Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I quit 3 years ago. Some advice..

• 31-12-2006 11:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭

I used to smoke 30-40 a day - was smoking for about 10 years, then one day I decided to just give up. Was very spontaneous, didn't plan anything. I'm still of them to this day. I didn't need any patches or any of that nonsense. I don't think they help, they just prolong your body's dependency to nicotene.

I remember the first 4 or 5 days I was very tired, and felt a bit sick. This was my body getting used to it. After 2 weeks, I felt fine. No more cravings, just mental cravings. Every now and again for the next few months, I'd look at someone smoking and say, hmm, that would be nice - But after 5 minutes it goes away.

3 years later, I can safely say I'll never smoke again. I've no desire to. I feel a whole lot better. Don't wake up in the morning with a pain in my chest wondering if something bad will happen.

It's as easy as you want it to be. Just my experiences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

dlofnep wrote:
    I can safely say I'll never smoke again.
    I wouldn't be so cavalier about it. Many people who have been off them for many years, begin again following a traumatic experience in their personal lives - sudden death, seperation, job loss etc.

I'm off the 9 years and still crave them regularly. A friend has recently recommemced after 22 years off them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Wishbone, I don't crave them. At all, ever. I've no intentions of ever smoking again. It doesn't interest me in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

I know what Wishbone's saying, though — I once asked my cousin, a doctor who'd been off them 15 years, when it got easier. He looked at me and said "It gets easier..?" He had a big family crisis on his hands a year or so ago and he's been back smoking since... :(

I'm thinking about it a lot lately, and am also inclined to skip the patches/gum/inhalers bit — but I will try to 'wean' myself for a few weeks first, just to lessen the blow.

I successfully kicked the booze 'n' smokables a few months ago — well, successfully so far! — and, to my surprise, found the 'one day at a time' bit helped a lot. Also the whole CBT/Allen Carr thing of changing your thinking to see that you're not depriving yourself of a pleasure, rather treating yourself to a better, healthier life.

Jaysus, I'll soon have no vices left at all...! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭dvega

Yes i smoke myself only about 15-20 a day and am desperate to give em up but its a real turn off when i hear people talk about cravings months or even years after they give em up,as i said before in a previous post i think your head has to be clear and your life in order before you can make a good try in giving them up otherwise your causing yourself more misery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭HammerHeadGym

I think the difference is dlofnep has beaten his addiction as opposed to having 'quit'. I'm in the same boat as him. I am sure I will never smoke again.

Sorry to bump and old topic, but I got a message about it so I felt it was appropiate to give an update. I am still off cigarettes. I don't have any cravings. I feel physically amazing. You don't apppreciate how great your health can be until you quit. Give your body a few months to get back to reality and you'll be amazed with the results.

Kick the habit lads, you can all do it. 2 weeks is all it takes. Just 2 weeks. After that, it's all in your mind. It's nearly 5 years now. Not a sweat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

peckerhead wrote: »
    I'm thinking about it a lot lately...
    Thanks for bumping this, dlofnep — it gave me a nice boost to read what I wrote 22 months ago and reflect on the fact that I haven't smoked for the last 16 of those. If I can do it, anyone can! :)

Fair play :) I'd say keep it up, but there is no need to. The addiction is over. The hard work is over. Now enjoy the benefits of your new found health!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭Ruthie-Roux

I`ve been smoking about five years during which time my pattern of smoking has been as unpredictable as the irish weather: smoking 10-15 a day was the norm for a long time, then after unsuccessful attempts to quit , i would "compromise" and have maybe 1-4 a day for a few months before smoking 10-15 (sometimes more) a day again. I`ve gone though phases o chain-smoking, in fact Im known for it. More recently I only smoke when I go out drinking or when Im emotionally upset. I found the actually physical addiction fades after about three days of cold turkey so what people tell you is true in that regard. The habitual smoking at breaks, in the morning etc was harder still to break. I managed to get over both those hurdles. The final and hardest challenge for me has always been not to smoke while drinking. Its a hand-in-glove thing for me and VERY VERY HARD to stop. At this stage, I rarely even feel like smoking at all during the day, its when I`ve had a few drinks that I`ll desperatly want one, especially being around smokers.
    That being said, I had ONE cigarette last week and ONE cigarette this week which says a lot for someone who has been known to light up approx every half an hour when bored. God be with the good ole`days when I could smoke like a chimney with no consequences....I have such breathing difficulties these days that I have been forced to stop smoking, if it weren`t for that, nothing would stop me.
    Actaully, I find when I havent smoked in a while , my breathing difficultly gets WORSE . I do have asthma but its been so mild for most of my adult life that it wasnt much of a concern. Had a major flare up in April this year and have had major problems ever since. Feels like one side of my throat/one bronchial tube virtually closes up or gets blocked and I struggle to breath. Its always on the same side too. Throat scope and chest x-rays came back clear but the problem persists. I can describe it as the feeling of needing to clear mucus from one side of my throat but no amount of coughing clears it and I end up wheezing and making *scary* sounds when I try to breath. Been in the A+ E many times with this. On average, one very two months with no answers as to whats happening. I smoked like a freakin trooper for so long and am actually pissed off that Ive had to give up but since my mother has been diagnosed with the early stages of chronic lung inflamation,`( a heavy smoker) it has scared the sh*t out of me and Im now worried my symptoms are a warning.
    So anyhow, Im doing ok. As I say, the breathing trouble has increasd 5 fold since I drastically cut back and Im on two inhalers and bowls of steam every night (very little sleep) so I find it very wearing. Nothing could make me want to go through all this again. Nothing.
    Last cigarette was last week when I was out and I didnt even want it. My trick has been to switch drinks. By drinking something you dont normally drink, you dont make the association with smoking as much as with your favourite tipple. Thats me , anyway.
    So Im going to try the same thing this week again.
    In my opinion, it is a matter of your attitude to giving up. If you decide not to smoke again, no power is strong enough to force your hand. Thats not being cavalier , thats being decisive. Good on ya OP.

Ruth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Cool thread, good to see ye are all doing so well. People are different, some people say their cravings never go away but many others are like you guys and love the smoke free life. Ruth sorry to read about your breathing problems but non smokers also suffer such problems so what ever you do don't think that you may as well go back smoking, THAT would give you real breathing problems...
    Gonna be stopping myself in a few weeks so hopefully soon I'll be a member of your gang:cool: