Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Date' IDEAS

• 29-12-2006 12:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15

Hey people Im looking for ideas for GOOD FUN *first* dates.
    Ive a pain in my arse with the whole goin d cinemas, and for meals business....its boring nd predictable and always seems to sound like an interview.........were do u live?, what age are u? Do U get along with your parents??? BlahBlah F**king Blah. Looking for a few sample places where conversation and fun is built into the environment e.g in the past ive gone ice skating and even to a shopping centre (for myself of coarse) with women in the past.
    Any Ideas welcome..... plus, not to sound like a cheap **** bt I prefer dates were it doesnt come across as an interview and im not buying stuff as if to prove myself to someone. ............. Dats Just me;) NICE1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 hmmmm

Bowling is always great craic on a date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Not really a PI, moved to AH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Ice Skating while it lasts, there are a good few temporary Ice skating locations around the country over Christmas and I went in Killarney and it is good fun. Padded Clothing and Medical Insurance is a help.

€16 per person for an hour, expensive compared to other countries but it all depends on your view of the thing and if you enjoyed it or not, but at least you can always say you went ice skating once in your life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Clearly movie, dinner followed by drinking contest! I'm doing it tomorrow. Classy couple we are!

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭Splinter

D-Generate wrote:
    Clearly movie, dinner followed by drinking contest! I'm doing it tomorrow. Classy couple we are!
    doing that tonight myself :)

emmm ice skating was gonna be my choice too :) maybe go for a night on the karaoke...if she can live through your singing now then your safe forever :) if not then it was never meant to be

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

the karkoke booth on exchequer street, or dunsink observatory - mind you, you have to book tickets months in advance, so not good for a first date, climbing bray head and have a picnic on top - oh my favorite Newgrange in the winter and have a champayne pinic on the tables in the carpark in the cold, it was brilliant :D

snooker or pool
    theres a good chance the bloke can always play better than the girl and can offer a few good pointers, and you can chat at the same time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 522 ✭✭✭JungleBunny

You from Dublin?
    How about FunderLand?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭lilrayosunshine

Funderland is a great idea.. of course followed by some drinkies to get over the sick feeling!
    Bowling/Cinema/Theatre/Comedy Club
    Daytime date: how about the zoo? then maybe go to dinner afterwards as you'll be starving from walking around the african plains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

netwhizkid wrote:
    Ice Skating while it lasts, there are a good few temporary Ice skating locations around the country over Christmas and I went in Killarney and it is good fun. Padded Clothing and Medical Insurance is a help.

€16 per person for an hour, expensive compared to other countries but it all depends on your view of the thing and if you enjoyed it or not, but at least you can always say you went ice skating once in your life.

ice skatting in dundalk .. all year 12 for two hours

http://www.dundalkicedome.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Gautama

BrianMVP wrote:
    were do u live?, what age are u? Do U get along with your parents??? BlahBlah F**king Blah.

If this is the conversation then you're talking about a first date, right?
    It's gotta be a few drinks, or a meal. Cinema is a stupid first date. If the conversation is good, then it exposes ignorance on both your behalves.
    BrianMVP wrote:
    Any Ideas welcome..... plus, not to sound like a cheap **** bt I prefer dates were it doesnt come across as an interview and im not buying stuff as if to prove myself to someone. ............. Dats Just me;) NICE1

If it feels like an interview, then definitely you should have arranged to meet for a few mid-week drinks. Let him/her know in advance that it's a few. Then, if it feels like an interview, you can go home after the second drink and never meet him/her again. If it feels like not-an-interview, or even something enjoyable, then good.

BrianMVP wrote:
    im not buying stuff as if to prove myself to someone. ............. Dats Just me;) NICE1

Don't be a sap, go dutch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

snooker or pool
    theres a good chance the bloke can always play better than the girl and can offer a few good pointers, and you can chat at the same time!

