Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aussie Millions 2007

• 27-12-2006 7:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭

Anyone heading down for this?

Day 1 of the main event begins on the 14th January. I'm going to try a few online qualifiers, failing that I'll probably head over for a live satellite prior to the main event.

Does anyone know of any decent value online qualifiers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

If you mean good value as in an overlay for the players then I don't know of any offhand. I do know partypoker have a big oen coming up next sunday evening, but that's over $500 entrance fee, don't think there will be too many more tournies being run for this at this late stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Theres a $218 GF on tribeca on 29th Dec and some $3 feeders into it.
    Theres 68 players reg'd right now(1 package and $2.4k at the moment) and i reckon there will be 2 $11k packages possibly 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 HauleyBear

Im heading down-under on the 3rd, traveling Oz for a few months. Planning to play the $1000 event and a few live sats.... A few quick Questions in reguards to the Crown Casino?
    1) Is there a dress code?
    2) What choice of cash games are on offer?
    3) General standard of play?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

HauleyBear wrote:
    Im heading down-under on the 3rd, traveling Oz for a few months. Planning to play the $1000 event and a few live sats.... A few quick Questions in reguards to the Crown Casino?
    2) What choice of cash games are on offer?
    3) General standard of play?

When I was visiting my sister in Melbourne in November 2003 I called into the Crown casino and played a few satellites.

As soon as I got to the desk they called Danny McDonagh (email poker@crowncasino.com.au) who is the poker manager. He was interested in any news about the Irish poker scene, and very helpful He told me he had worked in Ireland for half a year. I suggest you drop him an email. He is an ok guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

I think I might pop down from Sydney for a few days, maybe play a super sat and then one of the freezeouts towards the end of the festival (think there is a $500 tournie during the 2nd week of the festival)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Found a flight to Melbourne for 700 on the 11th, very tempted, just need to do the VC bonus at breakeven poker first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

bohsman wrote:
    Found a flight to Melbourne for 700 on the 11th, very tempted, just need to do the VC bonus at breakeven poker first.

Is that a return flight?

HauleyBear wrote:

No dress code in terms of what we are used to......I think their one rule is no flip-flops.

Theres a $218 GF on tribeca on 29th Dec and some $3 feeders into it.
    Theres 68 players reg'd right now(1 package and $2.4k at the moment) and i reckon there will be 2 $11k packages possibly 3.

Thanks for posting that Aidan. I just registered now and was looking for online sats for it......Does anyone else know of any others around this buy-in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

No problem, could be a couple of options left on this list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Crashed out 6th in this satellite on PP. Carfax still going well..1st is $11k package and 2nd $8.5k cash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Is carfax Idogu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

Well done Ste, hope you repeat your result from last time you were at the crown, wp sir.

He is and he is going to Australia, WP Stephen.

Edit: Fecking chap didnt have a clue what was going on messing about with the deal for a while with some randomer telling opponent storys about Jamie Gold so they are back playing.... actually its over other dude took it,

8k for ste and im sure something will be sorted out as the other guy cant go to oz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

wow this Imrubbish guy is obviuosly mentally challenged, how did he get hu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

The standard dress code around australia seems to be smart casual

No flipflops as mentioned above, no singlets,

Dress shorts are accepted in the places ive been but sports shorts are not.

Havnt been to crown. Im building a bit of a bankroll at the moment in the gold coast just south of brisbane. Depending on how the next two weeks go i might come down for a few days.

I thought it was strange when he said he had $2 in his account....

shoutman wrote:
    I thought it was strange when he said he had $2 in his account....

AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Hate this feeling, so close and gave it away to some donk.......I was on his table at the very start of the tournament and he called two all-in players in one pot with by far the worst of it to treble up......And then he calls me a cheat when we're heads up!!!

Nice one Rob for the offer to transfer the $1k. Much appreciated. I don't play much on PP and only lodged the buy-in for that tournament just before it started.

Don't know whether to take the money and run or make the trip with a little bit of bumping up.....I do have the National Student Poker Champs' on Jan 27th so I will prob take the money and maybe head to an EPT.....

I just can't win heads up online!!! And he agreed to the deal but then kept on playing.....AAAAAhhhhh, lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

ul man.
    gl whatever you decide to do

Also fair play to robbie, dave etc for trying to sort something out. that guy was a clown tho

that guy was a total a**clown, maybe try to fire off an email to paddy power and explain the situation, they guy might still want to do the deal so it could still be arranged...

Otherwise you could just add 8k to the National Student Poker Champs'.

Either way WP and you can never be too unhappy with $8k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

carfax wrote:
    AAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Hate this feeling, so close and gave it away to some donk.......I was on his table at the very start of the tournament and he called two all-in players in one pot with by far the worst of it to treble up......And then he calls me a cheat when we're heads up!!!

Nice one Rob for the offer to transfer the $1k. Much appreciated. I don't play much on PP and only lodged the buy-in for that tournament just before it started.

Don't know whether to take the money and run or make the trip with a little bit of bumping up.....I do have the National Student Poker Champs' on Jan 27th so I will prob take the money and maybe head to an EPT.....

I just can't win heads up online!!! And he agreed to the deal but then kept on playing.....AAAAAhhhhh, lol.

hard luck stephen.... the end of that game was a bloody headace...
    i think there were far to may people trying to sort it out....
    anyway ul man...
    ps 2$ in his account lol....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Well done Stephen.

Cheers guys,

I'll fire off an email to Paddy Power now alright.

Ya never know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

wp stephen , great result all the same.
    i was waiting to get your man on a HU table to give him the 1k, thats the only way it can be done on tribeca afaik, but then again, thats kinda hard to do if he only had $2 in his account.
    Hope u get this sorted again, it should be a great trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

wp stev, sounds all a bit mad as I didnt see it, but hopefully you'll get some sort of deal sort, I think 8k and play a EPT is a far better idea, long journey to Auz

Ill see you in Australia so Stephen.

Team event on the 18th, $1,100 per team. Guessing its 4 to a team - Myself, Daithio, Carfax and IonaPaul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Well played Stephen. I missed the end of the game. You were 3handed for about 30 mins and next i knew it was face on the keyboard at 5 this morning. Sounds a bit crazy the way it turned out and as for that imrubbish guy...does exactly what it says on the tin!! Good luck if you get to oz

Cheers lads,

The result is a bit of a confidence booster if anything.

Bohsman, you heading to oz?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

carfax wrote:
    Cheers lads,

The result is a bit of a confidence booster if anything.

Bohsman, you heading to oz?

N1 Steven and unlucky at the same time. I think you should just go and win the Ipc next week, now i know you wrote somewhere here you wont be playing but wouldn't it be fun to win for you;)

nicnicnic wrote:
    N1 Steven and unlucky at the same time. I think you should just go and win the Ipc next week, now i know you wrote somewhere here you wont be playing but wouldn't it be fun to win for you;)

Yeah it would actually Nic, you're right.......but I'm still not feeling up to playing in one of their events......Maybe next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 halibut2

Going on 8th to meet daithio. Have you booked yet bohs and where'd you get the flight?

Pillowtalk and rob you still considering?

halibut2 wrote:
    Going on 8th to meet daithio. Have you booked yet bohs and where'd you get the flight?

Pillowtalk and rob you still considering?

I think bohsman was looking at flights on;
    www.travelsupermarket.com
    Singapore Airlines on 11th Jan.

He hasn't booked yet though and is trying to clear a bonus on VC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Jools Poker

nice one stephen! good luck whatever you doecide to do

Cheers Julie,

Will you be making the trip to Citywest yourself???