Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Years Open €300+€30

• 26-12-2006 2:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭

PokerEvents are proud to announce New Years Open held in The Red Cow Hotel, Dublin €300+€30 on January 1st 2007

1. Tournament is run by PokerEvents
    2. Our tournament is run for commercial reasons
    3. Our tournament will takeplace on the 1st January 2007 in The Red Cow Hotel Dublin
    4. Registration Opens at 5.00pm and Cards are in the air at 6.00pm
    5. Players must be members of PokerEvents to participate in our tournaments
    6. Payment is taken at the registration desk on the day
    7. We are running No Limit Texas Hold'em Freezeout
    8. Cost of entry: €300
    9. Cost of registration: €30
    10. 100% prize pool payout
    11. Any guarenteed prize pool.
    12. NA
    13. Starting Chips 8,000,
    14. NA
    15. Blind levels
    25 - 50
    50 - 100
    75 - 150
    100 - 200
    150 - 300 25
    Break
    200 - 400 25
    300 - 600 50
    400 - 800 75
    500 - 1000 100
    800 - 1500 100
    1000 - 2000 200
    Break
    1500 - 3000 300
    2000 - 4000 500
    3000 - 6000 500
    4000 - 8000 1000
    5000 - 10000 1000
    8000-15000 1500
    Break
    10000-20000 2000
    15000-30000 3000
    20000-40000 4000
    30000-60000 5000
    Blinds Frozen
    See PokerEvents.ie for Structure
    http://www.pokerevents.ie/structure.asp?E_ID=361

16. Blind timeframes
    Level 1-5 25 Minutes
    Level 6-17 35 Minutes
    Level 18-20 45 Minutes
    Level 21+ Blinds Frozen
    See PokerEvents.ie for Structure
    http://www.pokerevents.ie/structure.asp?E_ID=361

17. A minimum 10% players will be paid. All of the prize pool will be awarded as tickets to The IPC 'Irish Poker Championship' January 4th - 7th in City West with 12 tickets guaranteed. Any excess cash that does not make up a ticket will paid out as part of the prizepool.
    18. Fully Trained Dealers At Every Table
    19. List of rules available on the night or check out pokerevents.ie
    20. There will be a Tournament Director whos decision will be FINAL should there be any disputes.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Hi Stephen,

Do you know what % of the prizepool will be given out in ticket format please? This is partly because this is important info for a tournie advert, and partly because I *may* attend this.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭PokerEvents-Ste

5starpool wrote:
    Hi Stephen,

Do you know what % of the prizepool will be given out in ticket format please? This is partly because this is important info for a tournie advert, and partly because I *may* attend this.

Cheers.

Hello 5starpool,

PokerEvents Super Satellites are usually cash with some tickets but due to feedback from players, and with the IPC in the same week, The New Years Open will be an all ticket event (€1500 each) any surplus prize money will be given out in cash.

12 Tickets Guaranteed

If you do attend please introduce yourself as it would be nice to put a face to the name.

Regards

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

Hello 5starpool,

PokerEvents Super Satellites are usually cash with some tickets but due to feedback from players, and with the IPC in the same week, The New Years Open will be an all ticket event (€1500 each) any surplus prize money will be given out in cash.

12 Tickets Guaranteed

If you do attend please introduce yourself as it would be nice to put a face to the name.

Regards

Stephen

Can I say I am not particularly impressed with the manner in which you have drip fed this info to the members of boards. There is no mention of all prizemoney going towards tickets in your original post and I would not be particularly impressed to have turned up sick as a parrot on new years day, to fork out 300 quid for a tourney and not be armed with the knowledge that my max return was a factor of 5x my outlay.

This is tantamount to false advertising and imo you are well out of line here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Can I say I am not particularly impressed with the manner in which you have drip fed this info to the members of boards.

You got beat up backing those bumper favs didnt you?;) :p

nah - I only had 3 bets today. 1unp, 1 3rd 6/1. limited damage, and I had the 8/1 about Heez A Wonder nabbed only for the race to be called off after he had been cut as low as 9/2 within an hour of he betting opening.

