Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WAG relations

• 04-01-2007 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭

While watching Celebrity Big Brother last night the subject came up about WAGs. When the wag (forgot her name) got out of her car she was greeted by the public with boos. My sisters both asked why ? I immediately answered "Because she's a WAG and all theyre known for is using all their partners money on clothes, fake hair and boob jobs, etc."
    They both fell silent. As I turned around to face them I was met with blank stares.
    "Whats wrong with that ?" Said the younger sister
    "Thats what I want to do" Said the older one flipping another page of Heat

I honestly thought they were having me on, but their faces were dead serious.

Why, when you have people who spend a lifetime campaigning for underprivileged people and the conservation of the planet do we look up to people who spend 500 quid on a handbag almost daily ? This amount could probably feed a family in a third world country for a year

I myself am guilty to a degree of spending aimlessly on stupid crap and following the latest trends, so by no means saintly ! But it got me thinking

....are we so influenced by the media nowadays that we aspire to be superficial ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

What's a WAG?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Wife and Girlfriend of a footballer, or some other such tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

ye i wouldnt worry about it, mate.

fellas wanna marry a skinnny blonde rich nympho who owns a brewery and is open to havin 3somes with her hot swedish bikini model mates, jsut as women wanna marry a rich bloke. doesnt mean its gonna happen. they exist, but doesnt mean its gonna happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

what gets my goat is the fact that the WAGS have achieved the status of "Celebrity" by doing SFA, & people seem to care what the likes of that mullet Coleen has to say/do, if she wasnt going out with a footballer she would probably be wearing a shiney tracksuit & living on a council est, with a heap of kids hanging out of her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

....are we so influenced by the media nowadays that we aspire to be superficial ?

It's always been that way, I bet that there were loads of WAGS hanging about Jesus when he was delivering his sermons.

Expect yer one from CBB to have an autobiography out by June this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭eirmail

Does a "WAG"have to be spelled in all capitals to differentiate it from the verb "to wag"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

Well it was originally a shortening of the phrase "wifes and girlfriends" (of sportsmen), so yes it's an acronym and nothing to do with the movement of a dog's tail. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

i wouldnt go getting worried/excited about WAGs or theyre lifestyle, theyre rich and spend money, apparently theyre celebrities also, so what?
    i dont wanna see or hear from them, i dont watch celebrity big brother/love island, read heat magazine/the sun all the publicity machines of these so called celebraties, if one of them happen to find theyre way into whatever publication tv show im watching i dont spend alot of time reading or i flick over!
    it really simple folks, if they p*ss you off because thyeyre "famous" then pass no heed, leave it to the bimbos and the kids who swallow this muck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i blame Rupert Murdoch and his media companies for this phenomenon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭SystemError

The_B_Man wrote:
    ye i wouldnt worry about it, mate.

fellas wanna marry a skinnny blonde rich nympho who owns a brewery and is open to havin 3somes with her hot swedish bikini model mates, jsut as women wanna marry a rich bloke. doesnt mean its gonna happen. they exist, but doesnt mean its gonna happen!

No it probably wont happen. But money, sex, image fame and drink are not what life is all about. There are countless examples of people who have all of the above and are still not happy and in many cases these things ruin peoples lives. Sad IMO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

The likes of Heat magazine has made it so much easier for me to tell what women to avoid like the ****in plague, along with fake tan and those freaky shorts and tights thingies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Why were you watching 'Celebrity' Big Brother in the first place? You were made to? Liar.

Sangre wrote:
    Why were you watching 'Celebrity' Big Brother in the first place? You were made to? Liar.
    A girl cant eat her dinner in front of the TV ? Why the attitude ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭miles teg

A girl cant eat her dinner in front of the TV ? Why the attitude ?

I got the impression you were a guy. Have to say I would be ashamed to have a sister hoping to be a WAG. what ages are they? If they're young enough, I'd imagine they'd grow out of it and eventually realise there's more to be had from life than obtaining a false sense of security

miles teg wrote:
    I got the impression you were a guy. Have to say I would be ashamed to have a sister hoping to be a WAG. what ages are they? If they're young enough, I'd imagine they'd grow out of it and eventually realise there's more to be had from life than obtaining a false sense of security

Nope, female (at least I was the last time I checked!)

I am embarassed and Im glad no one else was in the room to hear it. Theyre old enough to know better (18 & 24)

you poor thing. are you older than them? if so, would they listen to you if you calmly and clearly explained to them that they're thundering idiots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Nope, female (at least I was the last time I checked!)
    How often do you check?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Unfortunately your sisters are idiots

Either waste them as oxygen thieves or fake your own death, move to another country and change your name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Unfortunately your sisters are idiots

Either waste them as oxygen thieves or fake your own death, move to another country and change your name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

Gordon wrote:
    How often do you check?
    This question is also relevant to my interests...

But it actually YOUR fault SystemError. Yours and people like you who buy and read those gossip mags, heat for example. Your the kind of people who makes Kerry Katona's latest relationsh!t front page material.

Her sister had the mag, not her. I say kudos for not being influenced by her sisters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

gucci wrote:
    i wouldnt go getting worried/excited about WAGs or theyre lifestyle, theyre rich and spend money, apparently theyre celebrities also, so what?
    i dont wanna see or hear from them, i dont watch celebrity big brother/love island, read heat magazine/the sun all the publicity machines of these so called celebraties, if one of them happen to find theyre way into whatever publication tv show im watching i dont spend alot of time reading or i flick over!
    it really simple folks, if they p*ss you off because thyeyre "famous" then pass no heed, leave it to the bimbos and the kids who swallow this muck

I presume you dont have a girlfriend who watches BB, reads heat & so on.

miles teg wrote:
    you poor thing. are you older than them? if so, would they listen to you if you calmly and clearly explained to them that they're thundering idiots?
    Probably not. Im the middle child, no one really cares what the middle ones think lol

No but seriously, before I die I want to travel the world and make great friends to share great experiences with. I always give clothes away to charity, recycle, clean up after myself, treat people nicely, etc.

and I just cant grasp this concept of living a lazy lifestyle being married to someone who works their ass off when all you do is live in jimmy choo shops and pose for lads mags and laze around in Dubai (what theyre holidaying from God only knows). Its requires ****all brains and means nothing to the people out there who are being massacred daily or dying of desieses that holiday money could prevent.

Wtf is going on ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Wtf is going on ?
    We're having a conversation about women that spend other people's money. It was started by someone whose two sisters approved of such an existance when the OP took the opposite stance.

Gordon wrote:
    We're having a conversation about women that spend other people's money.

Its not just women. Men have WAG-like tendencies too. I think the term is called "Kept" men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

It's scary isn't it?!
    I hope to be an actress in future..In the process of studying etc.
    One day I passed a comment about colleen whatever- her- name- is ...i probably wasn't very complimentary!.
    My mum turns around and goes "She's earning more than you are though!"
    Grr!!:rolleyes:
    Another one that annoys the hell out of me (though not a WAG) is that Nikki creature from big brother.....she's like a bad smell...just refuses to go away!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭Zonko

I thought it was some sort of racist term to begin with. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Its not just women. Men have WAG-like tendencies too. I think the term is called "Kept" men.

Ooh where can I get an application form for that?