I don't. I figured they were probably making more money than me so I got jealous and stopped.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

KamiKazi wrote:
    at the end of the day ( or night ), the guy is working for free, trying to keep the jacks in a busy club clean, as well as having to put up with countless drunken gob****es.

so cut him a bit of slack and give him a euro or two everytime ya visit the jacks, its hardly gonna kill yis

It’s his choice to work there. No one is forcing him.

I can wash and dry my hands myself. I'm a big boy now and well capable!

One thing I don’t like is when the turn off the hand dryers and there is no paper to dry your hands and you’re forced to ask for paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

kearnsr wrote:

I can wash and dry my hands myself. I'm a big boy now and well capable!

One thing I don’t like is when the turn off the hand dryers and there is no paper to dry your hands and you’re forced to ask for paper.

I use toilet paper to dry my hands, that seems to p!ss them off no end though :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

KTRIC wrote:
    I use toilet paper to dry my hands, that seems to p!ss them off no end though :D

That would work if there was any in the jacks in the first place.

I ask them for paper towels that they are stock pilling which pisses them off now end as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

poncy bars

Lol, poncy bar :D You'll not see one of them lads in mine local I tells thee!

But, at the end of the day, if you're well able to get your own towel and soap your own hands, then do it, and don't give the man anything. Same argument as tipping bar staff for every drink - don't do it if you don't want to!

People need to stop being so poncy about these things tbh :p

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

What Pi**es me off the ost about this is when they turn off th hand dryers (as mentioned above) I go to a particular pub in swords where they do this.
    there is a switch on the celing/wall and I just turn it back on and use the dryer.

It Pis*es them off quite a lot :p

Mik

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

KamiKazi wrote:

Is it not the responsibility of the pub / club to keep the toilets clean? I've never seen these guys cleaning (doesn't mean they don't do it obviously).

Generally I'm able to wash and dry my own hands and if there's no paper it takes about 20 seconds for them to dry normally so I don't pay them for that service.

The guys in the pubs that just do their business and just walk out without washing their hands (I'd say it's about 20% of guys) must save all that money and hassle. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Then stop going to poncy bars where there's someone in the jacks handing you a towel to dry your hands.
    In fairness, it's not just poncy bars that do it. In general, anywhere that classes themselves as a "nightclub" seems to have on of these guys on duty. This includes late bars, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Look ..get real here... if these guys were not making money they wouldn't be there. 30 Euro an hour at peak times !!! Tax??? Are you getting that????

Irish people are total gobshoites in my opinion if they shell out money every time they take a pump after already paying inflated prices in the bars.

'Bout time people took a stand and ignored these dudes and don't do like some wombat said earlier "toss them one or two euro every time".

About time this crap was stamped out ,if you excuse the pun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I hate it if im somewhere and they are there... I was in the Arc bar once and there was a guy in the toilet. I think i ignored him the first time, the second time though after another drink or so and hey sprayed cologne on me. Actually it was nice stuff, i had no change so i stuck a fiver in i think.
    Anyway i will mostly ignore them...

However... Im tempted next time to milk it for everything... everything he has, take it... let him dry your hands himself and do not just accept a towel. Sample everything he has and throw in €2. If you everyone made him do all that work they might find it too much work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

The guys in the pubs that just do their business and just walk out without washing their hands (I'd say it's about 20% of guys) must save all that money and hassle. :D

And put their germs and p1ss on the door handle for you to touch.

I always use a piece of tissue on the handle leaving the jacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I would say if a poll was done 90% of patrons don't want these guys.

I mean, the only place where you can get a bit of peace and quiet,do your biz,have a relaxing dump, and there's some dude waiting outside the door,to rip you off TWICE in the same premises.

We Irish are soooo gullible when it comes to this stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

only idiots pay these people and they should be banned from pubs and nightclubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Heyes

In front its not so they can watch for drugs. Many a time ive seen people snorting coke in the toilets and the toilet attendants just sit there. I once walked over to the girl and said sorry but do you know whats going on in there, given the fact that the girl was hardly suttle in snorting loudly.

