Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gettin ip address of another computer

• 30-12-2006 6:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

I need to get an ip address of my boyfriends laptop which was stolen. the guy that has it has been msning me caus it logs him in automatically on the laptop, n he's gettin bit sleezy! main reason want get it back is caus of pics to africa n other places on it. the gardi want the ip address.... which of course we havnt wrote down! Msn wont give it to me, which i kind of understand but i'm just wondering if there's anyway i can access it myself while he's live on msn?? any ideas?? he's using my boyfriend email account too, which we cant seem to change the password for, but msn'l do that. really appreciate any help...:o

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Ip addresses can be changed stupidly easy and can't be used to track down the laptop. The MAC address might be handier but it's nearly impossible to get remotely I think. I imagine MSN Plus would have some form of IP logger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

yeh but if they get the IP address and the date and the time of when the IP address was logged then surely the gardai can contact the ISP to see who was using the IP at that time.

to be honest he's a fairly stupid criminal.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

I think if you type netstat in the command prompt while 'chatting' on MSN that will give you all the IPs you are connected to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Eimear_no6

spurious wrote:
    I think if you type netstat in the command prompt while 'chatting' on MSN that will give you all the IPs you are connected to.

Tanx million :) Dont think he's bright enough to actually know how to change it! the gardi are doin bit but as u can imagine its not a high priority so just wanna do whatever i can. ok, really goin sound stupid.... wheres the "command prompt"?? just where u type in your msg?? dont even use feckin msn, just had it when away for summer! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

on windows XP, click on the start menu, click on Run and then type cmd in the little box, or if its not windwos XP, then type in command instead of cmd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭DaSilva

Eimear_no6 wrote:
    Tanx million :) Dont think he's bright enough to actually know how to change it! the gardi are doin bit but as u can imagine its not a high priority so just wanna do whatever i can. ok, really goin sound stupid.... wheres the "command prompt"?? just where u type in your msg?? dont even use feckin msn, just had it when away for summer! :o

Press Start, then Run, then type "cmd" and hit enter. It will bring up a black console.

typing "netstat" and pressing enter will show you the connections and IP addresses, but its not going to be very easy to identify which IP is the correct one if you are new to this. Also, it might not show up, I dont know how the MSN protocol works, and if messages go through a server first. Sending him a file will however almost guarantee a direct connection with him, so then you will defineatly be able to find it i netstat.

If you are having trouble reply here again, and make sure too also write down the time when you get his IP, as it will help, even though the Gardai mightn't know :p

brilliant!! tanx million guys.... prob will b back on!! so happy new year till then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 330 ✭✭irishpartyboy

C:\Documents and Settings\name>netstat -n -o

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
    TCP 192.168.1.5:1087 209.85.135.147:80 CLOSE_WAIT 2956
    TCP 192.168.1.5:1090 207.46.106.87:1863 ESTABLISHED 4032
    TCP 192.168.1.5:1139 72.14.217.189:80 ESTABLISHED 3896
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4451 192.168.1.254:80 ESTABLISHED 3896
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4545 159.134.196.117:80 ESTABLISHED 3896
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4549 209.85.137.19:80 ESTABLISHED 3896
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4596 65.214.43.37:80 ESTABLISHED 3912
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4599 65.55.195.251:443 TIME_WAIT 0
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4601 209.68.54.244:80 CLOSE_WAIT 3912
    TCP 192.168.1.5:4612 192.168.1.254:80 ESTABLISHED 3896

Sorry the results dont appear that clear, but its the IP's listed under Foreign Address are the ones your looking for... hope that helps.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

An alternative would be to email your boyfriend's address with a 'you have won a holiday, just show up at (place where guards are waiting for you), text to let us know what time to expect you' type message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Snowbat

Only chatting on MSN Messenger won't help as those messages are relayed through MSN servers. Starting a file transfer in MSN Messenger in either direction will do the trick - run netstat during the file transfer. Make sure to note the exact time too.

Alternatively, if you can get the guy to send you an email, his IP address and timestamp will show up in the headers (unless he's using gmail).

Failing that, (and this is the option I would persue), ask the Gardaí if they can contact MSN Abuse requesting the information. From what I've read, MSN have supplied information like this to law enforcement without requiring a court order.

