Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oh holy jaysus lads...

• 13-01-2007 3:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭

That's right boyos. It's true. It happened. After all this time going back and forth with the bavarian boneheads that are Thomann.de, I went to the same bloke John went to down in Kerry as he had a STONKING deal on a high class guitar. I couldn't help but click buy it now.

It's absolutely fantastic. I used it on a gig last night and it blew my head off. It's just the Gretschiest Gretsch that ever Gretsched. I can't actually get over the fact that I own a Gretsch!

It's just the best guitar ever.

It's got everything. Thin nitro laquer to reeeally show off the grain (which is great), Sperzel locking tuners, trestle bracing, Schaller straplocks, all aluminium hardware, ebony fretboard.. It's got bloody everything!

I've only got one pic of it at the moment as my camera died just after I took it. Probably as a result of the awesomeness of the guitar. It doens't show it off properly but hey, I don't want to get banned.

P1130051.jpg

And just for good measure, I'll show yiz the Tele I got in December when I sold my PRS Santana SE.

PC130047.jpg

Tis a fine twang machine. Got it for €500 quid off our friend Savman.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Not my cup of tea but good call!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Well, you've been on about it a long time, so I'm glad you finally got it. It's always nice when you get shiny new things. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

Congrats on the new guitar :D
    Whats that stain on your mattress in the first pic?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭fish-head

It's ink.. I think. It must have been that time I had an affair with an octopus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,706 ✭✭✭Voodu Child

I thought maybe you were drooling off the side of the bed onto the Gretsch.

mmmm....gretsch...drool.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭vengeance52

that is very tasty, me wants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭The Freeman

looks like a savage machine man congrats, should sound sweet on the oul fender deluxe there ya got.......:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭les-paul

Wow that's sweet man! Now I fulfilled my Les Paul dream I believe I'm growing something about Gretsch. I don't like much the Bigsby on the Tele tough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,658 ✭✭✭Patricide

a guy in kerry sold you that, outta curiosity who???me likey shiney equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

*fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap fap*

Looks gorgeous fish-head, how does she play?

Patricide, the guy has an ebay store: Candy Apple Red Guitars

(mine isn't here yet because I haven't finished paying for it yet, soon though, soon)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

Mmm I wouldnt say no to that White Falcon the kerry guy has

She plays like a mother****er! She'll gimme jazz, she'll gimme blues, she'll gimme rockabilly, she'll gimme reeeeal dirt. Course it sounds best when twanging around. You'll know what I mean soon enough, John!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

GStormcrow wrote:
    Mmm I wouldnt say no to that White Falcon the kerry guy has
    funny how i was thinking the same thing.

fish-head that guitar looks gretschalicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

okay now you need
    a fuzz,
    a slapback echo,
    a tremolo,
    and a reverb

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Nice. Very nice.

Of couse, now you're gonna need a pair of these

Creeper408.jpg

They rock! Where can I get them Doc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Google creeper shoes

Legend! They should come with every Gretsch

I already have two pairs Doc! Hahaha, I'm a step ahead of the game! Can't get them with those soles on them though, they'd make me about 6'6!

You're right about all that stuff punchdrunk.. I've got a cheapo Dano slapback and my amp reverb is great. I deffo need a Trem though. I'm looking at a Carl Martin Surf Trem and Red Repeat to replace the Dano. For now I reckon I'll cool the jets though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

ooh that is gretschy! :eek: :)

i'd love a gretsch, especially the Black Falcon

GREL061040_1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭JMArr

Wow Fish savage lookin guitar man ..thats right up my street. who's this guy in kerry I might have to pay him a visit..what was the damage € wise if you dont mind me asking?? Also what kinda fender amp is that in the pic ?a lot of questions I know :O)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

Nice One Fish-Head. That is a real nice guitar. I hope you have many good years with it ;)

Nice to see(read) grown ups acting like kids when we get new toys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

The amp looks like a Fender Blues Deville

Close but no banana, it's a Blues Deluxe. DeVilles are too damned big!

I could tell you JMarr, but I'd have to kill you. It was a whole lot less than what you'd get it on Thomann for though! A whole grand less.

The seller's name is CandyAppleRed on eBay, and they have a website about to be launched next month. I couldn't reccomend them more, Chris is a nice bloke and they are quick and efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

yeah man i played one here in NYC, it was nice but i didn't really feel it was worth the price tag.. Good one though, tis indeed a beautiful guitar

*counts the days til second Christmas*

*fires up his Hot Rod in anticipation*

We can solve crimes together and play luscious instrumental accompaniments to each scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Maccattack

Fish head. Can you give us a bit of feedback (no pun) on the Nashville.

Tone wise: Would you say its versatile?

Have you tried it with overdrive? Ive heard mixed things about solid body gretschs with overdrive…

Whats it like for lead? Or is it mainly for rhythm?

anything else you can tell me would be appreciated im considering one. or perhaps a tennesse rose.

Maccattack wrote:
    Fish head. Can you give us a bit of feedback (no pun) on the Nashville.

Tone wise: Would you say its versatile?

Have you tried it with overdrive? Ive heard mixed things about solid body gretschs with overdrive…

Whats it like for lead? Or is it mainly for rhythm?

anything else you can tell me would be appreciated im considering one. or perhaps a tennesse rose.

Yeah sure, no problem.

I'd say sure the tones are versatile, every switch setting carries that 'great Gretsch sound' though, so none of the tones are 'conventional' so to speak.

It sounds great with overdrive but I never use very much (only ever about 7 or 8 on the dial, mostly) so I can't really say. I do know that they're producing guitars with Powertron pickups which are meant to handle higher gain and overdrive settings very well.

As far as lead playing is concerned, it's certainly a fantastic lead guitar. However, it sings more than screams. Just ask Brian Setzer or George Harrison about how what great lead guitars Gretsches are. It'd be a sin to relegate a Gretsch to playing purely rhythm. Not that it wouldn't absoultely nail it.