Anywho, she just shrugged and was like what do you expect me to do. Dont get me wrong yeah drugs is not my scene but everyone s entiltled to do what they want, but if the nightclub is preaching away and installing lighting systems to prevent the drugs happening the least they can do is stop it when its quite clearly happening in front of them,

anyway back on topic,apologise for the rant heehe :p , i normally would put a euro in if i was there for the night, more often than not im just using the tissue they provide rather than the perfume, if i was using the perfume etc i would probable throw in a little bit more,but most certainly not everytime. Whoever said they would put in 2 euro everytime they go in,is out of there mind,.. thats like a tenner on using the toilet on average on a night out !!!!!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'd only pay them if I had a smell emergency after a long day out and needed to use somof their smelly spray stuff before charming the ladies after my 14 drinks. Sure fire winner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I wouldn't piss in their dish let alone put money in it....go and get a proper job tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Mossy Monk wrote:
    only idiots pay these people and they should be banned from pubs and nightclubs

A tad OTT, no? I wouldn't consider myself to be an idiot and yet I give these guys a few bob of an occasion. I'd rather give it to these guys than that annoying begger from Liverpool who harasses people on the Luas.

The choice is yours. I'd call you an idiot if you paid it and then complained about it.

No, but someone mentioned in one of the previous threads about how the claims for slipping on the floor in the toilets (or something else causing harm to yourself) have fallen dramatically since the guys have been placed in there. So they're useful for the owners.

I had a job in funtasia during the summer, there were two chinese guys that worked there, when I went out at the weekend I'd see them working in the pub, then when I left the pub they were working in the nightclub, one of whom was "the toilet guy", I was dammed if i was giving him any money!

When I was in england, extemely locked, I was walking over to the drier, the guy shoved a paper towel in my hand, I thanked him and was on when way when he basically intimidated me into giving him something, so I took some random small coins from my pocket, that's the only tip I've ever given them.

Wertz wrote:
    I wouldn't piss in their dish let alone put money in it....go and get a proper job tbh...

I would assume and correct me if I'm wrong but alot of these lads cant work in anything else hence why they are working in bars.

I wonder how much the tax sets them back at the end of the month?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,029 ✭✭✭um7y1h83ge06nx

These guys really annoy me. Luckily in Limerick here, there isn't too many of them, but they still p*ss me off.

I'm in there p*ssing out the over-priced alcohol I have already bought in the place and now they expect me to fork out more money.

I have never handed money over to them and would only do so if they really helped me out (such as tidying myself up after having some drink accidently spilled on me etc.)

A euro or two seems excessive to have a paper towel handed to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

Ive asked before but are they on a wage? If not, if your talking about the likes of Spirit, holds over 1000. 500 males, 2 jacks iirc, an average of maybe 3 quid each, thats 750 a night your mans making. Lets say he buys 150 worth of cologne for a night, thats still 600 take home. Surely the club takes a cut. Anyone know the story?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Apart from annoying the hell out of me for most of the above reasons I also notice the guy will take any small coins out of the dish so when you look in to see what kind of cash he's getting there's only a few ones and twos in it. This will either make you think:
    1) Poor bugger is making hardly anything, and you pay up
    2) Sh*t everyone else is giving him one or two Euro, must be the going rate so.

I find I start off fine, a few cent here and there but by the time I'm locked God knows how much I'm throwing in.
    Also they tend to befriend a talkative drunk a lot faster than an angry looking sober person. Tip milking is to be frowned upon IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

They're generally not paid by the club.

This exonerates the club from any taxation obligations, and also helps them avoid the whole work permit issue.

The guys provide their own deodorants and colognes (which they probably don't need to replace all that often), and then do whatever else. Some of them keep the toilets clean as part of their service, others are just lazy bastards who sit there ringing their mates and handing out towels without looking at people.

