Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake Nanos with mp4

• 28-12-2006 1:38am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Passport

Hi I found this item on ebay for only 40 euro,
    I can't believe they are so cheap,
    has anyone tried one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

those actually look pretty nice, guy has really good feedback. only problem is there would come in frm hk with these new revenue laws there is a good chance you would be caught for vat...

Still though nice find

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Passport

but that would only be a max of 1/5th of 40 euro right, we could cope with that and that's only a possibility.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

This thread was reported for linking to fake ipod nano's, however I'm not deleting it as I think people should know that there may be a problem with these players in that they could be 4 gigabits and not 4 gigabytes.

Looking at his feedback some users are claiming that these are not 4 gig at all.

See also:
    http://reviews.ebay.com/The-Official-Fake-4GB-MP4-Player-Scam-On-eBay-FAQ_W0QQugidZ10000000002547758

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Passport

They never claim to be fake nanos, that was however a naive claim by me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

lol 4 gigabits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hehe "official" fake ipod nano.:)

There the real deal and 4GB, mate of mine got one for €26 from him about 2 months ago, didn't have to pay duty either as he marked it as a gift.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Apparently the largest size chip that Samsung make of this type is 2GB and the main two scams used is that either your player will be a 4 Gigabit or it will be a 2GB reporting on screen that it's a 4. Basically just giving you bull$hit readings. This particular player appears to be a 2GB.

hellboy99 wrote:
    There the real deal and 4GB, mate of mine got one for €26 from him about 2 months ago, didn't have to pay duty either as he marked it as a gift.

Hmm I dunno mate, a couple of his feedbacks claim they are 2GB. Ask your friend to try and fill it up with 4 actual Gigs from his PC and see does it fit.

All I can say is that the one my mate has is 4GB as I put about 3.5GB of stuff on it for him a while back. One thing I have to point out is that the one he has is black, it was white that was advertised when he ordered.

Like most things on eBay, you take a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭cormie

It wont be 4,000 Megabytes remember. Interesting to know if your friend got 4GB alright.

Tell you what, I'll get him to call round sometime this week and take a pic for you all to see so you know I'm not messing :)

hellboy99 wrote:
    Tell you what, I'll get him to call round sometime this week and take a pic for you all to see so you know I'm not messing :)

Sure that would be no use if we just got a picture of the thing reporting incorrectly the usage and free space. Not saying I don't believe you but I think theres something wrong there somewhere.

caveat emptor folks! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

hellboy99 wrote:

That doesn't work all the time, it is chance really. I've had to pay duty on items marked gift before.

I got this MP4 2GB (it's half the size of the one mentioned by Passport) off eBay from HK, marked as a gift and didn't get stung with duty. I guess I've been lucky then Ruu as I've bought quite a lot of stuff from HK and never had to pay duty.

mp41.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,845 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I think as long as they work ok and it's actually 4GB, I wouldn't really worry about import duty, it'll be less than €10.

Cheap as chips comes into play here because everything in Hong Kong is dirt cheap from factories I've been quoted 5c for something I've seen sell here for €5 from China:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭JDxtra

You get what you pay for. Expect it to break within a week...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

they are absolutely ****e. break really easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,387 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I got a similar one on Ebay. They are basically all the same except for some case design differences. They all use the same firmware. The unit works and I can put 3.92GB on mine which is ok. The only problem I have is that it is slow in changing folders. It took a long time to figure out how it works too.

However I'd pay the extra money for the 30GB Acer unit that was posted here instead.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I have one, its 'ok' but not great. Watch out for shipping insurance ripoff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭lensman

ok people, I'd like to clarify a few points concerning these mp4 players, 4GB players from HK Ebay sellers do NOT exist, at best they are 2GB.

1..if you got to the setting/memory info option it does say 4096MB ;)
    2.. when you connect it to you PC via usb cable & check it's properites
    it also says 4GB.
    3.. if you transfer anything over 2GB of files to the player you will find that lots of your mp3's won't play,...:( you see it transfers the index of files but not the actual excess files them self's.
    4,..open your player & check the samsung memory chip, it will have a type No of K9K2G08U1A thats 256M x 8 Bit NAND Flash Memory = 2GB.

