Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kanye West...is a bit...**** isnt he?

• 09-12-2006 8:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

Ok Ive seen threads on this in the past but anyways...

I just watched a video on youtube and kanye was with A-trak.

He starts saying something along the lines of "Man, I dont care what skills my dj has, as long as hes got style I dont care how good he is. If he doesnt have style hes not with me"

This kinda shows that he has no clue imo.

Ive always said a-trak was the only decent thing about kayne west's shows and Ive found kayne to be so over rated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Fairplay to you. ;)

Personally I think Kanye is one of about half a dozen successful commercial Hip-Hop artists out there, and I'm eagerly awaiting his new album after the brilliant Late Registration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Kanye might not be the most original or groundbreaking artists but his music is not too bad, catchy & easy to listen to. He does seem to have a slight ego problem though

Is the DJ A-Trak that plays support for him, the famous A-Trak who plays sets with Q-Bert, Scratch Pikelz, etc... and who used to kick the crap out of everyone at DMC championships. Cos if it is, then it is another of Kanyes foolish statements alright!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭Jay-Jay

kanYe West= Pure Class

nuff ' said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

has catchy singles. his albums however are full of filler. on top of that he;s a complete twat. he's the Franz Ferdinand of hiphop.....a few catchy singles, a bit of style, fukc all substance, and loads of teenage girls who thing he's, like, d bst ting EVA!!1 omgz!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭O.P.H

Kanye is an asshole. I saw what he did at the MTV Europe awards and it made me sick. He thought because he spent $1millon on the video, had Pam in it and jumped over a canyon that he deserved the award. Altough imo MTV awards have nothing to do with content, what he did to those lads was nasty. He acts like hes better than everyone and that hes a musical genius, the only reason he is a success is because of samples. All of his hits are good because he takes a really good tune and then does the simple thing of adding a stock hip-hop beat and whatever lyrics. Its very hard to f**k up a good song. He repackages a great product and puts his name on it and because if the times we live in he can be successful from that. If sampleing was 100% illegal he would have no career along with most other hip-hopers.

If sampling was outlawed you would have very little Hip-Hop to listen to full stop.

Can people please leave their personal problems with Kanye aside and judge him objectively on his music?I see the exact same problem with Andre, I dislike him so his music must suck.:rolleyes:

Late Registration is one of the best albums of this decade.No filler, full of substance and very well put together.

How can you say its one of the best albums of the deacade, what exactly makes it so good, the fact that it compiles some great music by other people. Commercially I can see why it did so well, when you sample the music he sampled it would be hard to fail in the music genre hes in. Artisticly, he doesnt have a leg to stand on. Art is about creating something from nothing, you cant take the creations people struggled to create and call them yours and then expect to get credit because you tweaked them slightly with beats and fairly non melodic lyric phrasing. Im a musician and coming up with beats weather they be hip-hop or rock is piss easy, you can do it in an instant, his lyircs might be witty but not good enough for the praise you give him. Ive no problem with you saying its one of the best hip-hop albums of the last decade because as you say hip-hop is only alive because of sampling(for me thats why I hate it) but you cant compare the merits of what he does to musician who try to create from scratch, thats where the real struggle and art is.

Orizio wrote:
    Late Registration is one of the best albums of this decade.No filler, full of substance and very well put together.

LMAO. jesus christ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭BLITZ_Molloy

As a producer, he's one of the best out there. Although I think he's got a little lazy recently. With stuff like Diamonds are Forever he's just picking already established hits and doing very little with them.

As a rapper he's bloody awful. People like Snoop and to a lesser extent Jay Z can get away with rapping about nothing for an entire record because they have excellent delivery. Kanye definately isn't there yet. He said himself he held off releasing a solo album for years and years because his rapping ability hadn't caught up with his production talent. I'm not convinced it ever will. He should stick to making beats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

O.P.H wrote:
    as you say hip-hop is only alive because of sampling(for me thats why I hate it) but you cant compare the merits of what he does to musician who try to create from scratch, thats where the real struggle and art is.

