Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Blast with Tim Kelly

• 11-01-2007 6:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭

Today FM's new night-time host since Ray Foley departed the slot late last year.

Does anyone listen to it? More to the point, can anyone stand him? He rants on with utterly pointless crap so often... It's unbearable. He'll come out with something like: "Pussycat Dolls for Marie in Kildare - I remember having a cat when I was in sixth year. We all got kind of tired of it, so I gave it to my girlfriend. It ran away"... before telling us all about the daily tragedy of cats getting run over. "So remember, if you're on the roads tonight, stay safe."

Wasn't the biggest fan of Ray and JP at night-time, but this is absolutely awful. I've taken my listening elsewhere, but I like Small Hours, so I occasionally catch the last copule of minutes of it. It's still so bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭legspin

Same here. All it ever was was cheap filler between Pet Sounds and Small Hours but at least with Foley and JP it was mildly funny sometimes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭patrickc

floody or tracy lee should be doing it.

No get rid of it all together. It adds nothing and does nothing but fill air. Surely something else other than another ****e pop show could be tried

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭radioman

How Tim Kelly ever got on national radio in the first place is beyond me. Willie O 'Reilly must be givin him one or something. He is the worst excuse for a worn out cliché dj I have ever heard.

Maybe Today FM should take their fingers out and poach another one from 2fm. Rick O 'Shea springs to mind. He's been shoved from one slot to another on 2fm and I'm sure would be tempted to return to a late night time slot which suited him so well in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭limerick_man

Any man who wants to return to a night show would be out of their mind. I dont think Tim Kellys so bad, but maybe it'd be an idea to move one of the stations most talked about DJ's (Mr. Dineen) to a PM slot rather then constantly leaving him in the back arse of nowhere.

Or instead of a full 2 hour shift in slot maybe push him back for an hour and then fill that hour (10-11) with a concert like 2fm do on occasion. It'd take a large stockpile of concerts but would be good non the less... yeah, liek a ramdom hour where they air concerts/try out new DJ's/ new concepts/ maybe do the odd comedy thing or even air the odd stand up comedy gig...
    'The Random Hour on 100-102 Today fm' ... I'm so never getting Willie's job. ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

the new guy is useless!!!! he's not a patch on ray nd jp..

i miss them...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭bbability

He wasn't meant to be JP or Ray Foley. Tim Kelly has been in this business for as long as I remember. He a true gent and don't think he looked for that show, it was given to him I'd say. Anyone stepping into that slot was going to get burned after Foley's ratings for that time of night. I thought they should have gone to the local stations and recruited the next rising star. I don't think that style of show would have suited Floody or Tracey Lee. Timmy Ryan comes to mind. (aka dickie Bow from alantic 252).
    As for Donal Deneen, unfortunatley his JNLR's weren't great so that's why he's on the graveyard shift. I know he has a fan base who like his style of music but in this day and age it dosen't sell advertising and that's the key to Radio these days. The JNLR is like the bible and if the bible looks bad it bye bye presenter.

but has he ever been on prime time radio? You cant really expect a DJ to perform well on that shift

The decision to move Donal to that slot was inevitable. His listeners are too savvy to listen to the ads (of course I am:rolleyes:) and his show wouldn't go down well if it was much earlier in the day. The music he plays just isn't populist enough for the marketing fcuks to pigeon hole. There was a time on his old show where the only ads seemed to be for male hair loss stopper. Why the idiots (and I believe they are) in marketing thought that his audience were all men over the age of 35 I have no idea. But.....

He's worked on Dublin's 98fm before heading to Today Fm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Big Balls

bbability wrote:
    As for Donal Deneen, unfortunatley his JNLR's weren't great so that's why he's on the graveyard shift.

Will you give up the bullsh1t. :rolleyes:

The man has never been on daytime radio so there are no JNLR figures to suggest anything like you're claiming.

There are plenty of reasons why people are on late night radio other than 'not being good enough'.

Perhaps that is the time day that Today feel is best for that show. Another station could feel that 10pm would suit them..

"that's the key to Radio these days."

Really? I thought it was always about figures, no?

