Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Overuse of posting privilages here: Poll

• 14-12-2006 12:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭

Certain people are reposting the SAME REGULAR daily games, every bloody day. Frankly, its getting very very annoying. Hence a poll to see if Im just being a killjoy.

Please vote:

Allow TD's to pimp tourney's at will? 60 votes

Allow any posts (everyday tourneys)
    0%
    Allow regular posts in sticky only and monthly/one-off games in main forum only
    36%
    thebigmcLegend_DITcharlesantoshoutmankincsemDaithiokpnuts5pin5carrigeenArmaniJeanssnicnicnicLazareeoghan104Goodluck2meSolksjaerBIG-SLICK-POKERRiverside Clubyopnailbrushgreen123PokerEvents-Ste 22 votes
    I dont mind/or care
    28%
    DapperGentDub13bohsmanmdwexfordBigDragonRoundTowerianmc38ocallaghDuff Man Jr.JustMacTrueDubDeadParrotbrianmcfiddlesticksLuckyLloydDITTagkakak1 17 votes
    Atari Jaguar
    35%
    tHE vAGGABONDRasTakarlhLafortezzalethal doseCoillte_BhoygerireRbDoc FarrellEARMUFFSScotty #5starpoolspectreStraddleFor6PiperTTheRockmanaboutdogyopnailbrushJP PokerPokerEvents-Ste 21 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

I dont mind/or care
    Yeah - what the man said.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Atari Jaguar
    I thought I was going to vote along the same lines as Dave and Lloyd, but then I realised that I don't give a flying fig to be honest. Work does that to me though, sucks all the life out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I say allow any posts, it hasnt got to the situation where you are having to go onto the next page to look for a tourney.

I dont see the problem at the moment to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

I dont mind/or care
    Just give the regular suspects a thread (one thread) where they post up a timetable of their games (weekly, monthly) etc..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭eoghan104

whats the point in having the sub forum if they cant post up tournaments!!!

Dont fix whats not broke!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,404 ✭✭✭Goodluck2me

eoghan104 wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BigDragon

I dont mind/or care
    eoghan104 wrote:

My point is....whats the point in clogging up a popular forum that is growing with posts like:

Monday 23rd: Same fecking Tourney that I posted about last Monday (and the previous one and next week too.)

People should post games of interest and put all the regular ones in a single sticky.

If the time/venue/buy-in/structure/prizepool changes then by all means post. Just dont keep adding the same crap day in day out.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Atari Jaguar
    BigDragon wrote:
    My point is....whats the point in clogging up a popular forum that is growing with posts like:

Monday 23rd: Same fecking Tourney that I posted about last Monday (and the previous one and next week too.)

People should post games of interest and put all the regular ones in a single sticky.

If the time/venue/buy-in/structure/prizepool changes then by all means post. Just dont keep adding the same crap day in day out.

That is all.
    I see your point BD, I guess its just lucky that not every club is posting their tourny every day eh? :)

Perhaps a few stickies for the regular tournys, which could be organised into Dublin/Cork/Ennis/insert location and just have the relevant organisers post their regular tourny info into the specified thread, leaving the rest of the forum open for discussion/posting of irregular events e.g Jackpot Satellites/EPM events etc.?
    I don't reeallly mind but it would clear it up a little...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

I think it's grand as it is at the moment. As others have said it hasn't gotten out of hand yet, and I do find it handy when I log on and see that there's some tournament or other on that night that I otherwise wouldn't have known about / forgotten about. Most of the time I don't know what day it is, honestly :o , so I find it handy having reminders of what's going on.

But yeah if it starts to get really out of hand then I can understand something being done about it, but for the mean time I reckon it's grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

I don't really come in here TBH, except for the odd thread here and there, but how about any regular poster just gets their own sticky, and they can use it as they want, edit their post in the sticky with latest news, tourney schedule etc. possibly use the Title of the Post to show the areas they operate in and then for any special tournaments/ festivals they might be running they can post up a new thread.

Obviously if they want to change their sticky thread, all they have to do is start a new thread and PM a mod and ask them to unsticky their current one and sticky their newest one.

Too many stickies?? Maybe Boards could charge them for a sticky, that way boards make money out of it and everyone wins???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Atari Jaguar
    Ste05 wrote:
    I don't really come in here TBH, except for the odd thread here and there, but how about any regular poster just gets their own sticky, and they can use it as they want, edit their post in the sticky with latest news, tourney schedule etc. possibly use the Title of the Post to show the areas they operate in and then for any special tournaments/ festivals they might be running they can post up a new thread.

Obviously if they want to change their sticky thread, all they have to do is start a new thread and PM a mod and ask them to unsticky their current one and sticky their newest one.

Too many stickies?? Maybe Boards could charge them for a sticky, that way boards make money out of it and everyone wins???