Horrible idea. Theres nothing worse than playing pool with a girl, the only pointers Pighead gives when hes playing a chick is to tell them to "stop fcuking giggling and play the damn shot". Theres absolutely nothing funny about hitting one round ball onto another one thus reducing the need for giggling to zero.

The idea of playing pool with girls has been annoying me for years. Back in the 90's I wrote a poem on the subject. It went a little something like this.

Girls are cool
    but they should never play pool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pighead wrote:
    Horrible idea. Theres nothing worse than playing pool with a girl, the only pointers Pighead gives when hes playing a chick is to tell them to "stop fcuking giggling and play the damn shot". Theres absolutely nothing funny about hitting one round ball onto another one thus reducing the need for giggling to zero.

The idea of playing pool with girls has been annoying me for years. Back in the 90's I wrote a poem on the subject. It went a little something like this.

Girls are cool
    but they should never play pool.
    I agree, don't bring girls to play pool.

Funderland is an idea, if you can tolerate the sheer level of scum that seem to live in the place then it could be a fun date alright.

Going to the races could be another fun idea, a few small bets and a nice dinner could make for an entertaining evening.

Regarding first dates, somewhere where you can have a conversation is a must.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The Zoo is a great place for a first date but maybe not this time of the year given the weather !!!

rb_ie wrote:
    I agree, don't bring girls to play pool.

Funderland is an idea, if you can tolerate the sheer level of scum that seem to live in the place then it could be a fun date alright.

Going to the races could be another fun idea, a few small bets and a nice dinner could make for an entertaining evening.

Regarding first dates, somewhere where you can have a conversation is a must.

Well lads I've had a few good dates (1st ones also)playing pool!

lad's like showing off and the craic is had

to be honest lad's if you are seriously into your pool
    these pair are right and don't bring a girl to play pool, just play with yourselves!

ahem I meant pool;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Romantic trip to an abbatoir :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

You from Dublin?
    How about FunderLand?
    "Funderland?! What are you gonna do, take her for a ride on the bleedin waltzer??? She's not nine!" /Aprés Match

I would never go to Funderland on a date, but having said that, I hate the damn place. €30+ spent and nothing to show for it but nausea.

Go for a walk somewhere, walks are great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Take her boating, yarrr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 callmealan

you know what is really good fun, the laughter lounge in dublin, great evening out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

these pair are right and don't bring a girl to play pool, just play with yourselves!

ahem I meant pool;)
    Ah now I'm not that serious about pool or snooker, I just find it frustrating playing shíte players (which tbh, most girls are) unless theres money involved and I'm not exactly going to turn around to a date and go "€10 per game okay?" :)
    callmealan wrote:
    you know what is really good fun, the laughter lounge in dublin, great evening out!

I agree, a comedy evening is a great idea for a date. Though you won't be able to talk all that much, you'll have great craic and a few drinks and still have a decent conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

I hav had the best times playin pool with a girl on a first date.

Yer right, cinema has a interviewie feeling about em.

A few mid-week drinks so the two of ye will be sober but loosened out. Few games of flirty pool and a cheeky smoke (if she likes you, she WILL smoke) where she wants you half way through the fag, but wait till you finish it and kiss her after. Another cosy drink after that with yer arm around her and walk her home........, PRICLESS!

Or....

Just go for a walk and show her all yer old knacker drinking spots from when you were younger. Great for just talking about all the bad stuff you did and you get the opportunity to make yerself sound "Cool"! Swapping child hood stories is great and totally natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I used to bring all my dates to the wax museum. I haven't gone on a single date since they closed the place down.

I'm currently considering Dublina and the Dracula Museum as possible replacements.... perhaps you should consider them too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 BrianMVP

yeah just to answer people..... i meant to specify to everyone taht I was talkin about FIRST DATES .......but its all good......ITS NIIICCE...I LIIKKE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Brian Capture

ahem I meant pool;)

lads

Wow, you are fond of apostrophes. Although the first 'lads' is correct.

Suggestions for first date:

A drink in a quiet pub.

Cinema = ludicrous.
    Meal = too formal.