Hip-Hop is not only alive because of sampling. Not all music produced is comprised of samples nor does it all rely on them. Good sampling is an art in itself and more often than not the sample is a very small part of the overall production of the song. Kanye lacks subtlety with his samples, slowing down Move On Up is not exactly all that impressive (although Touch The Sky was my favourite song from Late Registration).

If you think sampling is limited to Hip-Hop you're wrong. I can't tell you the number of times I've heard rock songs just steal riffs from other ones. Regardless, samples by producers are credited the majority of the time so it's not as if the original artist gets no recognition.

The quality of the tracks on Late Registration speak for themselves-"We Major", "Addiction", "Drive Slow" and thats not even touching the singles.

I do wish he would pick less obvious samples but I don't see that as a problem for the majority of his work except for Common's Be.As for his mic skills, he has improved a lot since College Dropout and completely outshines Jay-Z on the "Diamonds From Sierra Leone Remix".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

it is a bit of a cliched argument to use sampling against Kanye, as hip hop pretty much has all of its roots in sampling. It developed in poor areas in the US where they couldn't afford instruments so they had to get their music from records. So really, i don't see a problem with Kanye's sampling as a rule. Doesn't mean he doesn't sample rubbish sometimes though

Just because there is a history behind sampling it doesnt make it ok. The fact that the argument of sampling with Kanye is cliched is because he does it to a rediculous level. And Makaveli, in my opinion sampling is why hip-hop is alive and well today. Sure there are peolpe out there who dont sample but the commercialy successful hip-hop "artists" that have made the genre what it is today all sample like they are shopping in Tesco, Jay-Z, Kanye, Naz etc not to mention the late Pac. And altough I admit sampling may only be a small part of the production, everything else just takes time not talent - beats, lyrics, orcastration - thats easy once you have inspiration from a sample and at the end of the day the best part of hip-hop songs that are built around samples is the sample itself, thats the part you humm, for example, the piano melody in Tupacs 'Changes', the chorus in Jay-Zs 'Hard Knock Life', Ray Charles' singing in Kanyes 'Gold Digger' and the one you like of Kanyes 'Touch the Sky' the best part is again the stolen melody, tip of the iceberg. Now I know I am generalising and there is talent in the hip-hop world but I just dont like the fact that it is built on the work of others and I know you say rock has some sampling etc but not even close to the amount in hip-hop, its a drop in the ocean compared and as for giving recognition, putting the info on an album booklet means nothin, back in the day Tony Bennet, Frank and the like would credit the songwriters, can you imagine Kanye doing that for his samples. In the end its as simple as this, do you think hip-hop would remain the success it is today if the you outlawed sampling and the lads had to come up with there own hook lines and music, I would imadine it would'nt because at the end of the day no amount of beats or good lyrics will save a crap song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Juiceman

Personally, I think he's a very weak rapper. Having said that, his production is incredible. College dropout was ok but way to many skits and filler and he relies too heavily on guests - kweli kills him on get em high and jigga destroys him on never let me down. Late registration was so dire its not worth talking about. the only track i can listen to is the jayz remix of diamonds from Sierra Leone (normally I skip the Kanye Verse and just listen to Jigga's verse on the end)

O.P.H wrote:
    I would imadine it would'nt because at the end of the day no amount of beats or good lyrics will save a crap song.

If the song has good beats and good lyrics what exactly is left to need?

Because it's your opinion that Hip-Hop is "alive and well today" because of sampling doesn't mean you're right.

I'll reply to this properly when I have more time over the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

http://www.ifilm.com/ifilmdetail/2678975

but but but he did that :eek:

or maybe :rolleyes:

Tbh that never gets old 1minute 30 in :D

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Jay Ru

Makaveli wrote:
    Kanye lacks subtlety with his samples, slowing down Move On Up is not exactly all that impressive (although Touch The Sky was my favourite song from Late Registration).

eh just blaze produced that track, and if u listen to it carefully u'll notice that he done alot more than just slow it down. personally i like kanye, i enjoy listening to both his albums and i think he's one hell of a producer. he is a cocky ****, but if any of us got as rich as he did as quick as he did, i'm sure it wud raise our self confidence up a notch r two. one other reason i like kanye is he brought common back to real hip hop rather than that electric circus crap he released. oh and he know how to rock a crowd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

My god.

