Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scumbag Morons

• 12-01-2007 2:23pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

I got the bus into work today and a couple of scumbags got on a few stops later and did thier usual trick of going down the back of the bus and skinning up.due to the loudness of thier conversation i couldnt help overhear a couple of important facts relating to thier criminal careers.One of them just got out of prison after doing a ten stretch for armed robbery,another had a claim in with the guards for a beating they'd given him in a police station,one was on his way to meet somebody at the top of o'connell street where he would sort him out with gear,anither used to buy gear of such and such,another used to sell it in spain,another used to rob the tills in shops,another was threatened by some bloke who he intends to "do with a hatchet" and so on and so on.The stupidity of these halfwits is astounding.I learned all three of thier names,where they were from,who they asociated with and what they did for a living.Had i been a cop they would all have been nicked and its to my eternal chagrin that random gene-pool cleansings arent allowed.This is far from the first time i've heard halfwits discussing crime opnely on the bus,if there were undercover guards posing as passengers they could arrest the fools as soon as they got off.Or better yet,shoot them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

betcha they used paragraphs tho...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

RuggieBear wrote:
    betcha they used paragraphs tho...

I'd say some scumbag robbed his "enter" key and he can't make a paragraph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭NADA

This is why I am so happy to be standing in Conolly station typing this leaving Dublin for the weekend!

Yeah I am ashamed to sat that for the first time in Galway.I got caught in a fight.The fooker took out a stanley knife.I bricked it and ran.**** sake.I always felt safe in Galway before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

I regularly overhear similar on the 78A.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

BendiBus wrote:
    I regularly overhear similar on the 78A.
    Me too. So often I don't even bother listening anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Degsy wrote:
    .Had i been a cop they would all have been nicked and its to my eternal chagrin that random gene-pool cleansings arent allowed.This is far from the first time i've heard halfwits discussing crime opnely on the bus,if there were undercover guards posing as passengers they could arrest the fools as soon as they got off.Or better yet,shoot them.

They don't care, degsy, because they know the chances of happening to them are slim and none. sad but true.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Eek. I remember taking the bus home a couple of years ago and hearing some fellas arguing about where the pool table was in Mountjoy. It was one of the last times I sat upstairs on the bus at night. This also on what appears to be one of the safest routes - the 31B (out to Sutton/Howth).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

the 42b is bad at the most of times, even at 6 o clock pm you get scumbags smoking, drinking and shouting lewd remarks at any woman/girl that comes upstairs. a few weeks ago two lads were complaining about the price of heroin and the usual fordiners robbing our jobs, once during the summer the 42b was stormed by coppers looking for some dealer, they got him..he was sitting behind me with a sports bag full of stuff, i was sh*tting a brick as i had a bag of clothes afer staying the weekend with my granny and they kept looking at it and me as i hadnt shaved and looked a mess. the number 7 is pretty bad at times as well

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

earphones,,, great invention :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

Well to be honest if you were a under cover guard the only thing you could arrest them for would be the smoking/drinking/public disturbance type stuff.

To be honest people like this mouthing off are usually the more harmless ones. Real career criminals dont air their business in public like that. I'd also suspect that a lot of these people are talking loudly about that to really just try and intimidate other people.

Its stories like this that I feel just confirm how good a decision it was to leave Ireland. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Ciara22

Waitin for a bus today and some guy told me he had to sleep on the street last night. |Out of politeness, I asked him why, and he told me he was staying with a friend whose housemate died. Because he killed him. Needless to say, I walked away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Degsy wrote:
    I got the bus into work today and a couple of scumbags got on a few stops later and did thier usual trick of going down the back of the bus and skinning up.due to the loudness of thier conversation i couldnt help overhear a couple of important facts relating to thier criminal careers.One of them just got out of prison after doing a ten stretch for armed robbery,another had a claim in with the guards for a beating they'd given him in a police station,one was on his way to meet somebody at the top of o'connell street where he would sort him out with gear,anither used to buy gear of such and such,another used to sell it in spain,another used to rob the tills in shops,another was threatened by some bloke who he intends to "do with a hatchet" and so on and so on.The stupidity of these halfwits is astounding.I learned all three of thier names,where they were from,who they asociated with and what they did for a living.Had i been a cop they would all have been nicked and its to my eternal chagrin that random gene-pool cleansings arent allowed.This is far from the first time i've heard halfwits discussing crime opnely on the bus,if there were undercover guards posing as passengers they could arrest the fools as soon as they got off.Or better yet,shoot them.