Thats an interesting idea Ste, I wonder companies like PE,JJP,Jackpot etc. would mind a small fee for their own sticky. Its great advertising and could also work as a smaller version of the commercial interaction forums on Boards i.e customers/potential customers can ask the companies about the tournys/events/etc and being stickied sure its always up the top of the forum.

Don't know how possible it is, but an interesting idea nonetheless...

I dont mind/or care
    Good idea.....my point is getting through. Many of you wont remember why we created this forum because the main one was getting clogged up....

Example of my feelings.......

BOARDS.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

SAME POST EVERY WEEK? - the pokerevents one references the 11th of December (do we have an 11th of December every week :-) In fairness they have made changes to their events this last while, so they are a valid post, and they have been reminded of the charter so they'd adhered to that also.
    Is this not the tourny section ?
    For me the tourny section is the reason I came to boards in the 1st place (ie for info on tournaments) and it appears to be working fine . I get lots of info on upcoming tournaments. To create different stickies for different tourny orgss will mean I'd have to go looking and opening different stickys and with my tempremental web browser I don't want to get hourglassed everytime I open a bloomin sticky.
    Who else sees it as a big issue?

Nice charity work by the way been reading up on this one cent charity thing, fair play to you, I'll sign up to that.

i agree dont fix whats not broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

BigD - I can see where your coming from here, but i dont think it has reached breakpoint just yet. I started one of the threads above to get info on a tourney - i got a quick response which pointed me in the right direction.

One of the major plusses of this subforum is the speedy disipation of info and the "inyourfacethistourneyisontonight/thisweekendifyouwanttoplayit" style of information - in short, at a glance you can see where ur gonna be if u wanna be out of ur armchair in your sitting room (my current location). This style of info suits the casual player who peek in here to see what there at tonight - but i can see that it doesnt suit people like yourself who would be well clued into what is going on and do their own independent research.

I would not be against the mods having a word in the ear of certain tourney TD's though about their style and frequency of posting though.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

We could achieve that if we had a thread listing ALL weekly tournaments leaving the forum clearer for one off or occasional special tournies.

I dont think its broken at the moment, but I think a few people are trying their damnest to break it.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

BigDragon wrote:
    Certain people are reposting the SAME REGULAR daily games, every bloody day. Frankly, its getting very very annoying. Hence a poll to see if Im just being a killjoy.

Please vote:

My favourite thing about this forum is going back on the day after you've played an event and posting about how you got on, and seeing who won etc..
    If you stopped people from announcing regular events this wouldn't happen as often, and you would therefore be killing my joy.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

Atari Jaguar
    Think its fine the way the way it is now imo.
    Danger of bringing in too many rules, leave it the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Atari Jaguar
    Since I don't play live too much I don't go through the tourney forum with a fine toothcomb ever. I'll follow up on reported posts (there's never any) or pm's from people pointing out spam or whatever (very rare). Apart from that I'll post asking people to read and apply the charter, that's about it.

It's a tricky forum since it's pretty much free advertising for organisers, this type of stuff would be quickly banned elsewhere on boards as spam. But since the poker forum want to know about upcoming events it's allowed.

There's probably a better way of organising this forum so let's hear some ideas.

Maybe a sticky for each cardroom's weekly schedule, locked, and if there's an edit required the cardroom rep pm's a mod to change it. Tricky though since some organisers use pubs/hotels and change locations so don't have a set schedule.
    I think there'd be too many stickys if each organiser got their own one.

Atari Jaguar
    I would not be against the mods having a word in the ear of certain tourney TD's though about their style and frequency of posting though.
    What should be the accepted style/frequency of posts? Some organisers have rarely-changing weekly monthly schedules, some dont.

And people need to name and shame those organisers that they feel are abusing the system. Report posts, pm a mod and/or post it in this thread, they are getting free advertising so they shouldn't get a totally free ride.

Suggest changes to the charter if needed.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Perhaps a thread every week for the "weekly round up" and then allow the less regular tournaments a thread each?
    The other thing that occurs to me is that we simply wag a finger at the posters who are taking the mick, using the forum for advertising without being willing to answer questions here.

Lazare, you do realise you can CREATE posts all on your own right? :p

DeV.

Perhaps a "no more then 1/2/3 tournment announcements a week and the rest in a sticky" approach?

DeV.

we dont even fill a page a day with new posts so its hardly at fever pitch, let it be although i wouldnt mind a sticky for a thread for each tournaments schedule and then a post for each change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

Whats Atari Jaguar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

nicnicnic wrote:
    Whats Atari Jaguar

Atari Jaguar
    DeVore wrote:
    Perhaps a thread every week for the "weekly round up" and then allow the less regular tournaments a thread each?
    The other thing that occurs to me is that we simply wag a finger at the posters who are taking the mick, using the forum for advertising without being willing to answer questions here.
    DeV.
    Perhaps a "no more then 1/2/3 tournment announcements a week and the rest in a sticky" approach?