Hes the biggest hypocrite in the music industry. The chap reeks of racism. If average white hiphop enthusiast wasnt so cought up in what black people deem good music, and they got a fkin mind of their own they would wake up and realise it.

Do you people even listen to lyrics? Or do you all rate a song by its chorus.

Hes crap. Hes a hypocrite. Hes a racist. If you got eminem, got him to 'rap' kanye's songs and took all the times he says white, and replaced it with black, there would be complete and utter uproar.

eg : in All Falls Down - "the White man gets paid off of all of that"...

WTF! Imagine that was "the black man gets paid off of all of that". YOUD GET FKIN SHOT!

The only reason he is in any way popular is because of his producer... i cant remember who it was, but he basicly spooned the chap at some music awards till he pull kanye into the spot light. Hes an attractive chap, and the only reason he has a record deal is because of the average 'hoe' in america dreams of having an utter dikhead like him in between her legs.

Take a band like the roots. Now thats fkin hiphop.

now... im going back to my bed to wait for sunday night. YES!

Juiceman wrote:
    Personally, I think he's a very weak rapper. Having said that, his production is incredible. College dropout was ok but way to many skits and filler and he relies too heavily on guests - kweli kills him on get em high and jigga destroys him on never let me down. Late registration was so dire its not worth talking about. the only track i can listen to is the jayz remix of diamonds from Sierra Leone (normally I skip the Kanye Verse and just listen to Jigga's verse on the end)

well said.

tbh, i couldn't care less about his samples whatsoever.

he has a weak flow, a weak delivery, and a weak lyricist.
    that to me means he's a very weak rapper.

just reading over this post again... i dont know why... But it fills me with rage. I actually want to punch a wall im that angry at how stupid the consumer is especailly with something so personal as music.

Anyone who listens to his 'music' is a sheep.

red_ice wrote:
    just reading over this post again... i dont know why... But it fills me with rage. I actually want to punch a wall im that angry at how stupid the consumer is especailly with something so personal as music.

Anyone who listens to his 'music' is a sheep

Personal attacks are against forum rules.Keep it up and you'll get a nice suspension.

Oh and racist and idiotic remarks like this...
    Hes an attractive chap, and the only reason he has a record deal is because of the average 'hoe' in america dreams of having an utter dikhead like him in between her legs.
    WTF! Imagine that was "the black man gets paid off of all of that". YOUD GET FKIN SHOT!

Final warning.

I could'nt agree with you more Red Ice, I hate that racism toward white people in hip-hop is somehow ok. Makaveli when all you have is a beat and a lyric that is a very empty song, you are missing the key components, music chord changes and a vocal melody on top, what all classic songs and rap songs need and what really makes the song, those are the components that people are mainly effected by, lyrics at a later stage

The one 'racist' quote we got from red ice(who seems to believe black people regurly shoot racist whites) highlighting Kanye's racist remarks was tame to say the least.Ultimately the higher echelons of the music industry are filled with white business men who do make a large profit.His wording was off but what he said was essentially right.As well, Kanye has worked with plenty of white artists and has protected persecuted minorities like gays in the past.Saying he is a racist is a completely unfounded accusation.Racists don't generally happen to work and be freindly towards people of different races...:rolleyes:

Nor can we forget the history of white on black persecution in the US, which has fuelled and created present day racism throughtout the country.Racist remarks from whites have more malicious connotations beacuse whites do have a small history of seeing through their intolerance with repressive acts.Like lynching,mass murders, slavery you know little things like that...;)

TBH I have heard far worse remarks from far more reputable Hip-Hop artists, and I'm sure even the almighty Black Thought, who works regurly with good freinds of Kanye like Talib Kweli,Mos Def and Common,has a habit of generalizing.He just does it in a far more intelligent way.

eg : in All Falls Down - "the White man gets paid off of all of that"...

if ur gonna call somebody a racist please come up wit a better example than this. kanye brought john mayor in to help produce his album, he was rumored to be dating pam anderson for a while, sounds like the most racist person i know what bout u?

