Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liffey Valley Argos breaks street date!

• 07-12-2006 12:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭

A manager here in work just told me that his wife has just collected their kids' Wii from Argos in Liffey Valley!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭AceCard Jones

Goes without saying it's ***** like them that are the reason us getting one is so bloody hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

whitetrash wrote:
    Liffey Valley Argos breaks street date!

HOLY MOTHER OF SWEET GOD!

(sound of wicknight running down stairs, hopping into car, screeching tires)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 lemonfighter

i am seriously going mad here..i have to get a wii tonight...and some **** just gets one....curses

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

Well in all fairness there is a huge fine if they sell one before the date they are to be released!! I think its about 10,000 euro!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

Be interesting to see this confirmed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Kanney

Confirmed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭whitetrash

Well I only have his word obviously, but he really doesn't have any reason to lie. Just yesterday he was asking me where I thought he might be able to get one for xmas.

As for the fine I think there's a minimum number that has to be sold before that kicks in, when Gears of War launched Golden Discs broke the street date but the other shops didn't think GD had sold enough for them to break it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Pablo-El-Vagabu

Mother Trucker..

He is probably not even playing it...

Crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

There is a fine, I remember Smyths got hit with a fine for selling a console before release date...the PSP I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

So your manager asks yesterday where to buy a Wii (so, safe bet to say, no preorder two days before release)

...and today his wife gets one before the street date, from a Liffey Valley retailer no less and not some obscure small shop in a side street?

Yeah, right... :rolleyes:

All I know is what he said. He has his kids' wii, he's happy. Were Argos even taking preorders? Must have been sold by mistake.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

whitetrash wrote:
    All I know is what he said. He has his kids' wii, he's happy. Were Argos even taking preorders? Must have been sold by mistake.

No pre-orders. They won't sell them over the counter until tomorrow as they still aren't sure on the price they are charging!

Rubbish. A friend of a friend just drove out to Liffey Valley Argos and they are NOT selling Wii's ahead of launch date.

Whitetrash, either you are taking the p1ss, or your manager/his wife are getting confused with Wii and DS!

I ain't taking the piss, and the guy knows what a Wii is. Just cause they're not selling them now doesn't mean the didn't sell one by mistake this morning :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

whitetrash wrote:
    I ain't taking the piss, and the guy knows what a Wii is. Just cause they're not selling them now doesn't mean the didn't sell one by mistake this morning :rolleyes:

This is why camera phones exist. :) Get your bosses wife to do a big cheesey cheese with the Wii in the foreground and I'll believe it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

whitetrash wrote:

bullshít

anthonymcg wrote:
    This is why camera phones exist. :) Get your bosses wife to do a big cheesey cheese with the Wii in the foreground and I'll believe it.

Ha, yeah "Um, can you ask your wife to take a picture of herself and send it to me? I need to put it on the internet."

Believe it or don't believe it, this is something that happened. It doesn't really affect anyone's chance of getting a Wii if they've stopped their staff from selling them. I put the info up because I thought it might give someone from here an advantage in getting a Wii, I have my preorder. Even if it didn't I only posted with good intentions and don't really appreciate "bull****" replies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 374 ✭✭scrapland

If he's the store manager in Argos, then its piss easy for him to just give his wife & kids the wii, and then simply put through the sale tommorow?

Why is that so hard to believe...

He's not an argos manager, I don't work for Argos. As far as I know his wife just showed up this morning (probably not long before my first post) and got one. That's all I know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

No one's talking about managers in Argos.

The manager works with whitetrash. I presume whitetrash doesn't work in Argos or he would have said. Thus the manager doesn't work in Argos either.

In any case, I don't know what yous are freaking out over, he has no reason to lie, but if it was a mistake then who cares, argueing over it won't make a difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭dimerocks

i tried to blag my onw onf gamestop cork, it wasn't happening.damn rules!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭dubal

just back from my local argos....

"we got 8 of them this morning.... sold like hot cakes!!":mad:

dubal wrote:
    just back from my local argos....

"we got 8 of them this morning.... sold like hot cakes!!":mad:

Report them. Report them to Nintendo Ireland. Then laugh as Argos get slapped with a rather large fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

whitetrash wrote:
    Even if it didn't I only posted with good intentions and don't really appreciate "bull****" replies.

May I precise that my post was not directed at you personally and, if it is to interpreted as directed at anyone, then it would be at your manager (after all, he could be bullsh1tting ye) ;)

TTFN :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

ambro25 wrote:
    ... was not directed at you personally and, if it is to interpreted as directed at anyone, then it would be at your manager...

Exactly what I was thinking. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭twanda

Oh for God's sake. If any of you had gotten your hands on one today, you wouldn't be talking 'fines' or anything else. You'd be too busy playing with your new Nintendo Wii :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,123 ✭✭✭✭Star Lord

Damn right twanda! Its just that our arm twisting didn't work! ;)