Snowbat wrote:
    Only chatting on MSN Messenger won't help as those messages are relayed through MSN servers. Starting a file transfer in MSN Messenger in either direction will do the trick - run netstat during the file transfer. Make sure to note the exact time too.

Alternatively, if you can get the guy to send you an email, his IP address and timestamp will show up in the headers (unless he's using gmail).

Failing that, (and this is the option I would persue), ask the Gardaí if they can contact MSN Abuse requesting the information. From what I've read, MSN have supplied information like this to law enforcement without requiring a court order.

Yeah, he has sent me an email, from my boyfriends hotmail account!! no no's in the header thought.. the gardai actually asked us for it. they've been given all the info about msn n all that so they'll prob get around to it... just tryin speed it along caus this fella's really pissin me off! bit sleezy! :mad:

Irish party boy.... dont understand them at all, where they from?? hardly magically got that info off me somehow???

I expect you're not seeing all the headers. Which program do you use to receive email, or is it webmail such as another Hotmail account?

If he sent to your Hotmail account, do this:
    Sign in to Hotmail
    Click on Options
    Click on Mail Display Settings
    In Message Headers change the selection to Advanced and click OK

Now you can click Mail, open the email he sent, and you will see a new link above the body "View E-mail Message Source" - click that and save. The email complete with all headers is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

if he's using a proxy though.. well then its not gonna be easy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

if he's using a proxy though.. well then its not gonna be easy
    If he's stupid enough to keep using the pc without formatting it, he's not going to be using a proxy.

good luck getting the laptop back, OP. hopefully this scumbag gets his comeuppance:)

Snowbat wrote:
    I expect you're not seeing all the headers. Which program do you use to receive email, or is it webmail such as another Hotmail account?

If he sent to your Hotmail account, do this:
    Sign in to Hotmail
    Click on Options
    Click on Mail Display Settings
    In Message Headers change the selection to Advanced and click OK

Now you can click Mail, open the email he sent, and you will see a new link above the body "View E-mail Message Source" - click that and save. The email complete with all headers is there.

Brill, did that!!! so if u cud tell me howcome the numbnuts in microsoft cudn't!! is the number with
    "Received: from bay0-omc3-s33.bay0.hotmail.com ([65.54.xxx.xxx]" OR
    "Received: from 64.4.xxx.xxx by by101fd.bay101.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP" OR "X-Originating-IP: [89.124.xxx.xxx]"

Sorry for x-in no's.... not sure if they mean anything anyway :)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,768 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Eimear_no6 wrote:
    Brill, did that!!! so if u cud tell me howcome the numbnuts in microsoft cudn't!! is the number with
    "Received: from bay0-omc3-s33.bay0.hotmail.com ([65.54.xxx.xxx]" OR
    "Received: from 64.4.xxx.xxx by by101fd.bay101.hotmail.msn.com with HTTP" OR "X-Originating-IP: [89.124.xxx.xxx]"

Sorry for x-in no's.... not sure if they mean anything anyway :)

If this is what's in the headers, then your dodgy new friend is on an Irish Broadband connection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

by the look of it the "X-Originating-IP" is his ip address. Which seems to be an IBB one.

Now if you're lucky he's using breeze, cos that's a fixed ip address. (i.e. the ip address is unique to one person). I'm not sure if ripwave has static ip address of dynamic. anyway, a possible step closer....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,579 ✭✭✭Webmonkey

You better off trying to get him to send you a file or you send him a file. Sure you can do that , maybe say u sending a pic of urself? if you get what i mean.
    Then start-> Run. Type netstat and you should be able to spot your mans Ip address. I think MSN uses port 1863 outwards so you should post this beside your computers name with a Colan between it. IE: mycomputer:1863.
    Obviously mycomputer going to be a different name on yours.
    Then you should see his address on the right side on the same line.

Edit - Cool you seem to have it and on Irish Broadband should be easy to get hold of your man especially as its Subscription based

Webmonkey wrote:
    You better off trying to get him to send you a file or you send him a file. Sure you can do that , maybe say u sending a pic of urself? if you get what i mean.
    Then start-> Run. Type netstat and you should be able to spot your mans Ip address. I think MSN uses port 1863 outwards so you should post this beside your computers name with a Colan between it. IE: mycomputer:1863.
    Obviously mycomputer going to be a different name on yours.
    Then you should see his address on the right side on the same line.