Sunday is the day il be getting it all in preflop for a plunge of epic proportions.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

You forgot to mention that this game has antes.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

maybe you should rename the New Year's Open to:

The Super-Duper Mega Brill IPC Satellite ????

i'm glad I found out this info now before I waisted a journey...

17. A minimum 10% players will be paid. Part of the prize pool will be awarded as tickets to The IPC 'Irish Poker Championship' LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭Ollieboy

Can I say I am not particularly impressed with the manner in which you have drip fed this info to the members of boards. There is no mention of all prizemoney going towards tickets in your original post and I would not be particularly impressed to have turned up sick as a parrot on new years day, to fork out 300 quid for a tourney and not be armed with the knowledge that my max return was a factor of 5x my outlay.

I heard that there was a deal done between the last 18 players to get a ticket each, so the prize structure was totally scrap and redone.

Just out of interest, if you've already got a ticket for the main event and get another one, can you take the cash or will Pokerevents sell the ticket for you.

The Leinster Cup prize pool was a good payout structure, started with tickets for the last 11 players etc and 8k plus ticket for 1st out of a field off 90 odd runners

Ollieboy wrote:
    I heard that there was a deal done between the last 18 players to get a ticket each, so the prize structure was totally scrap and redone.

Your mixing this up with the Munster Open in Limerick Ollie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

to fork out 300 quid for a tourney and not be armed with the knowledge that my max return was a factor of 5x my outlay.

This actually sounded like quite a good tourney but now...theres no way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

this sounds pretty good to me. How many players do you expect to attend.?

Lower varience is much friendlier to me in my present situation!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 306 ✭✭PiperT

I think for those that intend to play the IPC this represents good value with 12 tickets guaranteed. Although the online satellite on 2nd Jan is better value but probably won't get enough runners to support more than 3-4 tickets.

I agree with Noel that it should be more transparent. I got a text today which simply says "300+30" & "Win ticket to IPC". Not very clear imho. Most would expect a mix of cash & tickets but an "All Ticket" event should be marketed as such.

Fair play to the dealers for working on New Years day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭poorbarman

In limerick it was originally to be 13 tickets and cash but after a lot of communication this was changed to 11 tickets plus cash but when it came to the crunch the ticket deal was struck.IMO almost everone was happy to win their ticket.It did seem to be the priority for most players on the day.

I agree with all that as far a satellites go this is a good value satellite in which to qualify. It should be advertised as same.

Hello All,

I forgot to add the antes when I origionally posted the tournament details:

Antes are as follows in Red
    25 - 50
    50 - 100
    75 - 150
    100 - 200
    150 - 300 25
    Break
    200 - 400 25
    300 - 600 50
    400 - 800 75
    500 - 1000 100
    800 - 1500 100
    1000 - 2000 200
    Break
    1500 - 3000 300
    2000 - 4000 500
    3000 - 6000 500
    4000 - 8000 1000
    5000 - 10000 1000
    8000-15000 1500
    Break
    10000-20000 2000
    15000-30000 3000
    20000-40000 4000
    30000-60000 5000
    Blinds Frozen

Stephen

Hello,

In both the Winter Festival (Galway) and The Munster Christmas Tournament (Limerick), When it came down to the final players in Galway a deal was considered and rejected by the chip leader. In Limerick the deal was accepted by all. Players wanted the tickets!

Also a number of calls have been received requesting the tournamnent to be a ticket only event as the IPC is starting next week on Friday at 6.00pm.

Anyone who has a ticket already will receive a refund in cash should they be lucky enough to win a second!

Regards

Stephen

Hello,

In both the Winter Festival (Galway) and The Munster Christmas Tournament (Limerick), When it came down to the final players in Galway a deal was considered and rejected by the chip leader. In Limerick the deal was accepted by all. Players wanted the tickets!

Also a number of calls have been received requesting the tournamnent to be a ticket only event as the IPC is starting next week on Friday at 6.00pm.

Anyone who has a ticket already will receive a refund in cash should they be lucky enough to win a second!

