Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

anyone runnig a Harley 1340/1450...?

• 07-01-2007 10:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭

am seriously considering trading my R1150RT BeeEmm for one - if possible, a Road King, so am keen to hear from anyone who runs one on pros/cons, etc.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Whoa whoa there hoss, Harley and running in the same sentence :eek:

I don't think they are really suited to the Irish weather, too much water. I know people that have one in their livining rooms and stuff, but not running them all year around.

Isn't there a Jap version of the Roadking made by Kawasaki or something, might be a little more manageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭madrab

actually the more recent harleys are meant to be quite reliable, and with your recent episode with a kawasaki i find it funny that you are recommending their reliability :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

madrab wrote:
    actually the more recent harleys are meant to be quite reliable, and with your recent episode with a kawasaki i find it funny that you are recommending their reliability :p

Well excuse me, we can't all have flying motorbikes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

KTRIC wrote:

Pff - it wasn't even a flying motorbike. The bike dropped like the Hindenburg, the rider was the one that was attempting to fly...

Anyway, Harleys begin and end with the sportster IMO.

Harley Davidson - Won't go, Won't corner, Won't stop :D

L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

They are nice to overtake though.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Driven a sportster (Engine case looks a bit agricultural)
    a Road King Classic (long road trip in the states)
    and an Electra Glide Ultra Classic (very expensive, would never be able to justify the cost of one regardless of having the money or not.)

Everyone knows that Harleys are bad value, and onto the original investment you need money to pay your harley tax**.
    But a properly fitted out Ultra Classic is a pleasure to drive, as long as youre rich and not in a hurry, still a bit crap on Irish roads though.

As a warning: driving a stock Harley will make you a joke amongst other Harley drivers.
    Unmodded Harley drivers have the reputation of being badge snobs, the eejits you see with a full kit of harley branded clothes to go with the bike, when you go out to buy a new image in an afternoon it really shows, this pi55es off a lot of the veterans.

You're generally better off with a bike from one of the big four. or even a Triumph if you can get over how ugly they are. You could buy most of these bikes, with aftermarket kit and get a custom paint job for the price of a stock Harley.

Honda:
    The Valkerie is a fantastic bike,
    Pros: a 1520cc bike that can turn and stop with a bulletproof engine, you can put hitchhikers in the boxes on the Interstate model.
    Cons: Was replaced so you cant buy em newish anymore, theyre also relatively silent and not a V-twin.

The VTX 1800 is worth looking at,
    Pros: more powerful than any stock harley bar the V-rod (which doesnt count). Its a v-twin. Theres also a 1300 version. Fuel Injected.
    Cons: Looks more modern than a road king

Yamaha:
    The star range (DragStar, RoadStar)
    Pros: things of beauty, and with the money youve saved you could buy full aftermarket kit and leave any harley for dust. RoadStar has belt drive, Dragstar is Shaft driven, Very good aftermarket availability for both models.
    Dragstar is called the V-Star in the US. You can get some very nice curved boxes for these to match the rear fender. Monoshock rear on Dragstar is nice for box/bag mounting.
    Cons: Dodgy starters on some Dragstars.

Kawasaki:
    The VN2000
    Pros: Bigger and more powerful than anything Harley make even with extensive modding. Fuel injected.
    Cons: Drop it and lose a leg, not too much cheaper than the road king, liquid cooled (although i dont consider this a con a lot of aircooled purists do).

VN1600 range:
    Pros: In the same league as the fatboy for a few grand less new, Fuel injected. Shaft Drive. Nomad version has better boxes than the road king.
    Same Power output as Road king, more for Mean Streak.
    Cons: Liquid cooled. Less chrome on the engine block.

Suzuki:
    Suzuki do the Intruder and Marauder, ive havent driven either so i cant comment on these.

Basically unless youre going to put a good bit of cash into customising your bike (Harleys have more aftermarket parts than any other brand) the main reason to pick a harley over any of the Metrics is badge snobbery.
    The only case i can make for the Road King (a new one) is the rear suspension, the new transmission and the Fuel injection (makes putting aftermarket gear on easy, get a Power Commander or the likes and you can get a Custom Curve mapped for you, tasty)

The quality control still isnt on par with the Japanese, its not as bad as it was though. (The US government had to step in to save their asses from the competition more than once, up until 1988 there was an import tax on foreign produced bikes, Harley would have gone bust without the hand out).

All the metrics have aftermarket exhausts, Air kit and the like, just not the variety that Harley enjoy (dont buy extras from the manufacturer or from most bike shops in this country, youll get ripped off).

All this said there is still something about Harleys that the others cant capture, and if youre set on it buy one, but drive before you buy, youll be disappointed if you expect power delivery.

**harley tax for the uninformed is the series of mods that most HOG members agree have to be done to make your bike into a half decent machine

This mail's turned into a mini novel, i should really do some work before shift ends!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

KTRIC wrote:

Did someone mention something about flying motorbikes?
    It nice to know your bike engine is so reliable that it can be used in the skies!!!

viragoengineee6.jpg

http://viragotech.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=6438&highlight=flying+airplane+aeroplane

P.S. - great review kowloon, you should write for biker site or magazine with that skill. I'll disagree about ugly Triumph's though - if the OP has loads of money then the Rocket III would have to enter the equation - my favourite bike at the minute, just waiting for the lotto win!!!!

