Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Xtravision Rathmines - Stock hasnt arrived yet! (Apparently)

• 08-12-2006 10:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭damiennolan

I have my Wii preordered in Xtravision Rathmines. I rang at 10.20 to see if it was available for collection. (the shop doesnt open until 10)

I was told that their stock hasnt arrived yet but it should come today although nothing is confirmed by "Head Offce". This has me slightly concerned given another members experience in the same shop yesterday.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055025739

Anyone else having similar experiences with Xtravision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Rang Rathfarnham Xtravision at 9pm last night. Asked them if they had the Wiis in yet, and they said they hadn't.

Guy on hte phone said to call in today and they could be in or else they'll try and find out what the story is...he didn't sound too sure about any of this though.

Maybe this was just the story I got though so I wouldn't head down and try and nab it early yesterday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

I was told mine would be in today by our DM. I wouldn't worry...deliveries don't come in at 10am when the store opens,depending where the store is they might not come until 12-2pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 constantin3

Same deal for the Xtravision in Malahide... Time to play the waiting game...:rolleyes:

...the waiting game sucks. Let's play HUngry Hungry Hippos! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭damiennolan

Thanks tvnutz! My paranoid alarm bells were starting go off as another member said he saw one exchange hands in the same shop!
    Given the limited number per store the panic is starting to set in!

Anyone else preorder their wii with Xtravision Rathmines?
    Have you heard anything yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Emmo

Xtravision Baggot street was let down too.

They have nothing.

Emmo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Disgrace. On to head office I was. As baggot st. told me this moring they'd be in this afternoon. I got a customer service person after much trouble.

Apparently the xtravision order is coming in 3 waves, as opposed to their anticipated one.
    They knew this since wednesday, I asked why not inform anyone - they were speechless.

Then the said the ones they got where rationed out on a percentage of pre-order basis, so I ask why Baggot st. have none - again speechless.

So then she tells me that when the come in, expecting a batch next week, the store managers will ring the preorder customers and confirm i.

So I asked why couldn't they ring since Wednesday when they knew they couldn't meet demand - again speechless.

Shower of good for nuttin **********************************

Well pished off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭GrumPy

Smyth's is prolly the best place to pre order. They hold the console for you, and always have stock on launch day. There was at least 30 units at their drogheda branch this morning. which is excellent, considering all the other electronic retailers in drogheda had about the same split between them.

- Gamestop had five :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Nasty, id say you were a tad miffed to say the least!

chump wrote:
    Disgrace. On to head office I was. As baggot st. told me this moring they'd be in this afternoon. I got a customer service person after much trouble.

Apparently the xtravision order is coming in 3 waves, as opposed to their anticipated one.
    They knew this since wednesday, I asked why not inform anyone - they were speechless.

Then the said the ones they got where rationed out on a percentage of pre-order basis, so I ask why Baggot st. have none - again speechless.

So then she tells me that when the come in, expecting a batch next week, the store managers will ring the preorder customers and confirm i.

So I asked why couldn't they ring since Wednesday when they knew they couldn't meet demand - again speechless.

Well pished off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

chump wrote:

Well pished off

That's absolute bollocks..........Rathfarnham only had 1 pre-ordered and they were expecting it today.

Kenny 5, did you preorder in Rathfarnham or something?

We had 2 prebooks,mine included,we got one in today...manager told me we were only get half the order and the other half next week. I got mine anyway because they other guy who ordered didn't come looking today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 as_seen_on

I was in the Rathmines xtravision a yesterday and saw not one mention of the word wii. and argos in the nutgrove had absolutely none on launch even thogh they told me on the phone they would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭crazy_dude6662

they did have them, but the staff wernt the most honest of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

they did have them, but the staff wernt the most honest of people.

thats pure bullsh!t mate, dunno where you got that from but Rathmines got 2 consoles in and I can guarantee that. If you wanna drop into the store we'd be more than happy to show you our delivery dockets.....

i ment argos in nutgrove.

they got 4.

i ment argos in nutgrove.

they got 4.

sorry, my bad

thats okay, i should have specified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

ball ox wrote:
    sorry, my bad
    Know when the next delivery is? i was told in the blanchardstown branch today there not expecting more till after xmas...

All stores get deliveries on a thursday and maybe even on Mon/Tue next week for Christmas stock. We honestly don't know if there will be any consoles in any of these deliveries. This is usually the case around Xmas here, was the same with the PSP. I think its beacause H.O. are probably reluctant to promise deliveries to any stores because if something goes wrong and the console doesnt arrive they dont only have angry pre book customers to deal with but angry parents who need these consoles for Xmas day to avoid disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭Irishpimpdude

ball ox wrote:
    All stores get deliveries on a thursday and maybe even on Mon/Tue next week for Christmas stock. We honestly don't know if there will be any consoles in any of these deliveries. This is usually the case around Xmas here, was the same with the PSP. I think its beacause H.O. are probably reluctant to promise deliveries to any stores because if something goes wrong and the console doesnt arrive they dont only have angry pre book customers to deal with but angry parents who need these consoles for Xmas day to avoid disaster.
    Ok ill ring my local on thursday thanks for the info.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭tw0nk

Yup I can verify that ball ox is right and that rathmines only got 2, I was lucky enough to get one of them, its a shame nintendo didnt supply more of them to ireland.

tw0nk wrote:
    Yup I can verify that ball ox is right and that rathmines only got 2, I was lucky enough to get one of them, its a shame nintendo didnt supply more of them to ireland.

Damn you tw0nk!! I'm number three on that list and still waiting!

The xtravision offer of an xbox 360 and gears of war is looking more and more inviting by the hour!!