Arrest them? For what? The only arrest which could have been made there would be after yer man makes the deal on o'connel street. All the rest is just them talking rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭LizardKing

Ciara22 wrote:
    Waitin for a bus today and some guy told me he had to sleep on the street last night. |Out of politeness, I asked him why, and he told me he was staying with a friend whose housemate died. Because he killed him. Needless to say, I walked away.

Ahh yeah .... the Ol' "Sleepin' on the street , kill'd the housemate line" .... very rare to see these days because of its high failure rate .... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Yeah I am ashamed to sat that for the first time in Galway.I got caught in a fight.The fooker took out a stanley knife.I bricked it and ran.**** sake.I always felt safe in Galway before.
    Galway and Belfast, safest places in Ireland. The times I staggered home and some scumbags come up and ask for a fag and I just give them one or two and off they go. Was never even worried, maybe that's the trick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

ChRoMe wrote:
    Its stories like this that I feel just confirm how good a decision it was to leave Ireland. :(

So there are no scummers anywhere else on the planet? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

Ciara22 wrote:

You should have thwacked him with your handbag! :eek:

BendiBus wrote:
    So there are no scummers anywhere else on the planet? :rolleyes:

Not saying that at all everywhere has its share of undesirables. However I do think that IReland and the Uk has more street violence to other places. I'm sure there's a huge mix of social-economic reasons for this that I cant pin them all down.

This is anecdotal evidence but I feel its worth mentioning anyway. Anyone in Ireland I dont think will dispute the amount of violence caused by binge drinking sessions during the average weekend. But for example here in spain I've never seen any drunken brawls.

Which is pretty strange if you subscribe to the Irish goverments mentality of "if we reduce pub opening hours drink fueled violence will decrease". The logic to me seems flawed as you can drink 24 hours in spain and yet drunken violence isint a issue. I recall recently leaving a nightclub and having some of what I think was abuse being said to me becuase I'm with a spanish woman. I turned to one of my friends and asked should I expect a fight if these people are behaving themselves like this. My spanish friend was so surprised and laughed and said they were just making fun of my freckles (sp?) and that such things very rarely happen.

Look at the irish stereotype portrayed around the world. Its one of a violent drunk (I think the simpsons had a episode in ireland where everyone was just fighting outside pubs?!) I'm not saying thats true of everyone but I've found there usually is a grain of truth in most cultural stereotypes and as a Irish person living abroad I have to admit that I agree with that stereotype to a degree (I wish I didnt btw)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

ChRoMe wrote:

Look at the irish stereotype portrayed around the world. Its one of a violent drunk (I think the simpsons had a episode in ireland where everyone was just fighting outside pubs?!) I'm not saying thats true of everyone but I've found there usually is a grain of truth in most cultural stereotypes and as a Irish person living abroad I have to admit that I agree with that stereotype to a degree (I wish I didnt btw)

They are afraid of irish people in alaska and they make them big up there.

I was in a town of about 2000 people for a month. not a whole lot to do except sit in hotel or go to pub, so i went to the pub most nights didnt drink most nights just went for a chat, one of the locals bumpd into me and spilled in beer on me he put his fists up ready for a fight... he presumes all irish people do in pubs are drink and fight.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Eh it annoys me when they are doing hard drugs i mean the way someone can sit on the back of a bus with a spoon and a lighter is a load of ****e.
    smoking smokes is not relay on in fact its kinda sad that you cant wait to get to your stop, then again i do understand that when your on the "buzz" and having a good time having a drink on the bus on the way into town its only natural for a drunk smoker to have a smoke.

i don't like it much myself but i can deal with it and don't mind making a small sacrifice for other peoples happiness.

Smoking doobies or joints or 2 skinners or whatever you all cal them is fine in my view it is common place on night links and only ever once was something done about it. the bus driver stopped outside rathmines gardai station. i think on the nitelink on the way home most people either smoke ciggerates or doobies or else don't mind people smoking otherwise you would not sit upstairs on a nitelink

Its the hard drugs and the "how'R'yAs" and also the very lowd for no reason people that get to me on busses.
    EDIT: and kid/students

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Degsy wrote:

Yep, I heard much the same scumbag ramblings a few weeks ago while I was in the Submarine bar, Crumlin watching some football. I had to get up and leave as they were doing my head in, trying to out-skang each other.