DeV.
    I'd prefer to keep things the same and just wag a finger at those posters who aren't advertising in the spirit we all want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

im sorry guys way out off line on this 1. if its not broken dont fix.

nicnicnic wrote:
    Whats Atari Jaguar
    ZOMG!!! Leave this site now and NEVER EVER RETURN!!!

http://wiki.boards.ie/wiki/Atari_jaguar

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

Atari Jaguar
    nicnicnic wrote:
    Whats Atari Jaguar

The poll is pretty much split between people who like it as is and those who would control it slightly more. Since there's a large number of people who dont care and Atari Jaguar fans, I think the best thing is to leave it as is and perhaps this thread's very existance will act as a subtle warning that spam wont be tolerated.

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭JP Poker

Atari Jaguar
    As a poster of tournies myself, i think if its not broken don't fix it!!

I generally try not to overload this sub forum with my pub tournies, but do use it to pump some of my larger tournies which i think are of more interest to the general community here.

An idea Devore said above might work. Would be to have just one sticky (a tournie calendar) of the regular games that are on that week.

Jp

Scotty # wrote:
    thank you cleared up that nicely.

Atari Jaguar
    I don't usually pay much attention to the Events forum, since I don't play much live and I'll usually just keep an eye out for reported posts and pm's from vigilant posters.

Just after reading several of the threads on the first page and it seems like tournament organisers are being pretty lazy and seem to think that the charter rules don't apply to them.

Maybe a reign of zero-tolerance terror is needed in the Tournament forum after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭john@thenewvic

Hi, John from the New Vic Card Club in Limerick here (as the name implies i suppose) and I am without a doubt the main "abuser" of this posting issue. I never intended to piss anybody of and apologise if I have done so. I think the poll shows that those who are pissed off are in the minority but I do however feel quite strongly that within a community, such as the online boards community, the views of the minority are just as important as those of the majority. The very reason behind a lot of these sites is just that in fact, to insure that the minority opinion has a voice.
    As i have said I have no desire to annoy people but I do want to keep people informed as to what events we run in our club. The fact of the matter is we run tournys 6 nights a week. Up until now I thought the idea of the sub forum was to post such info. I did so everyday as i believed that some people dont use the forum as often as others and that in fact a lot of people just pop on to see whats happening in their area on the night they decide they would like a game of poker.
    Feedback both online and in the club suggested that people would appreciate the info 24 hrs in advance and that is when i started the "tommorow.....tonight" posting.

I sit here in fear. To post or not to post..........

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Atari Jaguar
    Keep going until further notice anyways John, but I think in your case if you have a thread for each night (6 in total) with no dates, then you can just reuse threads instead of creating new ones all the time. If you want to bring a thread back to prominence then just add a new reply to it to bump it if you will. It'll save you some work as much as reduce the clutter. This is a suggestion only.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 116 ✭✭john@thenewvic

Thanks 5starpool. I have decided to go with a weekly schedule post for now but appreciate the suggestions particularly the "reply=bump" part. Will try not to overdo it.:)

I dont mind/or care
    Hi, John from the New Vic Card Club in Limerick here (as the name implies i suppose) and I am without a doubt the main "abuser" of this posting issue. I never intended to piss anybody of and apologise if I have done so. I think the poll shows that those who are pissed off are in the minority but I do however feel quite strongly that within a community, such as the online boards community, the views of the minority are just as important as those of the majority. The very reason behind a lot of these sites is just that in fact, to insure that the minority opinion has a voice.
    As i have said I have no desire to annoy people but I do want to keep people informed as to what events we run in our club. The fact of the matter is we run tournys 6 nights a week. Up until now I thought the idea of the sub forum was to post such info. I did so everyday as i believed that some people dont use the forum as often as others and that in fact a lot of people just pop on to see whats happening in their area on the night they decide they would like a game of poker.
    Feedback both online and in the club suggested that people would appreciate the info 24 hrs in advance and that is when i started the "tommorow.....tonight" posting.

I sit here in fear. To post or not to post..........

Acouple of things John..

1. I dont know you or your club so I am not trying to pick on you :p but I think your double post just was in the firing line when I was looking for an example for those that felt there wasn't a problem developing

2. I am coming from my angle about repitition and over clutter as this forum specifically for tournaments is one of the best resources an Irish poker player has availible to them.

3. Fair play for looking at the way you publish on here to serve your patrons better whilst remaining in the spirit of the thing.

Dave

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

DeVore wrote:
    ZOMG!!! Leave this site now and NEVER EVER RETURN!!!

DeV.

ok TY that was very informative i did know that Atari made game consoles but didn't know the relevance to a poll so glad you sorted that out for me tom, i suppose its a nerdy thing;)