I think the engine block puts a lot of people off the Rocket, even if the whole thing was a shiny chrome lump like the Valk it'll still throw the V-twin crowd, and the exhaust arrangement freaks em out aswell!

If not being a V-twin doesnt bother you go for it, but if youve won the lotto and want to win the cc wars, why not get a Boss Hoss?

http://www.bosshoss.net/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭BigCon

Nice machines, hadn't heard of them before.
    If it's V-twins you're after though and you have bags of money, how about Victory?
    http://www.polarisindustries.com/en-us/Victory/2007Models/Kingpin+Tour/Gallery.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

thanks for the review....I've ridden H-D on test ride, before (Sturgis -we went on our Honeymoon.........a lifetime ago!), and I was impressed then. I was more interested in how they've improved since then.

Snobbery/whatever, I hate customs. I saw an 07 Fat Boy yesterday, with an alleged 3.5k of 'extra's..........well, excuse me, but those 'extra's reminded me so much of those ****e chrome handlebar grips with O-rings on, as fitted to custom Vespa's in the 80's, that I nearly barfed.

No, and **** the begrudgers, I'm more interested in a stocker - and the less chrome, the better, like the Art Deco look instead of the big 'frickin eagle badged variety, too. Am looking at an 05 Road King and an 03 Fat Boy next week. Don't like the loud pipes, either...........unless attached to a Duc...........as for agricultural gearbox - that's o.k, I ride a BeeEmm, who invented agri-boxes...........

Have to disagree about the depreciation though. The only Metric I like is the Honda ACE series and the new Suzuki's, but I'd lose more in depreciation on them in 12 months than on a H-D in 2-3 years........it's not the price that kills, it's the depreciation........

Valkyrie, no thanks. No redeeming features, imho......
    Star's.........nice, actually, but it's not a H-D............
    Kawaski......mmmm, no opinion, but I'm afraid I couldn't sell it, later.

I Have A Plan. Inside the next 3 years I plan to do all the big ones - H-D, Ducati, and a K-GT to replace my 02 R1150RT. Then I'm doing the car thing..........

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Sheehans in Waterford (i think its waterford) sell the Victory bikes, theyre supposed to be very balanced and smooth, didnt get to drive one, was with a friend looking at a Ural Sidecar outfit at the time (more fun than any ATV).

The only Harley i would drive stock would be the V-Rod, porsche designed engine, modern by comparison.
    Pretty much everything else in Harleys lineup is designed with customisation in mind, hence their factory custom concept and screaming eagles parts division.

Id go for the road king over the fat boy without a second thought, even more so if its going to be left stock.

CB motorcycles in Cork have a limited edition '05 king at the moment, bright red, if the colour doesnt put you off it might be worth checking out.
    Also check out the dealership in Waterford, you could check out the Victory in the same trip.

If youre planning on buying and selling again in the same year it'll cost you next to nothing provided you dont crash it (and stock is good for resale).
    Personally i prefer to buy a bike and drive it to destruction:D

If the chrome puts you off, have you considered the Night Train? Black powder coat where you would expect chrome.

mmmm, CB have a few nice ones alright, I'll have to take a look.....

V-Rod, tbh, I love the look of the all black one. But, I did sit on one, and found the riding position uncomfortable.

I've seen the Victory, but, asthetically, it is, shall we say, 'challenged'?? The whole back of the bike is a bit odd.......

Ode To The Motorist

Yeah, i dont like the pegs on the V-Rod at all, and the skinny seat, pure give in to the style police, still like em though, but dont plan on ever buying one.

Theres more than 1 model of Victory, but the even fin lasagne look on the cylinders on them is a bit wierd looking for some.

Im on the market for a nice tourer myself for a road trip this summer,
    was just reading this:

http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/roadtests/open_road_ramblers/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mickbyrne

drive a 1993 H-D softail classic with a few mods. Ride it in all weathers, its the best thing going and allways turns heads - (thats probably due to the pipes). What ever you get, ride it, it breaks my heart to read "dry miles only", if you are afraid to get wet, buy a car because the bike doesn't mind.

Absolutely, theres no point having a bike in this country if you only drive in the sun, and driving so rarely doesnt help your driving skills either.

Dilemma solved - my RT found a new home in Dublin yesterday - and my new (to me, that is....) 05 Road King Custom arrives Wed next......

can't frickin' wait !! it's like waiting for Santa.............(pronounced Santy, btw.........!)

WooHoo !!

Ode To The Motorist

nice, may we car to ask how much? :)

on the point of not being able to drive big cruisers every day, i recently bought a yamaha royal star, 1300cc v4 & its massive but i have no problems driving it in every day & it can filter about 90% as good as other bikes ive driven, the only problems are the tight turns & its large handlebars

Madrab, ...of course you may ask

Ode To The Motorist

enough said :)

Nice one, youll feel like you have much longer legs now:D

...to answer my own question:

Pros: just look at the pics.........
    Cons: should come with free Solpadeine..........

129176762-L-1.jpg

129176687-M.jpg

Ode To The Motorist

pretty, just needs apehangers :)

Things that shiny should come with klaxons to scare away the magpies :D