Regards

Stephen

I dont think this fully explains why you have falsely advertised the tournament? Both on here and again in your txts this afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

jesus h christ please ffs guys lay off poker events they are doing there best. also this has been advertised as a mega sat and as everyone should know that means all tickets. the way it should be. the way its done everywhere else.
    @ is what im calling u from now on u moany fruit cake. its not like u guys wont be out there that weekend for the ipc.
    this is one off the best value tournaments there is to play in ireland and if anyone thinks different there a fool now cop on and do what myself damo tony flipper and the rest have done and look for ur rub off the green.
    now if u dont like the city west or you dont like poker events frick off and post it somewhere else if not see u sunday for what will be an excellent game....if not jan 07 ipc.... bring it on.

happy new year to 1 and all.

pppspecial wrote:
    jesus h christ please ffs guys lay off poker events they are doing there best. also this has been advertised as a mega sat and as everyone should know that means all tickets. the way it should be. the way its done everywhere else.
    @ is what im calling u from now on u moany fruit cake. its not like u guys wont be out there that weekend for the ipc.
    this is one off the best value tournaments there is to play in ireland and if anyone thinks different there a fool now cop on and do what myself damo tony flipper and the rest have done and look for ur rub off the green.
    now if u dont like the city west or you dont like poker events frick off and post it somewhere else if not see u sunday for what will be an excellent game....if not jan 07 ipc.... bring it on.

Have you just taken a particularly bad beat and decided to come on here to vent?

1. This has not been advertised as a mega satellite here or in their txts today?
    2. Why do you feel "everybody should know that means all tickets"? With the level of misinformation currently being peddeled how do you expect people to know? I see a disonnect here and I do not see the information to hand to piece it all together other than that "everybody should know".
    @ - What age are you? 12?
    4. "this is one off the best value tournaments" - I dont believe this to be in question and I am not quite sure what relevance this has to the false advertising of the supersatellite this weekend.
    5. I dont see where I have posted negative comments about Citywest or Poker Events so I dont see why you reckon I should "frick off and post it somewhere else".
    6. "Fruit Cake" - I dont believe this has ever been in doubt or that I have ever denied it.
    7. Happy New Year to you also.
    8. Do you get paid for your role as official defender of Poker Events?

Lads, calm down ffs.

Personally I am glad that this is a ticket only game and I might go. It seems that the communications could have been done differently, but I assume the decision to award tickets only was a relatively late decision and at the time of posting it was part ticket as per the usual PE tournaments.

Stephen,

I have edited your post, points 15 and 17 to include the extra info. If you wish this to read something else then PM me if you can't re-edit it.

Also, can you double confirm that cards in the air at 6pm?

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

pppspecial wrote:

Hi Dave,

Just one point.....I think its fair to say that Poker Events bring a lot of that negativity on themselves......No offence to Ste or anything I know you're doing your best at your job and everything.

I'm not going to play in any of their events but best of luck to anyone who is.
    Little bit of a tangent here but does anybody know anything about this lifestyle exhibition....Is it still going ahead? If so what day and time is it on and lastly Happy New Year all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

the lifestyle thingy is cancelled AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,771 ✭✭✭carfax

karlh wrote:
    the lifestyle thingy is cancelled AFAIK

Thanks Karl, thought so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭Lplated

Just spotted that this is now a satellite to the IPC.

On the poker events website there is also a 'mega satellite' advertised for the 4th Jan, starting at 8.00, 300 + 30 entry, with 6,000 starting chips - will this be going ahead as well as the 'New Years Open' on Jan 1st?? (Given that Jan 1st is now a mega satellite...)
    thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

Please take any questions up regards pay etc via PM.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

sorry noel.didnt think it would offend u in that way... was just winding u up mate....sorry again.

5starpool wrote:
    Lads, calm down ffs.

Personally I am glad that this is a ticket only game and I might go. It seems that the communications could have been done differently, but I assume the decision to award tickets only was a relatively late decision and at the time of posting it was part ticket as per the usual PE tournaments.

