Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tax Man and Me

Options
  • 21-12-2006 2:01pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭

Hey all,

Hope this is the right forum, apologies if not.

I work as an IT Contractor for another company, I invoice them and they look after my taxs etc and pay me.

I am looking for some advice or guidance here. Ive been working as a Contractor for a long time (5 years) but Im just after getting screwed again! and its the final straw.

I was owed holidays (9 days) and was expecting a large pay check for Christmas (which I planned for and budgeted for) but then when I reveived my pay pack the Tax man had screwed me for over 2.5 K.. I'm devasted to be honest but Im the only person to blame here for not taking more of an interest and watching exactly what is happening with my pay.

Could someone please tell me, should I have my own company or accountant or both so this kind of crap happen to me again.

Is their like a best practice in these kind of situations?

I really don't have a clue when it comes to tax or tax credits or having/owning a business. The last time I did any sort of Business work was my Business Studies in 3rd class

Could someone even tell me someone I could speak to about this? or what I should/need to do

Any advice at all.
    (Sorrry if this seems like it should be under PI or something but Ive no idea who I should be speaking too or what I should be doing. Im lost)

Thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

I work as an IT Contractor for another company, I invoice them and they look after my taxs etc and pay me.