Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Week

• 05-12-2006 11:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭

Anyone any idea when Rag week is on next year? A mate of mine is on erasmus and wants to book flights to come home for that week. I thought is was always the first full week in March, but I've been hearing rumours that it's going to be pushed back a week next year. Anyone know if this is true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

No idea about this year but the timing changes over the years and I distinctly remember that in 1995 rag week was February 13th -17th.

Can't remember the dates of the other years :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

r3nu4l wrote:
    No idea about this year but the timing changes over the years and I distinctly remember that in 1995 rag week was February 13th -17th.

Can't remember the dates of the other years :D
    QFT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭nothing

It's .... drumroll....

hang on... elections are the 7th March....

So the week after that methinks... it seems to be the week before the Easter break as of the last few years...

It's .... drumroll....

So the week after that methinks... it seems to be the week before the Easter break as of the last few years...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭nookie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 My_Dog_Says_Hi

Word on the street is or rather on the bus to tallaght that we are getting electric six for rag week. Personally I doubt it very much if "Green Floyd" are anything to go by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Word on the street is or rather on the bus to tallaght that we are getting electric six for rag week. Personally I doubt it very much if "Green Floyd" are anything to go by

I heard that same rumour 2 years ago.

If only! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭FunkyChicken

OK ClareBare

I was talking to the ents officer about 2 weeks ago, and yes Eletric 6 are confirmed for Rag week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 My_Dog_Says_Hi

nothing wrote:
    I was talking to the ents officer about 2 weeks ago, and yes Eletric 6 are confirmed for Rag week.

Serious?

Excellent if that's true! :D

Serious?

Yes, serious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Hand_Of_Steel

nothing wrote:

I'm going to wet myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭cython

nothing wrote:
    It's .... drumroll....

It's been the week before the easter break about once in the last 3 years, adn that was because Easter was early, and so the mid-term and Easter breask ran into each other. RAG Week is generally set to be the week before the Study week in the second semester, which in turn is generally selected to be the week incorporating the St. Patrick's day Bank Holiday

• Closed Accounts Posts: 461 ✭✭markf909

Its probably a tribute band called Electric VI.

In all my years in Maynooth, I dont think we've ever had a decent (non tribute) act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭Hand_Of_Steel

markf909 wrote:
    Its probably a tribute band called Electric VI.

In all my years in Maynooth, I dont think we've ever had a decent (non tribute) act.
    No, it's the actual Electric Six.

Hmmm ill believe it when I see it.
    Seriously, ive been around for 9 years, we have not ever had a decent band.
    FACT.

I've seen them play a few times now and they are awesome.
    They dont strike me as the type that needs a uni tour to make some cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Damien Rice played NUIM about five years ago, that was a great gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

markf909 wrote:

Berkeley, Turn... even the Camembert Quartet were great craic.

markf909 wrote:
    FACT.

I started in Maynooth in 1992, left in 2004 (degree, PhD, staff!) and during that time I remember The Stunning and The Pale playing very good gigs. Other than that...erm...no, can't think of any others :)

Lets be honest here, decent bands cost money, lots of it, therefore unless students are willing to pay some kind of Ents levy :rolleyes: then getting really decent bands is going to be difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

markf909 wrote:
    FACT.

Ah it hasn't been that bad. Not sure if all of these played at rag week but i do remember when i was in maynooth.

Aslan (for the dubs & scangers)
    Sawdoctors (for the culchies)
    Damien rice
    rodrigo y gabriella (was this cancelled though?)

picturehouse :D (only joking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Tarakiwa

r3nu4l wrote:

Probably the BEST one EVER!!

Do you remember kidnapping Ronan the Guinness Rep & having to get him thrown out of Kildare in order to win €1,000 from AIB.

He was thrown from a moving jeep as I recall .......

Tarakiwa wrote:
    Probably the BEST one EVER!!

Do you remember kidnapping Ronan the Guinness Rep & having to get him thrown out of Kildare in order to win €1,000 from AIB.

He was thrown from a moving jeep as I recall .......

The fact that I don't says a lot about that week, although I do remember Ronan! :D I also remember Mr Pussy was the host of the Drag Ball and it was a great night :o

EDIT: Jimoslimos, yes, there was a time when Picturehouse almost seemed to be resident at NUIM :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 169 ✭✭Ernesto

Electric 6 are playing on the 14th of March.
    fact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Ernesto wrote:
    fact
    Im not saying you are wrong, but their myspace page or website doesn't list Maynooth. Mabye its just too small a gig to update their list with. Mabye its just not up to date yet. But its not there, so...

Sat 03/10 Birmingham UK
    Barfly

Sun 03/11 Oxford UK
    Zodiac

Mon 03/12 Cardiff UK
    Barfly

Tue 03/13 Brighton UK
    Engine Rooms

Thu 03/22 W. Toronto ON
    Lee's Palace

Fri 03/23 Buffalo NY
    The Showplace

Sat 03/24 New York NY
    Bowery Ballroom

OTOH, they don't have a date pencilled in for the 14th, so...

Electric 6 are playing on the 14th of March.
    fact

If its true, then fair play.
    Ill round up a crew for a parting Bar Ex.

Oh the suspense is killing me!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

markf909 wrote:
    FACT.

I've seen them play a few times now and they are awesome.
    They dont strike me as the type that needs a uni tour to make some cash.

Oh Mark, so cynical. Egg on your face if they actually play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,374 ✭✭✭Gone West

Cool, looks like they are definetly playing here.
    So says the SU.