Edit - Cool you seem to have it and on Irish Broadband should be easy to get hold of your man especially as its Subscription based

The X no thing actually looks familur from tryin set up broadband!! just couple q's...
    -how u no its broadband... just for my own interest
    -whats ripwave?... again, for my own interest..
    -where do i post "IE: mycomputer:1863"... after iv put in netstat??

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,768 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

Eimear_no6 wrote:
    The X no thing actually looks familur from tryin set up broadband!! just couple q's...

An example tool might be samspade.org, stick in the IP address of interest, and it'll tell you who it's registered to. Ripwave is an IBB product.

An he didn't mean enter mycomputer:1863, he meant it as an example of what you should see, except you'll have the your computer name in place of mycomputer.

The 89.124.x.x Range is used by Irish Broadband for their Customers.

Contact Details:

person: Andrew Wilson
    remarks: Irish Broadband Network Operations
    address: Unit 5C & 6
    address: Sandyford Business Centre
    address: Blackthorn Road
    address: Sandyford Industrial Estate,
    address: Dublin 18
    phone: +353868226056
    abuse-mailbox: abuse@irishbroadband.ie
    nic-hdl: AW752-RIPE
    mnt-by: TECHNOLABS-MNT
    mnt-by: IBIS-MNT
    source: RIPE # Filtered

RipWave is a service they provide.

If you find that stuff in the netstat, what is the ip on the right side, it should start with 89.124 if we on right track

kinda mad that that info is just out there!!!
    did that, other one belongs to ms hotmail.
    put in the 89.124 and got ESB Balgaddy VL 5.4 sector 1-30DG.... mean anything to u??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭bushy...

"put in the 89.124 and got ESB Balgaddy VL 5.4 sector 1-30DG.... mean anything to u?? "

Yip , IBB name their antennas to keep their techs sane i suppose , so its (probably) on 5.4Ghz

Means he is connected to antenna #1 on the ESB site @ Balgaddy

Since its on (probably!) 5.4ghz it means its Breeze ( the ones on the roof) , very good news since they are static ips .Happy days , get guards to phone IBB and ask who owns that ip and you have your lappy back

Main thing is just put up with whatever MSN crap he's coming up with and don't make him suspicious

wippeeeee!!!!!! so so happy!! tanx million... the little fecker will b on one of the days..... feel like askin him "so how's all in ballgaddy!!!" He'd **** himself id say!! :D Tanx everyone!! il let u no if get the fecker!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭irlrobins

I'd say nothing to him and just pass the info to the gardai. Otherwise he'll panic and just chuck the laptop somewhere and you won't get your pics back.

dont worry il say nothin!! goin to enjoy this now..... feel like jessica fletcher!! :D and you're all my trusty sidekicks (who actually do all the work!)

Your bf will be delighted :) Let us know how you get on. Best of luck getting it back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

ahaha it's so cool seeing what techie people can do to track someone down.

just came back reading this thread and the second i heard IBB i thought you may be in trouble as the robber could just be war driving (driving around towns to find some wireless connections).

hope it all goes well for you and you get your laptop back.

War driving is a possiblity alright though a low one I would say, you would want to be fairly sad to be doing that anytime you want to use the internet.

sorry, didnt actually explain... it was our scumbag druggy neighbour who robbed us. got signed confession out of him but wudnt give details of who he sold it to, said he paid off a debt with it and bought met!! anyway, the fella that has it now said he just bought it off someone. i no by him he's only young!! he's only on in evenin after work/school. il defo b back to uz... go d techies!! :) Ah, the power of the internet... was hoping that someone would reply maybe by tomor..... dont really use boards, to tell truth just avoiding study. glad i did now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

Eimear_no6 wrote:

The name of the company is irish broadband that provide his internet we can tell this by his subnet(the first 2 sections of his ip)
    ripwave is one of irish broadbands products
    you dont post that! its part of the netstat results

Best of luck in catching this bollox and happy new year :)

Hey snowbat n everyone else! just let u know that got all stuff back today, with a bit of compensation!! thank you all so much for help! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭quaidox

never read this thread the first time round. excellent detective work! and a happy ending! cool! :cool:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

I can see this story being snapped by hollywood for next summers fell god film of the year.

n1 - thanks for the update :D