Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

MA Schools china ect?

• 27-12-2006 2:03pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8

Was thinking of saving the money and going to an over seas school whanted opinions

I've done nationals in tae kwon do and trained with it for only about 3 years it was more for fun. I've practiced judo , kempo and went to a small tkd school for a wile in cali along with other various training
    but i am tired of the school available to me here and i ran into a spot of trouble with the aau :( so i was thinking about trying to go to an overseas school in china or something full time doing nothing but training , but most of them like this one http://www.shaolins.com/ seem to be more flashy and more of a marketing spring get away type deal

what's everyones opinion on this and what would you do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

It depends on what you want to study. If you wanted to study judo, then japan would be the place, but the training there is very strict and you'd train every day. It's alot to take on for some people who otherwise wouldn't be used to it.

Depending on what martial art you want to study - Different countries would be more applicable for that art. So ask yourself, what do you want from your art? Be as specific as you can and you'll get alot of informative answers. If you're not sure yourself, nobody will be able to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

No offence meant but why would you want to go abroad when you can get excellant training in nearly any kind of MA/MMA you want right here in this country?? I mean fair enough if you wanted to get into the ring for Muaythai/K1 (and go to Thailand) or wanted to up your game for a cage/ring fight (and go to Brazil/North America) or if you wanted to improve your TKD but to go abroad without ANY gameplan in mind seems a little crazy to me. Just my 2 cents worth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 UglyIrishBMX

acualie i don't live in that country right now i'm in the us havn't been there in a long time
    the schools here for the most part are a buy you belt plan ect hard to find a good school i checked into a judo club in japan decided i didn't wanna do that i met one of the guys who runs it didn't like his attitude i was thinking about kung fu or wushu since i've never realy done eather but schools here those styles are jokes all for show i don't wanna keep doin TKD i only did it for fun i never realy considerd it a good martial arts but it was fun for sport

but i do whant to find a school like you said strict training everyday ect

Some of the world's best schools are in the US. That place is saturated with talent. What do you want to learn? What city are you in? Sure every country has some McDojos, but it doesn't mean they all are.

You'll need to explain what you want to study and what you want out of it. Do you want to compete? Do you just want to escape from your typical daily routine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 UglyIrishBMX

i live in kansas right now moving back to california soon kinda the daily rootine thing yea i just whant somthin were i can completly focus on it for a wile don't whant to compete atm i was thinkin of kung fu or wushu just for that extra diversaty in my style
    that and 5 years worth of taining in china cost way less than here and it's way more hands on just not shure if the schools are what i'm looking for
    as far as talent in the us i havn't seen it much i have lived all over this country and i know TKD is a poor art to sum it all up but they do mix of karate and TKD schools at my turny's and i run into litle compotition judo is way diferent theres alot of good competition in that here i can't evan take state in that
    just sick of buy your belt schools , flashy schools , point sparing schools ect
    manely looking for somthing more intence

If you're sick of flashy schools then Wushu is probably not for you. See if you can get in contact with Fianna (Pearse) on here - He did the whole trip to Asia thing and could probably give you an honest evaluation of what to expect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭Millionaire

Go to Thailand and learn Muay Thai... if you want to travel.

Trainining is hard, long, and very effective, and fun. but its not strict...its not like you got some master with a scowl on him ordering you about.

The Thais would take your head off, train real hard, and have a fun athmosphere in most camps.

Millionaire, how long more are you out there for and what camp are you at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,336 ✭✭✭Dave Joyce

I trained in Kung Fu for almost 20 years and if you're going back to the West Coast there are probley better practisioners of Kung Fu there than in China. Do a little research on the different types of styles (there is a huge variety) and once you've found a system that appeals to you, why not have a look at Inside Kung Fu and you'll get a listing for whatever schools nearby. It will I agree be more expensive but hey, most of these guys are doing this for a living and TBH in a lot of cases you get what you pay for.

dlofnep wrote:
    Millionaire, how long more are you out there for and what camp are you at?

Hi John

Right now I am at Sityodtong...very long established and famous MT camp.

I live in Pattaya now since sept. before that I was from Jan - Sept up in Burriram provience about 2 hours from Cambodia. in a tiny village called Nong Ki... and a camp Nog Ki Payuath which had 2 of the most famous fighters in Thailand from there Nampon and Namkabuan (sp?) both fought Ramon Deeker, and are true example of poor thai farm boys, who become famous, success and rich (by thai terms) through Muay Thai. Both now own a few restaurants and business.. are about my age... and I am friendly with them, which is great to have access to ask such Icons, stupid questions about MT and fighting! LOL!

So I am here just over 1 year, and I have no intentions of living in ireland again. setting up biz out here, as I go along in time. So God willing Thailand will be home for me for the fore seeable future. I am very lucky really to realise this dream. I love the life style, the people the weather, the culture, cheap living, the temples and of course the training.