I bought one of these players & contacted the seller pointing out the memory problem/scam/con & as compensation I did a deal for 5 more, approx €20 each incl p&p,..no vat/tax. I still think they are the butterflies elbows, mutts nuts, or in plain english a great
    little gizmo, with a good set of ear phones attached that is, the supplied ones are total shtie.
    *NOTE* some sellers offer free shipping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

I bought one before Christmas and am quite pleased with it. Only reservations are that it seems to have a smaller than usual headphone jack which means I can only currently use the headphones provided (unless I get out the snips). The headphones provided are pretty terrible to say the least. Also, the battery life isn't great. But it'll work.

Be warned that some sellers seem to have different accounts bidding automatically bidding on the item in an attempt to push up the overall price. I have no conclusive proof of this, but I did find it odd that the current bid for about 15 of the same players (from same seller) was the exact same.

I was lucky to pick this up for less than a tenner (€9.50) and for that I'm not really in a position to criticise it because after all, you get what you pay for. If I paid ~€30 for it though, I'd probably wish I pushed the boat out a bit and bought a brand name player.

Oh and was anyone else who bought this slightly disappointed to find out that you can't touch scroll? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭walshki

Actually I wouldn't go near this crowd with a barge pole. I bought from them just after Christmas and immediately got an email saying there would be a delay due to the earthquake on Stephens day and the fact that they couldn't get my delivery details - and my delivery details were within the email they sent me. I pointed this out and they responded saying they would send it as soon as the payment had cleared - I had used paypal so this was another smoke screen. They started getting negative feedback around then and have now stopped selling altogether. I'm not sure if I'll ever get it and if I do I'm sure it'll be pretty crap. They claim its been sent but if it doesn't come by the end of this week I'll try to get my money back. I paid about €30. Not even that optimistic about the thing at this stage anyway. I was planning to use it with an Fm transmitter in the car but by the sounds of it the regular headphone jack won't even fit. Oh well - you live and learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭WarZoneBrother

please tell me some1 from boards did not try and sell me 1 for 70euro and he thinks its better than a nano i hope he aint posted here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I found it interesting that this one (which incidentally went for the equivalent of 47 cents plus about 30 euros in delivery charges) runs with "More features than an ipod!" and then has a nice table comparing the features to a shuffle rather than a nano. Shockingly, the shuffle doesn't have a full-colour display. Wonder why that is.

I'm sure if you can get it cheap enough it's good at the price, though I'd stay away from a player that will ostensibly accept a 4Gb transfer if it does the dirty on the files as lensman mentioned.

Oh lads, will you FFS cop on, don't say I didn't warn yous. See his feedback now:

http://feedback.ebay.ie/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewFeedback&userid=pound.shop007

Broken players, only 1 gig memory, non received players etc. etc.

So hellboy99 your friend's was really a 4 gigabyte from this seller? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭#Smokey#

hey Blade notice just after his comparison to ipod shuffle he says not to format player.If you do i bet it'll only show 2gb space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭Kenny_D

There's one of these "MP4" players on adverts now. And yup, its a 1gb

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭mickoneill30

lensman wrote:
    ok people, I'd like to clarify a few points concerning these mp4 players, 4GB players from HK Ebay sellers do NOT exist, at best they are 2GB.

I don't think it's really fair to ban all of HK just because of your bad experiences. I've bought piles of stuff from HK and other Chinese sellers and I haven't been stung yet. When I say piles I mean 2 X 2GB USB keys. 1 X 2GB CF card. 2 X 1GB XD card. 1 X 4GB MP3/4 player. Different sellers and different dates.

