Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When your big love is a big distance away !!

• 05-01-2007 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭

Hi Guys,
    This is my first post so be gentle !! I completed a RTW trip last Sept and loved every minute of it but especially my time in Australia as i fell head over heels in love with a fellow backpacker,we travelled together up the East Coast for just under 6 weeks, shared a bed and on the last nite i wore my heart on my sleeve and told her how i felt, the silence was deafening !!!. The next day i got a text apologising for the "frosty" reception, that she was not use to a guy expressing his feelings so explicity. We are still in contact but the problem is i am in Soggy Dublin and she is still in sunny Sydney. I dont know what to do ? Quit the job and return to oz or forget about the girl and move on with my life, i dont want to forget about her...being around her was a joy, her smile lit up any room.........My head is wrecked with this ....Help !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

'This is a hard one. How do you know you will feel the same if you see her again, for this reason I would say don't quit your job. Arrange to go see her. When you're with her, if you can't face the thought of leaving her once you're there, you'll know you can't let it go.
    Good luck'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Skiesonfire19

I wouldnt run for a bus, just like I wouldnt run for a girl!

There is always another bus! :D

Skies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I wouldn't go jumping into anything just yet. Do you know if she wants a relationship? Would it be possible for you to go over and visit? Be very sure what you both want. I know how long distance relationships work, having been in one (me in Ireland and herself in the US) and happily married nearly 3 years now. If you are unhappy, lift the phone and give her a call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

What you describe sounds just like a holiday romance. If you went back to Oz and met up with her I assure you things wouldn't be as rosy. Grass is always greener...

I would put this down to a good experience, something to think about every so often over a few beers with a few mates. Dropping everything to go back is incredibly foolish imo, not to mention the place and your experiences won't be the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭camroc76

Thanks guys, in hindsight perhaps it was just a holiday romance but we have agreed that when she gets back to Engerland in 3 months that she will pay Dublin a visit. The outcome of that ,well is yet to be seen..... Great now i have to get back into the Dublin dating scene... How much was that plane tacket to Sydney again ???

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,528 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Don't quit your job. But it might be worth a try to stay in touch with her. Online is cheap, and who knows where it might lead? I'm in a LDR and it's working, although it drives me crazy sometimes. Listen to Ruu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Zapho

There is always another bus! :D

Skies

Usually feckin late though......:D But anyway, yeah man don't quite your job
    over a girl! Well, at least not yet, but do keep in contact and at least
    try to see her again (go on hols or something) before you do anything serious.

Good luck.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 290 ✭✭Tak3n

If you have a good life/job in ireland dont give it up for a chick.. they're not worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Forget the other posts,

go for it. if it fails so feckign what ?

You can get another job in ireland. But if you dont do it you will always hat that " what if " feeling every time you think of her.

go for it i say. And best ofluck to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭custardcreams

I am a believer in people and in the art of going for it.

In this situation logic and immediate reaction which hasnt changed says definitively no.

Stay away from this. Silence means - JUST THAT -. Do what all backpackers do when they come back ..head to coppers you will always find someone to go ''you did oz 2'' ...yawn or the outback.

Do not confuse meaning with ****ing for the simple art of ****ing. Maybe you were broody...young lads get broody aswell and she could have had the required hip to chest ratio (actual psychological well respected study and not intended to be lewd).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭darkflower

Tak3n wrote:
    If you have a good life/job in ireland dont give it up for a chick.. they're not worth it.

Sometimes they are!:rolleyes: really!