However I have not been getting enough clinch work nor sparring recently, so unless that changes when I am back in 1 week. I will be changing camps immediate.

I am beginning to believe, if you come to Thailand, you are better off in a camp that is owned by a frang (thats what Thais call foreign people, like european or american), as Frangs understand better what you training needs are, and that a 35 year old (as in me) wants to train as hard as a professional fighter. or even train up for a fight or 2, if all goes well.

So even though I live 5 mins from Sityodtong in Pattaya, there are about 3 other camps about 5 minutes the other way, which are foreign owned, and have promised me decent sparring if I come to train. Of course all the pad man would be ex thai pro fighters, but you got a european being the coach which is much better.

World Champ Craig o Flynn from Cork www.muaythaiireland.com has a camp outisde pattaya in jonteimn, and he is a super guy/instructor but, its just a wee bit far form my house. otherwise I d be over there.

There are literally tons and tons of camps in Pattaya. Even Fairtex big new fancy Muay Thai centre is 30 mins from my house. and their MT and K1 top lads train there, and the odd Gracie too... I see them around all the time.

I think alot of Thais, think it funny/crazy why foreign people come to learn muay thai, and want to fight...when alot of them retire from the ring in the early 20s... .in fact if you do not make it to a high levels by 21...your written off for the knackers yard. Its a bit like the Horse Racing industry in ireland.

Or as Paddy C said to me... its like a bunch of Thais coming to Ireland, wanting to learn hurling, and play in an All Ireland. thats what alot of them think of us doing MT.

Of course their happy to humor us, and take our training fees. My own trainer/pad man, can be lazy or not bother too hard working me on the odd morning... and it really pees me off! :mad: so sometimes, I "miss" the pads, and give him a snappy body shot to wake him up a bit. :eek:

If you ever get a chance, come over to train, and i am always here to show people about, and help out etc.

Best Regards

Gerry

Hi John

Right now I am at Sityodtong...very long established and famous MT camp.

I live in Pattaya now since sept. before that I was from Jan - Sept up in Burriram provience about 2 hours from Cambodia. in a tiny village called Nong Ki... and a camp Nog Ki Payuath which had 2 of the most famous fighters in Thailand from there Nampon and Namkabuan (sp?) both fought Ramon Deeker, and are true example of poor thai farm boys, who become famous, success and rich (by thai terms) through Muay Thai. Both now own a few restaurants and business.. are about my age... and I am friendly with them, which is great to have access to ask such Icons, stupid questions about MT and fighting! LOL!

So I am here just over 1 year, and I have no intentions of living in ireland again. setting up biz out here, as I go along in time. So God willing Thailand will be home for me for the fore seeable future. I am very lucky really to realise this dream. I love the life style, the people the weather, the culture, cheap living, the temples and of course the training.

However I have not been getting enough clinch work nor sparring recently, so unless that changes when I am back in 1 week. I will be changing camps immediate.

I am beginning to believe, if you come to Thailand, you are better off in a camp that is owned by a frang (thats what Thais call foreign people, like european or american), as Frangs understand better what you training needs are, and that a 35 year old (as in me) wants to train as hard as a professional fighter. or even train up for a fight or 2, if all goes well.

So even though I live 5 mins from Sityodtong in Pattaya, there are about 3 other camps about 5 minutes the other way, which are foreign owned, and have promised me decent sparring if I come to train. Of course all the pad man would be ex thai pro fighters, but you got a european being the coach which is much better.

World Champ Craig o Flynn from Cork www.muaythaiireland.com has a camp outisde pattaya in jonteimn, and he is a super guy/instructor but, its just a wee bit far form my house. otherwise I d be over there.

There are literally tons and tons of camps in Pattaya. Even Fairtex big new fancy Muay Thai centre is 30 mins from my house. and their MT and K1 top lads train there, and the odd Gracie too... I see them around all the time.

I think alot of Thais, think it funny/crazy why foreign people come to learn muay thai, and want to fight...when alot of them retire from the ring in the early 20s... .in fact if you do not make it to a high levels by 21...your written off for the knackers yard. Its a bit like the Horse Racing industry in ireland.

Or as Paddy C said to me... its like a bunch of Thais coming to Ireland, wanting to learn hurling, and play in an All Ireland. thats what alot of them think of us doing MT.

Of course their happy to humor us, and take our training fees. My own trainer/pad man, can be lazy or not bother too hard working me on the odd morning... and it really pees me off! :mad: so sometimes, I "miss" the pads, and give him a snappy body shot to wake him up a bit. :eek:

If you ever get a chance, come over to train, and i am always here to show people about, and help out etc.