Stephen,

I have edited your post, points 15 and 17 to include the extra info. If you wish this to read something else then PM me if you can't re-edit it.

Also, can you double confirm that cards in the air at 6pm?

Cheers.

Thanks 5starpool,

I tried editing the origional post but wasn't able. Thanks for changing it.

Satellites to the New Years Day Start at 3.00pm

Cards Start at 6.00pm

Regards

Stephen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

In fairness lads, this looks like a fantastic value satellite to what should be a great tournament. 20% of the field will qualify for the IPC. If I was home I would be playing this...

Lplated wrote:
    Just spotted that this is now a satellite to the IPC.

On the poker events website there is also a 'mega satellite' advertised for the 4th Jan, starting at 8.00, 300 + 30 entry, with 6,000 starting chips - will this be going ahead as well as the 'New Years Open' on Jan 1st?? (Given that Jan 1st is now a mega satellite...)
    thanks.

Hello Lplated,

Yes this Mega Satellite will go ahead. Thurs 4th Jan'07 €300+€30 in CITY WEST. It's another ticker only event!

10 Tickets Guaranteed!

Regards

Stephen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

pppspecial wrote:
    jesus h christ please ffs guys lay off poker events they are doing there best...blah blah blah lick arse etc...

...don't mind him - he's only defending them coz it's the only tourney he has ever cashed in :p

...happy new year dave - cya next week :)

pppspecial wrote:
    sorry noel.didnt think it would offend u in that way... was just winding u up mate....sorry again.

Not a problem Dave - I was only defending what I see as a vaild point on my behalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Iceman78

Payout structure sounds fine if it had been advertised this way all along but i dont like the way poker events just change things whenever they feel like it without telling anyone properly.

Also, this structure looks just like the one for the Leinster Open which was terrible as at one stage with about 25 left, most players hadnt got much more than 10 times the big blind. The antes were brought in far too early and if i remember correctly, the blinds were even frozen at one stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Sh!t i was going to play the new years day game but i cant make the main event due to work so theres no point now. I'll have to settle for the 500+50 supporting game on the sunday. Might see a few of yous down there that day. Good luck to everyone thats playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

Iceman78 wrote:
    Also, this structure looks just like the one for the Leinster Open which was terrible

the blinds were even frozen at one stage.
    Those two points in fairness shouldnt be in the same sentence, as imo they contradict each other. if they are willing to freeze the blinds at least they are doing something to help the structure. fair enough if it was bad at one stage this may be down to tight play, or a number of early casualties, or in quick succession. so at least if its going wrong they are trying to fix it. also a longer structure wouldnt make that much difference as the tournament will be over this time with 12 or so left.

where abouts in the hotel do i go? or will it be difficult to miss?

sikes wrote:
    where abouts in the hotel do i go? or will it be difficult to miss?

Its in the main function room, (ball room) Not difficult to miss! Just ask reception

anyone head to this? i managed to sleep through

I went. There were 78 runners, so 15 tickets plus a bit of cash I presume for 16th. I didn't get going early, amnaged to double up early after the break with 88 vs Roy Brindleys AK and then a few hands later got it all in preflop with KK vs AA and that was all she wrote (apart from the less than 1BB I was left with that meant no recovery).

KP (KIA), Mr PT(life support) and later Roy B (not in the rudest of health) meant that my table wasn't full of softies. Also spotted were:

Smurph (KIA)
    BigD
    NFR
    pppspecial
    5pin5
    BCB
    Denis Reyes
    Kevin Fitzpatrick
    Smurphs Martin (sorry Martin)
    Sean Fagan
    Eddie The Eagle
    Duke
    The Chief (very early kill)

I shouldn't have gone as I am severly under the weather, but still, at least I went out with dignity.

5starpool wrote:
    I went. There were 78 runners, so 15 tickets plus a bit of cash I presume for 16th. I didn't get going early, amnaged to double up early after the break with 88 vs Roy Brindleys AK and then a few hands later got it all in preflop with KK vs AA and that was all she wrote (apart from the less than 1BB I was left with that meant no recovery).

