Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

D'Arcy and O'Driscoll

• 14-01-2007 12:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭

We have, I believe, our toughest game of the 6 Nations up first - against Wales in Cardiff. O'Driscoll was out this weekend injured, and apparently D'Arcy took a groin strain today. Has anybody any idea if these guys are in danger of being out for Wales? Even to be out in the run-up to the game is worrying: we want these guys to be top of their game for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭iwincosimcool

Both are expeted to be fit well before then, It will be a tough one alright, Im not sure about the welsh defence though, I reckon they will come out firing in the first half, but well have too much for them in the end. I think the tricky game could be against England, there will be no pressure on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭An Tarbh

there's always going to be pressure on England, they'll win their opening games convincingly and will be coming to Dublin with still the possibility of a grand slam in tact, of course they'll be under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

You know, I'd much prefer them out then out frontrow. Just pop Horgan and Trimble in the centre, Hickie and Murphy on the wings and Dempsey in Full back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Sangre wrote:
    You know, I'd much prefer them out then out frontrow. Just pop Horgan and Trimble in the centre, Hickie and Murphy on the wings and Dempsey in Full back.
    that simple eh? Ah no, I think it would be a disaster if we lost our props, but it's not a case of just popping Horgan and Trimble in - defensively (and in attack) D'Arcy and O'Driscoll know each other inside out. If you look at Edinburgh's second try at the weekend you'll see how dangerous not having that pair in midfield can be.
    I think Ireland will win the Grand Slam - IF, and only if our key players are fit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

Rob Kearney at full back...ye dempsey is solid, but i think kearney offers more all round. Possibly too much to throw him in against Wales, it being the first match and one of the toughest, but he should definitely get a run-out against italy or scotland. I think Dempsey has had his turn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

At FB you want someone comfortable under the high ball and it's a long time since Girv has dropped anything, his positional sense is excellent.

There's less risk involved with Girv, but I'd include Kearney in the squads, and play him for the Scotland game at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭loadabollocks

thats very true, he is one of the best around under the high ball and i agree his positioning is excellent. However know that Kearney seems to be back to himself he doenst look prone to mistakes at all and has qualities in these areas also like any good fullback should. I just think his attacking strengths outweigh the risk involved in not having dempsey. dempsey would be a nice sub too have though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I hardly think you can compare Lewis to Horgan or Trimble. One plays in the centre for his club full time, the other has had huge centre experience for club and country. Neither would be thrown them in the deep end. Obviously we want a full strength team but my point was if those two were out we'd still have a very dangerous backline imo, it wouldn't be a complete disaster and we could still win games, something I'd doubt with a decimated front row. Remeber forwards decide matches, backs by how much. In fact I think Trimble's best position is centre and not on the wing.

Also, dempsey ftw at the moment (injury excluded). He has an amazing last 2 seasons. Kearney is obviously a huge talent but hes not there yet. I don't ever seen Dempsey bottle it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Sangre wrote:
    I hardly think you can compare Lewis to Horgan or Trimble. One plays in the centre for his club full time, the other has had huge centre experience for club and country. Neither would be thrown them in the deep end. Obviously we want a full strength team but my point was if those two were out we'd still have a very dangerous backline imo, it wouldn't be a complete disaster and we could still win games, something I'd doubt with a decimated front row. Remeber forwards decide matches, backs by how much. In fact I think Trimble's best position is centre and not on the wing.

Also, dempsey ftw at the moment (injury excluded). He has an amazing last 2 seasons. Kearney is obviously a huge talent but hes not there yet. I don't ever seen Dempsey bottle it.
    I agree entirely - Lewis isn't in that class. The point i'm making is that BOD and D'Arcy have a great partnership built up over years, and that with either or both of them missing, that position will be jeopardised greatly. I'm not disagreeing about the front row being critical, but as far as i know, our front row isn't injured.

As for Kearney, no way! In attack he is massive, in defence he is shaky. He has, against Ulster and Ospreys made some Howlers under the high-ball, and considering what happened in Paris last year, we need to take NO chances on that. (Again why I'm worried bout our two centres, although now it seems they'll be ok).