Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Article] Minister praises efforts of road users

• 31-12-2006 11:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2006/1231/rta.html
    Minister praises efforts of road users
    31 December 2006 22:20

The Minister for Transport has said it is a great credit to everyone that the number of people who died on Irish roads in 2006 is the second lowest in 40 years.

Martin Cullen also said that he would end the current provisional licensing system in 2007 in an effort to improve road safety.

367 people died on Ireland's roads in 2006, 29 fewer than in 2005. Half of all those killed this year were under 30. One third of them were in their 20s, and more than 70% were men.
    Click here to find out more!

The Road Safety Authority has said its forthcoming campaigns will be aimed at young male drivers who make up just 6% of the population but represent one in five of road deaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

What the feck? Its had nothing to do with us and everything to do with belated enforcment of drink-driving laws.

Anyone got a month-by-month breakdown for 2006 and 2005? I bet there is a drop after the random breath-test was intoduced.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

mike65 wrote:
    Its had nothing to do with us and everything to do with belated enforcment of drink-driving laws
    I always find it a bit amusing to hear people saying that "it's not safe to drive with all dem Guards about now". :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

I know someone who failed his driving test 5 times over the last 10 years and is an absolute nightmare on the roads. He's on his 5th provisional now. I hope to GOD he gets taken off the road. When I tell you he's pure dangerous, you just have no idea how bad I mean...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Mike

Thanks Victor.

That July-August fall is intriguing.

Mike.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,235 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

mike65 wrote:
    What the feck? Its had nothing to do with us and everything to do with belated enforcment of drink-driving laws.
    Are they still enforcing this? I haven't seen a checkpoint in quite a while now!

I have'nt either but I've read of them (truck drivers being targeted).

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭robfitz

mike65 wrote:
    Anyone got a month-by-month breakdown for 2006 and 2005?

I've been capturing the Garda Fatal Road Collision Statistics web page since August 2005.

Here is a page with links to SVG graphs of the data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I gigged 16 nights over Christmas. Didn't see one breath check coming home at 3 in the morning.