They should be sterilised, the dirty little knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The rare times I have been on Dublin Bus, I was going from Blanch shopping centre to bus aras (don't know what number it was) and at one stop, on hopped a Garda to drag one chap out by the hood who was in a group of lads at the top. Plenty of skanger talk and loud music and all that, meh.
    I can't say I have noticed many issues with public transport where I am in middle o' nowhereville in the US which is nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

User45701 wrote:
    Eh it annoys me when they are doing hard drugs i mean the way someone can sit on the back of a bus with a spoon and a lighter is a load of ****e.
    smoking smokes is not relay on in fact its kinda sad that you cant wait to get to your stop, then again i do understand that when your on the "buzz" and having a good time having a drink on the bus on the way into town its only natural for a drunk smoker to have a smoke.

i don't like it much myself but i can deal with it and don't mind making a small sacrifice for other peoples happiness.

Smoking doobies or joints or 2 skinners or whatever you all cal them is fine in my view it is common place on night links and only ever once was something done about it. the bus driver stopped outside rathmines gardai station. i think on the nitelink on the way home most people either smoke ciggerates or doobies or else don't mind people smoking otherwise you would not sit upstairs on a nitelink

Its the hard drugs and the "how'R'yAs" and also the very lowd for no reason people that get to me on busses.
    EDIT: and kid/students
    I'd rather they were doin heroin than smoking, cos at least then I don't have to put up with the bus filling with the stuff. Nothing worse than people who smoke on buses. Nothing.

DaveMcG wrote:
    Nothing worse than people who smoke on buses. Nothing.

you think there is nothing worse than people smoking on public transport??

Jeez I wish I lived in your world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Scum like that are one of the many reasons why I despise public transport. Only spent first year of college on the bus, got myself a car then. No comparison for convenience and security.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

OP, don't ever under-estimate some individuals capability for stupidity. For example I've recently taken to walking thru a rather impoverished set of flats in order to cut down my walk to work in the morning. Point being on a wall outside these flats , in big spray painted letters, reads '[name withheld] is a child mellester'

Fortunately a local pedant noticed this spelling error and took it upon themselves to correct this poor example of wordsmanship with yet more spray paint.

The slogan now reads in multicolour "[name withheld] is a child millester"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Yep, I heard much the same scumbag ramblings a few weeks ago while I was in the Submarine bar, Crumlin watching some football. I had to get up and leave as they were doing my head in, trying to out-skang each other.

They should be sterilised, the dirty little knackers.

:) dont worry about it, luckily enough they have plans to bring that place to the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,193 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I was on a bus from Galway - Ballina before, just on my way to work because my car broke down, I was reading a book and happy out, then two moronics sh!theads sat down behind me and startin drinkin can of Dutch Gold, anyways a guy got on along the way and he had dark skin, so the guys started hitting our seats, telling him that his kind was ruining our country and that his grandfather would be disgusted at who we let in etc. etc.
    So like an idiot I decided to stick up for the guy, one of them got something like a hammer out of his bag and just knocked me across the head, so I stood up and shouted holy hell at him...nobody else on the bus said a word, the bus driver didn't do anything. So the guy tells me he'd crush my f'in skull blah blah and that he'd get off the bus wherever I was getting off, I told him exactly where I was getting off and if he wanted a fight that was fine with me, after I yelled at them the other guy got quiet, anyways as we were getting to my town the guy puts his hand by my headrest and offered a hand shake and I told him to F**k off and that was that.
    How can Bus drivers let that kinda crap go on? And secondly how can the other passengers let it go on....and ever notice when you actually confront these scumbags they cower like scalded dogs?
    Anyways thats my story, assaulted on a bus, accepted fight, guy backs down, everyones happy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Degsy wrote:
    Had i been a cop they would all have been nicked
    No they wouldn't. :) They'd have no problem saying all that to a guard. They're junkies, they rob. Nothing new there. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

The back o bus scummers are C-nts!!
    Isnt it about time that there were smoke alarms on the buses anyway , if we cant get rid of the skangers we can at least spoil their fun.