Orizio wrote:
    Personal attacks are against forum rules.Keep it up and you'll get a nice suspension.
    Oh and racist and idiotic remarks like this...
    Final warning.

My god. Ever heard of being comfortable with your sexuality? Im comfortable with my race and my other multiracial friends dont see problems with each other when we talk about white and black. Im not racist, i have a coloured TV. My god Daughter is also 1/2 cast. Im simply putting it how it is, and if my words seem too harsh for you then maybe you should check yourself out before slinging the racial hook at me. I dont stutter around coloured people when i make what could be deemed a racist remark, as usualy they are clever enough to take up my point being made and not the termanology i use to get it out there. Go ahead and ban me, your warning mean absolutly nothing to me as i dont frequent these boards, but make sure you have proper gounds to ban me on. I think if you reread what i said, you will see what i said was a non racist remark, and strictly to the point. I never said 'black hoe' - A hoe can be white or black, the fact that you labled it a racist remark lets me know that you define a hoe as being a black slapper, which tbh my friend is racist.
    Orizio wrote:
    The one 'racist' quote we got from red ice(who seems to believe black people regurly shoot racist whites) highlighting Kanye's racist remarks was tame to say the least.Ultimately the higher echelons of the music industry are filled with white business men who do make a large profit.His wording was off but what he said was essentially right.As well, Kanye has worked with plenty of white artists and has protected persecuted minorities like gays in the past.Saying he is a racist is a completely unfounded accusation.Racists don't generally happen to work and be freindly towards people of different races...:rolleyes:

I said you'd be shot.. When did i directly say that a black person would shoot you? Jesus christ, thats a prime example of my last point. Your damn right i said what was right. The way i see it is that kayne work's with these people to show face, not out of musical interest - but that point it mearly my opinion. And further more, Yes, the record industry is filled with white people, and its alternativly filled with black people... and asian, and any other colour under the sun... whats your point? If he didnt want to 'roll' with a white business man, he can get the fkin boat and work with a black one. Hes biting the hand that feeds him. That same white man he is verbally bashin in his record practicly made him what he is today. Whats your point?
    Orizio wrote:
    Nor can we forget the history of white on black persecution in the US, which has fuelled and created present day racism throughtout the country.Racist remarks from whites have more malicious connotations beacuse whites do have a small history of seeing through their intolerance with repressive acts.Like lynching,mass murders, slavery you know little things like that...;)

Duh, we cant forget it because eejits like him use it as their sole way to make money. 'Im black, i came from the gutter, i did better whan a white man, im great, buy my record'. I take offence to that comment on white people, can you give yourself a warning pls? Germany invaded poland (or something), they've worked past it, yet people like the idiot we are having this heated discussion about cant. Hes pollishing a crusty turd with every record, and everyone just keeps wanting a sniff.
    Orizio wrote:
    TBH I have heard far worse remarks from far more reputable Hip-Hop artists, and I'm sure even the almighty Black Thought, who works regurly with good freinds of Kanye like Talib Kweli,Mos Def and Common,has a habit of generalizing.He just does it in a far more intelligent way.

Give me an exmaple. My example would be Dead Prez, but they aint main stream enough to qualify for this conversation. Your point on black thought is a very good one, but yet again, hes still not main stream enough to qualify for this conversaion.

The bottom line is that the chap is a terrible artist, he doesnt flow with his lyrics, and he repeats sentences with 1 word changes, which lack variety. Did you see him on 'wildn out'? MY GOD. The chap did one freestyle and nothing rhymed or was even on topic. Hes useless.

If you take from this conversation that im racist, thats your problem. Ive had this talk with many people of different races, used the same termanology i use here and none of them took offence to it.The same points keep coming up an being shot down.
    Jay Ru wrote:
    if ur gonna call somebody a racist please come up wit a better example than this. kanye brought john mayor in to help produce his album, he was rumored to be dating pam anderson for a while, sounds like the most racist person i know what bout u?