Same rules apply to HK sellers as any other eBay seller. Check their feedback. If it's in the 1000's and it's mostly good then your risk is reduced. A little bit of common (or not so common) sense goes a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I notice this guy has disappeared from ebay now. "no longer a registered user"

I finally got my one of these MP4 players and its not as bad as I thought it might be. Its actually 2GB. The resolution for photo display is poor. The headphone jack is (I think) 2.5mm instead of 3.5mm but you can get an adaptor like this one to sort out although it'll be slightly unwieldy
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=1144&doy=13m6
    So I'm not too unhappy with it.

However, the main reason I'm posting is to note the quality of the instruction manual. I quote:

'Break to order to sow continuously: Broadcast the stop hour remembers to broadcast the position, the same song orders to a time while broadcast the some catalogue up is shut down'

Also: 'Electricity quantity: Give or get an electric shock the quantity many class manifestation.'

And my favourite 'Broadcast the interface manifestation: the knife man - impulsive punishment: broadcaset the level is smooth to roll over'

The manual is 22 pages without one meaningful sentence in it: the player may break in a month but the manual will still be there. Well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,921 ✭✭✭Alkers

walshki wrote:
    I finally got my one of these MP4 players and its not as bad as I thought it might be. Its actually 2GB. The resolution for photo display is poor. The headphone jack is (I think) 2.5mm instead of 3.5mm but you can get an adaptor like this one to sort out although it'll be slightly unwieldy

However, the main reason I'm posting is to note the quality of the instruction manual. I quote:

'Break to order to sow continuously: Broadcast the stop hour remembers to broadcast the position, the same song orders to a time while broadcast the some catalogue up is shut down'

Also: 'Electricity quantity: Give or get an electric shock the quantity many class manifestation.'

And my favourite 'Broadcast the interface manifestation: the knife man - impulsive punishment: broadcaset the level is smooth to roll over'

The manual is 22 pages without one meaningful sentence in it: the player may break in a month but the manual will still be there. Well worth it.
    That's the funniest thing I've read on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭stooge

walshki wrote:
    Its actually 2GB. The resolution for photo display is poor.

Thats the same manual that my brother has. It's quality! I would hazard a guess that the guy who wrote was either on a number of illicit drugs or dropped out of english classes in school a little too early. It looks as if he grabbed as many big words from the dictionary and stuck them in a sentence.

WRT the player itself, it can be quite troublesome - the advertised 4GB turned out to be 2GB. If you go over 2GB it will feck the thing up completely meaning you have to take it apart and basically short circuit it and reinstall the firmware.

Overall though, if you get it for less than 30Euro its worth it. Any more and you'd be better off buying a brand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Someone came into the place where I work asking for an iTrip for his iPod, and pulls out one of these! It had a little shiny sticker with iPod written on it underneath the screen. I told him that wasn't an iPod and he said he only paid $30 for it. It was interesting to see one in real life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭el diablo

I bought one a couple of weeks ago. it was so cheap I though it was worth the risk and the seller did have mostly good feedback.

still waiting for it to be delivered (from Hong Kong). I'll post here with my opinion ( if it ever arrives);)

Orange pilled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

walshki wrote:

Walshki, thanks for that. Simona is right, that really is the funniest thing I've read on boards. I'm thinking of buying this item just for the manual. €30 for a laugh that i've just had is well worth it. :D

Just to keep people going until they get their own manual a couple of more gems:

'While entering to broadcast the interface, show the related information of current song, start broadcast the song, like this broadcast the interface to cut over from the lyrics since then, then need to continue to broadcast the song from current position'

Also:

'Grow to press NEXT key: For quick enter the function, until a knot tail of song'

and

'Short press NEXT key, Music 2 seconds fade out, jumping next song and broadcasting, next at this time is according to broadcast the mode at present to choose of, at current mode for circulate a head, next is to press all circulating ways to choose'

All thats just on page 5 and more uses of the word 'manifestation' than you can shake a stick at.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Meathfan

I buy my MP4/5's off warehousedirect.me.uk...not cheap but it is good stuff.

Email and ask for a discount and they normally give a few quid off...

sounds very professional :rolleyes: Thanks for digging up a year old thread btw.