They probably get plenty of money at peak times from people who get the drunk generosity bug, or people who feel guilty/pressured from taking the towels. Some of the time I ignore them, or take the towels and leave. Other nights I may stick €2 in the tray at the start of the night, and then that's all they get from me. Depends on my mood I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

hate them. dont pay them. i dont need some guy (always black i might add, i have never seen a white guy doing it) turning on the tap and then handing me a paper towel.
    if i wanted this treatment, id be first in the line for bring back slavery.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭KamiKazi

kearnsr wrote:

do you honestly think its his first choice of job?
    Is it not the responsibility of the pub / club to keep the toilets clean? I've never seen these guys cleaning (doesn't mean they don't do it obviously).

it is, but if the pub can get someone else to do it for free it means that its one thing that the floor staff dont have to keep an eye on.
    if i wanted this treatment, id be first in the line for bring back slavery.

LOL!

KamiKazi wrote:

do you honestly think its his first choice of job?

I dont think he would be doing it if he was making money from it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

seamus wrote:
    They're generally not paid by the club.

This exonerates the club from any taxation obligations, and also helps them avoid the whole work permit issue.

The guys provide their own deodorants and colognes (which they probably don't need to replace all that often), and then do whatever else. Some of them keep the toilets clean as part of their service, others are just lazy bastards who sit there ringing their mates and handing out towels without looking at people.

Id say over a night people go through litres of the stuff, Id say they need a new bottle of the most popular after a busy night. Do drench myself with the oul white CK and green and black Joop, the stuff is bottled sex :D

For those who like their drugs overrated and overpriced its become customary to tip the guy at least a fiver for kindly ignoring the impressions of a Dyson the glassy eyed customer has been making in the jacks for the past 5minutes.

I do give the lad 2 quid on my first visit. If he lets me apply/shower the cologne myself Ill usually tip him another euro or two for a bit more later on. If hes a scabby sort who sprays you with 3 then tells you to hop off he gets no more.

Did they have these in the 90s before we had many immigrants? Certainly the oul one thought I was taking the piss (so to speak) when I mentioned lads do be selling colognes for tips.

Still though, those working the jacks in Dublins biggest clubs, or the large ones down the country, could be making close on 2 grand if its open Thursday to Sunday. More than 100K per year, its some ****in money. Again, does the club take a cut? A "rent" so to speak, the right to work the jacks of a particularly crowded place?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I give these blokes ****-all.They provide no service whatsoever apart from guilting people into feeling sorry for them.The fact is that these blokes can easily pull in a grand a night ALL tax free and as most of them dont have work permits they're not paying a penny in tax.We're being shafted badly enough by the tax man and then again when you go out for a drink without having to "tip" these surly parasites for drying ourt hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

connundrum wrote:
    A tad OTT, no?

perhaps i was but those people should still be banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

I might consider giving them a few bob if they were half as good as some of the ones over in Asia. They'll give you a proper massage while you wash your hands (or even while doing your business, but thats a bit filthy tbh... not that theres anything wrong with that sort of thing), crack jokes and generally make you feel like you just had a real luxury bathroom experience.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I might consider giving them a few bob if they were half as good as some of the ones over in Asia. They'll give you a proper massage while you wash your hands (or even while doing your business, but thats a bit filthy tbh... not that theres anything wrong with that sort of thing), crack jokes and generally make you feel like you just had a real luxury bathroom experience.

Instead of talking loudly on thier phones,pushing you towards cubicles and generally being rude.Oh yeah,and screaming "racist" at you when you tell them to piss off!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

I don't give them anything nor do I avail of their services unless they hand me a paper towel directly or whatever. I always assumed that they worked for the place and got paid wages though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Yeah that would make the most sense. If these guys (apparently) don't work as security, well then why would the nightclub have them there? I think they must be there as security or else the club is making money from the tips, there's no way they're doing it to help out an immigrant like!