Best Regards

Gerry

Jesus man, you're living the dream. I am planning to make a trip over to thailand but I'm in college at the moment, so I'm not sure I could afford it at the moment. I had planned on going this summer, but it's really hard when I have a car and have to pay for college stuff.

What are you working at there Gerry? How hard is it to get a permanant visa. I know the whole cross the border trick, but do you have permanant residence at this stage?

My friend is married to a thai guy. She showed me the photos from his village. It looks really untainted by modern society. He has his own elephants and everything. Seemed crazy.

Thailand looks beautiful, it's just getting there and saving up the money.

Yes, I have a thai LTd company and work permit... I did the cross border thing for 1st 6 months. thats all changed now... you can only do it for 3 months, then your out for 6 months.

I had a small IT recruitment agency in dublin, scaled in down, and with voip phone (blueface...an irish version of skype) I my irish biz number rings anywhere in world I have good broadband. anyway 90% of my work is on phone or email, so clients do not know I have left and I do not really advertise the fact. so I work 3pm - Midnight into ireland mon - fri and match irish work hours. which leaves all morning free for MT Training.

Also hoping to make a bit of pocket money when I start teaching Self Defence...but thats more for fun I and my own practice in combatives I want to do that, and if I make a pocket money all the better.

If you do not booze, which I stopped, nor go to tourist traps, it is very cheap to live.

Yeah Nong Ki where I lived, would be like a small irish country town 60 or 70 years back...for by staellite TV... its is very unspoiled.

Pattaya is full on tourist and sex thing... but I tend to give that scene a miss, though it is fun sometimes to go and watch the old guys getting ripped off my the bar girls.

If you stay out of the tourist/booze/bar girl scene and eat like a Thai... lots of noodles... it is cheap.

If you really want to do it...and take a year out while you can, and you finish college. one option is to Teach English as Foreign Lanuage Cert..and if you got college... you would get a good 9 - 5 teaching job on about 25,000 - 30,000 bhat a month. Which is real good cash for thailand. thats like 35K euro in ireland and also a good english school gives you a visa....and time to learn MT too!!

If you go to www.bangkokpost.com you will see loads of ads for english teaching jobs... or google for them.. or www.thaivisa.com/forum

if you finish college, get price of flight, some money for 1st few months, and have a 1 year english teacher job lined up...sell the car and go for it.

Your young.... do it while you got the chance. it is an amazing experience.

Pattaya would be ideal to teach english in and do MT. Bangkok is very exciting but massive...12 million people, expensive, congested, polluted...so a few days there gets on your nerves.. Pattaya is a much better chilled out place, cheaper, and smaller to handle.

go to www.thaivisa.com/forum and start to ask some questions, and you will get good advice....usually!

Good luck!

Like I want to up my KM stuff, (on top of the muay thai) and this year I have time to do it. Money wise it will cost a fortune...but I will do it...and figure out a way of rasiing the cash to get the courses I want. in 2008 I will be too busy with business to do it... so I MUST go for it too when I got the chance.
    Crapping myself about the time out of work...but fear should not stop a man hitting his dreams. 2007 is my MA year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,448 ✭✭✭Roper

At the moment, I think of myself as living the dream- but I've actually changed my mind, Gerry, YOU are living MY dream!

JOB, Get yourself a TEFL cert and you'll be set. I know someone doing TEFL in Brazil right now but he's wasting it, he thinks the Jits is some kind of nervous disorder. :)

I really had only planned on going there for 2 or 3 months. I've no intentions on quitting education, even for a year. I want to get all that out of the way. When I'm finished I'll still be plenty young to go travel for longer periods ;)

Roper wrote:
    JOB, Get yourself a TEFL cert and you'll be set. . :)

Its defo the thing to do, if you want to travel and make money, or indeed as per this forum, go to the home of your chosen MA to study, train or fight.

If anything happened and my way of making money fecked up, I would do the TEFL cert as a back up, as there is no way in hell I am coming back to cold wet ireland. I fact some school, will give you a start helping teaching, and allow you to the the TEFL as you go along..its called "Earn and Learn" program. and if you got a Degree + TEFL you get the crea, of the work and best schools to teach in, and private lessons too.

I know quite a few Irish lads out here (their not MA people nor into MT) but they just got sick of life in ireland, mortages, expenses, weather, peope, they upped and come out here on TEFL. and none are caught up in the booze/go go bar scene pattaya in famous for....which is a good thing. They hang out on the beach...and meet the gals for free! LOL!! :D

Sounds like a great place man - I'm planning on travelling when I finish college. I don't intend on living in Ireland. It's too expensive and although I love Ireland and it's culture, it's too costly and the alternatives are all too luring.

I think I'll get the TEFL before I leave on my adventures though ;)

double post.