Doesnt kayne go on about black women being put aside for white girls in one of his songs? YEP! What a total hyprcrite. He worked with john mayor... With previous points being made about kayne west recycling other peoples stuff i can only come to the conclusion that he wanted to try something new by getting someone else to come up with the melody, beat, and anything bar the terrible lyrics that he has on his records. Those points just strenghten my arguement.

If you put kayne in a room with all those instruments, tools and recording equipment, he would give you NOTHING in return.

he brought john mayor into play all his samples live rather than just lifting them from the originals. a quick ? bout stupid comment bout kanye in a room with instruments and equipment, what equipment r u on about? cus if its music production equipment u couldn't be more wrong if u tried

My god. Ever heard of being comfortable with your sexuality?

Im comfortable with my race and my other multiracial friends dont see problems with each other when we talk about white and black. Im not racist, i have a coloured TV. My god Daughter is also 1/2 cast. Im simply putting it how it is, and if my words seem too harsh for you then maybe you should check yourself out before slinging the racial hook at me. I dont stutter around coloured people when i make what could be deemed a racist remark, as usualy they are clever enough to take up my point being made and not the termanology i use to get it out there.

I really don't care.
    Go ahead and ban me, your warning mean absolutly nothing to me as i dont frequent these boards, but make sure you have proper gounds to ban me on. I think if you reread what i said, you will see what i said was a non racist remark, and strictly to the point. I never said 'black hoe' - A hoe can be white or black, the fact that you labled it a racist remark lets me know that you define a hoe as being a black slapper, which tbh my friend is racist.

The 'ho' remark was just an idiotic generalization,not racist.However even if your other remark wasn't intended to be racist, although it could easily be interpreted as such, what you've added to this thread has been nothing more then rants and insults aimed at said artist,dragged the tone of the thread through the gutter and a personal attack against fans of Kanye's music.

So your still on your final warning.And I'm close to closing this retarded thread if the next post is another mindless rant against Kanye.

Back to the civil debate people.

Jay Ru wrote:
    he brought john mayor into play all his samples live rather than just lifting them from the originals. a quick ? bout stupid comment bout kanye in a room with instruments and equipment, what equipment r u on about? cus if its music production equipment u couldn't be more wrong if u tried

Can't Kanye play some instruments?:confused: The piano for example.

Orizio wrote:
    And I'm close to closing this retarded thread if the next post is another mindless rant against Kanye.

Kanye West eats babies so he can absorb their souls in order to maintain eternal youth. FACT!

Although his lyrics aren't really racist, he is an absolute twat and when New Orleans was hit by the hurricane and he said George Bush doesn't like black people he just came across as an ignorant fool. If his music matched his ego he'd be the greatest artist to ever walk the earth.

Now now Orizio cmon - im simply working this forum for all its worth in the hope that it gets through to said fans. The topic of conversation is ' Kanye West...is a bit...**** isnt he?', not 'Kanye West is great'. Dont close this thread because im making valid points, which - i do admit, are harsh, but they are straight to the point and above all on the topic. Thats why we have these forums, to talk about this. Your banning is counter-productive of these forums fullstop.

The way i see it, is that you can see im making good points, that encompass more than just the music that he 'creates' and you simply cant deny the fact that he is both a terrible artist and a racist. So you just want to keep my points out of the conversation because your worried other people will join in. The points that i am making take in his way of living, his method of procuding a track, and the lifestyle that he lives and tries to bring to his music. The fact that i pointed out that everything he stands for is a complete and utter farse, and everything he says is hypocritacle, and backed it up with, what i would like to deem valid points doesnt merrit a dismissal like yours.

Its true, i admit i am making a verbal attack at him. How else am i going to defend my point? Defence is only there because of attacks. Thats what a debate is... Are you going to tell me that my opinion doesnt matter now too and that your right?

If i get banned or what ever - it will only proove me right.

Orizio wrote:
    Can't Kanye play some instruments?:confused: The piano for example.

and btw, i seriously doubt he can... its more than likely a video of him pushing random keys with a john mayor track playing in the background.

Thread closed for Red Ice's inability to keep on topic.