I dont let the Hard "prison bragging" of wannabee career criminals get to me i find it funny , anyone who allegedly spends that much time in jail should change careers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

On the 16 last weekend out to the SCR I was sitting behind some guy who was trying to buy a free travel pass from his mate! He seemed to have secured it for fifty euro though, which I thought was a good deal.

Have experienced loads of scumbags on public transport, moreso than anywhere else that I can think of.

The saddest was on the Luas one day, a woman who I was sitting beside who was obviously homeless and had no money started talking to me. She told me she had nevr been homeelss and didnt know what she was going to do.
    I couldn't give her money because I was literally broke after shopping, and told her that, but it looked like I was just selfish. And that's when I first copped on to the fact that all homeless people are not thieves, alcoholics or scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Yup, there's a lot to be said for compulsory sterilization all right ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

DaveMcG wrote:
    I'd rather they were doin heroin than smoking, cos at least then I don't have to put up with the bus filling with the stuff. Nothing worse than people who smoke on buses. Nothing.

What about sitting on one of their discarded and used syringes ?
    Think I'd rather have some passive smoke than worrying about whether
    I'd caught Hep or HIV.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

ChRoMe wrote:
    To be honest people like this mouthing off are usually the more harmless ones. Real career criminals dont air their business in public like that.
    Not so sure about that. There was a technically bright hacker in Downey, California, that was installing RATs on hundreds of people's computers and selling their computing capacity for over $50,000 USD/year. They busted him after he bragged on a forum. Self-esteem problems or a hidden desire to get caught?

What about sitting on one of their discarded and used syringes ?
    Think I'd rather have some passive smoke than worrying about whether
    I'd caught Hep or HIV.
    I was speaking tongue in cheek, but as long as they take their contaminated sharps with them, it's A-okay! :D

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

DaveMcG wrote:
    Nothing worse than people who smoke on buses. Nothing.
    what about someone taking a dump on the seat beside you? :D

Not so sure about that. There was a technically bright hacker in Downey, California, that was installing RATs on hundreds of people's computers and selling their computing capacity for over $50,000 USD/year. They busted him after he bragged on a forum. Self-esteem problems or a hidden desire to get caught?

Do you not think thats of a bit apples and oranges situation? I can see technically how its the same thing but the amount of social/economic differences in the two situations just makes me feel its a different thing.

kbannon wrote:
    what about someone taking a dump on the seat beside you? :D
    Touché! Eww :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

ChRoMe wrote:
    This is anecdotal evidence but I feel its worth mentioning anyway. Anyone in Ireland I dont think will dispute the amount of violence caused by binge drinking sessions during the average weekend. But for example here in spain I've never seen any drunken brawls.

Which is pretty strange if you subscribe to the Irish goverments mentality of "if we reduce pub opening hours drink fueled violence will decrease". The logic to me seems flawed as you can drink 24 hours in spain and yet drunken violence isint a issue. I recall recently leaving a nightclub and having some of what I think was abuse being said to me becuase I'm with a spanish woman. I turned to one of my friends and asked should I expect a fight if these people are behaving themselves like this. My spanish friend was so surprised and laughed and said they were just making fun of my freckles (sp?) and that such things very rarely happen.
    I hear ya. Having been on the razz in Madrid(Madri' to the locals) and elsewhere in Spain away from the touristy areas on more occasions than is good for my liver I can definitely agree with you there. One of the reasons in the smaller towns might be the presence of whole families with kids and grannies out in the pubs surprisingly late. I suppose people are far less likely to start or ignore a fight if there are children around.

In Madrid I've never seen anything like the madness that can be seen in Dublin. The volume of drink and the headlong rush to consume same that is part of our culture is a big part of it. They just don't drink as much. Certainly in beer. The thing I noticed in Spain and in Italy is the size of the bogs(bear with me...). A large pub or club would have a tiny(by Irish standards) jacks. What that tells me is that they simply aren't consuming and thus expelling the same amount as we do.

Their attitude to getting blasted is very different. They do drink but seldom to the point of being completely bladdered. Makes for a lot less scumbags on the streets that's for sure.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

That is true, but if there's one thing worse than a drunk scumbag it's a sober one. Not in terms of his potential threat, just the fact that someone can be so obnoxious and be able to walk a straight line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

I wouldnt worry about it,their everywhere

Wibbs wrote:
    In Madrid I've never seen anything like the madness that can be seen in Dublin. The volume of drink and the headlong rush to consume same that is part of our culture is a big part of it. They just don't drink as much. Certainly in beer. The thing I noticed in Spain and in Italy is the size of the bogs(bear with me...). A large pub or club would have a tiny(by Irish standards) jacks. What that tells me is that they simply aren't consuming and thus expelling the same amount as we do.

