Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Had a Wii, Played the Wii, gave the Wii away

• 09-12-2006 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

Hello,

I had a Wii (preordered in Smyths months ago) but alas I have it no more. My girlfriends bro got messed around by HMV on Henery street and didnt get his pre-order so we gave it to him as he was really disapointed. So if anyone knows where and when the next batch is hitting the shops can you let me know?

I have a feeling it wont be till January...............HMV said in a matter of days but they are a pack of lying bastards tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

You forgot rule number 1 in todays world......
    Always look after number one first.
    Are you not now disappointed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Moojuice

I am, its a great piece of kit but he wanted it more so I can wait. I have a 360 anyway and tbh aside from Zelda the release games were pretty ****. So even if I have to wait till january there should be some better games out. Actually Red Steel is pretty good but not amazing. Wii sports rocks though.....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

Well my whole experience with the console so far has been great.
    Wouldn't give it away at a black market price.
    I'm still trying to get over the fact that I was lucky to get the two I pre-booked.
    Happy days.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

Moojuice wrote:
    Hello,

I had a Wii (preordered in Smyths months ago) but alas I have it no more. My girlfriends bro got messed around by HMV on Henery street and didnt get his pre-order so we gave it to him as he was really disapointed. So if anyone knows where and when the next batch is hitting the shops can you let me know?

I have a feeling it wont be till January...............HMV said in a matter of days but they are a pack of lying bastards tbh.

you're a saint mate, fair play to you, hope you get sorted again soon

Cheers hairball, I had a quick game of Red Steel before it was wrenched from my grasp.........it will have to do me until I can get another one, hopefully on Tuesday but more likely January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,135 ✭✭✭fifth

That was a good thing to do man, fair play, fair play.

The Wii will be all that more spectacular when you get your own one I'm sure!

Stores are supposed to be getting more consoles this week - but I think it's only to cover prebooks, try ringing around.

Fair Play, if i was you i'd spend some time over in your gf's house...

I'm sure her brother would like to play muliplayer too

nah we live together and her bro lives in his own place but will be in the parents place playing it. He is under strict instructions to go searching on Monday. Worst thing is went in to HMV to see if our name is down for the next batch as we still have the original deposit there. Not a sign of any of our details, muppets. Ah **** it I can wait till January and hopefully there will be some nicer games and packages on sale too. Nintendo have hit the big time with this one, thankfully. Screw you Sony!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Moojuice wrote:
    Hello,

Fair play man, fair play.

Unfortunately it doesn't seem like you'll get one before xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

GameStop stores are getting them in on Wednesday/Thursday, and there'll be more than enough to cover pre-orders.

Cool thanks for that, thats what I need to hear!! Are you sure about the days? I have heard Tuesday mentioned and in Gamestop on Henry street I was (rudely) told that they would be getting some in next week but didnt know what day and I couldn't put a pre-order down. If I knew the exact day I would call in as soon as they open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭hairball

go in maybe tuesday just on the off chance? and if they're not in yet see if they let you pay full price upfront to secure one...thats what i did. (in a gamestore where i am not gamestop, still worth a shot tho)

yeah, think thats waht ill do. Hopefully Ill get one before christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Fingers crossed for ya mate!

cheers DamoELDiablo............and the rest of the lads, makes me feel a bit better about giving it away...........but just a bit ;0

If he's under instruction to go looking for one on Monday, is that for you or is it for himself so you can take yours back?

*admires Moojuice's halo*

Well he basically has it 'till he gets one himself, then he can keep the new one and give mine back or just give me the new one. Either is cool. I am going to try and get one as I am in the City Centre and he is a good bit out. But if he cannot get one and I cannot get one then he keeps it until we can, which could be January. All those Damn Wii ads on TV!!! AGHHHH!!!! Although I am looking forward to Super Mario Brothers Brawl, Excite Trucks and MArio Soccer.

*polishes halo* :) the pain is easing with time............but why the hell do all the stores still advertise them and have boxes on the shelves when they have none to sell!!!??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Gamestop on Wed? Any confirmation of this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

Smyths in Claremorris(Mayo) has sold out of initial preorders and the next shipment before christams has been sold out too already. Anywhere in the west worth asking for a console up to xmas, since some are saying gamestop will be getting alot in stock maybe galwy gamestop would be also?

I hope so, I really see it as a last shot at getting one before the new year, cos if it aint by xmas it wont be by new year. (that damn week where no one doesn anything...damn week? I mean cool week)

Kanney wrote:
    (that damn week where no one doesn anything...damn week? I mean cool week)

It'll be a damn week if you can't get your hands on a Wii for that week ;)

Touché. I am really dying for this console, moojuice I have no idea how you could give it away, it would take a dying orphan for me to give it up and that would only be for one go.

Kanney wrote:
    Touché. I am really dying for this console, moojuice I have no idea how you could give it away, it would take a dying orphan for me to give it up and that would only be for one go.

Its great and all but at the end of the day its only a console, and I will get one eventually so everyone wins tbh. I have a 360 which will get me through.................

Ah see, I didnt know you had a 360 :D Man I need to get me one of each..

Yeah the 360 is pretty good. The two consoles complement each other really well.

Well Im definitely getting a ps3, so I'll have to see... Definitely need a 3rd gen for GTA IV..../drools.

It will be out on 360 too with extra content available shortly after its released on Xbox market place............BUT ENOUGh!!!!

this is a nintendo forum............

True, and I aint even got a nintendo :D

But you do have a lovely Evangeline Lilly pic so you may stay ;)

you and me both Kanney.............

Oh damn, yeah sorry...Forgot already, at least if u want u can have access to it, I havent even seen one yet. :'(

Well I got the Wii back, and HMV rang and said they had a Wii in for my GF's bro, so I take back all I said about them. The manager did what he said he was going to do, however the girl I dealt with all along was clueless and even when we went in after getting the call she didnt know what we were talking about. Luckily a guy there did. So all in all it turned out well, now to sit back and wait for some decent games to be released for it.

Congrats Moojuice, I'm joining the Wii family on Friday!! Can't freakin wait!

Cheers Kanney. Hope you get it on Friday after all that.

Its guaranteed. If I dont, I will shoot up the place and you'll see me on the news :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭juanjo

I went to gamestop in henry st. last afternoon, they said they received an email confirming a delay until next week.

I decided to buy it in spain, i go on the 20th and i read that there's plenty of stock there, at 249 euro. i even saw an offer for the wiimote in 20 euro and wiiplay with the wiimote in 46.

TBH, I consider a ripoff what shops are doing around here, adding 30 extra cos they know the wii will be bought anyways, and i can wait.

good luck lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Ive just been offered one there from a mate who "knows someone" but im doin the good samaritan and getting it for my mothers friends kid and he's getting it as his santy pressie, ive my 360 to keep me going until the stock shortages stop....

Then im sure ill get to play zelda after xmas!

Fairplay Fieldog.

It'll all be good after christmas..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Kanney wrote:
    Well Im definitely getting a ps3, so I'll have to see... Definitely need a 3rd gen for GTA IV..../drools.

Yeah like someone else said, it is out on 360 at the same time with extra content for 360 available on marketplace. 400 V 600, you do the math.

Anyway I want to wait until some of the later games come for Wii like Metroid Prime 3 which probably be great. Then I'll decide if its worth the money. I'd like to see games past Gamecube graphics before I buy it because I have a Gamecube and I'd like to get some better looking games for my money aswell as a Wii Remote.