Well, would you believe it, over 10 days later and my Wii has yet to arrive in xtravison.

Luckily I bought an xbox360 to keep me ticking over otherwise I might be very angry!

Anyone else with xtravision woes?

just got home from a little trek to Rathmines checked Gamestop, they had some, but were all going to pre-orders, went to Xtra vision just to check, the guy behind the till laughed "No chance" smarmy bastard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

I'm another person to prebook. Booked mine way back in October. Was promised by staff who rang the district manager that I was in line and would definately have one on the day.
    Friday 8th came and went. Was told on the day that there was a delay because their deliveries were coming in two waves. They had games but not consoles. Fine I thought... they said it was probably just delayed a bit.
    Last week I called and was told that there was a delay coming from Germany.
    Rang again today. Still nada. They said they were told to tell customers that did preorder that they would definately have them by christmas. Still nothing and its cutting it a bit close at this stage.
    I don't blame the staff. Most of the guys in my shop are really decent and I figure they are only doing their job. I would actually genuinely prefer it if the store could come straight out and say to me that they are not going to be able to fulfill my order in time. That way I could organise to try and get it from some place else.. although at a cost unfortunately.
    Its a few days to christmas now and santa looks like he will disappoint a little boy this year.

Hey agent_smith,

Please keep me updated with any progress you might make!

I'm another person to prebook. Booked mine way back in October. Was promised by staff who rang the district manager that I was in line and would definately have one on the day.
    Friday 8th came and went. Was told on the day that there was a delay because their deliveries were coming in two waves. They had games but not consoles. Fine I thought... they said it was probably just delayed a bit.
    Last week I called and was told that there was a delay coming from Germany.
    Rang again today. Still nada. They said they were told to tell customers that did preorder that they would definately have them by christmas. Still nothing and its cutting it a bit close at this stage.
    I don't blame the staff. Most of the guys in my shop are really decent and I figure they are only doing their job. I would actually genuinely prefer it if the store could come straight out and say to me that they are not going to be able to fulfill my order in time. That way I could organise to try and get it from some place else.. although at a cost unfortunately.
    Its a few days to christmas now and santa looks like he will disappoint a little boy this year.

should be in this week,in either todays (thursday) or fridays. thats what we were told. still one bloke waiting for his in our store. i got mine on launch day :)

tvnuts are you sure ? Do you work in xtravision!? It would be fantastic if thats the case. At this point in time I'm thinking of doing the queueing thing in smyths for one for a fall back solution

ye I work in a big XV store...got mine there on launch day. one other person pre booked it,still hasnt gotten his. heard the voicemails this morning. nintendo shipped xtra visions allocation of wiis to italy instead of ireland. so they then had to be shipped from italy to germany,and then from german to here. apparantly they will arrive in the store houses tomorrow and then be shipped out to stores on saturday. thats all i know at this stage. so id say saturday,and if they dont then,it will most likely be the 27th,which is stupid since they said they would have them before Christmas. But id imagine they will courier them out to stores on saturday.

still heard nothing from my branch. I'm hoping you are right! Thanks for the updates so far!
    Normally i preorder everything with game. Is this sort of mix up typical of console launches at xtravision or a once off in your experience tvnutz

still heard nothing from my branch. I'm hoping you are right! Thanks for the updates so far!
    Normally i preorder everything with game. Is this sort of mix up typical of console launches at xtravision or a once off in your experience tvnutz

well i have only been working there a year,and there was no problems with xbox360 launch last year,not in my store anyway. it seems this delay was the fault of nintendo shipping them to the wrong feckin country! Was talking to the manager today and she was talking to the our DM,he said they would be defo in on saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 223 ✭✭telemachus

I don't suppose there's any chance the order will will surpass preorders, or if there will be any spares sold freely from those who went elsewhere following the delay (clutching, straws, etc :p ) ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

Hey tvnutz, it was definitely your store at least that didn't have any problems with the 360.My local didn't get their allocation of them until the last week before Christmas.I will never be doing any pre-orderings with Xtra Vision again.
    I have my PS3 booking there also but have it in other places too.
    I got my Wii on day one in Xtra Vision but I also did in Game.
    I didn't know whether I was getting one in Xtra Vision until the night before after being told the same day I wouldn't be.:confused:

Will just continue my loyal business with Game from now on.:)

right... its saturday! A shipment is/was due today to fulfill all preorders to xtravision. Has anybody gotten theirs yet ? I still have heard nothing from my branch!

agent_smith.....I haven't heard anything from Xtravision Rathmines yet either!

It looks like it will be a wii-less Christmas :(

Just got a call from Xtravision...they have my Wii. I'm going to collect it shortly...............

ye we got ours in today for that fella,no extras sorry!

Hey tvnutz, it was definitely your store at least that didn't have any problems with the 360.My local didn't get their allocation of them until the last week before Christmas.I will never be doing any pre-orderings with Xtra Vision again.
    I have my PS3 booking there also but have it in other places too.
    I got my Wii on day one in Xtra Vision but I also did in Game.
    I didn't know whether I was getting one in Xtra Vision until the night before after being told the same day I wouldn't be.:confused:

Will just continue my loyal business with Game from now on.:)

Im confused...you got your wii on day one but you wont be pre ordering with them anymore? :confused: Everything is grand if you talk to a manager,because part time staff are told nothing and a lot of the time they are just stupid or don't care! :P I told anyone pre ordering from my shop,that a). if you pre booked you would get one for sure,and that was true. and b) you would have them before Christmas,they were not guranteed for launch day...which was also true!

Also confused with you Acecard.

You prebooked your Wii in Xtravision and got it on launch day?!?
    ...Oh no...?