Their attitude to getting blasted is very different. They do drink but seldom to the point of being completely bladdered. Makes for a lot less scumbags on the streets that's for sure.

Nail. Hammer. Head. (of course you are agreeing with me :D )

I live in Valencia which attracts **** all tourists becuase when people come to spain they go to the touristy cities Madrid Barcelona and to a lesser extent Malaga. Valencia doesnt have anything to attract foreigners (one of the reasons I love it) its totally Spanish if you get my meaning.

All my friends are spanish here and the first few times I went out with them they couldnt understand why the irish guy was having to go home at 5 in the morning. It took a while to understand and adapt to the different cultural relationship with drink here. They do easily drink as much as us (if not more TBH). But its how they drink is the issue.

For example regular nightclubs here go until 8am with regular bars go until 3am (mon-sun) and if you want to keep going after 8am there is no shortage of clubs that open at 9 in the morning and keep going all day.

The two main differences in the mediterain attitude to drink are the following:

1. Stupid licencing laws dont apply here. If you want to drink your whole way through the night/morning no problem. So there is no last orders rush so you dont have people knocking back drink at crazy speeds (plus taxi's arnt ever a problem).

2. In Ireland its socially aceeptable to be seen totally out of your face. Here it s not.Spanish dont want to get to the point where they are totally ****ed where in Ireland its allmost worn as a badge of pride. They drink slowly but consistantly.

My nightlife experiences here in Spain have on average been far more enjoyable than those I had in Ireland for the reasons stated above. Ireland has a really messed up attitude to drink that really needs to be addressed IMHO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

and I'm sure everything they said was 100% true.
    Sure I done time for being too sexy, it's illegal ya know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,715 ✭✭✭marco murphy

biko wrote:
    Galway and Belfast, safest places in Ireland. The times I staggered home and some scumbags come up and ask for a fag and I just give them one or two and off they go. Was never even worried, maybe that's the trick?

Give them one, they ask for two, give them two its the whole box.
    You can't win with scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

There is an alley way behind the grand central pub on o'connell st. A crowd of scobies hang around every day without fail drinking their cans of dutch and bulmers and other sh1te like that. Sometimes their kids join them to do their homework on the beer barrels at the back. You ring the Guards and what do they do? Absolutely nothing. Yes NOTHING. Turn a blind eye.

I dont understand why the kids arent taken into care. Its a very sad existance however when you see the guards turning a blind eye, its outragous. Why dont they haul them in and find a prison cell for them to dry out? Hold them in for as long as it takes. Some of these lads would be better off in jail. If I went down o'connell st with a can of dutch in my hand, as sure as hell i'd be stopped and hauled into the cop shop. Fact. However day in day out these lads and lassies take the p1ss. And to think social welfare is paying for these guys to be out on the street and paying for a roof over their head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,595 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

stepbar wrote:
    There is an alley way behind the grand central pub on o'connell st. A crowd of scobies hang around every day without fail drinking their cans of dutch and bulmers and other sh1te like that. Sometimes their kids join them to do their homework on the beer barrels at the back. You ring the Guards and what do they do? Absolutely nothing. Yes NOTHING. Turn a blind eye.

I dont understand why the kids arent taken into care. Its a very sad existance however when you see the guards turning a blind eye, its outragous. Why dont they haul them in and find a prison cell for them to dry out? Hold them in for as long as it takes. Some of these lads would be better off in jail. If I went down o'connell st with a can of dutch in my hand, as sure as hell i'd be stopped and hauled into the cop shop. Fact. However day in day out these lads and lassies take the p1ss. And to think social welfare is paying for these guys to be out on the street and paying for a roof over their head.

These "Citizens" are junkies that hand around the Abbey St, Boardwalk , Custom House, Tara St. Dart station, Luke street, townsend street/ Pearse street areas.
    They spend their day between the Methadone clinics on Pearse Street and Abbey Street.
    When not shooting up or taking Phy or tablets they are drinking. All this with their kids in tow.
    Its an absolute disgrace :mad: :mad: