Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lady Pilot

• 06-12-2006 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭

On Sunday I watched the 12:20 Racing And Football Outlook Handicap (Div I) (Class 6) (3yo+,0-60) over 1m2f at Lingfield. Here's the result;

1st - Storm Of Arabia (IRE) 9 W R Swinburn 3 9-2 Adam Kirby 11/4J
    2nd - nk Siena Star (IRE) 4 Stef Liddiard 8 9-5 Micky Fenton 11/4J
    3rd - 1 Lady Pilot 11 Ms J S Doyle 4 8-13 Dane O´Neill 7/1
    4th - Blu Manruna 10 J Akehurst 3 8-11 Paul Doe 33/1 55 24 58
    5th - shd Benny The Ball (USA) 1 N P Littmoden 5 8-8 Hayley Turner 8/1
    6th - 1 Cove Mountain (IRE) 7 S Kirk 4 9-2 L P Keniry 10/1
    7th - hd Scutch Mill (IRE) 6 Karen George 4 9-3 t Darryll Holland 6/1

10 ran TIME 2m 6.65s (slow by 1.45s) TOTAL SP 124%
    NON RUNNER: Monashee River (IRE)

Here are the RP comments;

A largely out-of-luck sorts went to post for this handicap run at a steady pace with a little over a length separating the first five.
    STORM OF ARABIA had evidently had his problems having not been seen since July, but he posted by far his best effort on the Polytrack to lose his maiden tag at the the eighth time of asking. He was travelling strongly when ridden wide to make headway down the side of the track, before leading just over 1f out. Although he has been racing over further this looks to be his trip.
    Siena Star ran another solid race. As a result, he looks to be high enough in the weights at present. Lady Pilot can be a bit in and out, but she had one of her better days here, flying home late on. Despite her style of running, her best efforts seem to be over this trip.The step up in trip brought about some improvement from Blu Manruna. Although he has been disappointing, he is probably worth another try over this far but in a lesser grade. Having raced prominentlyfor much of the race, Benny The Ball was beaten when edging right late on.

My view;

I was very impressed with runs of Scutch Mill (only beaten about 3 lengths) and Lady Pilot, more so with Lady Pilot I must say who was well backed before the race and ran on really well under what I would describe as a gentle ride for the last couple of hundred yards after getting a slow start. Scutch Mill obliged last evening at 5/1, I had a nice bet on it and I'm really looking forward to Lady Pilot's next run. Anyone know a website that will send you an e-mail when a horse is entered for a race? I'd really like to have a bet on her next time and I don't want to miss out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭ricerocket

entered for both friday and sunday at kempton -they must fsncy her chances

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭20LEgend

Lady Pilot runs in the 1.30 at Kempton (10/1)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭johnnysmurfman

I don't know if people remember this thread but I followed Lady Pilot afterwards and she has done ok in her races since with a couple of wins for her new trainer.

She runs today in the 1:30pm at Plumpton (a maiden hurdle). It's her first time over hurdles but her trainer Jim Best boasts a remarkable strike-rate with his runners over hurdles at Plumpton – eight winners from 14 runners (57 per cent)!!!! I think she's a decent sort in a poor looking maiden which features an odds on favourite who has had only one placed effort from 6 over hurdles. I'll definitely be laying the favourite on Betfair as I think his form just doesn't merit his price and if he were from a lower profile yard he's be a bigger price. At 8/1 I think Lady Pilot's worth a few bob each way.

The favourite was well beaten at 8/11, so at least I won a few bob by laying him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Lady Pilot (GB)
    Runs at Huntingdon 8th Nov, details available at
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v4card044200711081350.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Catcher86

... Anyone know a website that will send you an e-mail when a horse is entered for a race?

Just to answer your question. This website will e-mail you with entries and results, of the horses you choose.

www.irish-racing.com/v3tracker?prv=4&prf=R

Sizzler wrote: »
    Lady Pilot (GB)
    Runs at Huntingdon 8th Nov, details available at
    http://www.irish-racing.com/v4card044200711081350.htm

Nowhere :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭kmot90

Was certain winner till falling 2 out.

kmot90 wrote: »
    Was certain winner till falling 2 out.

Ahh ! Just saw the result a few mins after and didnt know it fell...just saw it wasnt placed.

Its in horsetracker for the next day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Tazz T

Yeah, I had an each way on it. I was listening to it on Betfair. Thought it was home and dry.

Raing Post say: "Lady Pilot has to be the horse to take out of the race, whether one thinks she would have won or not. Despite her lengthy absence, she was going best when falling and impressed with the way she travelled and jumped throughout. Provided this doesn't affect her confidence, she is sure to gain compensation."

I get the feeling we've missed the boat with this one lads, I can see her being a short price the next day. I had her in a forecast with the favourite too, I'm still sick over it.

She runs tomorrow in the 1:00 at Lingfield.

They are forecasting 20/1 :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Racecaller

She runs tomorrow in the 1:00 at Lingfield.

They are forecasting 20/1 :eek:

Where are you getting 20/1? I'm seeing 7/4 with RP and 4/1 with sportinglife. But if you can get any 20/1 give us a heads up because she looks to have a very good chance tomorrow. The second in her last race (which she looked the likely winner of) has won since and Jim Best's yard is in superb form at the mo with 4 winners and 4 seconds from 11 NH runners (Rapscallion only runner won today) in the last 14 days.

Got the "probable SP" from here :

http://www.irish-racing.com/v4card024200711281300.htm

I should know better though :o

I'd say 3/1 might be more realistic.

Erm, market has opened her up at 6/5 :eek:

I get the feeling we've missed the boat with this one lads, I can see her being a short price the next day.

Best price 5/4. The jockey is 0 wins fron 28 rides on the course though, although that means nothing. I don't like the look of McCoy's mount, they paid 100,000 guineas for it, could be a danger. I'll stick with the Pilot though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

GReat run!! Cheers Johnny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭Racecaller

Yeah, good work. Had to take the 5/4, grin and bear it but always nice to get a winner early in the day. Plenty of options to lose the winnings over the next 9 hours.

Nice winner by 3L :D

Now throw it all onto The Great Alfie in the last at Chepstow ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jimmyboy

Now throw it all onto The Great Alfie in the last at Chepstow ;)

Will do!!

McCoy fell at the first, which was a small relief. She looks like the kind of horse who could run up a sequence from here. One to follow I think and I wouldn't be surprised if she runs again soon. I see she's entered in a maiden hurdle at Fakenham on the 3rd of December, although she won't be eligible for that after today's win, but it does indicate they were keen to run her.

^^ Lets not forget you were the man who spotted this, so hats off mate :D

Good day for her trainer....just won the 2:05 at Lingfield with a 25/1 shot :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

She's going today in the last in.....Can;t remember, but I'll find out. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭BrianTheMessiah

3.50 Exeter
    Best priced @ 7/2

Beaten 25 lengths. Lucky I didn't see this until now.

Runs today in the 1pm at Folkstone, a rather generous 6/1 too ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭mchurl

comes in third beaten by 2 1/2 lengths, didnt see the race myself so any opinions?

Runs tomorrow at Huntingdon.

Carrying top weight though :(

3rd again, beginning to look like a bit of a plodder. Backed her each way at 4/1, money back again.

mchurl wrote: »
    comes in third beaten by 2 1/2 lengths, didnt see the race myself so any opinions?

I thought she was unlucky on this day, genuinely thought she was coming to win when boxed in, anyway, we soldier on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,617 ✭✭✭raheny red

If anyone backed Lady Pilot in a Paddy Power shop they will refund you your losing single stake on this selection.

raheny red wrote: »
    If anyone backed Lady Pilot in a Paddy Power shop they will refund you your losing single stake on this selection.

Fcukers didnt extend the same courtesy to their online customers :(

It's all to do with their in-shop 'January Sales' promotion.

Runs today at Huntington, can't remember the time sorry, just seen it in the paper this morning and can't access ATR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

13:40, currently 11/2

I know, here we go again, maybe I'll give her one last chance to redeem herself in the form of an each way bet.

I've laid off Herald Angel (The hot fav) in the hope that Lady Pilot can do the biz.

LP a very generous 7.2 on betfair for the win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Happy days. Just gt on before the off. 20 ew at 15/2. Didnt think t ws going well there for a while but stayed on well

Lady Pilot wins at 15/2 :D

The long lay off seems to have helped her. She was held up early to get the trip and then her flat speed really told after she jumped the last. She jumped well and won handily enough in the end, I didn't see the jockey use the whip on her at all. Nice winner. I took 7/1 but got paid out at 15/2 as board prices were guaranteed. She's back in my good books now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

Have the week off, Cheltenham was canceled so I noticed this thread and had 20 e.w. on it for the craic, nice one.
    Was there a rule 4?

Bet Reference: 207/212
    Channel: Web €20 EW Single
    EW W/P/S dividends DH,R4 Event/Market description Selection Price Status
    1/5 1,2,3 7.90 / 2.00 100p Huntingdon 13:40 : Outright Betting Lady Pilot 11/2 Won

Actual return: €220.00

Never mind I are asleep.

No rule 4.

She runs tomorrow (Tuesday) at Southwell in a pretty poor looking handicap, I'll be lumping on although I'd say she'll be 6/4 or thereabouts.