KP (KIA), Mr PT(life support) and later Roy B (not in the rudest of health) meant that my table wasn't full of softies. Also spotted were:

Smurph (KIA)
    BigD
    NFR
    pppspecial
    5pin5
    BCB
    Denis Reyes
    Kevin Fitzpatrick
    Smurphs Martin (sorry Martin)
    Sean Fagan
    Eddie The Eagle
    Duke
    The Chief (very early kill)

I shouldn't have gone as I am severly under the weather, but still, at least I went out with dignity.

Myself, NFR, PillowTalk, PiperT, NicNicNic took down tickets that I know of. Im sure other members of boards were also involved.

Nice tournament, I was on c.11k at the break, got it up to 15k and then got a double up when I played 8 9 soooooooted on the button after a couple of limpers... Flop came 8 8 4, checked around to me I bet out c.2k and some crazy russian guy RRAI with 66. I obliged him with a call and never looked back.

NFR had an obscene amount of chips from an early point (c.27k at the break) and never looked back.

Dave "Flapping Gums" Masters let the Russian bluff him off a big pot :D and never really got going after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭tacker

That was me with the AA 5starpool.Mr PT,Big City Banker and Nicky Power also got through.Dont know any of the others

sikes wrote:
    anyone head to this? i managed to sleep through

Just back from this now. Play finished up at around 1:45am after nearly an hour of hand for hand play. Pleased to say I finished in the tickets.

So, boardsies in the tickets include -:

Yours Truly
    Mr Pillowtalk
    Norwich Fan Rob
    Big City Banker
    Nicky Power (who I think is nicnic)

I'm sure there were one or two others.

Nice start to '07.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

yeah, just back, nice tourney, was plenty of play in the end, and had ticket locked up pretty early on, nice to see so many boardsters get tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

PiperT wrote:
    Nicky Power (who I think is nicnic)

I'm sure there were one or two others.

Nice start to '07.

it is , were we at the same table Piper?

three of us travelled up from waterford and got 2 & 3/5 tickets, so a happy car for the drive home.

btw does this mean that we all won the "New Year Open" and are the poker events new year champion:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Missed out on the ticket. One loose EP limper, so I open-jammed JJ in MP for 5,450 @ 200-400/25 ante level. Button calls, BB reraises all-in, button all-in too. Button 1010, BB AKo and I finish 3rd/3 when they both make river flushes, although I already had my hat and coat on after the Ace turn.

Felt more sorry for the lad on the button than myself, he was down not only his €330 buy-in on the night, but also one car. He missed a bend on the drive up from Edenderry and ended up in the canal. He left the car in the canal, climbed out soaked and met a good samaritan in the shape of an old granny who took him to her house and kitted him out in some clothes and a dodgy pair of slippers belonging to one of her sons. He then hailed a taxi and arrived in the Red Cow in said garb midway through level 2, so I felt he definitely deserved a ticket for that dedication to the cause!

For my part, I popped into the Fitz afterwards and picked up €1,580 in a cashgame there, so the night wasn't a total write-off for me. Good to see so many Boardsies through to the weekend.

now you sharks have tickets, i might have a go at one later in the week

wp all

nicnicnic wrote:
    it is , were we at the same table Piper?

three of us travelled up from waterford and got 2 & 3/5 tickets, so a happy car for the drive home.

btw does this mean that we all won the "New Year Open" and are the poker events new year champion:D

No Nic, I was in seat 3 on the other table just to the left of Mr PT. I think one or two of your buddies were on my table. They were slagging your singing abilities..lol

Yeah, a 15 way split, who gets the trophy ?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

PiperT wrote:
    No Nic, I was in seat 3 on the other table just to the left of Mr PT. I think one or two of your buddies were on my table. They were slagging your singing abilities..lol

Yeah, a 15 way split, who gets the trophy ?:D

they just don't recognise talent, i think i can put a face to you now Piper. I'll take the trophy for Aug 1st to the 23rd if that's ok with the other 14 winners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Congrats lads on getting tickets. Now put them to good use in the main event!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Well done folks. I may give tomorrow night a shot. We shall see.