Big Balls wrote:
    Really? I thought it was always about figures, no?
    Figures...JNLR........ yes they come under the one heading in most radio stations last time I checked.:p
    So how do you think stations monitor listenrship figures. The Jnlr figures are their main source of feedback given that their bills are paid by advertising revenue. Mainly the JNLR survey is taken between 7am and 7pm (last time I was near a radio station). However THEY DO carry out more extensive number crunching (after peak times and weekends) for some of the bigger stations IE Today Fm Fm104, 98fm and many others. How do you think they get audience figure for Phone Shows and the like? :rolleyes: Or maybe you can tell me since you seem to know it all?

bbability wrote:
    How do you think they get audience figure for Phone Shows and the like? :rolleyes: Or maybe you can tell me

Well yeh I could actually but that's not the point of the thread.

JNLR doesn't suit the stations the way you're making out. There's no 'extra surveys' for "the big stations". There's time blocks which the stations use to figure out how shows are doing. Night time shows are included, phoneshows are no exception, they're just in it.

Fair enough, you have an interest in radio, keep it up by all means but try to keep stuff that isn't true/fact/happens out of the discussion.

A perfect example was your quote "unfortunatley his JNLR's weren't great so that's why he's on the graveyard shift".

Unless your name is either Tom or Willie then you made that bit up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

I loved this show when Ray and PJ where on it listening to class songs and that stuff before going to school the next day was great.And then one day Tim Kelly filled in for them as they where away somewhere and i just turned the radio off.And since they left I have never even listened to the blast cause Tim is so annoying lol.

Big Balls wrote:
    Well yeh I could actually but that's not the point of the thread.

Look if you want to have a jibe at me (and you have a history of rubbing people up the wrong way) water and duck come to mind.

Believe me, I have no desire to rub you in any direction.

People who think they know radio inside out posting complete rubbish pi55es me off. Simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Milktrolley

Anyway...

Dan Ruane suits the night-time slot perfectly I think with his show on Beat 102-103 (which I now listen to before midnight instead of Today FM). I don't know if Phil Cawley would be interested in nights, but he's worthy of a more regular slot than the one he has. I'd love something akin to Friday Night 80s at that time, but that would leave your stereotypical Ray/JP Blast listener in the wilderness, and I doubt they'd want to do that. But if they just let an automated playlist run for the two hours that would be far preferable than what's on now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 fatladysang

bbability wrote:
    Timmy Ryan comes to mind. (aka dickie Bow from alantic 252).

Timmy Ryan works at WLR and Mark Whelan aka "Dickie Bow" does breakfast on 95FM. Two diferent people.

Mark Whelan does breakfast on 95FM.
    :eek: Oh, oh dear god no.... No, lets not put him on national radio, in fact i think we should send him to Kerry or Clare fm rather than a mainstream station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

:eek: Oh, oh dear god no.... No, lets not put him on national radio, in fact i think we should send him to Kerry or Clare fm rather than a mainstream station.

?? :confused: Surely Radio Kerry and Clare FM ARE mainstream stations ? In fact, it could be argued that they're even more "mainstream" than most, given that their programming covers every age group and interest at some stage of the week, rather than the bare 15-35 advertiser-friendly-with-disposable-income group.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 rockystar

night time is definetly missing Ray and JP
    Tim Kelly (or TK as he liks to call himself) has nothing on the show lik ray and jp did...games and interactin with the llisteners xcept for readin texts every once and a while...
    today fm needs a new dj there with some fun because its listeners are mostly students and tired night shift workers lol
    tk does nothing to entertain...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 lampydoo

bbability wrote:
    As for Donal Deneen, unfortunatley his JNLR's weren't great so that's why he's on the graveyard shift.

Obviously you havn't a clue what your on about, Donal Deneen is on nights simply because of his style of presentation and music which he does flawlessly. You claim that his JNLR figures "weren't great" tell you what you try do a specialist gig at that hour and see how you get on! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 Gavingaz12

Tim Kelly a good dj . why do people give out so much about every things its mad
    are we that perfect our selfs . Cop on to your selfs lifestyle to short .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭GSF

Gavingaz12 wrote: »
    Tim Kelly - nobody has complained about him since 2007!

Never saw the date sorry lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

Gavingaz12 wrote: »

This made me laugh, welcome to Boards Gavin. I'm not being funny, but if you don't like reading about people giving out about things then Boards really isn't the place for you. I was like you once, full of ideals and a can't-we-all-just-get-along attitude... it was swiftly beaten out of me by yet another person ripping my posts apart. The key to it is if someone disagrees and puts their argument across well then take it and counter it and block out the rest of the ****e where people have nothing better to do than complain.

And for the record, Tim Kelly is a horrendous excuse for a DJ. :p That's the reason he has never held a prime time slot for too long in Today FM for the whole time he's been there since D'Arcy replaced him.