Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

kieran o connell the star

• 15-12-2006 1:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Anyone see the star last week. kieran O'connell beating his own recoed of 3005 in a year. According to the paper it states thats he is the best in Europe according to the intkl racing buerua. I admit I do follow him with some success ( dont believe anyone can beat the bookie)
    What makes him better than the rest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Ah he annoys me, I've been told hes decent with the irish racing but for the English racing he almost always just picks the favourite. His yankee consists of 4 odds on favourites. Theres a guy in the bookies who nearly creams himself as another 1/4 O'Connell shot comes in. "Ah Kieran does it again lads" he'll say with pride.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

IMO Kieran O Connell is the biggest fraud going. All he does is pick forecast favs. His nap and NB are usually the 2 shortest priced horses on a card and a lot of the times they are the worst value odds on shots around. Last time I checked the irish field naps table he was performing appallingly.

Some of the horses he has put up as a headline tip at odds on have to be seen to be believed, napping soft ground horses on quick ground that are forecast to go off at the 1/2 mark and vice versa for example. A complete joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,288 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

lol, hes absolutely terrible

he hasnt got a clue

anyone decent works for the racing post, the rest are a joke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 323 ✭✭gamb1or

Anyone got a statistic for how much profit/loss you'd make if you backed every horse he tipped?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Pighead wrote:
    Ah he annoys me, I've been told hes decent with the irish racing but for the English racing he almost always just picks the favourite. His yankee consists of 4 odds on favourites. Theres a guy in the bookies who nearly creams himself as another 1/4 O'Connell shot comes in. "Ah Kieran does it again lads" he'll say with pride.

LOL ! Thats so true of the majority of the tabloids....especially the sun :mad: Templegate does the business with an 8/1 winner.....ehhh what about the other 20 donkeys he tipped over the same day :confused: Loada bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 174 ✭✭Tubbertown1982

i dont think picking 4/7 shots is a "TIP", thats like if Brazil were playing Dublin City and your told to back Brazil. he tries his best though. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Tbh it's best ignoring all these tipsters. They have to make a selection in ever race and they're just fodder for the daily bookie inhabitants. I'm sure they don't take themselves too seriously either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

I remember Claude Duval on ATR a good while back saying that he had to have his Saturday selections in on a Thursday, he said he'd have to a 2 backup selections for each race in case of non runners. This was before 48 declarations came into effect. That told me all I ever needed to know about newspaper tipsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

batman1998 wrote:
    Anyone see the star last week. kieran O'connell beating his own recoed of 3005 in a year. According to the paper it states thats he is the best in Europe according to the intkl racing buerua. I admit I do follow him with some success ( dont believe anyone can beat the bookie)
    What makes him better than the rest?

Only just read the OP comment, nice that you registered to tell us all about him. Gotta love the line "What makes him better than the rest?", c'mon Kieran is that you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭RedPeppers

I agree with ye lads K O C is rubbish. His naps are typically 4/11 or something like that. If you backed all his winners you still have no money coz there usually odds on shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

As far as I remember, a guy from the Irish Independent was showing top profits to £1 stakes in the RP press challenge. (have not checked in ages though) I dont follow newspaper tipsters, as I like trying to figure things out for myself, however, I do read their articles to see if they spotted anything that I missed.
    Its always interesting to read someones comments on a race you have studied, even if you dont agree with them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

wb wrote:
    As far as I remember, a guy from the Irish Independent was showing top profits to £1 stakes in the RP press challenge. (have not checked in ages though) I dont follow newspaper tipsters, as I like trying to figure things out for myself, however, I do read their articles to see if they spotted anything that I missed.
    Its always interesting to read someones comments on a race you have studied, even if you dont agree with them.

Fair point, as someone else says they are handicapped by having to make a selection on every race but K O C doesn't even analyse a race. His 'form study' usually consists of something along the lines of:

'navan race goers patiece can be rewarded by waiting for the best bet of the day in the concluding bumper. horse x (1/2) and horse y (4/5) are others with sound claims.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭maalummoja

Anybody know where I can get Kieran O Connell tips??? Not in the star the last few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Please don't drag up threads that are over 6 years old; start a new one instead.

/Thread closed.