Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we a couple?

• 08-01-2007 12:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Ok so I've been dating this guy now for about 3 weeks, we have met up on a few ocassions and we text each other every day but are we a couple?

I don't want to ask him out straight if he thinks of me as his girlfriend as I might scare him away (this has happened me before).

Has anybody been in this situation before?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

No, don't say what the scientist said or you will get dumped :rolleyes:

Ask him what he wants to get out of what you got atm, shouldn't scare him away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I agree with Kenny, go with the flow of things...time will tell.

Or if you wanna do the whole sneaky women technique - get a mate of yourse to ask a mate of his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Kenny 5 wrote:
    No, don't say what the scientist said or you will get dumped :rolleyes:

Ask him what he wants to get out of what you got atm, shouldn't scare him away.

Why shouldn't she?:D
    There isnt enough communication around! if people talked to each other openly then we would be out of a job in PI.

OP why dont you just ask, as the scientist says it can be done in a several ways.. even jokingly "are we going out now then ?" followed by a big grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Well she's already tried it before and it didn't work. I think a different approach may work.

It may not be what she's saying either, but how she's saying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I was kissing this girl for about a week and a half and she referred to me as her boyfriend one day, and i turned around and said "wait a sec, how'd you know im your boyfriend? you have you ask!" grinning and she smiled and said "I don't have you ask, i know you are ;)" and gave me a kiss. I'm still going out with her :D

I thought it was great anyway :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Just enjoy yourself as mentioned, I don't think you need to put a label on your relationship this early. Bring it up if you wish later if it is bothering you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

I think you are in that transitionary period where you are no longer dating but not yet a couple: you are officially "seeing each other". Have fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭ChRoMe

3 weeks?!?! Erm I think it would probbably be best that you get to know each other before trying to label yourself in a relationship.

From my personal experience I wouldnt consider bring in a relationship until _maybe_ after a couple of months at minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

Hohohoho wrote:
    I was kissing this girl for about a week and a half

Christ your lips must have been sore!

Anyway OP, why ask? It doesnt need a label at this early stage .. just enjoy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭sweet-rasmus

Ruu wrote:
    Just enjoy yourself as mentioned, I don't think you need to put a label on your relationship this early. Bring it up if you wish later if it is bothering you.

precisely! or, wait 'til you hear him introduce you to someone else. that's a lovely way to her it first :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 265 ✭✭Shinners23

Ah here....its just been three weeks....go with the flow. Its very early days to label it "boyfriend/girlfriend" - that would scare me off and I'm a lady?!!!!!:) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Kenny 5 wrote:
    It may not be what she's saying either, but how she's saying it.

very possibly....*
    but i think Hohohoho story is quite sweet though

*imagines op wearing wedding veil and dress and asking "are you my boyfriend?"

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You could say something along the lines that you've been seeing each other for a couple of weeks, and you think it's about time you promoted him to boyfriend. You can present him with a small commemorative plate at that stage if you feel the need. :)

Do you feel like you're a couple?

'He acts like were a couple when we are out in public so I think ill probably just wait it out and see what he has to say'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

Originally Posted by Hohohoho
    I was kissing this girl for about a week and a half
    6th wrote:
    Christ your lips must have been sore!

LOL legend! :D

3 weeks aint much though it might feel like it just go with the flow and see where it takes ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Simple, suggest a week-end away, once yis come back yis can then refer to each other as Boyfrind and Girlfriend.

The week-end away is like the "Next Step"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 Pappa-eat-peach

Good idea with the weekend away! Talk to hi and ask him if he "believes" that you are his g/f. If you both believe a thing to be true, then it may will be for both.

he could just do what i did...after about 6 weeks I just turned around and said "So you know the way we are going out now...?" and she says "Yeah..."

Really handy and none of this "Will u go out with me" bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

cornbb wrote:
    I think you are in that transitionary period where you are no longer dating but not yet a couple: you are officially "seeing each other". Have fun.
    Bingo - I'd just go with the flow and say nothing. What does it matter anyway? The only way things can go wrong now is if you pressure the guy. If you say nothing then before very long you'll be his gf and u won't have to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

i was seeing a guy for about 2 weeks , he had asked me to go to the pub with him one day, but i txted him that night saying i was way too tired and i was just going to go to bed, he said he was too tired too and was going to bed aswell, but i was talking to my friend the next day and he told me that the guy i was seeing was out..of course i was a bit pissed off and he knew i was, but the following night i met him and i said "sorry for being pissed off wit you, sure you can do what you like, i have no hold over you" and he said "i want you to have a hold over me"...so that night he asked me to be his girlfriend....so maybe if you make a comment like that...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Just go with the flow... right now, if I had to label what you have it'd be that you're 'seeing each other' but why the need to label things? It's going well so just fly with it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

I would say that you are still just dating, unless you have had a converstaion about being exclusive and not seeing anyone else or that you intend to take the relationship seriously and give it a go for the next while as a couple and set the terms of the relationship between you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 245 ✭✭~nop~

It'll come nicer if you don't stress it you know. Seeing is a good way of putting it, though this can be replaced with scoring depending on your immaturity.

Good luck though!! It sounds like you're having fun in anyways and that is the main thing.

OK my first boyfriend, he texted me a couple of times after the day we met in college, then the next time he saw me asked me specifically to be his girlfriend! we were exclusive straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Ask him how he would feel if you kissed someone else. This is a great way for ppl wishing to confirm they are a couple or establish that they are in fact just meeting.

If (s)he would toss you to the curb then you say
    A)Good, I feel the same way. So does that make us a couple
    or
    B)Are you sure, its not like we're a couple or anything
    depending on what you want

Of course if they say they wouldnt mind then they dont consider you there boy/girl friend (yet).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

Sleepy wrote:
    Just go with the flow... right now, if I had to label what you have it'd be that you're 'seeing each other' but why the need to label things? It's going well so just fly with it :)
    Labels help communication and understanding, in most things in life.

Ofcourse they can be misused and given too much emphasis. Ive known ppl who've tried somehow to "compete" or brag about their relationship which to me seems a bit strange.

Though what I always think is funny is the different connoctations words have for different ppl; Scoring being a prime example. Or whether ppl chose to say I met/scored/shifted/kissed/snogged someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

davyjose wrote:
    Bingo - I'd just go with the flow and say nothing. What does it matter anyway?

Exactly - try to corner him and get a definition of your relationship out of him and you could scare him off.

This brings up a curiosity of mine, why are some women so needy? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

hey men can be needy too :-)

Haiving said that, from what little psychology I've studied, if taken in large enough samples women show a higher tendency to see everything in layers of complexity so look for the subtlities (eg the difference between seeing someone and being a couple) where as men compartmentalise much more easily (the girl in the pub last thursday who I'd like to call next thursday).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Villaricos

ok Im in the exact same situation as you with a boy!! seeing each other 3 weeks - only difference is Im not in any rush to label us as in a relationship. dunno how often you've seen him or anything but I dont think I know the guy well enough yet to call him my boyfriend
    Dont be in a rush just go with the flow, tis less head wrecky that way:D